Mar 12 2009, 01:14 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
378 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
The plan is totally too expensive.
summore Iphone is overpriced. This post has been edited by suyee: Mar 12 2009, 01:14 AM |
Mar 12 2009, 01:21 AM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
i think it's more reasonable than just pay for the iphone itself. 12 months plan RM100 per month is around rm3500 for 16GB but it also include all the usage. the 6months plan is ok la but pay RM2960 some more need to pay rm80 per month just for nothing sound unreasonable..
Mar 12 2009, 01:32 AM
106 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
yes if the package still can free both sides between Subline and MainLine
Mar 12 2009, 01:40 AM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think the easiest way to see this is, if you are complaining about the price, you are never the target audience anyway. No loss on both the Apple's or the telco's side.
Mar 12 2009, 01:44 AM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
that's right, iphone has never been cheap, and i don't see the ivalue plan is more expensive than the plans offered all around the world. seems reasonable to me.
also buying locally you don't need to travel all the way down to sg just to sort out the warranty (if you happened to be the unlucky one). |
Mar 12 2009, 01:45 AM
706 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Anfield |
i got mine for rm2.2k . LOL get from singtel or nz dudes
Mar 12 2009, 08:46 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i support the blk market
n hving used the iphone before.. am waiting for newer designs and features.. |
Mar 12 2009, 09:38 AM
1,441 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: *Gadgets world* |
well, i will neither support the blk market nor the maxis, hahaha.. both are almost same blood sucking.. no offence but my personal opinion. for blk market seller, most of them selling even RM3100 (of cos our LYN seller gives a cheaper price), bear in mind those sets are not covered by Apple warranty officially for maxis, their set comes with Apple warranty, But neither it is cheap... |
Mar 12 2009, 09:53 AM
2,330 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.1.2 |
voted : NO.
b'coz I already got one. I dont need a phone more than > RM1000 ( poor ppl ) It's too expensive. better buy in LYN. (correct me if wrong) |
Mar 12 2009, 09:54 AM
781 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: with your mom |
I will never buy something that expensive without warranty. iphone is nvr goin to be cheap and most ppl buy because of cool design... in term of feature still not the best one out there...
The selling point for iphone is because is from Apple... will oni consider when iphone pack with everything from video, camera, etc.... like HTC... |
Mar 12 2009, 09:57 AM
1,717 posts Joined: May 2008 |
iphone overprice by maxis, they should give free or pay 10% of the face value if we (customers) have to sign a 2 year contract.
That's the problem when you let a company monopoly to sell an item. All maxis can think of if profit, profit, profit and profit only....... |
Mar 12 2009, 10:06 AM
67 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Mar 12 2009, 09:57 AM) iphone overprice by maxis, they should give free or pay 10% of the face value if we (customers) have to sign a 2 year contract. wait till u have your own business and then u can say that u can't think of profit or whatsoever That's the problem when you let a company monopoly to sell an item. All maxis can think of if profit, profit, profit and profit only....... nevertheless, if the price can be lowered or the plan can be revised to user's benefit is a good thing though, a win-win situations for all |
Mar 12 2009, 10:35 AM
234 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
voted "no". unless maxis got discount like what celcom have with their celcom executive 50 plan.
Mar 12 2009, 10:52 AM
1,651 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
planning to get one from maxis.
but hope there will be a plan which is more suitable for me (unlimited data) the i-Value plans are kinda |
Mar 12 2009, 11:02 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
hm.. i was contemplating the purchase but when i total up monthly payments + phone price + unlimited data + 2nd sim card price .. it's way more expensive than SG/NZ sets.
anyhoo the iphone 3g is up for another refresh anyway . shall wait |
Mar 12 2009, 11:25 AM
177 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: kuala terengganu to kuala lumpur |
i plan to get one but after new iphone out in june/july mybe...
i think maxis will revise the plan when new iphone comes out.. mybe more expensive like ATT did. sigh.. |
Mar 12 2009, 11:31 AM
512 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I just talked to the customer service rep and man - it's very expensive.
