*-={House of Miniature Schnauzer v8}=-*, lai lai lai.. come in!

puppytrainer
post Sep 18 2009, 08:40 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(yikhoe @ Sep 17 2009, 01:44 PM)
The asian way of teaching works but be careful, your dog might fear u when he does something wrong. which means he/she might hide somewhere (under table/sofa/etc) when u wanna scold him or even when u say "NO". they will be conditioned into thinking that NO is equal to a beating... so bettere run before kena whack..
Agree with you. Punishment is NOT the way of training a puppy... You should use positive reinformation methods. Reward when he is doing the right thing. Ignore him when he is doing the wrong thing.

If your dog has done something wrong like biting newspaper and etc then you only found out after like 30 minutes, if you punish him. it is useless. The reason is he does not know why you punish him. If you caught him red-handed, and you us stern voice like "Shhh...", with stern look at him. He will know that what he did was wrong.

If you do not have time to take care of your dog, put it on leash, crate or playpen. If you give him a chance to run around, make sure that you keep an eye on him.

If you give him a chance to run around while you are busy and he does something wrong, it is handler's problem - Your problem. DO NO punish your dog!

Added on September 18, 2009, 8:42 am
QUOTE(kerrie @ Sep 16 2009, 05:51 PM)
i tried vinegar before. doesn't work for me. My daisy stil pee on da floor after dat. But it does get rid of da bad smells on da tray.
Try Odor eliminator.

This post has been edited by puppytrainer: Sep 18 2009, 08:42 AM

0.0172sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:42 PM