hi nokia2003. when you say unlocking fees, can you advice me on where i can do this? is there a contact or something that you can provide me?
Problem/Help : iPhone with Rebel SIM (TurboSIM)
May 3 2009, 09:51 AM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi nokia2003. when you say unlocking fees, can you advice me on where i can do this? is there a contact or something that you can provide me?
May 3 2009, 02:46 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(stutzedward @ May 3 2009, 07:42 AM) no, provided that you restore your unit immediately to complete the unlocking process, upon receiving the text message (asking you to do so)however, there are reported cases that the iPhone was locked back to the carrier upon a new firmware upgrade. these reported cases are the minority and could be attributed to the above. Added on May 3, 2009, 2:56 pm QUOTE(dangeroustit @ May 3 2009, 09:51 AM) hi nokia2003. when you say unlocking fees, can you advice me on where i can do this? is there a contact or something that you can provide me? i'm not gonna elaborate the entire process in detail, but will give a gist of it.first you need to determine the carrier that it is locked to (optus? vodafone? telstra?). if you are in doubt, you can try to ring the apple (australia) customer service and provide them with your IMEI number. or of course you can opt for the old fashion, conventional manner (like how i did for a friend), locate all three sim cards (doesn't matter if it's prepaid or not) and conduct a trial and error experiment. once you have determined the carrier, then ring up that respective carrier for further information on how to unlock the iPhone (for optus, the general thumb rule is to have at least $120 of prepaid credit loaded inside). wait for the text to come in (suggested waiting period is 10 days, but typically it takes much less) and from what i have gathered in the OZ forum, the text might sometimes be a case of "lost in transition". hence you can always try to restore your iPhone via iTunes and then try with another foreign sim card. This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 3 2009, 03:09 PM |
May 3 2009, 03:55 PM
12 posts Joined: May 2006 |
actually i have an oz unit thats is locked with optus.
ive unlocked it by calling optus and providing them with my friends details in oz 10 days later i unlocked it by using my friends optus sim and connecting to itunes. but the problem is now im afraid that if i update to the latest firmware it would get unlocked again because i dont have that optus sim with me already. any solutions ? |
May 3 2009, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(bawitaba @ May 3 2009, 03:55 PM) actually i have an oz unit thats is locked with optus. if you have restored your iPhone via iTunes after you have received the text, you ought to be alright (the restoration process essentially records your IMEI on their database and hence it is imperative for you to do so).ive unlocked it by calling optus and providing them with my friends details in oz 10 days later i unlocked it by using my friends optus sim and connecting to itunes. but the problem is now im afraid that if i update to the latest firmware it would get unlocked again because i dont have that optus sim with me already. any solutions ? however, if the bad star decides to shine upon you, no worries as well, because you can always ring optus to complete the process again. AFAIK, calling australian landline numbers, using the maxis IDD combination number will only cost you RM0.20/minute. you can even attempt to "boil porridge" or "bergayut telefon" with the consultant if you have the time to spare! This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 3 2009, 04:13 PM |
May 3 2009, 04:03 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(bawitaba @ May 3 2009, 03:55 PM) actually i have an oz unit thats is locked with optus. not to worry, ive been updating my FW for sometimes now using my optus iphone... and it is still unlock... ive unlocked it by calling optus and providing them with my friends details in oz 10 days later i unlocked it by using my friends optus sim and connecting to itunes. but the problem is now im afraid that if i update to the latest firmware it would get unlocked again because i dont have that optus sim with me already. any solutions ? but still if problems occur..., u can always call optus back like nokia2003 said.... but it is really a minor case.... |
May 3 2009, 11:34 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi nokia2003...sorry to bother you..the thing is i bought the iphone from a guy in the forum.