1. You're tied to contract plan for x number of years 2. On top of that, you also have to pay for the phone 3. The usage minutes and data rates are completely unreasonable as well. E.g. for value 100: You get 50 ringgit talk time and 50 ringgit data usage - if you don't finish up either, it won't carry forward either. And you have to pay extra if you go over the limit for either items. This post has been edited by zweimmk: Mar 12 2009, 11:32 AM |
Mar 12 2009, 11:44 AM
647 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Maxis call plan with phones has never been an attraction to me...
I would prefer to buy iphone itself... Added on March 12, 2009, 11:45 am QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 12 2009, 11:31 AM) I just talked to the customer service rep and man - it's very expensive. Maybe they thought they are the only one with official iphone in Malaysia, time for them to really earn big money... 1. You're tied to contract plan for x number of years 2. On top of that, you also have to pay for the phone 3. The usage minutes and data rates are completely unreasonable as well. E.g. for value 100: You get 50 ringgit talk time and 50 ringgit data usage - if you don't finish up either, it won't carry forward either. And you have to pay extra if you go over the limit for either items. This post has been edited by Kenix L: Mar 12 2009, 11:45 AM |
Mar 12 2009, 11:59 AM
162 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
thats overpriced of Maxis Plan + iPhone.
i will choose blk market set and jailbreak it. i still prefer to download those 'crxcks' apps. sbsettings, mxtube which i cant live without. |
Mar 12 2009, 12:00 PM
i find the price is ok actually. just ok, not great.
this calculation is based on what other people mentioned before, consider the i-Value Plan 1 for 12-month contract, with commitment of RM100 per month. 1st of all, bear in mind that the contract is like "installments" for the phone itself. ![]() (caps by teikwing) so u'll have to pay RM2290 for 16GB model. 0.15 * 333mins = RM49.95 consider the 500MB data is complimentary, based on the Value Plus plan for 6-months contract, ![]() (caps by teikwing) the commitment fee is RM100. so we r paying RM50.05 per month for 12 months as "installment", thus the total cost of owning the iPhone is around, RM2290 + (RM50.05)(12) = RM2890.60. i know u may find the ones from Garage Sales are cheaper a bit, but for the extra u r getting 500MB data monthly and warranty coverage. it's not like u r purchasing iPhone (either gray imports or official) without pairing it with call plan anyway. btw based on the FAQ on maxis site, the price for the 16GB iPhone itself is RM2700 (based on the rebate of 24-months contract). so if u wanna calculate the data bundle of 0.5GB, that should be, (RM2890.60 - RM2700) / 12 = RM15.88 per month. so if u recalculate the fee, RM100 - (RM49.95+RM15.88) = RM34.47 but, if u r on prepaid or u r an SMS freak, u may find that this iPhone plan to be not suitable. so cut a long story short, the iPhone itself is still around RM2.7k price range, like most of people will find in our market. only that u r forced to be tied on contract. but it isn't like u r not using an iPhone without a call plan anyway. anyway for prepaid user, better use imported iPhones as the iPhone plans by maxis arent that worth for changing your prepaid into postpaid subscription. and yeah, there are no savings if u subscribe to the plan, unlike other telcos that provide the iPhone. yup, there are no savings anywhere. the price is almost the same as the gray imports here, if not a bit higher, so it's not worth if u r going to subscribe it just to resell it. well it's maxis we r talking about, and it's not like u have any other choice here other than imports. but i still think that it's better to invest in local warranty. so, my next purchase of iPhone will most probably be on maxis. hope that they'll reconsider their iPhone plans, hopefully before the release of the next generation iPhone. just my2cents. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 12 2009, 12:16 PM |
Mar 12 2009, 12:12 PM
77 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
No, cuz i already got one as im a iphone fan and i go all the f***ing extra mile to get it from other countries.
at least i felt it's better than getting f***ed upsidedown by the telco. i can afford a 250 commitment plan for 2 years cuz ive been using it maxis from 1997 till now so it doesn;t matter to me but just dont like the way they try to maximize their earning from us - the consumers. bottomline, get it if u can bear it and don't get it if you can't. stop b****ing. |
Mar 12 2009, 12:19 PM
162 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i m just chat with my friend who living in jp. softbank jp is giving the iphone3g 8gb for free but need to sign 2 years contract.. heard they want CLEAN the stock...
