hi guyz... i jz started 2 do overclocking... i heard dat overclocking can reduce the lifetime of the hardware... can i knw how far is it true?
disadvantages of overclocking, disadvantages of overclocking
Mar 4 2009, 01:51 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
153 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Malacca |
hi guyz... i jz started 2 do overclocking... i heard dat overclocking can reduce the lifetime of the hardware... can i knw how far is it true?
Mar 4 2009, 01:56 AM
6,583 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
of course it will but if u dont OC still hardware lifetime will be reduce anyway. in everything there is a advantages and disadvantages.
oc wisely and u get the best out of your hardware This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Mar 4 2009, 02:00 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 02:00 AM
153 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Malacca |
Mar 4 2009, 02:17 AM
777 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: bandar baru bangi |
i luv oc...but u know oc likes u give drug to ur body...u might be strong but only for certain time only until u collapse,hehe...i will risk ur life...same with oc,will reduce life span of ur devices
Mar 4 2009, 03:36 AM
2,547 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
the main disadvantage of OC....
u will get addicted to it and spend more money once u know more about hardwares that can improve ur OC |
Mar 4 2009, 03:44 AM
30 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
yes, that right...
Mar 4 2009, 07:55 AM
2,458 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: M A N C A V E |
Mar 4 2009, 08:14 AM
2,222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Nowadays high performance chips are fabricated with copper used as the metalization. Copper atoms are smaller than Aluminium which is the traditional material used to fabricate metalization in ICs, and furthermore lack the capability to form an impermeable oxide layer like that in Al. That makes copper more prone to electro-migration. The increased voltages will accelerate copper electro-migration and result in early failure.
Forgive me if I seem to be throwing a fox into the chicken coop, but one AMD design engineer I knew preferred to *underclock* his PC and said overclocking as well as fancy glow-in-the-dark UV doodads is for stupid people. I tend to agree. Overclocking induces electromigration, while UV light is know to accelerate the degradation of polymers. It's just like using NO boost on your car 24/7: you feel damn syok sendiri but will cry when the repair bills come. However, having said all that, what I can say is that there nothing ethically wrong with overclocking as long as you know what you are getting yourself into. Just don't go whining to the manufacturer asking for a RMA when you overclock parts that are not suitable to OC and cause them to break. Overclock knowing full well that you are voiding a manufacturer's warranty This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 08:16 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM
900 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: world of siham |
QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Mar 4 2009, 08:14 AM) Nowadays high performance chips are fabricated with copper used as the metalization. Copper atoms are smaller than Aluminium which is the traditional material used to fabricate metalization in ICs, and furthermore lack the capability to form an impermeable oxide layer like that in Al. That makes copper more prone to electro-migration. The increased voltages will accelerate copper electro-migration and result in early failure. im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component Forgive me if I seem to be throwing a fox into the chicken coop, but one AMD design engineer I knew preferred to *underclock* his PC and said overclocking as well as fancy glow-in-the-dark UV doodads is for stupid people. I tend to agree. Overclocking induces electromigration, while UV light is know to accelerate the degradation of polymers. It's just like using NO boost on your car 24/7: you feel damn syok sendiri but will cry when the repair bills come. However, having said all that, what I can say is that there nothing ethically wrong with overclocking as long as you know what you are getting yourself into. Just don't go whining to the manufacturer asking for a RMA when you overclock parts that are not suitable to OC and cause them to break. Overclock knowing full well that you are voiding a manufacturer's warranty underclock da pc wont cause pc to b unstable ????? |
Mar 4 2009, 08:34 AM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
QUOTE(edmunz @ Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM) im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component basically all processors right now have would underclock automatically if the OS feels that the proc is not in full use. I know Intel has their EIST, but forgot what AMD was (Cool n' Quiet?). Running your processor at a lower speed than it's meant to won't make it unstable. In some cases it would be a more stable optionunderclock da pc wont cause pc to b unstable ????? |
Mar 4 2009, 09:12 AM
171 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: North South East West |
QUOTE(edmunz @ Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM) im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component Ya, i also never knew that UV light can kill pc components until i read this post... Wah so scary!!! Is this really TRUE!!! underclock da pc wont cause pc to b unstable ????? I got plenty UV goin' on in my PC case, if true i'll be damned... Can someone pls point out some reference for this matter.... |
Mar 4 2009, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(edmunz @ Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM) im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component basically nearly EVERYTHING inside a PC that isn't metal or silicon is some sort of polymer-based material. (aka plastics). We are talking about the PCBs, mold compounds, wire insulation etc. Though maybe they have varying resistance/stabilization to UV light, it is just a matter of time, and very often your system is only as good as your weakest link. (Actually, all plastics degrade given enough time and temperature, and in IMHO adding UV to the mix just helps it move along a little faster)underclock da pc wont cause pc to b unstable ????? Not forgetting too, certain wavelengths of UV were traditionally used to ERASE nonvolatile memory ICs such as EPROMS. Though now we have migrated to flash and EEPROMS for our PCs' BIOSes and it is exceedingly rare you will find any piece of IC in your modern PC board which intentionally exposes the silicon die via a transparent plastic window (e.g. in the old CERDIP type packages), you should be aware that UV rays (as well as Xrays) are generally not your PC's best friends. HOWEVER, as far as I know, no one has ever done a serious scientific study of how pimping up one's PC with UV lights will affect the lifetime of the components edit: some general info on UV degradation of polymers: http://www.gcrio.org/UNEP1998/UNEP98p62.html This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 09:34 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 09:38 AM
3,174 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Wonderland |
I have seen many people overclock for 4 years and more and still their PC is alive and kicking. Most of it are the famous case are the AMD Barton 2500.
