*-={House of Miniature Schnauzer v8}=-*, lai lai lai.. come in!

rkkyong
post Sep 16 2009, 11:01 AM

Hi everyone, I am taking home my Min Schnauzer home this Sat morning. I plan to toilet train using the crate method ie put it into a crate and take it out regularly to pee and poop on newspapers.

Wat do I do when I am not at home ? I was told that I should not let it soil the crate. Also what should I use to remove the urine smell should there be an accident ? The puppy shoukld be about 7 weeks old when i take it home

Alternatively should i just start potty training during the long school holidays when my kids are home everyday ?

Thanking all u "sifus" in advance

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Sep 16 2009, 11:02 AM
rkkyong
post Sep 16 2009, 02:03 PM

hi....rkkyong~ congrate for being a ms owner smile.gif
u can get playpen....train him there... get a toilet tray( i m using that on my poodle and it's works well)
to eliminate the pee smell, u can dilute the floor cleaner with water into a sprayer...spray the part that he pee on and wipe it off with clean cloth....other alternative is mix vinegar with water into sprayer n spray that area....vinegar makes a good smell remover and antibacteria agent.

anything just msg here....lots of ms owners here willign to help...but make sure u make your own study 1st before you ask ya tongue.gif

[/quote]

jason

thanks for the advice. i have read about the vinegar but kind of hesitant to use it for the crate as the dog might find it smelly. wat do u think ?

i know there are commercial sprays but if can save $$$, why not ? the pet shop said can use clorox but tot tat is kind of too toxic

in any event, i will use the vinegar for the floor in the event of accidents

i actually read up books and articles on the net . makes me more confused leh rclxub.gif

KK

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Sep 16 2009, 03:37 PM
rkkyong
post Sep 17 2009, 10:12 AM

okie . let me try is out first . dont want to keep buying this and tat . spent quite a bit already.
rkkyong
post Sep 22 2009, 05:57 PM

I took my puppy back from the breeder on Sat mornin. I tried to potty trainin it following the books i have read on sat and sunday (ie I put the puppy in a puppy carrier and take it out at regular intervals for peeing and pooping) . Damn stressful man, sitttin there and waiting for the dog to pee and poop !! My back almost broke !!!

I gave up !! Now (after reading **yikhoe's post) I put newpapers into a corner of the cage. It is smart enuf to actually pee and poop there . Really cannot believe it ......

But Max (my puppy) has lots of dandruff like flakes on its head ? The breeder says it will go away after a few baths . Is there anything (any cream etc) I can use ? Do I need to go to a vet ?

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Sep 22 2009, 06:02 PM
rkkyong
post Sep 23 2009, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(yikhoe @ Sep 23 2009, 12:16 AM)
i already took the puppy to the vet. He also did mentioned about the dandruff but should go away after a few bath. so don't worry that much..

anyway, here are my puppy. i called him HIRO...
will take nicer pics next time.. a very impromptu sort thing....
Haha .... Hiro looks like the sibling, Max. I wonder who bought the 3rd puppy . Hiro looks more docile than Max though. Max has gotten more active in the last 2 days , running around the car porch and biting shoes ...... I cannot wait until he finishes his vaccinations to start him on puppy obedience classes

I find Max scratching away on and off. I guess it must be the dandruff. I will monitor it for a while . There is quite a bit of flakes collected at the tray placed under the cage which worries me

rkkyong
post Sep 23 2009, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Sep 23 2009, 11:44 AM)
u bough it from PJ uptown???
The dogs are not from Uptown . I think I know which dogs u r referring to at Uptown. They are pretty nice ............
rkkyong
post Sep 24 2009, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(yikhoe @ Sep 24 2009, 02:01 PM)
mine will only make noise when he knows you're there... if u go out, then slowly no more noise... either it's giving up or see there's no point making noise..
max is the same .... after playing outside the cage, he will make some noise when i put him back into the cage. after tat he will keep quiet

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Sep 24 2009, 03:06 PM

0.0446sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:07 PM