|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 01:44 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Mar 11 2009, 01:39 PM)
I favour the i value 2 ... RM 155    cos my phone bill per month is stable on somewhere at RM 300.00 ( Roaming )

come to think of it ..:

i value 2 : RM 1640 for 16 g set with 667 mins and 1 GB data ....  this is really good for my usage...

so to say i only pay RM 1640 for the hand set ( really a bargain )

as for the phone usgae plan  ( maxis ) .. i think is quite straight forward that maxis need to "Survive"

and honestly saying paying RM 155.00 for i value 2 is .. "reasonable"

667 mins and 1Gb data.

saying all this ... b'cos...

1) my regular usage is stable at RM 300.00 per month for the last 14 months...
2) and if Maxis are the only one bringing this iphone ... I doubt any other Malaysia telco able to bring in ...
3) IT is Official ..... Approve my apple ...
Let's say normally Maxis charge RM0.12 per minute for calls.
667 minutes = RM80.04
DATA of 1GB .... if you were to calculate it at RM0.01 for 1kB, then it this data is worth like RM10000 .. wuutt (is my calculation wrong somewhere?)

But then SMS charges are separate i believe

Still prefer my Value Plus package

This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Mar 11 2009, 01:44 PM
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 01:47 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(pillowman @ Mar 11 2009, 01:44 PM)
correct me if i'm wrong, but

JULY 2007 - apple announce iphone 2g
JULY 2008 - apple announce iphone 3g

4 months+ left till july, i am really worried apple come out with new iphone with video call by then...and what happen to us who just signed up contract with maxis?
u think after they announce iphone 4g (wutever u call it)
We'll get it here in Malaysia? Dream on
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 01:56 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

/me rather wait people throw their oversea set in Garage Sale
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 02:02 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Mar 11 2009, 02:00 PM)
I am waiting for this... Haha... Let's organize one [WTB] Bulk for iPhone 3G...
i wonder how many people willing to let it go cheap, i mean real cheap.. like RM1.3k for Uk/US 8 GB ......

whistling.gif anyway.. i sort of have a cheap unit on hand already.. lol...
fren is selling his, now seeing the plans of maxis.. i rather take his UK yellowsnowed unit
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 02:05 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 11 2009, 02:04 PM)
have anyone did comparision with our neighbour countries packages? Thanks
how to compare? Their currency beat us hand down.
No need eyes also know their package is better
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 02:09 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 11 2009, 02:04 PM)
have anyone did comparision with our neighbour countries packages? Thanks
http://home.singtel.com/singtel/index.html#iphone

nah.. go see .... their SGD $90 package = iphone for SGD 200 ..
ours?

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 11 2009, 02:06 PM)
rm 1.9k u already got NZ official unlock phone.... (means u have to add a couple of hundreds lah...)

hey good for u... got a lock set for that kind of price...!!

U might as well say, add few more hundred get 16GB SG set, official unlock?
When buying a City, add a little more to get Civic .... when wanna buy Civic, add a little more for Accord?
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 03:18 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

So they updated a lil stuff..

It no longers stated that the DATA is for GPRS.
It says mobile internet data now.. so that includes 3G
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 03:34 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(boring @ Mar 11 2009, 03:29 PM)
Look like their plan change already.. same like the one I posted..
i dont see any changes to the plan.
i had screenshot their plans earlier today.. no difference from what I saw now in their webbie
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 03:38 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Mar 11 2009, 03:35 PM)
Hmm, I think I will stick to your suggestion earlier. Get one for Singtel, then use our whatever we want plan here... Also same... Nothing different on the body right?
if u not kiasi about warranty... simply get some cheapo lock unit from uk/us .. get it software unlock.. cheap, at the cost of warranty issue.
Even Singtel unit being sold by forumers in here is overpriced for me...
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 03:47 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Mar 11 2009, 03:42 PM)
Actually on reflection, the 6 month contract thing is really not that bad if you're an existing Maxis Value Plus subscriber.