With the new overclock technology that been provided by manufacturer as Black Edittion, Oc Mainboard and GPU, I don't see it as stupid. People like us with little money tend to achieve best computing experience with our limited budget and hardware. Your friend don't have the interest, requirement or limitation of budget that kind to understand and yet condemn millions of people stupidity in overclocking. So are we in overclockers united lame and stupid? We are not, we are smarter than AMD engineer. Please provide what sort of engineer he is as I also know few fabrication specialist from Intel US. |
Mar 4 2009, 09:39 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 4 2009, 07:55 AM) nahhh anyway, about the reducing of lifespan part - no one knows how much it's reduced. reduced from 10 years to 5 years, 50% off but still ok mah! for me, main drawback of OCing is the time consumed. depends on how deep you go into it la, some people like to spend time and $$$ for OCing. i personally won't go that far (but hey, i'm still OCer) but then whatever floats your boat la, as long as happy - who's there to stop? maybe another part is about consuming more power, but that additional power consumed is not significant IMO. lastly, my preference for OCing are processors. nowadays i really lazy to OC graphic card already cos OC here OC there also not much boost, but spend a lot of time on test. crash. reboot. |
Mar 4 2009, 09:52 AM
7,318 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Pulau Sipadan |
one main point, disadvantage:
u will keep updated to new hardware, and once it come out u will buy. about degrading, who involve in oc area, i can confirm, u will not try to stay at same hardware for more than 1 years, so... and if u tend to agree with "overclocking is for stupid people".. nah, i think u are stupid, coz don't want to full utilize ur hardware while it can do more, again, time consume to reboot, crash, test, eat too general if u want to say, it reduce lifespan, u can feel the different? can u tell the percentage to me, no, u can't right? oc is for the fun and to get max value in what u buy, and no one in oc will stay with same hardware for long time.. |
Mar 4 2009, 10:08 AM
1,810 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Mar 4 2009, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(piumiu @ Mar 4 2009, 09:38 AM) I have seen many people overclock for 4 years and more and still their PC is alive and kicking. Most of it are the famous case are the AMD Barton 2500. You don't have to get so defensive. I'm sure he meant it in half-jest but his reasoning is not unsound. Like I said, I'm aware that I'm throwing the proverbial fox into the chicken coop, but there's nothing like healthy debate to enhance everyone's understanding of the issues involved. I'm not condemning OCing or pimping one's rig per se, but just that would like to do some sharing so that everyone knows what they are doing and the potential risks involved.With the new overclock technology that been provided by manufacturer as Black Edittion, Oc Mainboard and GPU, I don't see it as stupid. People like us with little money tend to achieve best computing experience with our limited budget and hardware. Your friend don't have the interest, requirement or limitation of budget that kind to understand and yet condemn millions of people stupidity in overclocking. So are we in overclockers united lame and stupid? We are not, we are smarter than AMD engineer. Please provide what sort of engineer he is as I also know few fabrication specialist from Intel US. As long as you are happy with your results it is fine. The example you gave me is like saying that you know someone's grandpa who smoked like a chimney and lived until he was 80: it does not mean that smoking will not do harm, certainly not in the face of overwhelming scientific evidence. All manufacturers incorporate a certain amount of safety factors, and one chip binned at 2.5GHz is often exactly the same as another one binned at 3.0GHz, except for tolerance related process variance which results in one chip being faster than the other. Secondary manufacturers often take the cream of the crop and do their own testing so it is generally safe. Just remember that it is the 2nd manufacturer that guarantees you the product not the primary one. |
Mar 4 2009, 10:27 AM
2,009 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: My house |
Mar 4 2009, 10:29 AM
1,644 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
so if i dun install the funnee lights so no uv so OC ok?!
Mar 4 2009, 10:39 AM
Mar 4 2009, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Mar 4 2009, 10:29 AM) actually they are two completely different but related potential issues because of the demographic (OCers tend to be the ones more likely to install funny lights) most polymers inside a PC may already have various stabilizers which may aid resistance to UV but I don't know of any serious scientific study at this point which investigates the effects of constant UV exposure within an operating PC enclosure. My concern about this is mainly relating to the potential for structural integrity failure of load bearing components. OCing is associated with a different set of problems, such as electromigration (at the physical level) and system instability and unreliability (at the application level). If you are just running a PC at home, chances are most people won't mind any risks involved, but if you are running critical enterprise stuff or operating a space shuttle, chances are you wouldn't wanna risk your life plugging in an overclocked PC to do the heavy lifting. To put it simply, my stand that everyone can choose their own poison as long as you can accept it This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 10:48 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:02 AM
13,202 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
do you guys know DFI LANParty "UT" stands for?
UV on, Tweak fun!! DFI says, no UV no OC where got fun those dark ugly PC components back in the day become *bling* fashionable stuffs. side transparent /windowed PC Case become popular. my pc is old and plain, i overclock it to somewhere near limit also not catching up Core2 generation. but hey, i'm had fun with it for a long time. countless test crash reb00t. no regrets even it burn down right now This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 4 2009, 11:22 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM
5,292 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse...
This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Mar 4 2009, 11:19 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:19 AM
unstable because of p00r overclocking knowledge (i'm not professional so just shoot me).
like PC, you don't adjust properly, stress test, cooling & etc.. straight go break the WR. anyone agree with me? This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM) If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse... u said that because u didnt know to oc? |
Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM) If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. A very good metaphor! I hope it makes it clear for everyone here.ps: forgive me for being OT here, but are u a intellier or ex-intellier? the alphabet soup in your nick brings back memories for me (I interned in Intel around the time they were working on the Deschutes) hehehe |
Mar 4 2009, 11:25 AM
Ya i am a ex-interllier. He he he. I know my stuff. We burn a lot of AMD processor during our stress test. Use the same test on intel still work perfectly. Intel work like this your car can run 200km/hr
the chip cut the speed to 180km/hr that is why intel is stable and much more cooler, cos the processor is not used to 100% This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Mar 4 2009, 11:29 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:35 AM
2,295 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
lol... it actually depends la.. for personal computer, OC stress test tweak for fun lo... benchmark to test how far the PC can go etc... maximize the potential CPU power, i believe Intel & AMD's R&D department also got OC inside their lab for benchmark or testing purpose whenever a new product come out... just like those DIY'ers like to mod their car, same goes to OC'er, tweak have fun. experience the speed etc...
