DFI LanParty DK 790FXB-M2RSH installation, guide me plz..

TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 11:08 AM, updated 17y ago

25 posts

Hi..i need help on installing my new DFI LanParty DK 790FXB-M2RSH

i brought this new mobo along with:
1) Muskin HD Series DDR2 2x1GB
2) AMD Athlon x2 7790+ BE

to replace my old socket 939 mobo (MSI K8N Neo4-F MS-7125) paired with:
1) Kingston ValueRAM DDR400 2x512MB
2) AMD Athlon x2 3800+

things that i migrate from previous system is:
1) eVGA 7300 LE sweat.gif
2) Seagate ST3160811AS 160GB SATA
3) Samsung SH-D162C 16X DVD-ROM IDE
4) Samsung SH-S182D 20X DVD-RW SATA
5) PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad S75CF thumbup.gif

after i install the mobo into my casing, i wont power up! the standby power led do lid..(mean theres power right?) but when i tried to turn it on using power button (on casing), it didnt power up. same goes to power button on the mobo..still wont power up..

can anyone please guide me step by step in the installation, or checklist on what need to be done for successful installation? icon_question.gif

(or is there a possibility of hardware failure? cry.gif )

add up: i use Power Logic Utopia U 3000 MX case..(but im positive that i get the front panel connection to mobo as stated in manual)

This post has been edited by lonewolf86: Mar 10 2009, 11:19 AM
ktek
post Mar 10 2009, 12:44 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

i assume debug LED no display..
make sure all jumpers are in right place.
did the chipset become warm after leave it powered a while?
try boot without memory and display card.
TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 12:50 PM

25 posts

debug LED shows no display..
i didn't change the jumper so it should be in default..
as for warmth..i didnt check..i unplug the psu concerning it will damage my mobo.. sad.gif

p/s: LYP's DFI user..call-for-help.. icon_question.gif
yngwie
post Mar 10 2009, 01:51 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

this mainboard is quite choosy on ram. your Muskin HD Series is double or single side ram?
check the debug LED status on the mobo. refer to the mobo manual for error code.
ah_khoo
post Mar 10 2009, 01:55 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

any beeps when u press d power button? how bout tryin it w/ another psu? if there's no display on d debug led it could be d case that d board is not properly powered. smile.gif

QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 10 2009, 01:51 PM)
this mainboard is quite choosy on ram. your Muskin HD Series is double or single side ram?
check the debug LED status on the mobo. refer to the mobo manual for error code.
it was mentioned that there's no display on d debug led bro. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Mar 10 2009, 01:56 PM
amenlo9
post Mar 10 2009, 02:16 PM

2,627 posts

try to reset the bios 1st.experienced same problem when installed new mobo
verdict
post Mar 10 2009, 02:17 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

welcome D user...

lets spread the D factor...

all the best with your DK...

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
ah_khoo
post Mar 10 2009, 02:19 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 10 2009, 02:17 PM)
welcome D user...

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
waa bro, help to solve d problem 1st then only promote mah... tongue.gif
xixo_12
post Mar 10 2009, 03:16 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

where is the other DFI DK user?
buat penat je i give link to this thread at amd oc thread... sweat.gif
come help him.. dun let him alone..
TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 03:18 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 10 2009, 01:51 PM)
double side ram..brought from robyncom (one of the trusted seller here)..they said can match with 790FXB..
like mr. ah_khoo said..no LED status.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 10 2009, 01:55 PM)
any beeps when u press d power button? how bout tryin it w/ another psu? if there's no display on d debug led it could be d case that d board is not properly powered.  smile.gif
it was mentioned that there's no display on d debug led bro.  sweat.gif
no beeps no nothing..the only response i get is the standby power LED..
let me get this right..the power needed by mobo is from ATX (location beside ram) and 12V power (near clear CMOS jumper)..is that it? any other power connection needed? (other that to HDD, Optical Drive, Fan and CPU Fan..)

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Mar 10 2009, 02:16 PM)
try to reset the bios 1st.experienced same problem when installed new mobo
same experience as mine? reset mobo by switching the reset BIOS jumper right?
will try later..

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 10 2009, 02:17 PM)
welcome D user...

