4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hairstyling Products Discussion & Recommendation, Wax, clay, gel, cream, mousse, spray

g3n0c1d3
post Dec 1 2015, 05:15 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Dec 1 2015, 03:22 PM)
just bought the mousse(Loreal Paris Studio Line Silk & Gloss Volume Mousse) tomorrow morning shall test it out, btw anyone seen this product in malaysia? http://www.tresemme.com/product/detail/353...reations-mousse also any wax to recommend because gatsby makes my hand itchy prolly have allergy to it, dont want pomade because don't like greasy.
got this one shop at the mines selling loads of hair care product and salon hair product. i guess probably u'll have a better chance getting it there.... oh and its cheaper too.... well usually...
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 19 2016, 04:00 PM

6,497 posts

im looking for a light pomade now....

i realize that i can style much better just by using hair cream... and easier to wash too....

g3n0c1d3
post Jan 20 2016, 03:55 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jan 20 2016, 01:15 PM)
three options that you might be interested:

1) O'douds light hold

2) Lockhart's light hold

3) Shear revival elm street.
thanks...

will look into it later on
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 26 2016, 02:58 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(simsim @ Jan 26 2016, 11:28 AM)
i just got myself a layrite. it could be the different climate here in Malaysia compared to california where the pomp reviews it.

i find that the pull isnt that good, doesnt straighten my hair for the pomp as easily as suavecito or any of the oil base i use. and this is the strong hold brown color layrite. a bit disappointing.

today is the 2nd time im using it, finding similar results in the first styling. but restyling has been good. i think i will try and style my hair a bit damp tomorrow.
i find layrite are great when u use it on a damp hair. oh the hold also better than suavecito and it doesnt feel too dry when u wash it. however, u are right about the weather. its been hot this month and whatever u used will melt under the hot scouring sun lol....
g3n0c1d3
post Feb 17 2016, 04:30 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(zyphron @ Feb 16 2016, 07:06 PM)
youtube
tried to do the disconnected undercut like above. but cant last and hair ended flat after half hour.

tried with water based pomade, L'oreal Indesctructible Strong Wax, but none working.

Considering to try Hanz de Fuko but any recommendation for strong hold? like super strong hold type of wax or pomade.
not enough vol on the top of ur hair maybe? i myself need a very long hair on the top of my head to pull a decent pomp.
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 29 2016, 10:50 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(netis93 @ Mar 23 2016, 03:08 PM)
Hai guys.Im new here.My hair is weavy and pretty long..not very long.haha.Planning to get the hanz de fuko conditioner and shampoo..Hair is pretty dry and messy,thats why.Any suggestion on how to take care weavy hair?Thanks in advance smile.gif and cheers
i got a pretty wavy hair and every freaking time i shampoo and dried it out the frizz hair is unbearable lol.... my hair will become so fluffy and looks so freaking weird on me.

last time i use loreal elseve with its conditioner and the after treatment for years till i change to another shampoo ( just feeling like want a to try a new shampoo i guess...) it did tame the frizziness quite well...

oh another thing... i regularly oil my hair nowdays so the frizziness arent a thing for me now... a regular bylcreem should be ok... just to oil ur hair so it wont be too wavy...
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 29 2016, 02:31 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Apr 29 2016, 12:06 PM)
Hahah i dont get why wavy hair wasnt good  ? personally orginally my hair was damn tough & straight and i always admired those people who have wavy hair since it will create the volume within the hair. Person like me in order to get the hair wavy we go perm our hair ...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
My wavy hair is like 90s surfer dudes... U know the frizzy, fluffy and funny looking hair? Thats how my hair looks like. Especially when it got longer.
g3n0c1d3
post May 5 2016, 02:34 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ May 5 2016, 10:20 AM)
You guys can try one of hot selling Pomade in Malaysia currenty

Skull Republic Pomade. 150g, Waterbased, Perfume scent yo!

RM50 inclusive of Postage in Peninsular Malaysia.

Click on my signature to know more
so its a waterbased pomade i guess??

on that note... it seems that the trend nowdays especially in malaysia, i just noticed the emergence of pomade is like wild fire on summer lol... however most of what i see is only waterbased pomade... and less petrobased pomade and rarely light petrobased pomade...

would like to see local artisan making petrobased pomade especially light petrobased pomade.

g3n0c1d3
post May 5 2016, 04:37 PM

6,497 posts

oh thanks alot bro.... i still have 5 of my petrobased pomade collecting dust due to super extreme hot weather this past 5 months.

i was just ranting about the lack of the local petrobased pomade especially light petrobased pomade.
g3n0c1d3
post Jun 13 2016, 11:07 AM

6,497 posts

on my lazy days, just slap bylcreem on my hair and be done with it... the cream can keep up with my hairstyle for a time being so im happy with that...

if i feel super pump up i'll be using my petrobased pomade.... which i need to really feel it to use it though....
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 27 2016, 02:00 AM

6,497 posts

Now i need to clear up some misconception regarding wavy hair need to use heavy hold.