for server usage, who wan OC ? stability is the highest priority.... for space shuttle server etc they might be using multi processor already, 10 cores 12 cores mayb... full buffered dram etc... supercomputers mayb... gotto ask NASA... ur fren AMD might be right... but mention ppl who OC is stupid is not right... if OC'er is stupid, all DELL XPS engineers are stupid, Intel's and AMD R&D department (partly) are stupid... ur fren are the best engineer in AMD.. btw, in my opinion, by the time ur proc die(10 years? 6 years?), ur PC might be keep in the shelf d... average life cycle for a personal computer is around 2 years (thanks to microsoft and those hardware manufacturer who keeps on introducing new products) server diff business la... dont ever compare industrial use with personal use... UV bling bling diff business... i do OC, i dun like UV lights or others... my pc is just plain black with non-transparent sidepanel... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 11:39 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 11:35 AM) lol... it actually depends la.. for personal computer, OC stress test tweak for fun lo... benchmark to test how far the PC can go etc... maximize the potential CPU power, i believe Intel & AMD's R&D department also got OC inside their lab for benchmark or testing purpose whenever a new product come out... just like those DIY'ers like to mod their car, same goes to OC'er, tweak have fun. experience the speed etc... Like I said, he meant in jest, but it was a memorable statement designed to provoke an interesting debate. No need to take it personally or have hard feelings over it for server usage, who wan OC ? stability is the highest priority.... for space shuttle server etc they might be using multi processor already, 10 cores 12 cores mayb... full buffered dram etc... supercomputers mayb... gotto ask NASA... ur fren AMD might be right... but mention ppl who OC is stupid is not right... if OC'er is stupid, all DELL XPS engineers are stupid, Intel's and AMD R&D department (partly) are stupid... ur fren are the best engineer in AMD.. btw, in my opinion, by the time ur proc die(10 years? 6 years?), ur PC might be keep in the shelf d... average life cycle for a personal computer is around 2 years (thanks to microsoft and those hardware manufacturer who keeps on introducing new products) server diff business la... dont ever compare industrial use with personal use... UV bling bling diff business... i do OC, i dun like UV lights or others... my pc is just plain black with non-transparent sidepanel... Btw oftentimes the R&D people push their parts to the limits so that the marketing people can safely quote you specs in the datasheets that they know their process can meet with one eye closed Perhaps that is also why those 2 rovers on Mars are still up and running for so long despite their initial "designed" lifespan of 6 months. This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 11:59 AM |
Mar 4 2009, 12:10 PM
lol...
thanks for sharing so many info... i got a bit emo when saw the word "OC for stupid ppl only"... ntg more... i understand all those things since i am an undergraduate computer engineering students as well... it depends lo.. but not as much as damage can cost compare to car modding or tuning(when the bills come)... i always do mild OC in my personal computer... nvr own a server or etc though... but i knw industrial usage of PC's are diff... who need OC when u have multi proc, full buffer dram, high speed SAS/scsi hdd, and most important thing is server need to be reliable, once a server down it cost the organization huge amount of $$$... |
Mar 4 2009, 12:17 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The main disadvatage is that you pay more for power if you raise the voltage. If you're mainly surfing you don't see much of an increase there, so you have to wonder why you're actually paying for the power when you're not using it
Mar 4 2009, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 4 2009, 12:17 PM) The main disadvatage is that you pay more for power if you raise the voltage. If you're mainly surfing you don't see much of an increase there, so you have to wonder why you're actually paying for the power when you're not using it we need to overclock TMNuT feel your PC too free? let's join Folding@Malaysia. |
Mar 4 2009, 12:40 PM
5,602 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: The Holiest Of Hole |
lets just say its personal preferences.
some people like chocolate ice cream while i like vanilla. for me i oc to increase the performance of my hardware. who need a 800 ringgit proc when a 400 ringgit one can match or even better the performance of the much more expensive proc. the disadvantage of oc-ing is.....................hmm i cant think of any. the degrading thingy............if u into oc u know the risk so most of us doesnt even care if it degrade. but like xixo said once u get addicted to it be prepared to spend a lot of $$$ to spend on hardware. |
Mar 4 2009, 12:43 PM
3,668 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bikini Abyss |
the reason why this thread exist mainly because of sudden rise of faggot-oc-er in recent years. thanks to Intel Conroe.
faggot-oc-er, they don't read |
Mar 4 2009, 12:46 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Eden |
QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 4 2009, 12:40 PM) lets just say its personal preferences. agreed. OCing have more advantage than disadvantage.some people like chocolate ice cream while i like vanilla. for me i oc to increase the performance of my hardware. who need a 800 ringgit proc when a 400 ringgit one can match or even better the performance of the much more expensive proc. the disadvantage of oc-ing is.....................hmm i cant think of any. the degrading thingy............if u into oc u know the risk so most of us doesnt even care if it degrade. but like xixo said once u get addicted to it be prepared to spend a lot of $$$ to spend on hardware. the only disadvantage i can think is, it reduce component lifespan. but who care bout it. we wont use it for 8 years, so reducing lifespan is not disadvantage at all. just my personal opinion though. |
Mar 4 2009, 12:54 PM
Mar 4 2009, 01:05 PM
i like ABS spring..
should we close this topic? too many question like this before.. it mean nothing .. debate into the same thing if u like oc, so stay with it.. if u dont want to learn, and dont want to know about the oc overall, just leave it.. |
Mar 4 2009, 01:33 PM
904 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Selangor & Malacca, Malaysia |
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:36 AM) the main disadvantage of OC.... OMG... thats the real drug... damm addictive XDu will get addicted to it and spend more money once u know more about hardwares that can improve ur OC Added on March 4, 2009, 1:47 pmlol... anyway... i've softmodded and oced my graphic card... took me few days... result? FRIED and went for warranty for a few months... LOL but... I STILL LOVE TO OC... woot OC is fun... paying for the hardware SUX !!! you really can feel the difference when you oc, everything... but to reduce chances fo senting your hardware bakc to rma... do not softmod or flash your graphic card, try not to OC more than 40%... (CPU, ram, graphic card or anything that can be overclocked) im good with 20% coz few months without HD4850 really hurts... T_T This post has been edited by general_odin: Mar 4 2009, 01:48 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 02:36 PM
Is there any software can test for stability? 3d Mark 06 and Vantage cannot perform this, No point your display card reach 27K when it is not stable.... I really hate it when i play a fsp the computer goes fast then slow then really slow then very fast. I prefer smooth gaming.