what i've being told me is that the phone is from OZ phone how do i check/double confirm which country is the phone from? even so...if i find out the carrier..how do i buy the prepaid cause the reason being is that i dun have any OZ prepaid... do you think there is any shops that can help? need your help.... |
May 3 2009, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(dangeroustit @ May 3 2009, 11:34 PM) hi nokia2003...sorry to bother you..the thing is i bought the iphone from a guy in the forum. for starters, read Section B to determine the origin of the iPhonewhat i've being told me is that the phone is from OZ phone how do i check/double confirm which country is the phone from? even so...if i find out the carrier..how do i buy the prepaid cause the reason being is that i dun have any OZ prepaid... do you think there is any shops that can help? need your help.... This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 3 2009, 11:48 PM |
May 13 2009, 10:09 AM
17 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Hello guys,
Where can I get Rebel Sim in KL or PJ? Found http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/946083 somehow the guy has no response? Any luck in Low Yat Plaza? Many thanks, City This post has been edited by citydusk: May 13 2009, 10:11 AM |
May 15 2009, 10:45 PM
42 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
my iphone 3g show "No Service" on screen...
im using turbo sim.. fw 2.2.1 (5H11) 02.30.03 my iphone from ireland.. This post has been edited by spycat: May 15 2009, 10:48 PM |
May 16 2009, 01:56 AM
32 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
make sure turbosim is meant for firmware 2.2.1 bb 2.30.03,
make sure 3g is off, swap simcard to some unlocked phone like nokia or w/e then search for network and select it, then swap it back to your iphone. if still no network n ure using maxis, call them and tell them to disable ur 3g then try same method again. good luck. |
May 16 2009, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(serioustee @ May 16 2009, 01:56 AM) make sure turbosim is meant for firmware 2.2.1 bb 2.30.03, ouh mann...how i want 2 surf the net w/o 3g...oiyooo...make sure 3g is off, swap simcard to some unlocked phone like nokia or w/e then search for network and select it, then swap it back to your iphone. if still no network n ure using maxis, call them and tell them to disable ur 3g then try same method again. good luck. |
May 16 2009, 01:17 PM
32 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 16 2009, 01:31 PM
May 26 2009, 09:45 PM
61 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Yea disable 3G. The problem is within the phone itself.
I got my phone from Rogers, a Canadian cellphone carrier. I did not jailbreak/unlock my phone (since I'm using the carrier, I do not need to unlock it). With the 3G on, I was able to receive call, but the line will be cut within few seconds. But the phone will work finely after a reboot. After several days, the problem is back. Then the Rogers guy told me to tuen off 3G and it works perfectly fine after that Added on May 26, 2009, 9:50 pmHA I can answer question about turbo sim. I am a turbo sim user. First of all, do not get panic when u see "No Sim" or "No Service", however you should be nervous when u see "Invalid sim". Getting turbo sim to work is a lot of work and requires alot of patient. It took me 4 hours to get it to work. Spycat, try resetting your network setting. more detail read http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1008190/+71 About 3G, you can still surf net with EDGE or WIFI. This post has been edited by kaika: May 26 2009, 09:50 PM |
May 26 2009, 10:17 PM
144 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
FYI, turbosim is not the best but is the only solution available to unlock v2.2.1 iphone. On the 3g when you want to surf, off it when done n putting the phone in standby. Get reputable turbosim, they are more stable compare to the copycat - u get what u pay for. I am oversea now n business will resume after june 2nd, sorry to all cause got no roaming services, pm will do for now.
Jun 5 2009, 04:18 PM
12 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
my iphone is 3g 16gb, using gevey turbo sim...
anyone using iphone 3g 16gb face tis problemtoo? i try the digi prepaid line ok.. then i try the postpaid one, always repeat said "no sim" then key the pin code, then repeat n repeat.. anyone knows what happpen? |
Jun 10 2009, 01:59 PM
17 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(yap065899 @ Jun 5 2009, 04:18 PM) my iphone is 3g 16gb, using gevey turbo sim... Try disable the PIN?anyone using iphone 3g 16gb face tis problemtoo? i try the digi prepaid line ok.. then i try the postpaid one, always repeat said "no sim" then key the pin code, then repeat n repeat.. anyone knows what happpen? |
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
5 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:57 AM |