22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Others > [WTS]Asustor ,Qnap & Synology NAS + Free Gift, trade in for Asustor,QNAP,Synology NAS

TSdenhock
post Apr 7 2010, 10:21 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(KCv3 @ Apr 7 2010, 06:04 PM)
Hmm... its seems like this is quite a major setback for using NAS. Power trip & failure is common in our country. This may not be the best solution if we need to go through this process again & again every time the incident happen (without using UPS).
this is good practices to have UPS or have 2 bays NAS..... (sound like last time everybody using PC without UPS)

synology UPS function support can prevent data from being loss when an unexpected power failure occurs.

Power Recovery

The power recovery function allows the system to boot up automatically after power has been restored, if the system shut down abnormally due to a power failure.

this mean with this APC UPS, it will auto power off when an unexpected power failure occurs and it will also boot up automatically after power has been restored.

<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Added on April 7, 2010, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(icedlink @ Apr 7 2010, 06:07 PM)
Bro hope you can help me decide ..
Synology ds210j or qnap ts210 ?

does the 128 and 256 ram make any big diffrence ?

i mainly wana use them for downloading preferb if able to download
from http servers ( non premium ) eg rapidshare, hotfile Megaupload etc.
and use a media server.

secondly just wana know as do both of them support something like
buffalo and seagate's web server. for easy access over the internet,
as i'm now having a dynamic IP it will keep changing, so i think it will
be easier to access it.
or mayb syno or qnap has a even better solution ?

thanks = )
Synology BT support rapidshare as well as megaupload.

synology & QNAP provide better web access than brand u mention above.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Post...3&qpid=33006735

u can use DDNS ( to use with your dynamic IP) and using the synology file station 3 or QNAP web file manager to access your file over internet.

if you have enable the "User Home" (synology only) than user can create a personal home folder for each user, except for guest. All users can access their own home folder via CIFS, AFP, FTP, or File Station.

To enable personal website

The personal website function is a convenient way to allow local users to create their own personal website. Each user will have a unique website address "server-IP/~username" or "server-name/~username", for example:

1. 192.168.1.1/~johnlee
2. SynologyNAS/~johnlee

if you want to try the online web experience:

for synology
site A:: http://midis.serveftp.net:5000 ,user name :admin, password: admin://http://midis.serveftp.net:5000 ,use...password: admin://http://midis.serveftp.net:5000 ,use...password: admin

site B: http://midi2.myftp.org:5000 ,user name :admin, password: admin://http://midi2.myftp.org:5000 ,user n...password: admin://http://midi2.myftp.org:5000 ,user n...password: admin

for qnap
site A:: http://midis.serveftp.net:8080 ,user name :admin, password: admin://http://midis.serveftp.net:8080 ,use...password: admin://http://midis.serveftp.net:8080 ,use...password: admin

site B: http://midi2.myftp.org:8080 ,user name :admin, password: admin://http://midi2.myftp.org:8080 ,user n...password: admin://http://midi2.myftp.org:8080 ,user n...password: admin

both using streamyx 1MB package.

u should try the Synology file station 3:

Synology File Station 3 is a simple web-based file management interface for users to locally and remotely access and manage files. Requiring only a web browser, you can access data anywhere with no extra installation needed.

File Station 3 can operate under a different network port to prevent users from accessing the management interface for security concerns. For extended security, in addition to HTTP, HTTPS is supported for secure access. It is also customizable to match corporate or organizational requirements.

File Station 3 has an intuitive user interface to minimize the learning curve for all levels of users. The AJAX technology used on File Station 3 allows for more sophisticated features such as drag-and-drop and right-click action. You can directly copy, move, compress, delete or rename files and directories stored in the shared folders of the Synology DiskStation. Moving files among different shared folders with File Station 3 is particularly efficient, as it does not require data to be routed through your desktop.

enjoy.....

(imaging you drag a folder ( let said 20GB - a folder size) from folder A to folder B, if you use samba ( in PC or MAC: open folder A and folder B) it may take more than hours (base on 10/100 line) , but if you are using File station 3, it take less than 5 mins.