Mar 4 2009, 02:42 PM
personal opinion:
advantage: faster PC, save $$$ (instead of going higher clock speed, take core i7 920 and 940 as example, u will know wat i mean disadvantage: electricity degrading issue higher heat output, higher room temp(if dun have aircond), mayb green house effect. others emitting enough heat d more power consumption leads to more trees or forest to being develop to built power plant...( mayb spent even more $$$ on cooling devices, burn a hole in pocket, end up eat bread... bad for health it seems more disadvantage comparing to advantage, sommore in my point of view, if u pair a decent clock speed with a expensive SAS or SSD HDD, u dont need OC already feel the speed increment, if OC only slight improvement except when gaming, wont see difference in normal usage... so i think OC is hobby, just like ppl like to tweak their car, same as OC'er, the need for speed for me, my personal computer always been OC and fine tuned and tweaked on the very 1st day to optimize tht power of the hardware i bought. OlgaC4, prime95, memtest is the best tool to test stability.... Dont OC ur Graphic card, not worth to OC at all, sommore OC tend easier to die on OC compare to CPU. 3dmark, furmark, rthdribl_1_2 to test for artifacts if OC GPU, for CPU, run LinX, orthos priority 10, prime95, memtest etc to test overall system stability... u wont experience sudden lag etc when ur OC is stable, sometimes sudden lag or others are caused by other bottleneck from ur hardware. eg, insufficient ram space causes paging, the OS gotto move the data from hdd to main memory, main memory to hdd on and off, as we knw hdd are slower, and caused delays. This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 02:51 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM
1,070 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank
Mar 4 2009, 03:20 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM) agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank i disagree with that!a good example will be what i used last. time AMD AthlonXP 1700+ (Thoroughbred-B) <=- below RM 200 Abit NF7-S <=- below RM 300 Kingston Value RAM with BT-D43 chips <=- total also below RM 250 i think. so total cost? considered cheap, since lower end processor, value RAM and not even high range board. but OC already get what? the 1700+ from 1.433ghz to 2.3ghz. so it's not costly but it's cost effective! and that's just one of the many example, in fact i must say I got more value out of my components that what i put it - all due to the knowledge to do some overclocking. ok i forgot to add that my heatsink is about RM 100 or so, TR SLK900/947U. still have them with me. and also i've modded my casing, spent a few hundred on ianho's service. still using the casing till now despite like being around 4 - 5 years already. and i also disagree on the have to change dramatically thing. you could change parts once every 6 months, it's fine. still can sell off and cover part of the cost, knowing that the parts you've chosen are of certain quality that has value. QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM) If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse... BUT let's not forget, some of the good OCing stuff are actually higher model units but running at lower speeds (remarked, relabelled, whatever......) as they couldn't meet some requirement. as to the 2nd part (bolded area) - it's totally not true, simply because again - quite often they are just models remarked or relabelled, but inside is the capability of running at higher speed. and since when does it sometimes GO FAST and sometimes GO SLOW la? I've been OCing since <500mhz days and have not once faced such issues. This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 03:21 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM
308 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Dun ya |
honestly i dont think Overclocking is cheap....
when u overclock a CPU, the CPU becomes hotter, hence u need to look for an aftermarket cooling solution, but thats not all, there are several parts u need to change to fully support ur overclocking hobbies such as: 1.Mobo, at least find a mobo that supports overclocking option, and have good Bus speed 2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking. 3.Power supply, most people said u need at least 800W PSU for overclocking but it is not entirely true, since i did my overclocking using a 450watt true power PSU before. But to be safe, i say 500watt are the minimum requirement. 4.Good casing with good ventilation flow, without a good ventilation, no matter how big ur Heatsink it'll be a waste...open the side panel? sure, but based on my red scorpion on a sagitta casing experience, my proc become hotter when the side panel is opened...so i say air flow are actually important... 5.Bling2?honestly i dun like UV, normal lighting are enough for my taste..but UV is good if u want to kill ants or bugs lingering inside ur casing. 6.Requires time: testing, restarting and etc...so it consumes time, for me time=money... 7.To overclock u need basic knowledge on how to assemble a PC, know about thermal paste,Heatsink,PSU,Mobo and other components, their functions... dont forget, u also need to properly learn how to overclock, and know ur hardware limitations,to follow the safe route u need to see other OC'ers that are using identical hardware like urs and start OC'ing slowly... If u have the guts, i say if u do proper overclocking, u will reduce the risk of burning ur hardwares, but do not OC like hell, let say getting a E7200 up to 4GHZ and use it daily, confirm ur proc will die... |
Mar 4 2009, 03:27 PM
1,205 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: In the heart of Kuala Lumpur |
got $money$ is advantage....
no $money$ is disadvantages lor..... |
Mar 4 2009, 03:34 PM
Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) when u overclock a CPU, the CPU becomes hotter, hence u need to look for an aftermarket cooling solution stock heatsink is fine for overclocking. if you don't have the budget for aftermarket heatsink, then stick to the limitation of the stock heatsink. even a 1.6ghz E2140 could be clocked to like 2.4ghz (50% OC) and still work fine with stock heatsink. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 1.Mobo, at least find a mobo that supports overclocking option, and have good Bus speed i disagree. even a nice G31 also can overclock nicely. depends on how far you want to push. an RM 200 - 300 board would suffice. so it's not expensive. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking. i disagree too. Value RAMs work fine. plenty of us have done OC on value RAM. run 1:1 CPU:FSB ratio and OC a 800 / 1333 FSB processor to 1600FSB and it doesn't even break the sweat of a DDR2 800 RAM. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 3.Power supply, most people said u need at least 800W PSU for overclocking but it is not entirely true, since i did my overclocking using a 450watt true power PSU before. But to be safe, i say 500watt are the minimum requirement. i disagree again. it's not about the wattage. lz to explain already, clearly you're mislead from some place. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 4.Good casing with good ventilation flow, without a good ventilation, no matter how big ur Heatsink it'll be a waste...open the side panel? sure, but based on my red scorpion on a sagitta casing experience, my proc become hotter when the side panel is opened...so i say air flow are actually important... ok this one is true BUT it does not apply to OCing alone, it applies to every computer. it gives advantage in OCing assuming that you're OCing it kau kau and have some temperature raised. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 5.Bling2?honestly i dun like UV, normal lighting are enough for my taste..but UV is good if u want to kill ants or bugs lingering inside ur casing. no comment. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 6.Requires time: testing, restarting and etc...so it consumes time, for me time=money... ok this one i'm on same boat as you BUT for me, I'm willing to spend just a little bit of time to get my money's worth. say spend an hour or 2, OCing the RM 300 processor to run better than RM 700 processor, already worth my time. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 7.To overclock u need basic knowledge on how to assemble a PC, know about thermal paste,Heatsink,PSU,Mobo and other components, their functions... i don't see how assembling a PC is related to OCing. you can order all parts from a shop and get them to assemble, bring home and still OC without having to do assembly. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) If u have the guts, i say if u do proper overclocking, u will reduce the risk of burning ur hardwares, but do not OC like hell, let say getting a E7200 up to 4GHZ and use it daily, confirm ur proc will die... every processor will die la. aiyah my E7200 run 3.4 - 3.6ghz daily anyway. |
Mar 4 2009, 03:58 PM
haha. personal lashing eh godfries.