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
yeah..i brought it to fell the thrill but now... sad.gif

ah_khoo
post Mar 10 2009, 03:36 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:16 PM)
where is the other DFI DK user?
buat penat je i give link to this thread at amd oc thread... sweat.gif
come help him.. dun let him alone..
tengah torong lah ni... banyak komplen plak... sleep.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf86 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:18 PM)
no beeps no nothing..the only response i get is the standby power LED..
let me get this right..the power needed by mobo is from ATX (location beside ram) and 12V power (near clear CMOS jumper)..is that it? any other power connection needed? (other that to HDD, Optical Drive, Fan and CPU Fan..)
how bout d 8 pins?

clearin cmos is not necessary coz all brand new boards are load optimized @ defualt unless someone tried d board & forgot to clear d cmos b4 it was passed to u. smile.gif
TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 03:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf86 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:18 PM)
ATX = 24pin
12V = 8pin..

then yes..i do plug in both..

anyway..thnx in advance guys.. icon_question.gif

p/s: at first excited to OC my 7790 BE..now nak power up pn xleh..haihh.. blink.gif doh.gif
ah_khoo
post Mar 10 2009, 03:53 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf86 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:45 PM)
ATX = 24pin
12V = 8pin..

then yes..i do plug in both..

anyway..thnx in advance guys.. icon_question.gif
p/s: at first excited to OC my 7790 BE..now nak power up pn xleh..haihh.. blink.gif  doh.gif
one more thing, check d position of both clear cmos jumper, just in case. smile.gif
TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 08:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 10 2009, 03:53 PM)
one more thing, check d position of both clear cmos jumper, just in case.  smile.gif
jumper checked..already in default position... sad.gif
Evil Oracle
post Mar 10 2009, 08:54 PM

307 posts

bro
dont worry...
last time da problem occurred
many times to me
try dis method

1. unplug ur psu pwr cable
2. unplug 24pin pwr
3.unplug 12v cable
4. clear cmos by out da battery.

w8 30s

plugged in back all cable
pikacu
post Mar 10 2009, 09:29 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

do you tried to try power up the mobo w/o casing? (in other word open-bench laugh.gif)

or do you check your psu 8pin connector(to cpu) snap-clip at the right angle?

TSlonewolf86
post Mar 10 2009, 10:08 PM

25 posts

unplug all the power (ATX + 8pin 12V + CMOS battery) works! rclxms.gif
thanx everyone icon_rolleyes.gif
n yes mr pikacu..i did it but pulling out everthing on the desk..easier to work with.. smile.gif

now im loading my system..everything runs well..until it ask to boot from cd..(i want to install new OS)
i press enter when Boot From CD appear..then screen goes black..

any experience on why this happen? i tried multiple XP cd..even change the drive it booted (between my DVD-ROM and DVD-R player)..still black screen..hope u guys can bail me out on this one too sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lonewolf86: Mar 11 2009, 09:40 AM
ah_khoo
post Mar 11 2009, 09:02 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf86 @ Mar 10 2009, 10:08 PM)
unplug all the power (ATX + 8pin 12V + CMOS battery) works!  rclxms.gif
thanx everyone  icon_rolleyes.gif
n yes mr pikacu..i did it but fulling out everthing on the desk..easier to work with.. smile.gif

now im loading my system..everything runs well..until it ask to boot from cd..(i want to install new OS)
i press enter when Boot From CD appear..then screen goes black..

any experience on why this happen? i tried multiple XP cd..even change the drive it booted (between my DVD-ROM and DVD-R player)..still black screen..hope u guys can bail me out on this one too  sweat.gif
check in bios whether d bla bla bla acpi table is enabled? for xp & below it should be disabled, while for vista, it should be enabled. smile.gif
SUSone3rd
post Apr 1 2009, 06:02 PM

58 posts

Im havin wierd problem with my setup also...DFI 790FXB-M2RSH + Phenom II 720BE...after installing Vista 32 the system juz wont load windows Vista...But during installation got no prob..

Tried wif Windows 7,so far got no prob....anybody can help me wif this...?
MarlboroFreshMint
post Apr 1 2009, 06:13 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(one3rd @ Apr 1 2009, 06:02 PM)
Im havin wierd problem with my setup also...DFI 790FXB-M2RSH + Phenom II 720BE...after installing Vista 32 the system juz wont load windows Vista...But during installation got no prob..

Tried wif Windows 7,so far got no prob....anybody can help me wif this...?
Vista Loader Dosent support on DFI Brand Board ....u might stuck on vista loader pages when u open pc .... try genuine vista @@''

0.0197sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:35 PM