Mar 12 2009, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(woaychee @ Mar 12 2009, 12:19 PM) i m just chat with my friend who living in jp. softbank jp is giving the iphone3g 8gb for free but need to sign 2 years contract.. heard they want CLEAN the stock... actually there are also other country that provide iPhone for free for selected plans, from the start. take example of UK and Singapore sets, u can check at O2 and singtel sites.but most probably that iPhone cant penetrate he market there really well, as most of them will opt for jPhones. btw, there also some nice deals on iPhone last year while clearing stocks, most likely because the sales of 1st gen iPhone wasnt that good as of wide adoption of 3G network. in UK last year prior to the iPhone 3G rollout, CarphoneWarehouse of UK sold the 1st gen iPhone dirt cheap. no contract was needed (as of iPhone 1st gen time). btw sorry off topic already. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 12 2009, 12:33 PM |
Mar 12 2009, 12:35 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Well, Maxis will still need to pay a certain premium to apple for bringing the iphone in. And if i remember correctly, there is a certain profit sharing percentage as well. Of course in return we get the warranty which cap ayam doesnt provide.
It is not strange that the price is on the high side because of that. Also because it was the most anticipated gadget last year. You have to admit, not many (if any) product catches the attention such as Iphone. I do expect this kind of price to appear. The second and most obvious reason for the ridiculous pricing is the number of mobile phone subscription in Malaysia. Please do not compare us with Softbank Japan. The number of mobile phone users in Japan exceed 100 Million already. We all need to carry 5 lines each to even that!! Obviously we wont have the same volume, and it is very unlikely singaporeans would smuggle Maxis Iphone's to singapore to sell as cap ayam so that's another key reason for the high pricing. These are all logical business reasoning, not because maxis want to suck us dry (Well, they are already so little consumers in malaysia, killing them wont help right? Regards/Soo EDIT: As per this topic, I will wait for an unlimited data package before i can consider this. I can NOT buy a phone with absolute no warranty. Even if it is a few hundred cheaper. The reason is simple, i CANT afford a 2.7k door stopper. This post has been edited by pmsoo: Mar 12 2009, 12:36 PM |
Mar 12 2009, 01:14 PM
116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Who says the iphone sells outside does not come with absolute warranty? You have to buy smart. I believe there are few "Lowyater" sells SingTel iPhone with 12 years warranty. Some even cover the logistical service to Singapore if your iPhone got problem. Paying few hundred lesser, it is 12 months warranty, and without being locked by Maxis. Why not?
Mar 12 2009, 01:23 PM
965 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Pluto |
Still waiting patiently to make a move
Mar 12 2009, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(ehklee @ Mar 12 2009, 01:14 PM) Who says the iphone sells outside does not come with absolute warranty? You have to buy smart. I believe there are few "Lowyater" sells SingTel iPhone with 12 years warranty[...] lol.ok i know what u meant. but for some people it will be more reliable if the warranty is available locally. u have prob with the iPhone, just drop by a maxis centre nationwide and they'll handle the rest. no need to depend to some people to do the logistical job, and wait patiently for the iPhone. although i've read somewhere that the service will be done in singapore while the customer will receive a seed iphone as replacement (just like practiced by other telcos that brought iPhone in their market). it's more reliable. but yeah, different people got different thought. it's just a matter of preference. some will stretch every single ringgit for more savings, while some other willing to spend more for peace of mind. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 13 2009, 08:51 AM |
Mar 12 2009, 02:14 PM
39 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Been waiting for an official one...now that it comes...arrrghh...very expensive....back to the old Nokia then...boo hooo hoooo
Mar 12 2009, 02:21 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
well if u want it locally then bare the price lah, if not can wait for maxis to revise the plan and maybe it will suit them next time.. but for time being, subscribe it or dont....or u can wait.....