feels good reading it, i can't help but to post. my personal op, i do feel OC has been overly hyped by motherboard maker. it has lost its unique-ness now. even fag thought they knew how to OC nowadays even tho they're not. i hate intel for that. out of topic? i don't give a crap. |
Mar 4 2009, 04:15 PM
my case: mobo and RAM always die first but processor still going strong
Mar 4 2009, 04:17 PM
wow... i think playing with hardwares depends on budget... i didnt mentioned its expensive...(mayb u all get it wrong forr the i7 920 vs 940 example, i mean we pay less yet get same speed with 940 with 920 via OC, take e2140 vs e6600 for example or e7200 vs e8400)
yet if u compare it with car, pc hobby is totally not expensive at all... mayb u could get an i7 system with the price of just 4 nice rims for a car... so again, its depends on budget...like goldfries said, its depends wat hardware u wanna play with, from amd sempron to i7 for nowadays. like wat i been recommend my fren doing, buy an e2140 or e5200, tweak the hell out of it and u are near core2 series performance and yet save lotsa money... or u setup an i7 system and enjoy privilege of ultimate speed. ya, nowadays more and more OC'er who know nothing about OC nor PC hardwares... lotsa ah beng and ah seng knw OC nowadays without actually study anything, just speed it up with very minimal knowledge. ya, wen i change hardware i owez sell and buy... lose not much money although its a rugi business la... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 04:22 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM
6,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
curious
i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? |
Mar 4 2009, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM) curious yeah... gaming is the main reason of OC...i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? also got another reason... if u OC ur proc when doing video encoding, it acutally save us some time... few percent though... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 04:24 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:28 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 03:58 PM) haha. personal lashing eh godfries. mana ada? QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 04:17 PM) so again, its depends on budget...like goldfries said, its depends wat hardware u wanna play with, from amd sempron to i7 for nowadays. yeah. i read this thread and it's quite a lot of facepalm like wat i been recommend my fren doing, buy an e2140 or e5200, tweak the hell out of it and u are near core2 series performance and yet save lotsa money... or u setup an i7 system and enjoy privilege of ultimate speed. ya, nowadays more and more OC'er who know nothing about OC nor PC hardwares... lotsa ah beng and ah seng knw OC nowadays without actually study anything, just speed it up with very minimal knowledge. ya, wen i change hardware i owez sell and buy... lose not much money although its a rugi business la... because it's as if people never heard of 1. selling off old hardware to fund for new hardware. 2. inexpensive component overclocking. QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM) curious i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? but there are people who just OC to lengthen e-penis via benchies. eg 3dmark, super pi blablablbal.................. my work (design) rig i plan to OC, or heck i'd probably just change processor. if all goes well my 4th rig will be up tonight. *edited : too many emoticons. ugly.* This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM
Mar 4 2009, 04:31 PM
Forum Admin
reminds me of an AM2 mobo that i bought, BIOSTAR board. just change 1 auto setting and done, my X2 3600+ runs at 2.5ghz.
Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) stock heatsink is fine for overclocking. if you don't have the budget for aftermarket heatsink, then stick to the limitation of the stock heatsink. honestly bro, we all know it is unwise to stick with stock heatsink when overclocking...though it is possible, like i said, its risky...even a 1.6ghz E2140 could be clocked to like 2.4ghz (50% OC) and still work fine with stock heatsink. QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) i disagree. even a nice G31 also can overclock nicely. depends on how far you want to push. ok but what happened if a guy has an old mobo that only support up to 667mhz bus speed? but the proc FSB can go up to 800mhzan RM 200 - 300 board would suffice. so it's not expensive. i disagree too. (just an example,now all can go over 1333mhz)? sure we can adjust multipliers but it wont be enough to bring the full potential of the proc dont u think? surely a 200-300 bucks mobo can be overclocked but how far can the owner tinker wit the stock BIOS? using OC'ing software maybe an alternative but dont u think it is best to overclock using BIOS? QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) Value RAMs work fine. plenty of us have done OC on value RAM. run 1:1 CPU:FSB ratio and OC a 800 / 1333 FSB processor to 1600FSB and it doesn't even break the sweat of a DDR2 800 RAM. QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) i don't see how assembling a PC is related to OCing. you can order all parts from a shop and get them to assemble, bring home and still OC without having to do assembly. C,mon..if u dont even know the basics of the components dont you think it is risky to overclock? if like that every time u wanna change heatsink or changing a PSU also need to send back to shop la....then overclocking would be more expensive la,service charge lagi...huwa...QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) im talking about risk la bro, im not saying procs will never die, and noobs might not have the skill like u bro.. |
Mar 4 2009, 05:00 PM
Mar 4 2009, 05:11 PM
Mar 4 2009, 05:25 PM
Mar 4 2009, 05:40 PM
Forum Admin
nur_ver_3, seriously you're pretty much generalizing and putting situations that support your statement but certainly not painting the correct picture. If i was on my pc now i'll counter what you posted but looks like i'll have get back to you later, perhaps someone else enlightens you before i do.
