5 Graphic Novels/Comics Every Bookworm must read!

SUSTwoThirdsMajority
post Mar 9 2009, 03:05 PM, updated 17y ago

85 posts

People say that Comic Books & Graphic Novels are not as intelligent as Books itself. Well those idiots can go fark themselves. Here are some Graphic Novels & Comic Books every Bookworm must read:

5.Fables
What happens when all your favourite fairy tale characters gets into the real world? Yup, it's way worse than what you think. This ongoing comic book series is a brilliant form of work that has continues to amaze me till this day.

4.The Dark Knight Returns
Before Nolan & Burton's Batman, Frank Miller has written one of the most serious interpretations of Batman ever made. A depressing, but brilliant look into aging Bruce Wayne as he looks forward to his last adventures as Batman.

3.Maus
One of the most interesting portrayals of the Holocaust, The Mice shown in this book are Jews during the WWII being persecuted by Nazis portrayed by cats. Interesting, gives Anne Frank a run for her money.

2.Y - The Last Man
All the men are dead and the women survived, except for one man: Yorick Brown and his male counterpart Capuchin ape Ampersand. Venture into a manless world as Yorick alongside Dr.Alison Mann and his bodyguard 355 ventures around the world looking for answers to the cause and his search for his long-lost girlfriend, Beth.

1.Watchmen
Before you watch the movie, read the novel! It's simple. One of the most hauntingly brilliant graphic novels of all time is also one of the most influential in the world. This novel has influenced everyone, from the likes of Christopher Nolan, to the writers of Heroes. A must read for everyone who is into reading books, comic books or both.
goldfries
post Mar 9 2009, 03:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I guess with the show being a hit, it's not surprising MPH and Borders will have a lot of Watchmen book on sale. smile.gif
Massa
post Mar 9 2009, 03:51 PM

Massaâ„¢
709 posts

Yeah , you're right. wink.gif

baoz
post Mar 9 2009, 06:48 PM

963 posts

How many volumes are there in the Watchmen series?

I'd like to get them but if they're too expensive I may have to think twice about it... =/
SUSTwoThirdsMajority
post Mar 9 2009, 06:50 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Mar 9 2009, 06:48 PM)

I'd like to get them but if they're too expensive I may have to think twice about it... =/
There are 12 Volumes.
goldfries
post Mar 9 2009, 06:51 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

what about Frank Miller's other novels that were recently adapted to movies.

Sin City, 300 and Spirit. how are they as graphic novels?
SUSTwoThirdsMajority
post Mar 9 2009, 07:30 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 9 2009, 06:51 PM)

Yeah, they're a good mention too.
narutokun83
post Mar 9 2009, 07:33 PM

2,108 posts

Those are good reads, notable mentions IMO

1) The Preacher
2) Sandman
Voxdei
post Mar 10 2009, 12:04 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 9 2009, 06:51 PM)

Although Frank Miller produced the ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE movie adaptation, the comic series was created by Will Eisner. The comics spanned several series, collections and one shots over the years, with different writers and artists, catching up would be hard to do.

anyway, here are my personal favorites. at least what I can think of right now.

Pride of Baghdad
Usagi Yojimbo
Sandman
Runaways
We3
Persepolis
Road to Perdition series (including Purgatory, Paradise)
Laika
Asterix and Obelix (lol)
the others which are already mentioned by previous posts, are pretty good recommendations too.

I tend to avoid superhero comics, because I really have no idea where to start tongue.gif
dishwasher
post Mar 10 2009, 12:39 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Mar 9 2009, 06:48 PM)

There are 12 volumes, but its now sold in one volume collecting all 12. Soft cover price is around 70+ ringgit I think, and hardcover is 120+.

BTW, how can you not have Neil Gaiman's Sandman on that list? Heresy!

This post has been edited by dishwasher: Mar 10 2009, 12:39 AM
snowcrash
post Mar 10 2009, 12:54 AM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

Tintin... seriously.

