Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

Pennywise
post Apr 2 2009, 06:02 PM

5,796 posts

Dear All,

Appreciate if you guys could assist me in making my choices. I'm quite interested in the Lenovo ThinkPad and IdeaPad series since I read in on the front page of Lowyat.net.

Laptop 1:
For: Dad
Usage: Surf the Internet, check e-mail. Watch movie (rarely)
Budget: 2.5 - 3k
Preferred brand: Lenovo > Dell > HP
Size: 14 or 15"
Weight: Preferably below 2.5kg
Remark: If price is same and Dell give better specs over Lenovo, surely Dell is preferred. Problem is Lenovo Malaysia no price list.

Laptop 2:
For: Myself
Usage: Watch movie (often), surf the Internet, check e-mail, play game (RTS or RPG, dont play FPS)
Budget 3 - 4k
Preferred brand: Lenovo > Dell > HP
Size: 14 or 15"
Weight: Preferably below 2.5kg
Remark: Somewhere along the way, I got fed up with all the cables from my PC to LCD, Wifi Adapter, Speakers, Printers, etc. So I decided to get a laptop and possibly a NAS storage, wire free. I need fairly decent Graphic Card so I dont lag when I play games like Red Alert 3 / Warcraft 3 / Diablo 3 (upcoming).

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Apr 2 2009, 06:06 PM
Pennywise
post May 3 2009, 10:35 PM

5,796 posts

I was searching high and low for laptop and finally decide to go with Lenovo Y450 which comes with the nVidia GeForce G110M 256MB graphic card and Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium for RM2,999.

I tried comparing other brands of laptops (asides Acer / Asus cause I really dislike them) and find that no other models come close to this price or even comparable to this specs.

Anyone here using the Y450 already? How do you like it? I plan to get it this week. Any comments?
Pennywise
post May 3 2009, 10:55 PM

5,796 posts

I totally am against Acer / Asus so any other brand works for me.

astria,
Thanks for the recommendation. Went to Dell website and saw the Studio 15 (S510224MY) with Radeon HD4570 for RM3099. Good deal!
Pennywise
post May 3 2009, 11:04 PM

5,796 posts

Wow wow... thanks a lot guys! smile.gif

I heard that it has heating problems? A normal laptop cooler can help cool it? How much does one cost anyway? My last laptop is the Fujitsu S7011 and since then I've only been using HP's Nc6220, Nc4400, 6910p (belongs to the office).

Never own a Dell laptop before. Anyway, this laptop is for my dad. He doesnt do gaming so this GPU may be too good for him but this suit his budget nicely at RM3099. I will get another for my own in the near future. Any other recommendations besides this? One for gaming but around this price. I dont do FPS, only RTS.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: May 3 2009, 11:05 PM
Pennywise
post May 3 2009, 11:32 PM

5,796 posts

I just missed out the opportunity with the 512MB Radeon HD 4570 graphic card. Now I need to source out from any retailers in Lowyat. Troublesome.
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 02:12 PM

5,796 posts

I manage to find a retail shop selling the Dell Studio 15" with the 512MB version of the graphic card.

Quick question - what is the difference between buying a Dell laptop from a retailer in Lowyat and from the Dell website?

In terms of warranty, do I bring back to the shop or send it to Dell straight? Please advise.
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 02:46 PM

5,796 posts

RM3299. I dont mind topping up RM100 - RM200 for it but I want to ensure I had the 'proper' model rather than a lower grade one due to GC out of stock.
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 03:08 PM

5,796 posts

It is a HD4570
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 04:02 PM

5,796 posts

Ouch, you just broke my heart in two. Anyway, I still decide to go for the 512MB. Anything I have to know before I buy from the retailers tonight?
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 04:23 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 4 2009, 04:10 PM)
dun need heart break... 4570 is a very powerful entry lvl card... even more so then my 8600M GS... laugh.gif

but if we go by AMD's definition, HD 4570 is indeed a low end card...
Go by pennywise definition, HD4570 is quite ok graphic card for this kind of low budget laptop.

Anyway, what's the diff between buying from a retail store and from Dell website?
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 11:24 PM

5,796 posts

Hours passed...

I got off work at 6pm. Got home by 7pm, came online to check this thread and see if anyone posted anything on the difference of buying online and from the retail shop. Then we left for Lowyat. At 8:15pm, we were already in Lowyat and then we went on sourcing for my dad's laptop, Dell Studio 15.

I went to C-Zone first to ask my trusted friend, Ming Chai if there's any difference buying a Dell laptop from the retail store, he said there isnt any. I trusted him and I took out a price list sheet and asked him where can I find this store, he pointed out to me, opposite of Atom.

Walked to the shop and asked for a Dell Studio 15 with a 512MB HD 4570 graphic card. It cost RM3,299. I am willing to pay for it, so I did on the spot, chose a purple, tested it out and like it to bits!

I came ack and did a Windows Experience Index, got a 5.0. I didnt realized it's equipped with 4GB ram until the salesman showed me, everything was awesome. I got a bag, headphone and mouse for free. Nothing more I could ask for.

Now, I am thinking of getting a second unit, giving up on my Lenovo Y450 which initially poisoned me like crazy.
Pennywise
post May 5 2009, 12:26 AM

5,796 posts

Thanks to you, bro. Much appreciated.

This machine is for my dad and now I'm envious.. Tsk tsk, getting another maybe.
Pennywise
post May 5 2009, 10:45 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 5 2009, 12:34 AM)
no problem bro...

i juz hate to see ppl get the wrong laptop, then come and complain...
I understand what you mean with the ranting and grunting around. Thanks to you guys, I made the right choice! Cheers!

QUOTE(orangejungle @ May 5 2009, 09:05 AM)
I oso planning to get a Dell Studio 15...
if really nothing much different, I wish I can get from retail shop too.
Since there're gifts given out.
coz if online, even the bag is not included...
>,<

so mind to tell me the name of the shop?

thanks....
The shop name is Emerge Marketing S/B but it's not shown in the shop signboard. Here's the instruction to get there:

1. Take the ESCALATOR
2. Go to the 2ND FLOOR
3. When you get to the 2nd Floor, in front of you is ATOM
4. The shop is on your RIGHT, FIRST shop, CORNER shop.
5. It is located next to NETWORLD.

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 5 2009, 09:09 AM)
You can buy a laptop from Lowyat's office?
Now i didn't know that.
Im looking for a retail shop in Penang too that sells studio 15 sad.gif
Not Lowyat office la wei, one of the PC shops in Lowyat Plaza.

QUOTE(orangejungle @ May 5 2009, 10:03 AM)
wanna ask...the battery, is 6 cells or 9 cells?
the free gift like mouse and everything, also Dell?
6 cells. Mouse and headphones are third party but I dont mind, these are cheap items for courtesy sake.
Bag is from Dell though.
Pennywise
post May 5 2009, 03:12 PM

5,796 posts

Didnt ask for 3 years warranty. penang I have no idea, sorry.

0.0203sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:33 AM