or u can always get it frm somewhere no? (me just going to chill and saving money for the next iphone) |
Mar 12 2009, 03:03 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@g3n0c|d3,
You're saying that only because Ur oredi using an iPhone 3G WHITE! |
Mar 12 2009, 04:15 PM
331 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
wont buy.
unless if my parents are using more than 300 on maxis postpaid, then can just ask la for the plan and phone. |
Mar 12 2009, 04:36 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
if the price within my expectation, i would happily get 1 from maxis as im 012 user
Mar 12 2009, 05:26 PM
5,005 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: A galaxy far, far away... |
It's highly unlikely that I'll go for an iPhone, irregardless of price... First of all, I'm very happy with that PDA that claims to be an iPod... I also carry a standalone Sony Ericsson mobile phone for text messaging and making calls as well as photo taking (that iPod-PDA has no camera
I have always been an opponent of hybrid PDA-phones and will continue to remain so! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Mar 12 2009, 05:28 PM |
Mar 12 2009, 06:41 PM
259 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Paddy Field |
I'll be waiting for the next plan, with unlimited data. I just dun like the idea of limited data package, it's kinda like a restriction to me, I prefer freedom LOL
Mar 12 2009, 07:20 PM
779 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Mar 12 2009, 09:57 AM) iphone overprice by maxis, they should give free or pay 10% of the face value if we (customers) have to sign a 2 year contract. Hahaha!!! Why stop there? They should pay us to take the phones off them as well! Barring Japan where the iPhone is crap compared to their superphones, no other countries are giving it away for free, why should we expect Maxis to do so?That's the problem when you let a company monopoly to sell an item. All maxis can think of if profit, profit, profit and profit only....... I'm basically neutral about the whole thing. I don't think the plans are good but I don't think they are bad either. If I am an existing Maxis Value Plus subscriber and am planning to get an iPhone, I'll definitely take the 6 month deal and pay the extra RM100-200 premium. Why? Easy. I would be paying my phone bill anyway regardless of whether I buy the iPhone but now, I get 500MB data per month and also local warranty. If anything happens to the phone, I get a temporary iPhone to use. If SG warranty, I'll probably have to wait weeks and have to get in touch with seller, meet somewhere, wait for the phone to come back, meet up again. Too much hassle imo. This post has been edited by blackchides: Mar 12 2009, 07:21 PM |
Mar 12 2009, 07:23 PM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
At these price plans - the ppl who can afford those would have already bought an iphone from lowyat!
Dun be stupid. Support Lowyat businesses and buy the most value for money cell phone plan Malaysia offers - Digi. On that same note, if the phone breaks (I've dropped and flung my iphone 2g from across the room and it still works) - our skillfull phone repairshops can fix it for u. It wont be a door stopper. |
Mar 12 2009, 07:32 PM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
lol. thats if the so called skillful phone repair wont cut your throat.... besides, who would be a better repair service? Apple themselves or ahbeng repairers?
Mar 12 2009, 07:39 PM
1,527 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Heaven |
Might buy the 6 month contract since i'm using value plan 150. @_@'
Mar 12 2009, 10:12 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(qwertyuiop @ Mar 12 2009, 10:09 PM) buy from maxis. what the point buy from low yat forum or low yat building. no one give you warranty. why on earth are you repeating your post again? |
Mar 12 2009, 10:15 PM
4,398 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 12 2009, 10:15 PM
377 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang |
too damn expensive if u asked me.. for a little bit more, u can get the fully unlocked one, WITH warranty, WITHOUT contract.. seems more logical to get that one rather than the phone itself.. maxis is suckin the blood right outta our necks with a bendy straw.. at least.. thats what i think...
Mar 12 2009, 11:12 PM
106 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Just think in this way.