This post has been edited by denhock: Apr 7 2010, 11:54 PM
KCv3
post Apr 8 2010, 12:08 AM

Validating
17 posts

[quote=denhock,Apr 7 2010, 10:21 PM]
this is good practices to have UPS or have 2 bays NAS..... (sound like last time everybody using PC without UPS)

synology UPS function support can prevent data from being loss when an unexpected power failure occurs.

Power Recovery

The power recovery function allows the system to boot up automatically after power has been restored, if the system shut down abnormally due to a power failure.

this mean with this APC UPS, it will auto power off when an unexpected power failure occurs and it will also boot up automatically after power has been restored.

Yes that is very true. But in contrast, if we purchase a smaller PC like 'shuttle' as a server, back up storage or media centre, i think it will work the same minus the inconvenience during power failure. Of course for non-IT person like me, there would be more settings which i'll need to do to the PC compare to the integrated softwares provided by Synology. And i guess another plus point is synology uses less power consumption compare to a shuttle pc.
icedlink
post Apr 8 2010, 12:33 AM

208 posts

thanks for the fast reply
i'm like the synology interface alot.

cant access the qnap tho .

will look for you when i'm in KL
to get a nas !

Thanks again~
TSdenhock
post Apr 8 2010, 09:53 AM

469 posts

[quote=KCv3,Apr 8 2010, 12:08 AM]
[quote=denhock,Apr 7 2010, 10:21 PM]

Power Recovery

Yes that is very true. But in contrast, if we purchase a smaller PC like 'shuttle' as a server, back up storage or media centre, i think it will work the same minus the inconvenience during power failure. Of course for non-IT person like me, there would be more settings which i'll need to do to the PC compare to the integrated softwares provided by Synology. And i guess another plus point is synology uses less power consumption compare to a shuttle pc.

[/quote]

Yes. I agree, like DS110j , Power Consumption: 19W(Access); 9W(HDD Hibernation), this mean your electricity bill will less than RM50 per year for this NAS running 24 hours x 365 days .

and this is linux os.... so u don't worry about your system file will kill by virus which is happen in Win os.

Added on April 8, 2010, 9:54 am[quote=icedlink,Apr 8 2010, 12:33 AM]
thanks for the fast reply
i'm like the synology interface alot.

cant access the qnap tho .

will look for you when i'm in KL
to get a nas !

Thanks again~

[/quote]

we do have reseller at others state, please PM me if you like to get locally or u like to buy and we courier to you.

A Good Master Excels at Many Things – Introducing "Master Your Data" Video from Synology® :
http://www.synology.com/enu/video/masteryourdata.php

This post has been edited by denhock: Apr 8 2010, 10:02 AM
lordwood
post Apr 23 2010, 09:53 PM

153 posts

just bought a ds410j with 4 x 1TB HDD (useable space 2.7Tb after SHR / standard vol with DSM2.3) for home use on 1giga network and using cat5e for connection.

Horror! It took 2days 10hrs to back up 1.22Tb data from my pc. Den, is this normal? my average write speed is 7Kb/s. Can you recommend ways to get a faster speed? Thanks.
ozak
post Apr 25 2010, 01:07 PM

17,018 posts

Are you using raid? What raid you using?
TSdenhock
post Apr 25 2010, 08:08 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(lordwood @ Apr 23 2010, 09:53 PM)
just bought a ds410j with 4 x 1TB HDD (useable space 2.7Tb after SHR / standard vol with DSM2.3) for home use on 1giga network and using cat5e for connection.

Horror! It took 2days 10hrs to back up 1.22Tb data from my pc. Den, is this normal? my average write speed is 7Kb/s. Can you recommend ways to get a faster speed? Thanks.

it should about to get up to 28MBs/s

it you need to backup your data , we will suggest you to use DATA Replicator 3 ( come in the CD or u can download from synology.com) , it will faster than what u have now,

or
you can use File station 3 ( u need to enable it at admin page -> file sharing - File station 3) , than u can just drag and drop the file from your PC to NAS ( this speed will also faster than you open 2 folder and drag at drop in your windows explorer)

another one you can try is set the jumbo frame in => admin page => system => network => Jumbo Frame: max MTU is 9000 vs normal MTU is 1500

BTW, may I know
1) which gigabit switch u use , model ?
2) how do u connect ?

u also can use the DS assistant to monitor how is the CPU, RAM, Disk, Network usage..

h_bib
post Apr 29 2010, 05:10 PM

Gadgets Freak
847 posts

Thanks, I already get DS210j from you, now try to do dyndns. try to figure it out, already created account, but cant still access internally.
TSdenhock
post May 3 2010, 01:37 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(h_bib @ Apr 29 2010, 05:10 PM)
Thanks, I already get DS210j from you, now try to do dyndns. try to figure it out, already created account, but cant still access internally.
Ddns is mainly for external use , or remote access from outside or not the same zone or WAN ip .

