Credit Card Thread V6

alexwsk
post Mar 4 2009, 01:32 PM

4,093 posts

hehe, at least still first page

DA application through fax very fast. Called me the second day, now waiting to see whether I can get the card this week.
alexwsk
post Mar 4 2009, 07:20 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:08 PM)
I thought DA 2% rebate will end by April right?
The brochure said will end by 30th april, dunno they will extend or not

Added on March 4, 2009, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(heizad @ Mar 4 2009, 04:18 PM)
i applied DA thru email...next day they called me for verification and 2 days later i got the card tongue.gif
same thing here, faxed in last thursday, called me last friday, got the card thru POSLAJU today

but 2 things i'm not satisfied
1) I filled in the form to ask them to send the cards to my office, when they called and ask, also told them to send to my office, lastly the cards still ended up at my home address sweat.gif
2) applied for platinum, received gold with CL 18k mad.gif If i'm not qualified, let it be. Now I might not want to phone them up to activate the cards icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 4 2009, 07:29 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 5 2009, 12:06 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(High-End Power @ Mar 4 2009, 10:08 PM)
Treatpoints to redeem Maybank vouchers have increased terribly. Petronas voucher is now 11000 points instead of 9000 points last time. All the vouchers also increased rclxub.gif
yup, luckily i redeemed on the spot last week at maybankard centre, 1 utama using the old points with discount (coz they no need to post)
RM50 x 3 for 25500 only

now the TP are not that worth it anymore

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 5 2009, 07:17 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 5 2009, 07:19 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 5 2009, 03:58 PM)
To me, free annual fee for whole life, the service provided by the bank and cash rebate are the three most important things when I consider applying for a credit card.

All the points to me are not so useful. Cash rebate especially for petrol is more meaningful.

Free annual fee for whole life is very important as I don't have to call the bankers to waive my annual fee every year before it expires.

The service provided is very important too. Every time I call to the bank, I hope it will answer my call as soon as possible. I have called before to a bank several times but there was never a person there to answer my call until now.

<< MY LIFE AS AN INSURANCE AGENT >>
so, mind to share which card do you currently own fits the 3 things above?
alexwsk
post Mar 6 2009, 09:48 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 5 2009, 08:28 PM)
Sure. I am currently using VISA and MASTERCARD from Public Bank, MASTERCARD from CIMB and AmBank.

All the cards are free for life absolutely without any condition, except for Public Bank. As long as I am a Public Mutual unitholder, my Public Bank credit cards are free without any condition.

My Public Bank credit cards offer cash rebate although it is not a huge amount. CIMB gives me 2 % cash rebate if I go to Petronas.

So far, their staffs are quite polite especially AmBank in SS2, Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

If you want higher cash rebate for every petrol station in Malaysia, you can try applying RHB Travel Money credit card. It gives 5 % cash rebate for every first Saturday and Sunday of a month, then 2 % for the rest of the days of the month. The promotion is until the end of this June, if I am not mistaken. But bear in mind, RHB service is very bad. I mean the attitude of the staffs. Why am I using its credit card? I just want to enjoy the cash rebate. After promotion period, I will cancel it without hesitation.

Hope my little advice helps you.

<< MY LIFE AS AN INSURANCE AGENT >>
ic, i thought there's one card that fits the bill doh.gif

i'm also holding mastercard from PBB (same as u, public mutual unit holder), use it for online payment and online prepaid recharge at pbebank
Petronas MBB for 5X TP at petronas
HSBC Visa if they have merchant discount

already cancelled HLB, citibank

Added on March 6, 2009, 9:49 am
QUOTE(arsenal @ Mar 6 2009, 01:30 AM)
2% petrol rebate is permanent until further notice for DA customer...smile.gif
rclxms.gif that's great, thx for the info

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 6 2009, 09:49 AM
alexwsk
post Mar 8 2009, 10:12 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Mar 7 2009, 07:31 PM)
i din call......dunno hv to call also smile.gif
6months is still early still..at least 1 year normally...

but the silver card max also can goes til rm7k like tat max rite
if you call, then your transaction surely can go thru, else they might phone you up to verify

alexwsk
post Mar 11 2009, 01:05 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 11 2009, 10:25 AM)
Which bank has the payment facility to pay bills through internet banking from credit card account instead of banking account?