IF MAXIS dun earn it now.. WHEN HE EARN... CANT BE LOWER the Price to Meet Everyone' favourite. Imposible tat MAXis lower the price now , then raise the price soon.. |
Mar 12 2009, 11:38 PM
92 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Malaysia |
I think Maxis will still gain some competitor's customers but if you are those who know where to find more affordable iphone 3G, you will not go for maxis especially when the plan is equally expensive, but its good that iphone 3G is so pricey so that we dont see it everywhere someone will be holding an iphone 3G (maintain some uniqueness), which reminds me of motorola V3 high times.
My vote is No |
Mar 13 2009, 12:06 AM
245 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
My stand is No, I won't buy it.
Firstly, its not the price of the phone that's gonna kill me, its the 24 month contract that's gonna slaughter me nicely. Secondly, I just called maxis just now. There is absolutely no way you can include your supplementary line in the Ivalue plan. The plan is only applicable for one number, i.e if you buy the phone at the ivalue 100 plan, the 100 bucks is to cover one number only. They will still suck you on each supplementary line, depending on your usage per month. The third thing is something I totally cannot accept as a loyal Maxis subscriber. Gotta pay a fuc**** huge deposit with them for the phone. Like what the hell?! On top of the phone, i STILL have to pay a deposit of +- RM 400 to them, for what man, and the joke is, if you take the RM 375 plan (which is the most expensive plan ever), you gotta give them a deposit of RM 2k! It's like giving them an interest free cash loan. I asked Maxis already, they say no matter what, unless your a super high user for a long time( which unfortunately not the whole world is), you gotta pay the deposit through your nose, PLUS the Iphone price. Totally ridiculous. When they drafted out the plans, they didn't give much though to the public. Sigh, honestly, I really really liked the Iphone and was looking forward to get it, but because of the pricing and the deposit, I have to let it slide. Not rich lah, what to do This post has been edited by tysern: Mar 13 2009, 12:15 AM |
Mar 13 2009, 01:04 AM
438 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: [-UnderWorld-] |
Too pricey in da long run...it's a BIG "NO" for me..
Mar 13 2009, 01:09 AM
81 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
the maxis unit is a lock or an unlock unit?
Mar 13 2009, 08:30 AM
2,200 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: OKR KL |
Mar 13 2009, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(tysern @ Mar 13 2009, 12:06 AM) The third thing is something I totally cannot accept as a loyal Maxis subscriber. Gotta pay a fuc**** huge deposit with them for the phone. Like what the hell?! On top of the phone, i STILL have to pay a deposit of +- RM 400 to them, for what man, and the joke is, if you take the RM 375 plan (which is the most expensive plan ever), you gotta give them a deposit of RM 2k! It's like giving them an interest free cash loan. I asked Maxis already, they say no matter what, unless your a super high user for a long time( which unfortunately not the whole world is), you gotta pay the deposit through your nose, PLUS the Iphone price. mmm...for a person that's a maxis loyal customer (doesnt mean it should be u) that can afford monthly commitment of RM375, most likely he/she is already eligible for advance payment waived (minimum 6 month tenure with above RM250 usage). so no need to mention bout the 2k. and if the person isn't previously a maxis customer anyway, most likely the advance of 2k isnt a big deal (considering that he/she can pay RM375 per month).and u asked maxis bout that, u should get the idea already. yup, unfortunately not the whole world can afford that kind of plan, so that's why maxis made other plans available to cater other market. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 13 2009, 10:04 AM |
Mar 13 2009, 11:42 AM
1,441 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: *Gadgets world* |
my brother jes booked one from maxis under 24 months RM375 but his bill under company, so caused no harm to him... i persuaded him to get white and exchange with my black, but ....no chance he will give me brand new sparkling white iphone |
Mar 13 2009, 10:49 PM
90 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Between amanda's knickers... |
Maxis have always been a major douche when it comes to plans. I gave them 2 chances and twice they ripped me off. And this iphone package was supposed to be third time but after looking at the plans and utter ridiculousness of the price and terms I rather buy a singtel set.
