Windows Vista Service Pack 2 Discussion, Grab it now

csang2000
post May 12 2009, 04:41 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 12 2009, 12:23 AM)
any big improvement??
Service Pack 2 (SP2) for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008. SP2 represents the latest step in Microsoft’s commitment to continuous improvement. It includes all updates that have been delivered since SP1, as well as support for new types of hardware and emerging hardware standards.

As we have mentioned before, here are some of the key benefits of Windows Vista SP2:

* Windows Search 4.0 for faster and improved relevancy in searches
* Bluetooth 2.1 Feature Pack supporting the most recent specification for Bluetooth Technology
* Ability to record data on to Blu-Ray media natively in Windows Vista
* Adds Windows Connect Now (WCN) to simplify Wi-Fi Configuration
* Windows Vista SP2 enables the exFAT file system to support UTC timestamps, which allows correct file synchronization across time zones.
TYK
post May 12 2009, 09:52 PM

992 posts

QUOTE(csang2000 @ May 12 2009, 04:41 AM)
Service Pack 2 (SP2) for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008. SP2 represents the latest step in Microsoft’s commitment to continuous improvement. It includes all updates that have been delivered since SP1, as well as support for new types of hardware and emerging hardware standards.

As we have mentioned before, here are some of the key benefits of Windows Vista SP2:

* Bluetooth 2.1 Feature Pack supporting the most recent specification for Bluetooth Technology
    * Windows Vista SP2 enables the exFAT file system to support UTC timestamps, which allows correct file synchronization across time zones.
I wonder my Windows Vista Business SP3 can revert back to SP2 by installing this. laugh.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/997445
one_guy
post May 12 2009, 10:48 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(TYK @ May 12 2009, 09:52 PM)
I wonder my Windows Vista Business SP3 can revert back to SP2 by installing this.  laugh.gif

No Vista SP3 currently... Maybe u got bugs.s
edbe
post May 15 2009, 12:29 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(csang2000 @ May 12 2009, 04:41 AM)

Any chance of Vista being faster after installing this new service pack. I felt that Vista is too resource hogging.
maru
post May 18 2009, 07:39 PM

1,191 posts

well sp2 just try to fix all kinds of bug n update to the latest security system. and maybe enhance a bit. want faster? try win 7. but research show window 7 win vista in term of speed just few percent only...too bad
Vinx
post May 19 2009, 12:28 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(TYK @ May 12 2009, 09:52 PM)
I wonder my Windows Vista Business SP3 can revert back to SP2 by installing this.  laugh.gif

laugh.gif This post is about SP2
When does SP3 released before SP2 does? funny...

Thumbs up thumbup.gif csang2000
Sharing this nice info

smile.gif Like this

This post has been edited by Vinx: May 19 2009, 12:30 PM
Skylinestar
post May 26 2009, 06:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,089 posts

windows vista service pack2 patch is OUT ! get it now!
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&DisplayLang=en
samurai1337
post May 26 2009, 06:40 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Topic title edited to match the sentiment, btw, MD5 as below

32-bit:
Build: 6002.18005.090410-1830
File Name: Windows6.0-KB948465-X86.exe
Size: 365,230,920 bytes
CRC: 3368C777
MD5: C9394FD32DB15619328AF4FF0315750A
SHA1: 106C0484D7449CC4B70353C21D0C0D63E4BA66C3

64-bit:
Build: 6002.18005.090410-1830
File Name: Windows6.0-KB948465-X64.exe
Size: 605,410,472 bytes
CRC: 1737E14D
MD5: A3BCB1FFDB366397FA5FAB0898EB098D
SHA1: BE8D74ADC029FA7350FC1F0D32BEF853C0519A92

p/s: downloading it using company network now tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samurai1337: May 26 2009, 06:44 PM
SUSAzlan96
post May 26 2009, 07:42 PM

310 posts

Can I download it through Windows Update? Sorry for asking coz i could not check Windows Update on Vista coz i am on XP now
xXAaronXx
post May 26 2009, 07:49 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,170 posts

Does it perform much better then SP1?? Got faster a not leh boot up?
fariz
post May 26 2009, 07:59 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ May 26 2009, 07:49 PM)
Does it perform much better then SP1?? Got faster a not leh boot up?
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ May 26 2009, 07:02 PM)
Before any more questions of this kind pop out, here you go tongue.gif
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd335036.aspx

Service pack means collection of bug fixes and security patches + some other improvements, so my suggestion is just go for it!
read that
Irishcoffee
post May 26 2009, 08:06 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

btw where can i download sp2 for english only?
Kenny85
post May 26 2009, 08:45 PM

174 posts

HHHMMM.. when i bought my notebook on year 2007, the first bacth of Acer notebook windows xp replace with Windows Vista. Don't have choice and have to bought it. sad.gif

It was very frrustrating at first. So slow. many programs doenst supported flex.gif
After the release of the SP1, the Vista works more stable and fun. wink.gif

Now with SP2, i hope it will bring more smoother to the notebook. laugh.gif

Hehehe.. luckily i manage to sale my notebook and replace with a Dekstop and OEM XP drool.gif

i had seen the windows 7, really nice. faster than Vista. icon_idea.gif
TSChinJB7623
post May 26 2009, 10:15 PM

491 posts

Erm, then when it is going to be released in OEM box set?
And is it mean that SP2 is available for download now, but cannot buy from any shop now?
comgeek85
post May 27 2009, 07:34 PM

200 posts

not yet release the oem with sp2... the service pack just release... so wait until it release ya.. btw better u download SP1 & SP2 better..
FarCry3r
post May 27 2009, 09:16 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(ChinJB7623 @ May 26 2009, 10:15 PM)
Erm, then when it is going to be released in OEM box set?
And is it mean that SP2 is available for download now, but cannot buy from any shop now?
If you have a friend with MSDN or TechNet subscription, you can ask them to download and burn Windows Vista with Service Pack 2 ISO into an empty DVD.
TSChinJB7623
post May 27 2009, 10:24 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(comgeek85 @ May 27 2009, 07:34 PM)
not yet release the oem with sp2... the service pack just release... so wait until it release ya.. btw better u download SP1 & SP2 better..
What do u mean by download SP1 and SP2?
Are u trying to said that buy SP1 and upgrade via online to SP2?
Kidicarus
post May 28 2009, 12:04 AM

727 posts

Just downloading SP2 through Windows Update... 567.3mb

edit: For vista 64

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: May 28 2009, 12:05 AM
TristanX
post May 28 2009, 05:46 AM

Where is my stars?
23,652 posts

Huge improvements in torrents. No more event 4226 crap for Vista SP2. I gonna let it do the disk trashing(indexing, superfetch, system restore) for a few days and see how is the startup.

I still disable the UAC cause it's still more annoying than actually helping. Well, back to Windows 7 after I'm done with the startup test. tongue.gif

Anyone tried using ATI card for graphics and Nvidia card for PhysX yet?

This post has been edited by TristanX: May 28 2009, 05:53 AM
Irishcoffee
post May 28 2009, 10:41 AM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

but UAC seems popup a little bit faster than sp1
do u wan to enable uac n cc

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th March 2024 - 04:17 PM