AmBank has this feature and many bills can be paid from credit card account. The AmBonus point is, for every 30,000, you can redeem RM150 cash.

Previously was 30,000 point, RM300 = Every RM100 spend, you got RM1.

Now you get RM1 for every RM200 spent. Is it a good deal?
PBB can pay any bills using credit card.
30000 = RM150, so 1 point = 0.005 = 0.5%, I would say this is quite standard

alexwsk
post Mar 11 2009, 09:12 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 11 2009, 02:02 PM)
Yes it is true you won't get any point or cash rebate when pay bills by using Public Bank Credit Card through PBeBank.com. I do that a couple of time last year.
hmm.gif , for my case, i do get points
i even get points for petrol, RM1 = 1 point
btw, my card is PB Manchester United Master
alexwsk
post Mar 11 2009, 09:33 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 11 2009, 09:23 PM)
Hmmm, very funny. It different with my PB Gold mastercard. Maybe because yours is co-branded, it have different terms.
i guessed so, and now i can't even see MU card on their website for new application anymore
btw, can u buy prepaid using your credit card at pbebank? mine one can

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 11 2009, 09:37 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 14 2009, 08:40 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Mar 13 2009, 10:49 PM)
Same lo .. I also want 2% rebate mah .... go other bank ? My friend told me because I got car under my name so cannot apply credit card jor .. need to wait the car finish pay only can geh woh ... sad.gif
cannot be la, unless urs is ferrari brows.gif
alexwsk
post Mar 22 2009, 07:46 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 22 2009, 06:29 PM)
Thanks hye for your feedback. Guess it will be safer to cancel CC 1-2 months before it reach 1 year.
Haha I know, just that I want to know what will happen if i really forget smile.gif
Anyway I will cancel 3 of my CC after I managed to swipe them few times. (its a challenge for me to use other CCs now sweat.gif)
Thanks RockIron. Do you know how many transaction we need in order not to have bad record?
no worries about the internal bad record la, still have so many banks out there ma
i cancelled my DA without even activating it, and also my HSBC Amanah without even retrieving the POSLAJU

but if CCRIS then better dun play play
alexwsk
post Mar 23 2009, 03:39 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 22 2009, 10:17 PM)
Yup, but in my opinion better be safe than sorry. Who knows in future you might need to apply card from them again. smile.gif
true, but i thk the internal bad record will clear after a year or two oso

Added on March 23, 2009, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 23 2009, 12:48 PM)
i think you can call up your CC issuer and ask them to give you a temporary limit increase. Just tell them you are going overseas, give them the date of departure and limit required. No need to top up your account as most bank do provide this service by phone call only.
i called HSBC earlier this month, they said don't hv temporary increase anymore

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 23 2009, 03:40 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 23 2009, 06:52 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 23 2009, 05:46 PM)
I just call them up tell what you said earlier but their call centre said no such thing for MBB hence they cant provide that facilities to me.

Added on March 23, 2009, 5:47 pm
Actually hotel payment itself over my limit. So I guess the solution is to swipe 2 card when paying, is it right? Do they accept for swiping 2 cards to pay one bill?