Say what you want about celcom, even though they screwed up up big time with the blackberry at least they call plans are much more favorable. I've been postpaid plans from digi since 2002 and celcom since 2003 and despite celcom idiosyncratic customer service, their service have yet to disappoint me. |
Mar 14 2009, 12:40 AM
237 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(tysern @ Mar 13 2009, 12:06 AM) Secondly, I just called maxis just now. There is absolutely no way you can include your supplementary line in the Ivalue plan. The plan is only applicable for one number, i.e if you buy the phone at the ivalue 100 plan, the 100 bucks is to cover one number only. They will still suck you on each supplementary line, depending on your usage per month. Yeah, I agree...The third thing is something I totally cannot accept as a loyal Maxis subscriber. Gotta pay a fuc**** huge deposit with them for the phone. Like what the hell?! On top of the phone, i STILL have to pay a deposit of +- RM 400 to them, for what man, and the joke is, if you take the RM 375 plan (which is the most expensive plan ever), you gotta give them a deposit of RM 2k! It's like giving them an interest free cash loan. I asked Maxis already, they say no matter what, unless your a super high user for a long time( which unfortunately not the whole world is), you gotta pay the deposit through your nose, PLUS the Iphone price. Totally ridiculous. When they drafted out the plans, they didn't give much though to the public. The plan like selling the car..have this package , that package.. and many installment...OMG... it is only a phone! I better pay the money for car This post has been edited by geo-milano: Mar 14 2009, 12:41 AM |
Mar 14 2009, 10:26 PM
eh guys. ini bukan mamakspecial, where you have to *bleep* commercial interest names
Mar 14 2009, 10:30 PM
22 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
price is too over...especially the 2year plan...the cheapest i count 6 month or 12month plan oso nid around rm3000...
Mar 15 2009, 05:33 AM
1,228 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Moscow,Russia and Klang,Selangor |
Voted NO..
Reason?Simple.. I don't see a reason bonding myself with a contract and then still have to pay almost RM3k for an iPhone when i can an iPhone fully unlocked outright for just RM2500... |
Mar 15 2009, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(Masamune @ Mar 15 2009, 05:33 AM) Voted NO.. if u dont want to be bonded with contract for the Value Plan (6-months contract) u can just terminate it and u'll just have to add another RM100.Reason?Simple.. I don't see a reason bonding myself with a contract and then still have to pay almost RM3k for an iPhone when i can an iPhone fully unlocked outright for just RM2500... as i've said previously, different people got different thought. some will stretch every single ringgit to have more savings, while some are willing to pay a little more for peace of mind. btw as for me, for prepaid users better get the singtel unit (or equivalent). but yeah it's not like u r using an iPhone without a call plan anyway. so the cost of ownership and usage should not differ that much anyway, in case u r considering the iValue Plans (12-months / 24-months contract), unless u r preferring on prepaid or other telcos call plans. but if u r not using it with tie to phone subscription anyway, why not just consider an iPod Touch? it's also the fastest touch device by Apple to date. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 15 2009, 09:49 AM |
Mar 15 2009, 10:26 PM
anyone bought the maxis' iphone?
does it official unlock unit? |
Mar 15 2009, 11:14 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Spetre @ Mar 15 2009, 10:15 PM) how many is the iphone price now???now iphone at lowyat is original???like the hp is ap or zitron 1... QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 15 2009, 10:26 PM) Heard of doing a google search or read the first post in the official iPhone 3G Thread ?As for if its unlocked , yes - its an unlocked model ! |
Mar 15 2009, 11:22 PM
Mar 16 2009, 10:19 AM
3,786 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Only things...is Maxis one got warranty unless u want to travel down to Singapore to claim your warranty.......
Mar 16 2009, 11:10 AM
796 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: kuala lumpur |
this is total rip-off.other contries not dat expensive if it comes with plan
Mar 16 2009, 11:17 AM
i tink indonesia's iphone quite expensive...