Pick any of the normal Maxis Value Plus plans or if you're already on their plan, stay with them.
RM2540 for 8GB and you get 500mb data every month for 6 months.
Since grey market prices are about there, maybe 1-200 ringgit cheaper, it's really good value for money cz warranty's in Malaysia + you get 500mb every month.
yep.. that how i thought when i saw the plan.
But after i cool my head down from the iphone in malaysia hype.
I find it pretty dumb though, why the hell am i forking out so much for a phone. It was supposed to be cheaper.
If you noticed, the price isn't far from the pricing of those SG set seller. Maxis studied the pricing, jack it up a lil because they have advantage over the warranty?

ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 04:04 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 03:55 PM)
Reading through the internal email I'm receiving from my contact, here are a few important tidbits. I cannot divulge the entire email, as it contain sensitive material on how Maxis handles the iPhone internally, so I'll need to self-censor and post what CAN be posted.
The rest of the email content, I cannot divulge. Any other details are either of sensitive nature, or not pertaining general public release (internal staff rates, plan packages, etc.)
Nice info you have there.

Well, am very curious, how big a difference is between their staff rate and consumer rate?
1. Not much difference
2. Some differences, but it is only a few carls jr visit
3. Holy-mama!!!
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 04:08 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Mar 11 2009, 04:07 PM)
these plan are expensive.

it should be

24 month
phone = rm800-1200

ya, if you don't agree.. don't bother
You can get the phone for RM250 .. the RM375 plan
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 04:12 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(paichow777 @ Mar 11 2009, 04:09 PM)
So what if i take:

Value Plus Plans= 6month = 2960(phone) + 80x6 = 480 = RM3440

After 6 month, decide to change to celcom .

Will i be:

1. Able to use a celcom sim card?
Someone said it is unlocked unit, so yes.. you can use celcom
Even if it is locked, there is yellowsnow
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 04:37 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Mar 11 2009, 04:32 PM)
guys please explain why its crap ..

i get the 24 months i-value...
buy the phone for rm1890.00

and pass the service to my wife who already using 80 value package...so i just reworked it that she is buying the iphone and upgrade her service to rm100...

why shouldn't  i be doing this....is theres a catch??  24 months is ok to me since we need a phone line service....
You didn't read properly i guess.

The RM100 commitment fee is
1) RM 50 call charges , for 333 minutes which works out to be RM0.15 per minute
2) RM50 for the 500MB DATA transfer (GPRS or 3G or EDGE)

SMS charges, you need to pay if you use SMS.
I wonder if MMS charges are inclusive of the 500MB deal or not.

So if you are upgrading from Value 80 Plans, you will end up paying more. If all this while your wife fully utilize her RM80 on calls and sms only.
I am using value 80 too, my calls average around RM80, smses around RM50. If i were to switch to ivalue, i would have to pay lots more.
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 05:09 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Mar 11 2009, 05:04 PM)
You can compare wat.. because YOU are buying mar ultimately.. so whatever you earn..rupees.. yen.. ringgit.. in the end you see which country is cheaper to get from lor (based on exchange rates hahah.. maybe japan will be cheaper soon at the rate their money is dropping hehe)

don't compare plans.. plans are only relevant here.

ultimately if you're a heavy user.. their plan isn't really gonna cut it - 500mb..? come on!

btw anyone knows if their 'free' minutes and stuff rollover to next month?
can i shout dream on right at your face? lol ...
i dun think the ivalue minutes will roll on.

Was using Value plan all the while. They dun roll the unused credit. Dun use, charge u the same, use more, charge u more...
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 05:19 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 11 2009, 05:17 PM)
@tarpaucase,
Get urself an iPhone 3G and U'll know smile.gif
huh?
U mean get an iphone and be able to pickup chiqs?
Aw.. come on, that's lame. doh.gif

This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Mar 11 2009, 05:19 PM
ed0gawa
post Mar 11 2009, 05:20 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 11 2009, 05:19 PM)
And oh......"One More Thing",

Internal Maxis staff are able to buy the iPhone3G as-is. As in buy outright, without contract whatsoever. Price for this to come by next Monday.
Smells like there will be quite some Iphone for sale on the market then...
ed0gawa
post Mar 12 2009, 11:31 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Mar 12 2009, 10:45 AM)
ok so the iphone from maxis got warranty under apple malaysia?
Got warranty, but according to taiko string, the ifon need to be sent to singapore for repair.
Go figures.
Probably Apple M'sia ain't equipped to repair them.

0.2793sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:24 AM