ATI Radeon HD 4890 RV790 Launches April 6, ETA: first-second week of APRIL.
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Apr 13 2009, 01:04 AM) dah 6 bulan baru nak fix, aku dah lame dah jual 4850 crossfire aku.. bodo ati btw this is my overvolted 4890 vrm temp when i ran furmark extreme gpu burning mode for a few minutes.. please note that from the picture that ive up the vcore to 1.375v vs 1.3125v stock and i oced the gpu to 1ghz and set the fan speed to 100% the gpu temp at that time was 79c... btw 130c for vrm is definitely not good as the board has a 5 phase digital vrm for the gpu vcore alone.. if u wanna overvolt ur card please use better hsf than the stock one.. This post has been edited by ben_panced: Apr 13 2009, 11:10 AM
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 13 2009, 01:37 PM) From what I've read in Beyond3D, Furmark is actually a "power virus" (for the ATI Radeons at least) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_virus(Furmark is NOT mallicous though) That means Furmark actually pushes your GPU to use more power than specified in the TDP, which never happens in other testing methods. So stop using Furmark since it's a misrepresentation of how stable you GC is. I'm not sure, but the ATITool Artifact scanner is a good alternative. hello brother, havent u heard about stress testing to check for stability, this software is like the intel burn test for the gpu, if it pass this test, meaning it will handle any games you to throw at it 24/7 without crashing
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 13 2009, 05:16 PM) IBT/OCCT/Prime95 etc are NOT power viruses. Your 95W CPU will still use less than 95W in the end if you run it rated (aka normal usage) Intel and AMD's custom programs written to test stability however WILL use more than 95W at stock. Hence they are power viruses. A stock 4870X2 uses 320W on Furmark instead of the 270W board power rated max that it's supposed to have. In all intents and purposes Furmark is a power virus. All I'm saying here is no need to get obsessed with a rather stupid tool that can actually damage your card (130C VRMs etc). Pro-MX stop trolling. stressing something over its limit is even better coz it'll confirm that an OC is rock solid stable and btw the digital vrm chips can handle more than 130c
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 13 2009, 08:59 PM) Just installed the new 9.4 ccc and wanna try it with rivatuner 2.24 but somehow it cannot detect my GC. Anybody know anything about this~ here look at this guide vr-zone 4890 oc guideanyway nekkid pictar of my 4890 This post has been edited by ben_panced: Apr 13 2009, 09:25 PM
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Apr 13 2009, 09:44 PM) ah... nothing better than stripping a card naked to reveal its messy TIM. P/S: btw, nice feet there lol, haha i got nothing better to do actually back then, so i decided to tear up my gc lor.. anyway, i forgot to remove my feet from the pic, but what the hell
ben_panced
Apr 13 2009, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 13 2009, 10:53 PM) This is the message I got when I use Rivatuner and in the 2nd picture you can clearly see that there's no small thumbnail for GC. what driver are u using? try downloading catalyst 9.4 and to use rivatuner 2.24 for 4890 u have to install a new rivatuner config file.. Rivatuner 2.24 updated config fileand then extract the new config file and then overwrite the old.. that's all, and if u want to vmod the card by using rivatuner, u have to read the vr-zone 4890 oc guide which the link i had posted earlier
ben_panced
Apr 14 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 13 2009, 11:43 PM) Maybe next time I'll do it. I'm using the catalyst 9.4 CCC and already installed the 2.24 version of the Rivatuner. I clicked the link you post before but it directs me to www.guru3d.com. Have anybody tried the link ben_panced posted before? right click teh link and then save as the file lor
ben_panced
Apr 14 2009, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 14 2009, 12:07 PM) The VRM takes up to 150C. But at 130C you already know that thermal dissipation is struggling so temps will go up very fast. For such components I wouldn't stress it too much, as the 4890 seen through thermal imaging is actually a very cool card, 90 something Celsius for the hottest VRMs and everything else way below (275's analog regs get to 110 something on stock, something that is actually scary) 130c is the max temp at that time, it'll not go up further, but yeah, amd should do a better design for their hsf
ben_panced
Apr 15 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 14 2009, 11:49 PM) So i can DL the configuration file now, will test it tomorrow since I have assignments to do tonight  Added on April 15, 2009, 12:00 amBtw, is there any aftermarket coolers that available for HD4890? any hsf that can fit 4870 can fit 4890
ben_panced
Apr 15 2009, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Apr 15 2009, 12:47 AM) good 3D benchmark test is..the game itself xD 3dmark vantage, games w/ integrated benchmark tools.. oc tools..CCC also good, but go with riva tuner/ bios flash if you want to do some voltage tweak yup voltmodding by using rivatuner is very easy and effortless as it needs only a few steps such as installing a new config file for riva tuner and installing the vt1165 plugin
ben_panced
Apr 15 2009, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 15 2009, 12:49 PM) One of 'em. I've just reused stuff I made when I was 15 so it isn't horribly impressive (but at least it's not ehh  ) I haven't done the fan sticker so it looks funny for now. wow i wish to tear that fugly his sticker from my 4890 card and replace it with what ur designing nice job bro
ben_panced
Apr 16 2009, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Apr 16 2009, 01:29 AM) i leave it all the way to 1.400VGPU  1ghz core clocks needs oni 1.375v vgpu bro, no need to set it so high, it'l only leads to higher temps and power consumption