Mar 4 2009, 05:41 PM
iz so weird tat every mfg talk bout how capable their mobo can b OC, but then they don wan take responsible if mobo fry... why don those mfg tweak those mobo earlier so we as consumer can enjoy pwr of OC right after assemble...
Mar 4 2009, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(uzer85 @ Mar 4 2009, 05:25 PM) so to say that even if u're not OC, the risk is still there. anything can happen though. just my noob opinion. dont bash me though, i'm already told u i'm a super noob. thanks. i couldn't relate your previous post with the one you're quoting with. anyway, office off!! yieehhaa. |
Mar 4 2009, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) honestly bro, we all know it is unwise to stick with stock heatsink when overclocking...though it is possible, like i said, its risky... believe it or not.............Goldfries here not really a pro at overclocking. ok but what happened if a guy has an old mobo that only support up to 667mhz bus speed? but the proc FSB can go up to 800mhz (just an example,now all can go over 1333mhz)? sure we can adjust multipliers but it wont be enough to bring the full potential of the proc dont u think? surely a 200-300 bucks mobo can be overclocked but how far can the owner tinker wit the stock BIOS? using OC'ing software maybe an alternative but dont u think it is best to overclock using BIOS? well, that adds a limitation on how far u can overclock no? C,mon..if u dont even know the basics of the components dont you think it is risky to overclock? if like that every time u wanna change heatsink or changing a PSU also need to send back to shop la....then overclocking would be more expensive la,service charge lagi...huwa... im talking about risk la bro, im not saying procs will never die, and noobs might not have the skill like u bro.. |
Mar 4 2009, 05:47 PM
Mar 4 2009, 05:48 PM
i think if im can get xtra 200~300mhz from current speed, im happy oleady
Mar 4 2009, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 4 2009, 05:42 PM) hmm, is it true? if so how do you identify a pro overclocker? QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 05:40 PM) nur_ver_3, seriously you're pretty much generalizing and putting situations that support your statement but certainly not painting the correct picture. If i was on my pc now i'll counter what you posted but looks like i'll have get back to you later, perhaps someone else enlightens you before i do. well im just posting my opinion bro, its up to the readers whether to except it or not, what i say here are all based on what i've experienced..and yes i know u are trying to say there are cheaper way to overclock and whatnot..its just that we need to look at the overall picture here, TS just started overclocking, seeking for member's opinion about disadvantages of over clock(stated in thread title) so i give him the disadvantages la,right or wrong is not the point, since it varies depends on the situation u are in. In my point of view Overclocking are expensive, because we need to consider the energy and cost factor during the process of overclocking (eg:energy and money spent on hardwares and searching for guidelines).. yeah sure we can save RM300-Rm400 in OC, BUT to achieve that goal also incurs other costs other than money, and like some other forumers said, it can be addictive.. to TS: i say the disadvantages would be the heat, and time required to find the right setting for batter stability. You have to understand that not all procs and hardwares can be pushed to the max without proper cooling and trial and errors... for now u can enjoy overclocking within the limits of your hardwares with no prob..but later if you want more speed, higher clock,and want to compete in benchies and stuff, be prepared to spend more money... I overclock because i want to gain more FPS in games, so far it worked, but if i want more FPS, i need to spend more for better cooler and re test my rig before sticking with the new clock setting..u see, more money and time needed....as simple as that...but it sure saves more than buying a new proc, for me both methods costs me a bomb, since im not that rich... This post has been edited by NUR_VER.3: Mar 4 2009, 06:24 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 05:53 PM
lol since when discussion bcome attking ppl
Mar 4 2009, 05:55 PM
Mar 4 2009, 06:01 PM
Forum Admin
i'm not pro, cos i'm not doing it as profession.
i never claimed to be expert either. Now back to topic la guys. |
Mar 4 2009, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 4 2009, 05:42 PM) there are few kind of OC, one is maximize the value of the hardware u bought, no matter how low end it is... eg e2140 + G31 mayb...another 1 is play with expensive hardware and enjoy privilage of ultimate performance.... and also u must consider those extreme and so called pro's... do u think their settings are suitable for 24/7 ? or is it just for benching purpose ? u must take all these things into consideration, yeah if u wanna compete for world record or mayb go for competition, then u will say that OC is expensive... Dry Ice Pot etc etc... so, as mentioned again, its depends the budget range of hardware u wanna play with, u must review the purpose of ur overclock, some just to get some free clock over stock, some go for xtreme and wanna beat the record, some wanna smooth out their gaming experience with maximum system performance etc... stop attacking ppl la... its hard to classify someone as a pro or noob, sometimes pro and noob its just beside each other, a so called pro can easily turn into a noob... Pro = some one who really into overclock. take it as a job.... get paid from overclocking... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 06:04 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 06:03 PM) there are few kind of OC, one is maximize the value of the hardware u bought, no matter how low end it is... eg e2140 + G31 mayb... bah............when did i attack people. another 1 is play with expensive hardware and enjoy privilage of ultimate performance.... and also u must consider those extreme and so called pro's... do u think their settings are suitable for 24/7 ? or is it just for benching purpose ? u must take all these things into consideration, yeah if u wanna compete for world record or mayb go for competition, then u will say that OC is expensive... Dry Ice Pot etc etc... so, as mentioned again, its depends the budget range of hardware u wanna play with, u must review the purpose of ur overclock, some just to get some free clock over stock, some go for xtreme and wanna beat the record, some wanna smooth out their gaming experience with maximum system performance etc... stop attacking ppl la... its hard to classify someone as a pro or noob, sometimes pro and noob its just beside each other, a so called pro can easily turn into a noob... Pro = some one who really into overclock. take it as a job.... get paid from overclocking... btw i just re read some of the post and UV lighting isnt in the same category as OC as far as i know. |
Mar 4 2009, 06:29 PM
Mar 4 2009, 06:51 PM
Mar 4 2009, 08:10 PM
2,510 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Penang Island and Bidor |
Oc'ing is an addiction. Look at me now, i feel bad. feel like quitting, but I can't. It's destroying my life.