I have a thick, rough and wavy 90s surfer hair and for sometimes now i believed that i need to use heavy hold for every hair product i had used until recently i saw a video on youtube, he got hair just like mine but rocking a sick classic pomp. He only use medium or light pomade for his hairstyle and the reason he gave for using the medium or light pomade is because wavy hair can get away using medium or light pomade if u know how ur hair tends to wave and how ur hair whorl characteristic.
Using heavy pomade will only force the hair for ur desired hairstyle but if u cant understand how ur hair behaves (especially the wavy type) u will always and always end up having to restyle ur hair over and over again. Taking his advise ive switch to hair cream (which is the lightest i think and cheap) and styled to pomp. And guess what? It works just nice. I cant have my pomp as high as i wanted to but it was a nice and very classical looking pomp.

Well tl:dr version would be, understand how ur hair characteristic, get a cut suitable for the style and rock it with a good hair product.
Not all hairstyle works on ur hair but it is what it is.

g3n0c1d3
post Oct 29 2016, 03:36 PM

6,497 posts

Yeah at 1st i kindda hate my hair like this but aventually, i accepted my hair as it is and try to style it accordingly
g3n0c1d3
post Oct 31 2016, 02:26 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(roti_john @ Oct 31 2016, 10:00 AM)
mind share the video link? bcos my hair oso wavy
here u go. a great reviewer.... i like the way he styled his pomp.

g3n0c1d3
post Nov 1 2016, 03:51 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Nov 1 2016, 03:29 PM)
i would prefer pompadour but my hair seem to be just too flat..  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
have u tried to styled it? what kind of pomp would u like to do? classic? rockabilly? elephant trunk? modern pomp?

if u can slick back ur hair i guess its possible to do a pomp. depending on the nature of ur hair... gotta have to do loads of experiment.

be it with pomade, gel, wax, even a hair cream, need to try to style ur hair to a pomp. look up for tutorials on youtube. it takes practices and patient.

g3n0c1d3
post Nov 1 2016, 05:35 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Nov 1 2016, 05:14 PM)
i like modern pomp. but to the side kind. now using pomade, tried with hair cream and wax also cannot.. the best is pomade.. but i feel it is still too flat..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  my hair is thick and straight..
how long is ur hair btw? it takes quite a long hair to do a nice pomp. but too long will usually flatten ur pomp so the length has to be suitable for u to style a pomp. Have ur barber to take a look and consult with him/her regarding what u want and what he/she thinks suitable.

i somehow have a feeling ur hair is a bit long that the weight of ur hair tends to flatten out. im not an expert of course so my opinion might be different from everyone.

g3n0c1d3
post Nov 1 2016, 09:20 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Nov 1 2016, 05:44 PM)
she actually recommend me to go for slick back instead. as my hair is too heavy and thick for pomp.
Well did u ask if she can decrease the volume of ur hair? I know it can be done but to what extend im not sure. Since u can slick back ur hair means its quite long.

Maybe u can check out other barber for their opinion? I cant recommend u anywhere since i usually cut my hair at those rm10 barber.

g3n0c1d3
post Nov 14 2016, 09:11 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 14 2016, 08:04 AM)
hey im currently using Suavecito Pomade firm hold. usually apply it when my hairs 80% dry. however the old is not strong enough as my hair is thick and rough.

is there any product you guys are using with a stronger hold ?

btw how much do you guys use? i probably dig about the 2-3x the size of a pea to apply. too little?
from my personal experience, layrite heavy hold is one of the strongest waterbased pomade i had ever use and wont make ur hair feels dry when washing too.

as for how much i use? well usually im pretty generous so 2 scoops but its not pea size scoop i tell ya. for me the tip is the pomade needs to cover not only the top of the hair but also the deep part of the hair. using the waterbased pomade on a towel dried hair is the best way to making sure that all the pomade are spread evenly on the hair.
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 14 2016, 11:09 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 14 2016, 09:37 AM)
thanks. know any place in kl/selangor that sells layrite?
not sure... last time i checked kronoz (Fahrenheit88 KL) sells them. u can also check at the yard (ss15 subang jaya) but a heed of warning thou... its not going to be cheap... last time it was rm75? i dont know the price these days.
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 16 2016, 10:27 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 15 2016, 06:07 PM)
got one for rm75, any hair spray to recommend?
im sorry i dont use hair spray. so cant give u any recommendation
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 18 2016, 08:54 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Nov 18 2016, 08:17 AM)
Actually those rm30 after putting sticker pomade is good or not?

And for long hair, wax or pomade for better hold
Some are ok some are just nasty lol. For long hair, go for pomade or hair cream lah. Wax is just too much hassle to take it out especially if u have a very long hair

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0484sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:15 PM