|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

nokia2003
post Jun 19 2009, 04:20 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Jun 19 2009, 03:33 PM)
Saw his posts, but EUR715 @ RM3521.70!! I'll pass it... All we could hope that Maxis or Singtel or even Apple HongKong won't be that scrupulous (I meant Apple Italy)!!!  sweat.gif

Pray Hard!  notworthy.gif
if you are in the EU, 715 is actually a very fair price.

hence i don't think it is fair to compare on how "unscrupulous" is the respective network provider to be honest.

as discussed numerous times, buying from your local provider has its own disadvantages and advantages; it is up to your discretion to weigh them.

furthermore, if the italian bound iPhone 3G S is indeed cheap, you still have put into consideration in regards to the warranty; if something does happen to your unit, how are you are gonna arrange for an acquaintance to claim it for you, postage et cetera.
nokia2003
post Jun 19 2009, 05:04 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jon_jai @ Jun 19 2009, 04:53 PM)
So how come people just dont buy one from Ebay and unlock it and use it under Maxis, instead of signing up their plan and pay so much for the phone?

Is the warranty worth it?
having traded actively in the british and oz ebay, i still practice COD for expensive items (even until this date).

the rate of fraud for international transactions is high and rampant.

but for the technical bit of using a parallel import iPhone, it is best that you refer to the provided links by davidgary73.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 19 2009, 05:06 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 20 2009, 07:32 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 20 2009, 07:18 PM)
Ah... the useless CD. Anyway is there anything extra inside the CD other than just the update?

---------------------

By the way, one saturday and everyone has deserted this place. Wow.... how quiet... guess happily using their v3.0 updates.
probably an iPhone compatible video, consisting of gals in tight-lacy-bra-exposing-white/green-shirts-clad-in-extremely-short-denim-mini-skirts-with-a-seductive-smile, giving you a very descriptive presentation on how awesome is maxis' after sale customer service and how they are paying attention to all your iPhone needs

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 20 2009, 07:21 PM)
Can you snap the picture of the disc? Just wanna see how's it.

Btw, OT.

Streamyx is having real serious problems with the internet, no one has the mood to stay online.
rumour has it that, telekom is currently laying down the infrastructure for the upcoming HSBB and hence causing the decrease in speed.
nokia2003
post Jun 24 2009, 07:05 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Jun 24 2009, 07:03 PM)
I had an oversea australian unlocked iphone 3g. Had sign up with maxis but still could not get the 3g logo on my phone. Any idea what is the problem?
assuming it is unlocked by the respective network

try resetting the network settings

settings -> general -> reset -> reset network settings
nokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 12:01 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 29 2009, 12:00 PM)
@tinkerbel

Ask nokia2003. He told me he's getting a new replacement unit for a loose toggle button. So..i'll take his words.
LOL. sorry davidgary73. i forgot to inform you.

the apple said if it doesn't affect the functionality, it is not covered under warranty.

however, they did say that i have 12 months to see if it gets worse.

if it does, then make an appointment again!

Added on June 29, 2009, 12:03 pmactually, to be honest, it is only a little shaky. even my friends say so

i was just trying to psychologically, trying to induce myself that it is serious.

because i like the "feeling" of ripping that iPhone 3G S box.

Added on June 29, 2009, 12:03 pmthat's why when tinkerbel asked me to open two of her units, i had a tiny orgasm! so sorry tinkerbel (to subject your iPhones to such torment)...

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 29 2009, 12:04 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 12:07 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 29 2009, 12:05 PM)
Thank you for not telling me ..If you're here, i'll throw a hammer on you..lolz. Baik you tell me everything la next time.
yikes! i didn't know that i was "elected" as the official representative of the australian bound iPhones already.

alright alright. i will share all my knowledge in regards to the OZ iPhones, the next time round blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif
nokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 09:28 PM

5,786 posts

mann... this is gonna be some prom night flashback event again!

hence i'm gonna list down the precise conversation (since i'm quite good at this)

A: eh i heard everyone else in the world are getting their iPhone 3G S already, so how?
B: oh it's okay, it's okay. i heard (from some ah gu ah beh) that maxis is gonna bring them in soon.
A: wah, really ah? why must we buy from maxis?
B: of course la, i heard maxis is gonna sell them cheaper and most importantly, it comes with warranty. warranty is so important to us malaysian.
A: yes, you are right then.

(not long later, when maxis do carry them)
A: eh how come maxis iPhone 3G S are so so so expensive. crazy one ar?
B: ya lah. we must boycott maxis and hopefully they will drop the price
A: but how long must we wait?
B: man, you are right. never mind la. we can get it from abroad. it is cheaper afterall.
A: but what about the warranty? later spoil how?
B: won't one la. warranty isn't necessary. somemore, apple products are God sent remember? where can spoil so easily?
A: yes you are right.

disclaimer: cerita ini adalah rekaan semata-mata. sekiranya ada persamaan, ianya adalah secara kebetulan sahaja.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 29 2009, 09:31 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 30 2009, 11:44 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jun 30 2009, 11:35 PM)
I thought I might share with you guys my experience at the Chadstone Store.

That's is what the rep, Candice had to say about the cracking issues of the white iPhones.

Rep: I don't think its a crack but rather a cosmetic issue and it does not affect the functionality of the phone.
Me: Ok, fine, you can call it whatever you want but if I'm paying $1040 for a phone, I would like mine without cracks
Rep: Sure, we'll be happy to offer you a refund or exchange.

I managed to get 2 replacements unit but she ended up giving me 1 unit unlocked, 1 unit locked. Hence, I ended up in Chadstone again. Talked to the Store manager, Johnny who was apologetic and tried to solve the problem. Candice, on the other hand, tried to argue that she gave me both unlocked units and needless to say, didn't bother apologizing. That really left me fuming cause the stock was out of stock at that time, so it was impossible to get a one on one exchange.
actually, almost all (of at least from my observation) of their iPhone inventory is situated in that very same drawer behind the genius bar. it is not surprisingly at all, to see such a mixed up.

even more intriguing, the receipt for the outright & unlocked iPhone 3G S, actually prints out "telstra".

maybe it was just for their accounting reference purposes et cetera.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 30 2009, 11:47 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0193sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:45 AM