Mar 4 2009, 08:42 PM
1,550 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
this question is easily answered... overclocking simply "voids" your product warranty... people say as long u dun bump the voltage then u wont get caught, but IF you got found out overclocking by the authority, ur warranty is voided straight away~
other than that, as long u dun increase voltage, there wont be any disadvantages |
Mar 4 2009, 10:32 PM
Mar 4 2009, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 10:32 PM) come on, cut some slack. don't be an as$hole. most of the guys in OC scene takes word pro as being good/elite. lol... talk cock also kena bombard.... take your dic-ktionary back home. tis thread seem got lotsa replies since morning... lol... whoever got play games also know pro = elite or good player... i jz talking cock sia... |
Mar 4 2009, 11:32 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 10:32 PM) come on, cut some slack. don't be an as$hole. most of the guys in OC scene takes word pro as being good/elite. aiyah like that you also same la. take your dic-ktionary back home. ok now i'm back, and time to reply.............. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) honestly bro, we all know it is unwise to stick with stock heatsink when overclocking...though it is possible, like i said, its risky... i disagree. it's normally the newbies or those who lack knowledge that are actually keep harping that using stock heatsink for overclocking is suicidal. it's not a matter of stock heatsink or not, it's a matter of knowing what you got and how far you can push with what you got. it's not even risky to OC with stock heatsink to begin with. so with stock heatsink, there are the stable limitations on how far it can be overclocked. (notice i didn't use the word SAFE). and beyond the limit, it gets warm thus lead to instability. either that or overheat, which it'll power down. so what risk of frying la? it's just a matter of vs heat. stock heatsink has it's limitation but certainly not incapable of steady overclocking. and to add, newbies always focus so much on heatsink but often they forgot casing airflow. LOL. so it's not going to get any better with 3rd party coolers. even 3rd party coolers have their limitation. bottom line stock heatsinks are plenty capable for certain overclocking, OCing without vcore raises don't add that much to temperature. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) ok but what happened if a guy has an old mobo that only support up to 667mhz bus speed? but the proc FSB can go up to 800mhz (just an example,now all can go over 1333mhz)? sure we can adjust multipliers but it wont be enough to bring the full potential of the proc dont u think? surely a 200-300 bucks mobo can be overclocked but how far can the owner tinker wit the stock BIOS? using OC'ing software maybe an alternative but dont u think it is best to overclock using BIOS? damn funny la. obviously when i say RM 200 - 300 is NEW mobo la. i don't see the point of bringing old mobo into the picture here as we're talking about inexpensive setup. old stuff are inherited, you can call that cheap setup but if it's limited then it's hardware problem and doesn't in anyway justify what you've posted thus far. multiplier adjustments? LOL. please la, look at the Intel processors - the multiplier you can adjust lower, not higher, unless it's those processor with unlocked multiplier. and please la (again) we're talking on BIOS overclocking all the while, and stock BIOS is not a problem for overclocking. probably you're expecting something super overclocked but your post doesn't paint the actual picture in overclocking where many of the default BIOS also already could do decent overclocking. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) well, that adds a limitation on how far u can overclock no? every component has it's limitation, but again you're going off the track. let's look at what you posted earlier. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) 2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking. LOL. it's laughable at best. so you're saying using value RAM is less stable? and what do you mean by risk of bottlenecking? what risk? my point is that your post is clearly misleading, without a counter post like mine, newbies to OCing would probably have been mislead (they already are, you're just adding to it) that high-performance RAM = OCing. that's why we're getting a lot of shitty post at HW Q&A. look at the Kingston Value RAM using BT-D43 chips, they were value RAMs but they were AWESOME in overclocking. even my Kingston Value RAM DDR2 667 using Hynix chips can do DDR2 ~750 speed with no problems. so firstly you're talking about needing performance RAM to stabilize and whatever then now you say limitation. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM) C,mon..if u dont even know the basics of the components dont you think it is risky to overclock? if like that every time u wanna change heatsink or changing a PSU also need to send back to shop la....then overclocking would be more expensive la,service charge lagi...huwa... OVERCLOCKING = meaning to run the things beyond stated operating specs. in the case of OCing processor, it's a matter of changing of settings involving the multipler and FSB, and doing additional adjustments such as vcore, fsb:cpu ratio, RAM settings and those who prefer more advanced settings could even adjust the voltage for NB, RAM timings and so on so forth - it's all within the BIOS. the most the person has to touch is the JUMPER to reset CMOS if needed. so what assembling skills you need? i could assemble a whole PC and pass to my neighbour and teach him to OC, and he'll still be able to OC successfully without knowledge of assembly, already proof that ASSEMBLY skill is not a pre-requisite to learn OCing. *sorry la i may edit a bit here and there. long winded can miss out things.* This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 11:40 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 11:49 PM
Mar 4 2009, 11:54 PM
@goldfries: tl;dr
but i get what you mean |
Mar 4 2009, 11:58 PM
Mar 5 2009, 12:36 AM
3,175 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 4 2009, 12:54 PM) Aku Brek Sendiri? or QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM) agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM) curious QFTT, yeah, dont forget M$ Word.. it needs damn alot of computing power i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM) when motherboard started to have those button that says "Press Me To Overclock", everyone suddenly into OC. it's just THE THING to do. and they burn their stuff for no reason. basically blaming everything. where just a simple readup will explainQUOTE(uzer85 @ Mar 4 2009, 05:47 PM) he never said he was pro, just that i would like to point out, hes alot more better then the denizens of hardware and OCU, well most of them anyway.QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 05:50 PM) hmm, is it true? if so how do you identify a pro overclocker? Too long, didnt read, bottom line is? We should all buy dells! well im just posting my opinion bro, its up to the readers whether to except it or not, what i say here are all based on what i've experienced..and yes i know u are trying to say there are cheaper way to overclock and whatnot.. its just that we need to look at the overall picture here, TS just started overclocking, seeking for member's opinion about disadvantages of over clock(stated in thread title) so i give him the disadvantages la,right or wrong is not the point, since it varies depends on the situation u are in. In my point of view Overclocking are expensive, because we need to consider the energy and cost factor during the process of overclocking (eg:energy and money spent on hardwares and searching for guidelines).. yeah sure we can save RM300-Rm400 in OC, BUT to achieve that goal also incurs other costs other than money, and like some other forumers said, it can be addictive.. to TS: i say the disadvantages would be the heat, and time required to find the right setting for batter stability. You have to understand that not all procs and hardwares can be pushed to the max without proper cooling and trial and errors... for now u can enjoy overclocking within the limits of your hardwares with no prob..but later if you want more speed, higher clock,and want to compete in benchies and stuff, be prepared to spend more money... I overclock because i want to gain more FPS in games, so far it worked, but if i want more FPS, i need to spend more for better cooler and re test my rig before sticking with the new clock setting..u see, more money and time needed....as simple as that...but it sure saves more than buying a new proc, for me both methods costs me a bomb, since im not that rich... Just to point out, my current PC is a Rm90 E2140, Rm150 Mobo, Rm300 GC, 2 Sticks of Patriot Value rams, Intel Stock HSF, and yeah, I still Score over 11k oddish 3dmark06 at default settings. Well, if you dont want to clock, you can always fork more money out for better hardwares QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 06:29 PM) Anandtech is "paid/bribed/payroll" whatever you call it lolQUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 11:58 PM) altho i came in here to start virtual fight with other forummer non-sensically, but still, i wonder why NUR_VER.3 hates OC so much. duno, he didnt state yet :S |
Mar 5 2009, 12:40 AM
5,434 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
The disadvantage of overclocking from me is :
You will get thin very fast,everyday eat roti kosong with skyjuice |
Mar 5 2009, 12:44 AM
Forum Admin
lu tarak clever is $$$ planning. and tarak clever in controlling addiction.