Mar 16 2009, 11:18 AM
796 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: kuala lumpur |
u see HK, spore
i dont think indo is very expensive |
Mar 16 2009, 11:49 AM
2,139 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Went to Sunway Pyramid ytd.. Damn many ppl inquiring abt iPhone 3G at Maxis booth lulx
This post has been edited by Shoki: Mar 16 2009, 11:50 AM |
Mar 16 2009, 12:18 PM
1,358 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Mar 16 2009, 12:20 PM
i feel maxis iphone is gonna be a massive hit.. many ppl dun really haf other avenues to get the fone..and sgwang cuts ppl's throat + online-sales phobia for certain individuals. mightself get from maxis eventough expensive, waranty gerentied.
Mar 16 2009, 12:21 PM
2,950 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Definately a big NO.
Maxis is sucking money from iPhones. And expect every iphone fans will buy it.... |
Mar 16 2009, 12:34 PM
2,657 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Highbury House, 75 Drayton Park, London |
Definitely it will be NOT a hit due to the Ridiculous pkgs they r offering. Maybe they will make `fake show` during the launch and say their Iphones have sold out on the 1st day but in reality their own Maxis ppl bought the remaining iphones cheap cheap... lolz
Mar 16 2009, 01:50 PM
oni the ppl in dis thread are complainin..but i see d majority of cuztomers stil wanna buy it no matter wat d price.. wen has maxis ever reduced the price due to customer frustrations. so fat hopes on maxis reducin d price..lol.
Mar 16 2009, 02:14 PM
is it so hard to understand this philosophy?; if you cannot afford it then don't buy it.
that is like blaming the grape sour just because you cannot eat it. and this isn't as simple as blaming, you guys are actually pouring hatred and that's so disgusting. to make things even worse, getting an iphone from maxis isn't your only solution. shoot those facts into your thick skulls and stop whining like a baby. |
Mar 16 2009, 02:18 PM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
By Goh Thean Eu
QUOTE It all depends on whether Celcom, DiGi or U Mobile can strike a deal with the phone maker, Apple, says an industry source THE Apple Inc's popular iPhone may not be exclusive to leading mobile operator Maxis Communications Bhd in Malaysia, which will start selling them on Friday (March 20), say industry sources. This could potentially pave the way for other cellphone carriers to offer the touch-screen cellphone, and non-Maxis customers may wait until their carrier offers the iPhone. It is understood that Apple is open for negotiations with other operators to sell the iPhone in the country. "The iPhone 3G deal is not exclusive to Maxis in Malaysia. Having said that, it all depends on whether Celcom, DiGi or U Mobile can strike a deal with the phone maker," an industry source told Business Times. As such, the deal reached with Apple would still give Maxis a head start because it may take several months before other operators formally join in to sell the iPhone. When contacted, a Maxis spokesperson declined to comment on the validity of the information. In a press statement issued by Maxis last Wednesday, there was no mention that the company had secured exclusive distribution rights for the iPhone. Apple, which has traditionally insisted on partnering with a single mobile service provider in each market such as AT&T in the US, has begun striking more non-exclusive deals to sell its iPhone across the world. This is particularly so after its exclusive single-carrier relationships have raised eyebrows of European regulators and some mobile operators. In February, France Telecom SA, the third largest phone company in Europe, lost a court bid to preserve its exclusive contract for French sales of the iPhone handsets. The court said in a ruling that contracts limiting sales of iPhone to a single mobile phone company are a "restraint on competition" that warrant immediate measures. Three weeks later, French mobile operator SFR announced that it will sell iPhones starting April 8 this year. Besides France, Apple has also signed non-exclusive deals with operators in Italy, namely Vodafone and Telecom Italia. In Hong Kong, mobile phone users can now buy an iPhone from the Apple Store and use it on any networks. In Singapore, even though Singapore Telecommunications Ltd is the only operator offering iPhones, it does not stop rivals M1 and Starhub from negotiating with Apple on another iPhone deal. Meanwhile, Maxis, in the statement, said it would start selling the iPhone on Friday (March 20) and has also unveiled its "specially-designed" price plans, which range from a monthly commitment of RM100 to as high as RM375, over a 24-month period. The price of the device varies, depending on which package a customer chooses. The "Maxis iPhone 3G" news have since generated much interest and discussions. While there were many who were excited over the news, there were also those who felt that the price plans were "somewhat unfriendly". Sauce |
Mar 16 2009, 02:26 PM
116 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No need to argue. Look at the poll results. It tells a thousand words. Even though it has a small sampling errors, I still believe it could be a reliable representation on Malaysian opinion.