Added on March 23, 2009, 5:50 pm
Why the call centre answer different from your experience? Should I call them up again perhaps other people who know more about this?
For MBB, surely have temp increase
you can fill in this form and fax to them http://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank_docs/p...s/inc_limit.pdf

And yes, most hotels can split the bill to two cards

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 23 2009, 06:54 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 25 2009, 06:49 PM

4,093 posts

To SCB holders, normally they send the cc using which company? Thx
alexwsk
post Mar 28 2009, 09:07 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Mar 28 2009, 12:05 PM)
Hello,
I use Pay Pass at KFC counter, it fails for me.
Anyone know what reason? Is that a tapping card reader problem or my card problem?
Thank you.
so far i managed to use pay pass at Carrefour, last time use at Jusco 1 Utama can't go thru
btw, both the Pay Pass machines belongs to Maybank

Added on March 28, 2009, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(maru @ Mar 28 2009, 01:50 PM)
eating kfc only cost rm10-20

use CC and pay =_=''

ppl who queue behind u might curse u....haha
it's your rights ma, if they like, they oso can use cc to pay biggrin.gif

that's the point of having Pay Pass, but then they don't know how to operate it doh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 28 2009, 09:10 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 28 2009, 10:35 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 28 2009, 09:52 PM)
You're referring to Visa Wave or Mastercard Paypass?
Sry, actually I was referring to Maybank's Visa PayWave, supposedly is (Pay)pass + Visa (Wave) and can be use at both types of terminal

I'm using the MBB Petronas Visa CC and managed to use that feature at Carrefour USJ

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 28 2009, 10:38 PM
alexwsk
post Mar 28 2009, 10:50 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 28 2009, 10:40 PM)
You're correct that MBB Petronas Visa is only card that support both Paypass and Visa Wave.

I believe the new yellow terminal from MBB supports both too even though I haven't try Paypass on MBB yellow terminal or MBB Petronas Visa on Paypass terminal.
yea, so far i managed to use the MBB Petronas Visa at Carrefour's MBB Yellow terminal
but i think last yr the same card couldn't work at Jusco's MBB Yellow terminal, i suspect they don't know how to operate it

don't have any Mastercard PayPass card yet
alexwsk
post Mar 28 2009, 11:13 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 28 2009, 10:50 PM)
To a certain extent you are right about it. I try my best to use my credit card in place of cash coz at least I get points for my spendings. And from my observations, it's not just the cashier - probably the whole place and staff are not used to their customers using cc thus they don't make an effort to educate the cashier on how to use the system nor their supervisor bothers.

For example, KFC has been a cash outlet for so many years and suddenly they allow customers to use credit card. If the cashier is having problems with the paypass

1. Best scenario, they will slot in the card into the cc machine and you need to sign the slip. (Sometimes the Paypass version also they ask to sign, I don't blame them coz it's likely their supervisor who gave the instruction)
2. They try to slot the card in the machine, something goes wrong and they ask you to pay in cash after a few tries. Likely that you will see that there's only 1 machine working in the entire store. Suddenly all the other machines are not working ?
3. The worst if they will just take the easy way out and say that the machine is out of order but actually it is working just fine.

Burger King outlet accepts cc as well (I go to the one in KLCC). Machines used to be working well and then only 1 works. Now they just tell me that the machine is not working at the moment and it has been the case for many weeks already.

I just can't believe they think that customers are that stupid and this is one of the examples of bad habits within the Malaysian services industry.  ohmy.gif  We need to get rid of our 3rd world mentalities.  vmad.gif
brows.gif , then we should get rid of Malaysia Boleh mentality first
alexwsk
post Mar 31 2009, 03:28 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(mo66 @ Mar 31 2009, 09:02 AM)
Guys...just to ask...do you always got your CC statement late like you only got 3 or 4 working days to pay the statement before payment due date?

I am using AEON CC and I noticed it like that. I dont know if they purposely done this and the minimum charge for late payment is RM10.
my PBB, MBB and HSBC statements will normally arrive within a week from the statement date
alexwsk
post Apr 9 2009, 02:32 PM

4,093 posts

just received my SCB CC with CL of 7x my month salary shocking.gif

and the member since printed on the cards is 2003 (the last time I cancelled their cards) thumbup.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:46 AM