Warren Ellis' Global Frequency & Authority for fans of action/ thrillers. His other, longer series (Transmetropolitan, Planetary, Fell etc) are good reads as well.

Kurt Busiek's Astro City, especially the volume called Confessions.
firedauz
post Mar 10 2009, 01:15 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

After the Dark Knight Returns, there was the Dark Knight Strikes Again, where Bats heads off to save the world thumbup.gif

GL was even felt eerie to see Bats feeling so 'happy' at the concert laugh.gif
goldfries
post Mar 10 2009, 06:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Voxdei @ Mar 10 2009, 12:04 AM)
Although Frank Miller produced the ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE movie adaptation, the comic series was created by Will Eisner. The comics spanned several series, collections and one shots over the years, with different writers and artists, catching up would be hard to do.

i seem to get Miller and Eisner confused.

Pride of Baghdad
Usagi Yojimbo
Sandman
Runaways
We3
Persepolis
Laika
Asterix and Obelix (lol)
the others which are already mentioned by previous posts, are pretty good recommendations too.

I tend to avoid superhero comics, because I really have no idea where to start tongue.gif
eh serious ah? Asterix and Obelix is considered graphic novel? not Comic? smile.gif i like them.
SUSahjames
post Apr 24 2009, 11:09 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

best graphic novel i bought:

x-men: god loves, man kills (1982)
The story concerns a minister, the Reverend William Stryker, stirring up religious anti-mutant fervor and kidnapping Professor X in an attempt to eradicate all mutants. It is one of the most clear-cut examples of X-Men comics using mutant relations as a metaphor for race relations.

Who knew, 20 yrs later a movie was made!

This post has been edited by ahjames: Apr 24 2009, 11:17 AM
duh2k
post Apr 24 2009, 08:57 PM

592 posts

Pride of Baghdad
Usagi Yojimbo
Sandman
Runaways
We3
Persepolis
Laika
Asterix and Obelix (lol)

The Asterix and Obelix series are an absolute classic! Grew up on em and they're the only comics that made me go digging around encyclopedias for the meanings of 'veni, vidi,vici', and generally stuff about the roman empire laugh.gif

Add in the humour and stories....sigh, I want more Asterix and Obelix!!!

p.s: oops, forgot to add Tintin as a classic as well! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by duh2k: Apr 24 2009, 08:57 PM
eric.tangps
post Apr 25 2009, 09:30 AM

640 posts

My pick :-

1. Ultra : Seven Days
2. All Star Superman Vol 1 & 2 ( a complete run )
3. X-Men : Dark Phoenix Saga ( not the X-Men 3 version )
4. Captain America Omnibus ( 25 issues leading to Capt's death )
5. New X-Men Omnibus ( Grant Morrison's run on X-Men )
empire23
post May 6 2009, 02:18 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Mar 9 2009, 07:33 PM)
Those are good reads, notable mentions IMO

1) The Preacher
2) Sandman
Haha, i f***en love Preacher.

DOOMCOCK!

I wouldn't recommend it as reading for any conservative tongue.gif
spacelion
post May 9 2009, 08:15 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

My favourites currently are Fables (Jack of Fables is a spin off, doesn't interest me) and Walking Dead.

I'd like to add History of Violence to that list too.

And yes, Astro City is a must read.
redninja
post May 14 2009, 03:41 PM

165 posts

I love Fables and Y: The Last Man too. Do not like Jack of Fables spinoff.

Also like Bone by Jeff Smith.

Tried some Preacher and Punisher but not my thing.
Mudmaniac
post May 19 2009, 02:11 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

I await each new volume of Astro City with all the glee of a child waiting for birthday presents.

Pretty much anything that says Kurt Busiek or Alan Moore are a yes for me.

Speaking of Alan Moore, I would recommend a series called Top 10. Imagine the police force you would need in "City of Heroes"

0.0181sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:38 AM