Mar 16 2009, 02:34 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
damn...my head is spinning from reading the complicated plans.
Anyone can help me? I am currently using family plan value 50. My usage is very low. What's the best package for me to get? |
Mar 16 2009, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 16 2009, 02:34 PM) damn...my head is spinning from reading the complicated plans. if usage is low..either get ivalue 1 or value plus 80 (unsubsidized phone). or jus stick wit singtel set.Anyone can help me? I am currently using family plan value 50. My usage is very low. What's the best package for me to get? |
Mar 16 2009, 02:42 PM
727 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
For AT&T in the US it only costs 199usd (8gb) and 299 (16gb) respectively with 2 year plans. I believe their cheapest line rental is $39 for 450mins or something like that.
The price of their line rentals are roughly equivalent which leads me to believe that Maxis are just being greedy. I lived in the UK for over 10 years and i find it ridiculous that maxis isn't using this opportunity to build market share, since the largest profit margins are made from line rental, data and customer commitment and not from individual phones. In fact, a lot of telcos o'seas understand that they can make a lot more money by using the phone units as loss leaders. In any case, i've already bought 2 3g iphones from cambodia and thailand (one for gf) and would not have subscribed to maxis in any case. This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Mar 16 2009, 02:43 PM |
Mar 16 2009, 02:49 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 16 2009, 02:34 PM) damn...my head is spinning from reading the complicated plans. i'm on VP50 too with normal usage (60% SMS, 40% calls) + a Family Plus supp line. my advise? get a Singtel or overseas set. unless you really utilize those amounts stated in the plans fully, eg. RM100, RM155, RM250, RM375. and remember, there's is a contract involved. i will only sign up once they revise their plans to suit SMS users more (cheaper SMS rates), ability to have credit sharing with supp lines and include unlimited data usage.Anyone can help me? I am currently using family plan value 50. My usage is very low. What's the best package for me to get? |
Mar 16 2009, 02:54 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Mar 16 2009, 03:03 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 16 2009, 02:49 PM) i'm on VP50 too with normal usage (60% SMS, 40% calls) + a Family Plus supp line. my advise? get a Singtel or overseas set. unless you really utilize those amounts stated in the plans fully, eg. RM100, RM155, RM250, RM375. and remember, there's is a contract involved. i will only sign up once they revise their plans to suit SMS users more (cheaper SMS rates), ability to have credit sharing with supp lines and include unlimited data usage. hmm..ok, then anyone can recommend someone selling singtel set that is reliable? I don't want to have warranty problem. And I hate those seller who cheats and doing some hanky panky stuff like change the battery and other things that buyer might not be aware. |
Mar 16 2009, 03:55 PM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Mar 16 2009, 03:27 PM) to be frank, i have a problem with overzealous POLICING of threads like this. for heaven's sake, we're on the internet. and what do u mean by keeping threads clean? we're talking about public opinion here not some kind of religious political shit. and let us all see all the opinions no matter how nonsensical (which will reflect back on its writer anyway). keep it transparent. any real abuse can be dealt with publicly dont u think. we are not children here. You have the option of posting those threads in Kopitiam if you don't mind. You'll get a whole lot's of forumers participating in your thread. Do proceed to Kopitiam forum to post your queries or opinions. Thank you for your time. peace As a moderator appointed by Admin LYN to have this forum clean, i'll do my job as required by Admin. Cheers |
| Change to: | 0.0781sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:16 PM |