U may can access locally via this Ddns id your router support local loop back function like lingsys wireless router
genexon
post May 7 2010, 10:09 PM

35 posts

Hi denhock,

I am having very slow download speed for BT (Download Station). Any idea how to setup it properly ?
TSdenhock
post May 8 2010, 10:25 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(genexon @ May 7 2010, 10:09 PM)
Hi denhock,

I am having very slow download speed for BT (Download Station). Any idea how to setup it properly ?
few thing need to be check:

in Download station -> setting
1) enable the BitTorrent protocol encryption:
2) Enable DHT network ( set this ports at your router)
3) BitTorrent Port Range (set this port at your router)

remysix
post May 24 2010, 10:24 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

got myself a DS-410 yesterday with 4x1TB...but denhock wasnt there to give me extra discount biggrin.gif
moving my movies/tv series right now...gonna be hours before settle that task
TSdenhock
post May 25 2010, 01:22 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ May 24 2010, 10:24 PM)
got myself a DS-410 yesterday with 4x1TB...but denhock wasnt there to give me extra discount biggrin.gif
moving my movies/tv series right now...gonna be hours before settle that task
small tips:

use file station 3 to transfer will be more faster than normal way ( open folder A and Folder B, than copy can paste)....

sorry... yesterday.. have some urgent issue need to take care....

PM me ur address, I send one free gift to you...

This post has been edited by denhock: May 25 2010, 01:23 AM
weirdguy
post May 25 2010, 03:31 PM

587 posts

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Stock clearance corner >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
1) QANP TS209 @ RM 1599, now RM 499 ( limited to 3 units, come with 3 months warranty)
2) QNAP TS209 II @ RM 1699, now RM 799 ( limited to 2 units ,come with 3 months warranty)
3) QANP 210 @ RM 1050 , free 1TB HDD x 1 ( limited to 3 units come with 1 year warranty)
4) QNAP TS110 @ RM 999, free 1TB HDD ( limited to 3 units come with 1 year limited warranty)

note: above NAS is open or demo unit, first come first serve or valid while stock last.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Is the Clearance Sales still available?
TSdenhock
post May 25 2010, 10:17 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 25 2010, 03:31 PM)
Is the Clearance Sales still available?
yes, first come first serve basis.

remysix
post May 29 2010, 12:34 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ May 25 2010, 01:22 AM)
small tips:

use file station 3 to transfer will be more faster than normal way ( open folder A and Folder B, than copy can paste)....

sorry... yesterday.. have some urgent issue need to take care....
PM me ur address, I send one free gift to you...
thanks denhock for the gift...kinda myster though.
anyway, just have a go with one of my movie collection - bluray iso about 23Gb (dun ask about the source tongue.gif )...to my surprise, my ACRyan PoHD cannot play this movie smoothly. thinking maybe the iso-thingy. so, ran it on my pc (spec as per siggy)...ran the m2ts file and same result...lagging and stuttering. never had this kind of problem with my QNAP TS-109 - last time played Matrix 37Gb smoothly on my pc and PoHD - kinda weird since this DS410 has twice the cpu speed and 4x the ram. does RAID5 really have that kind of performance penalty? or is there something wrong that i've done. now, really feel i should take the 259Pro instead but it's dual-bay doh.gif
any tips greatly appreciated.
extra info: LAN is on 100Mbps - no problem previously with my TS109; both PC and PoHD on wired LAN.
TSdenhock
post May 31 2010, 12:01 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ May 29 2010, 12:34 PM)
thanks denhock for the gift...kinda myster though.
anyway, just have a go with one of my movie collection - bluray iso about 23Gb (dun ask about the source tongue.gif )...to my surprise, my ACRyan PoHD cannot play this movie smoothly. thinking maybe the iso-thingy. so, ran it on my pc (spec as per siggy)...ran the m2ts file and same result...lagging and stuttering. never had this kind of problem with my QNAP TS-109 - last time played Matrix 37Gb smoothly on my pc and PoHD - kinda weird since this DS410 has twice the cpu speed and 4x the ram. does RAID5 really have that kind of performance penalty? or is there something wrong that i've done. now, really feel i should take the 259Pro instead but it's dual-bay doh.gif
any tips greatly appreciated.
extra info: LAN is on 100Mbps - no problem previously with my TS109; both PC and PoHD on wired LAN.
few things you can try:

1) use Fixed IP for your DS410
2) admin page => storage =>HDD Management =>Enable write cache
3) admin page => File Sharing => Win/Mac OS=> Windows File Service =>Enable Windows file = >Optimize CIFS database operations
4) admin page => Application => Media Server =>Enable DLNA/UPnP media server

if still cannot, than you can try to use NFS instead of SAMBA
5) admin page => File sharing =>NFS Service =>Enable NFS

in your ACRyan POHD should have one section for your to set the SAMBA/NFS/NORMAL

the DS410 have about 110MBs/sec windows download rate, which is not problem to transfer your movie.

BTW, you can use the online Resource Monitor to monitor your network flow, CPU usage , RAM usage, than we can estimate which sector cause this issue.

kaynofx
post Jun 27 2010, 01:36 AM

68 posts

Bro denhock...

Can u pm me ur best price for QNAP TS-459 PRO & 559-PRO? Any additional gift?Huhuhu...

Thanks in advance...
TSdenhock
post Jun 27 2010, 06:57 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(kaynofx @ Jun 27 2010, 01:36 AM)
Bro denhock...

Can u pm me ur best price for QNAP TS-459 PRO & 559-PRO? Any additional gift?Huhuhu...

Thanks in advance...
PM done, please check. free gift while stock last. hehehe

Added on June 27, 2010, 6:59 pmSynology® Tops 16 of 18 Performance Benchmarks on Tom's Hardware Intel® NAS Benchmark

Taipei, Taiwan—June 15, 2010— Synology® was acknowledged by the influential IT site news and reviews site Tom's Hardware, by winning 16 of their 18 Intel® NAS benchmark tests for Intel-based NAS devices. Known for high-performance, feature-rich network attached storage devices, Synology has set the performance bar for SMB and home NAS utilizing the Intel Atom™ Processor D510 and D410.

"Synology has always made DiskStations to be top performers, both in speed and capability, and the Tom's Hardware tests are a testament to that," said Doug Self, Product Marketing Manager at Synology. "Deep integration between our hardware and DiskStation Manager 2.3 allows Synology DiskStations to produce ideal results for both SMBs and the most demanding home users."

Synology DiskStations DS710+, DS1010+, and upcoming rackmount models boast the high-performing Intel Atom Processor D410 or D510; this coupled with Synology's industry-leading DiskStation Manager 2.3 operating system produces reliably fast speeds. This performance is crucial for DiskStations, which offer a multitude of features, and often run several file sharing, backup, streaming, and other tasks simultaneously.

Unlike other outdated performance testing, the Intel NAS Performance Toolkit used to benchmark at Tom's Hardware includes tests like HD video playback and recording, content creation, backup/restore tests in addition to standard copy tests. This helps the Intel NAS Performance Toolkit accurately measure the true speeds of a NAS device over many common tasks the user is most likely to perform.

Localized in 12 languages, Tomshardware.com is one of the most popular global computer technology websites, providing readers with unbiased reviews, news and information. Since 1996, Tom's Hardware has helped to simplify the purchasing process for its readers by providing high-quality content they can trust.

Availability

The benchmark charts from Tom's Hardware can be found here:
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/network...chmarks,87.html

This post has been edited by denhock: Jun 27 2010, 06:59 PM
Nstarone
post Jun 28 2010, 01:03 PM

Hi Bro Denhock,

Am also interested in a QNAP TS-459 PRO & 559-PRO. Do you accept trade in for a Synology DS209II+ and a QNAP TS639? Can PM me pricing and details on any additional gift? tongue.gif

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Nstarone: Jun 28 2010, 01:05 PM

22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:15 PM