English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/04 Man Utd v Aston Villa | 22:55 ESPN
monosyllabic
Mar 15 2009, 09:21 AM

I know it's a disappointing and embarrassing loss. And taunts from scousers make it worse (as above). Replying only makes it worse, so sorry Mr. Radiohead, but bait not taken.
On the plus side, recent history says that United usually bounce back and rarely lose two in a row. Ferguson would have probably roasted the players at halftime and after the game. Also they'll have a week to just sit and think about the loss. Disheartening as it may seem, they're still up by four points and have a game in hand - no major slip ups and they'll have the Premiership in the bag.
Remember they lost both games to City last season (though they weren't title contenders) but came out tops. But of course United-Liverpool matches are special affairs. So Liverpool (and their fans) have the bragging rights this year. I'd gladly give them that to see United take away their "18 trophies" bragging rights at the end of this season.
monosyllabic
Mar 15 2009, 09:43 AM

I know the taunting won't go away - it's part of football. And it's part of the fun of being a supporter. Especially when you're on the giving end ("Build a Bonfire" anyone?)! I dish it out and I can take it when they're throwing it in my face, so I'm not saying "don't make fun of my team, please" - in my reply, I was just saying that I won't be pulled into a "taunt-war" with the scouse (as a passing comment). The internet makes this too easy and anonymous. Just my way of telling them to feck off...
We'll keep the red flag flying high 'cause Man Utd will never die!
monosyllabic
Mar 15 2009, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 15 2009, 09:45 AM) letak ubat gigi kat mata kalau brani. mata merah ... konpem dapat MC at least 3 ari .. hahahah.  Hahaha... ubat gigi kat mata? First time I've heard of this man... let me know how it works!
monosyllabic
Mar 17 2009, 09:34 PM

For me anywhere will do! So jealous that you guys get to meet up - at least you have mamak or can watch footy at home!
Unfortunately, I currently live in the US. Only football is on Fox Soccer Channel and Setanta. If I subscribe to those channels on cable, it will put me back at least an extra $100 a month!
Instead of mamak, I get breakfast with my United now. There's an English pub that opens early (9am) to show Premier League games... nasib baik Champions League shown on ESPN - those are usually lunchtime games here (around 3pm), so I can go home and watch or just walk into any sports bar and ask them to change the channel to ESPN on my lunchbreak, which becomes an extra-long break on matchday haha
monosyllabic
Mar 17 2009, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(Panda @ Mar 17 2009, 11:08 PM) Furguson is so lucky to be Man Utd manager.... If he had been a Chelsea manager, he would have sacked by now.... 1-4 lost to Liverpool is totally unacceptable... This is true... it's sad that modern day managers only get a few seasons to prove they're capable. SAF been at United for 23 years - that's unheard of nowadays! Fergie joined in 1986 and United finished 11th in the league the first season! And only won the FA Cup in 1990! If this was a modern day team, he would have been given the sack before he had a chance to win it! They say that win was the one that kept him from being fired! Lucky us... cause now look at how many trophies he's hauled in since then! Edit: And I feel sorry for the manager that steps into SAF's shoes when he finally retires! Now that will be pressure! This post has been edited by monosyllabic: Mar 17 2009, 11:27 PM
monosyllabic
Mar 18 2009, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Mar 18 2009, 12:10 AM) we've gone thru this topic numerious time edi...wen the time comes, we'll be ready. rest assure. ur from the states eh?? got a chance to meet up with beck during his time with the galaxy??? or perhaps his anearoxic wife?? Haha... I saw the Galaxy play DC United last summer (in DC). Becks started. You wouldn't believe the number of England, Madrid and Galaxy "Beckham" shirts in the stands. Outnumbered the home support! I was totally blown away by that! The home support got the last laugh though - there was a huge banner that said "Shouldn't you be in Austria?". Edit: BTW, Galaxy lost 4-1! He can send in perfect crosses all day but if there's no one there to put them in... This post has been edited by monosyllabic: Mar 18 2009, 12:56 AM
monosyllabic
Mar 29 2009, 09:22 AM

The Telegraph article mentions Hughes crossing from the blue side to the red... did they forget Hughes was a highly rated player for United in his prime?
monosyllabic
Apr 3 2009, 10:42 PM

Tevez just came off a huge upset (playing at high altitude) and Park flying in from Korea! I hope they are up to it. And if Berba is still out for Tuesday, I hope they can recover for the CL match!
monosyllabic
Apr 4 2009, 12:20 AM

Yup. I meant the Champion's League match. Since Berba is going to be out for two weeks, most likely Tevez will be starting those too. And we know SAF usually puts Park in for the crunch matches for his industry and running. When I said recover, I meant recovering from flying back from the internationals and having to play these two important matches in the space of less than a week for those two guys.
I'm sure Tevez is up for it though. What better way to prove his worth and desire to stay than to give it all on the pitch when called on. I really like the guy and hope he gets a couple goals in the upcoming games. Same goes for Park too!