OC with E2140 + G31 + KVR 667 + stock heatsink, then realize eh want more la. so next upgrade mobo. then realize RAM limited. then upgrade RAM then realize too hot. then upgrade heatsink then realize want more! then E8xxx. so end up E8xxx + P45 + performance 1066 RAM + WC setup. |
Mar 5 2009, 01:59 AM
1,205 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: In the heart of Kuala Lumpur |
OCing is an ART.... it might become an essential in every spirit of enthusiast
Mar 5 2009, 02:34 AM
ya. cant blame OC as a result of makan roti etc..
its all about financial planning and self discipline, must not be poisoned by others !!! as goldfries said its true lo.. frm G31 + e2140, after OC realise not enough oomph or statisfication, so end up upgrade ram, etc, etc etc till end up changing whole system and way overbudget... must control liao... |
Mar 5 2009, 02:37 AM
1,070 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
that was the problem.. confirm get poison wan
Mar 5 2009, 02:45 AM
Forum Admin
hehe. sometimes you just refuse to sleep / quit / eat because you are just a bit short of reaching that ideal clock speed or FSB. then later reach already, question come "eh i can reach this leh! i wonder how far can i go...... " then there goes your time.
and $$$ come in when you manage to convince yourself that upgrade gonna get you more OC headroom. |
Mar 5 2009, 02:47 AM
2,027 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Greenwood, GBK |
OC is unpredictable~
Mar 5 2009, 02:56 AM
u know........when someone build a new rig they said that they dont wanna oc it.dont plan on oc at all but in the end most of them oc the hell out of it.
and i guess those people is into oc by accident coz their rig not powerful enough after a few months. |
Mar 5 2009, 03:25 AM
2,027 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Greenwood, GBK |
ya, i remember the 1st time i bought my 1st rig.. AMD64 3000.. that time only use onboard graphic..at first i just wanna use for do my assignment.. later xtahan tgk kwn2 main NFS underground that time.. the start to buy gc.. then learn OC through web.. my first OC attempt wuz using VIA chipset..got 200mhz raised up.. not too shabby.. haha
the disadvantage is.... no i tink.. all my 1st rig hardware sold edy.. still ok when i sold it This post has been edited by anep: Mar 5 2009, 03:26 AM |
Mar 5 2009, 03:27 AM
QUOTE(anep @ Mar 5 2009, 03:25 AM) ya, i remember the 1st time i bought my 1st rig.. AMD64 3000.. that time only use onboard graphic..at first i just wanna use for do my assignment.. later xtahan tgk kwn2 main NFS underground that time.. the start to buy gc.. then learn OC through web.. my first OC attempt wuz using VIA chipset..got 200mhz raised up.. not too shabby.. haha would u call that 'accidentally' involved??? |
Mar 5 2009, 05:16 AM
1,058 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Penang , Malaysia |
for me, disadvantages of overclocking will be
a heated room. i'll need air cond in my new house. maybe i get 1 HP air-cond, after that OC more, feel heat again, add 2 HP air-cond, and then 5HP......... and there goes all my hard earn $$$ |
Mar 5 2009, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Mar 5 2009, 05:16 AM) for me, disadvantages of overclocking will be a heated room. i'll need air cond in my new house. maybe i get 1 HP air-cond, after that OC more, feel heat again, add 2 HP air-cond, and then 5HP......... and there goes all my hard earn $$$ what's your room size? 5m²? |
Mar 5 2009, 11:50 AM
1,981 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
Overclocking is much cheaper than that other expensive hobby, photography. But anyway, my preference is for a system that runs optimally and is stabile too. No point getting that 10GHz overclock if it generates a lot of noise and heat...
Mar 5 2009, 11:54 AM
Forum Admin
not necessarily. photography cost also depends on how far you want to bring it to.
i can tell you that my fish-keeping hobby actually cost more than my OCing hobby, and worse thing about fish is they die more easily then pets like cats or dogs. and setting up a 4ft tank involves a lot more hassle than setting up a PC. long story la. but summarized - there's always cost in everything we do, monetary or not. and how much the cost depends on how far we bring it. |
Mar 5 2009, 12:07 PM
We lived in a digital era right now, no need to take care of pets like good old days...
Pets now can live inside PC as well There's many virtual pets for us to adopt... Save time & money + can do more OC with that saving = YAY! |
Mar 5 2009, 03:22 PM
3,175 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Ok, thread has went off topic totally. LOL....
Closing it down now. //Closed |
| Change to: | 0.0362sec
5 queries
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:04 AM |