gryp_enigma
post Mar 19 2009, 09:28 PM

322 posts

hi guys,

I'm planning to get this micro sd card for my omnia:

http://www.sandisk.com/Products/Item(2717)..._16GB_Card.aspx

DO you think our phone can support it?

Also is it available in lowyat? I've checked the price list, so far only pczone and startec carries both kingston and sandisk microsd 16gb but not too sure is the 1 shown in the link above.

Can anyone verify on this please? Thanks!
gryp_enigma
post Mar 19 2009, 09:59 PM

322 posts

thanks lhongwuh smile.gif

which means, confirmed the sandisk microsd that i wanted do sell in lowyat?

anyway if it is already here in the market then i don't mind waiting for the next pc fair.

I'm travelling a lot and i need my phone for work.
gryp_enigma
post Mar 21 2009, 05:07 PM

322 posts

hi guys, i've discovered a strange thing about my omnia.

It might be a calibration issue, when i try using the samsung keyboard at portrait mode - where all buttons of the qwerty keyboard appears to be quite narrow and can be selected by those who have fingernails or using stylus.

i discovered that when i press on the center of the letter "Q" which is at the lower left side of the omnia screen using my stylus or fingernail- it looks like i'm selecting letter "W" and cannot select "Q".

Is the same thing when i wanna hit "A" (which is just at the bottom of letter "Q"), but it appears that im hitting "S"!!!

The only way i can hit the letter "Q" with stylus/fingernail is by clicking really the edge of the touch screen display which is 1/4 of the displayed button of the "Q".

is this firmware issue?

This post has been edited by gryp_enigma: Mar 21 2009, 05:16 PM
gryp_enigma
post Mar 21 2009, 10:06 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Melon @ Mar 21 2009, 07:29 PM)
hv u done the settings> system> screen> align?
yes i've done that many many times, including the tweak, but still same.

i just afraid is hardware issue. my touchscreen layer might be a bit faulty at that particular spot.
gryp_enigma
post Mar 21 2009, 10:52 PM

322 posts

anyone facing this on their screen?

Added on March 21, 2009, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(gryp_enigma @ Mar 21 2009, 05:07 PM)
hi guys, i've discovered a strange thing about my omnia.

It might be a calibration issue, when i try using the samsung keyboard at portrait mode - where all buttons of the qwerty keyboard appears to be quite narrow and can be selected by those who have fingernails or using stylus.

i discovered that when i press on the center of the letter "Q" which is at the lower left side of the omnia screen using my stylus or fingernail- it looks like i'm selecting letter "W" and cannot select "Q".

Is the same thing when i wanna hit "A" (which is just at the bottom of letter "Q"), but it appears that im hitting "S"!!!

The only way i can hit the letter "Q" with stylus/fingernail is by clicking really the edge of the touch screen display which is 1/4 of the displayed button of the "Q".

is this firmware issue?
anyone face this?

This post has been edited by gryp_enigma: Mar 21 2009, 10:54 PM
gryp_enigma
post Mar 21 2009, 11:58 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Mar 21 2009, 11:54 PM)
u can change the screen calibration registry..
refer to 1st page under "A lots of useful tips for ur Omnia"
I done already lor, but still the same sad.gif
gryp_enigma
post Mar 22 2009, 09:11 AM

322 posts

if that's the case ok lor.. is the samsung service center good?

i'm going outstation soon and i need my phone..

normally how long till i get my phone back?
gryp_enigma
post Mar 22 2009, 09:33 AM

322 posts

can i bring to the samsung center in federal highway?
gryp_enigma
post Mar 22 2009, 09:58 AM

322 posts

thanks all! will try and see. hope it is firmware issue. using the latest samsung firmware
gryp_enigma
post Mar 22 2009, 10:33 AM

322 posts

haihz, i always notice that omnia touchscreen is very fragile and softer material compared to HTC's. sometime have to becareful when you sit down.
gryp_enigma
post Mar 23 2009, 05:19 PM

322 posts

i send in to samsung workshop adi looo.

all please pray for it to recover shakehead.gif
gryp_enigma
post Mar 23 2009, 06:14 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Mar 23 2009, 05:58 PM)
wah bro really thank you a!!!!

LOL!!! good 1...

Added on March 23, 2009, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Mar 23 2009, 05:54 PM)
mmmbop
it is good to update the firmware to fix some bugs..

gryp_enigma
which service center to sent it?
what did they said to u?
how long it takes?
they said confirm hardware issue lor, then i ask about the new touch screen (black frame) that has been rumouring about - they said got no such thing wor.

They said takes fastest tmr can collect liow, if cannot is 2 - 3 days later - which is fast but i don't 1 to expect too much or else i will cry if they take longer than that.

Ah oh they also did said they launch a new firmware today, but i check samsung webby still DZIA5 leh.

I go to the federal highway 1.

Just hope when they fix, they don't damage other parts in my phone - well maybe im a bit over reacted - but they said they wont disassemble other things, only the screen part only.

I read the service manual and my eyes were like this --> shocking.gif

i ask about the casing also and whether can change they said cannot.. hehe since got red or purple and white. i wan the white 1 sad.gif

This post has been edited by gryp_enigma: Mar 23 2009, 06:21 PM
gryp_enigma
post Mar 23 2009, 07:26 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Mar 23 2009, 07:04 PM)
yup the new 1 is IB1..maybe they didnt update in website yet..
y u not asking them to flash it to u?
aiseh so rugi hehe..
yea ka?

mana dapat?

u flash di a? anything new?

DZIA5 was working great already.

GPS lock on also below 10 seconds.
gryp_enigma
post Mar 23 2009, 08:23 PM

322 posts

iyah is normal la. i always receive sms saying miss call here n there la. pathetic..
gryp_enigma
post Mar 24 2009, 07:58 PM

322 posts

hi all,

collected my phone this morning!!

i think they only took about 3 hours to fix it!

NOW my screen works fine!

except of course i have to buy another screen protector..
dang.....

good service from samsung,
they are all so kind
got sofa set and free coffee for you

thumbs up for samsung!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thumbup.gif
gryp_enigma
post Mar 25 2009, 03:01 PM

322 posts

anyone using 16GB microsd in their omnia?

Lowyat only selling sandisk/kingston 16GB class 2 microsd and do not have the mobile ultra version which is class 4. Kingston is cheaper with lifetime warranty, while the sandisk more expensive but only 2 years warranty but i believe sandisk performs faster than kingston.

if i were to run all programs from the Microsd instead of the built in hdd, does it have performance issue compared to running it thru the omnia built in hdd?

Let's take Garmin for example, or games?

will the difference between Class 4 and Class 2 Microsd performance noticeable when used in Omnia? CAn feel any performance different between this 2 classes? ( i know Class 2 and 4 means 2mb/4mb transfer rate)

Please feedback guys? Thanks so much!

This post has been edited by gryp_enigma: Mar 25 2009, 03:03 PM
gryp_enigma
post Mar 25 2009, 03:34 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Mar 25 2009, 03:15 PM)
edwinlcw
for the first time it will take long time to lock the gps..
sumtime 15 minutes..
it also depend on ur firmware..latest firmware is faster lock the gps..
and u need to stay under the open sky to get connect to gps..
not inside building hehe..

gryp_enigma
some ppl said it will increase speed if install in card..
i always install all my apps in card..
for garmin i recommend u to install in card cuz after u do hard reset or change firmware it will automatically install it back..

tercupee
i still use turks rom..
really good to me..not hang much..
think juz stay until new rom come out..
i already try all rom in modaco..
diz is the long time i stay..
love to try it hehe..
oh i see, which means the Class 2 and Class 4 MicroSD do not play the performance role when it comes to running applications right?

Class 2 and CLass 4 is simply just the file transfer rate between PC and OMNIA? Am i correct ah?
gryp_enigma
post Mar 26 2009, 11:57 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Mar 26 2009, 03:34 AM)
Wah, got 16GB class 4 oledi ah?  shocking.gif
That time when I bought it oni got class 2, which is the latest.  doh.gif
So far, I put all my MP3, videos and pictures in there, the Omnia speed feel the same as using the original 1GB, no difference lor.  whistling.gif
i also just bought mine yesterday class 2 only. the class 4 is the mobile ultra version only from sandisk which is not in MY market.

now this class 4 sandisk is expensive!!
gryp_enigma
post Mar 27 2009, 10:22 AM

322 posts

@refugeez86

did you toggle the settings to disable or not?
installing the NODATA won't automatically disable the settings.

You have enter it and toggle lor. For me i disable 3G internet and 3G wap, i leave 3G MMS enabled.

Hope it helps! doh.gif

This post has been edited by gryp_enigma: Mar 27 2009, 10:24 AM
gryp_enigma
post Mar 29 2009, 11:22 AM

322 posts

hi all,

i'm might be a bit slow in noticing, but the omnia i910 model has an addiitonal speaker just right beside the camera's flash..

do we have that omnia model here?

0.0406sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:46 PM