127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V6

cute_boboi
post Apr 1 2009, 02:37 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 1 2009, 01:28 PM)
IC u are looking for a 'better' platinum card. 

The promotion is quite tempting tho, i.e. RM50 cash on credit card with a free saving account, with RM30 in it.  I did not apply as it is inconveniet for me.
Yes, 4th point is inconvenient payment, like Citibank CC, although I guess I can use M1 online a/c to transfer for CC payment.

Added on April 1, 2009, 2:43 pmJust to add, I'm not looking for "better" plat. Just better rewards/returns/redemptions from CC. Convenience, free for life. Plat nowadays is like Gold card 10 years ago. I also feel paiseh to use my plat to swipe, so normally i use the classic card.

BTW, my MBB Amex Credit Card (gold only) already 3.5 yrs (free first 3 yrs AF waiver). So far they did not charge me AF, I guess they auto-waive me.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 1 2009, 02:43 PM
jack2
post Apr 1 2009, 02:45 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Wonder what are the differences between Maybank AMEX charge card and credit card?
andyfriends
post Apr 1 2009, 03:03 PM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2009, 02:37 PM)
Plat nowadays is like Gold card 10 years ago. I also feel paiseh to use my plat to swipe, so normally i use the classic card.

What? U using classic? Isnt it even more embarassing.

lcl832002
post Apr 1 2009, 03:07 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Mar 8 2009, 06:48 PM)
nope...not min 50 bucks fuels...any amount is ok entitled for 2% rebate...max rebate can get is 50 bucks...
I was told that we can get a DA credit card (2 % cash rebate in all petrol station in Malaysia) using our degree cert. Do we have to prepare our pay slips for application for the DA credit card???
Zack Styler
post Apr 1 2009, 03:11 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 1 2009, 03:03 PM)
What?  U using classic?  Isnt it even more embarassing.
Nothing wrong with that..

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Apr 1 2009, 03:07 PM)
I was told that we can get a DA credit card (2 % cash rebate in all petrol station in Malaysia) using our degree cert. Do we have to prepare our pay slips for application for the DA credit card???
Preferably yes for easier approval..
andyfriends
post Apr 1 2009, 03:29 PM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Apr 1 2009, 03:11 PM)
Nothing wrong with that..

Nah just too low profile as you could have just used your platinum! tongue.gif

tinkerbel
post Apr 1 2009, 03:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jack2,
Charge card doesn't have a CL whereas Credit Card has. U will however need to make full payment at the end of the month should you have charged your card smile.gif
cute_boboi
post Apr 1 2009, 04:09 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 1 2009, 03:03 PM)
What?  U using classic?  Isnt it even more embarassing.
Well, classic is the lowest I can goto, nothing lower than that laugh.gif

There was one 31st of the month, I was queuing to pay for Baskin Robbins at Mont Kiara. Guess what, 80% swipe using Plat cards blink.gif it was so common! doh.gif

Added on April 1, 2009, 4:11 pmThen I decide to be the special one and take out my classic card. shocking.gif Wow, my classic looks so special among the plats laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 1 2009, 04:11 PM
hye
post Apr 1 2009, 04:33 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2009, 04:09 PM)
Well, classic is the lowest I can goto, nothing lower than that  laugh.gif

There was one 31st of the month, I was queuing to pay for Baskin Robbins at Mont Kiara. Guess what, 80% swipe using Plat cards  blink.gif  it was so common!  doh.gif

Added on April 1, 2009, 4:11 pmThen I decide to be the special one and take out my classic card.  shocking.gif  Wow, my classic looks so special among the plats  laugh.gif
Yeah ... plats are so common nowadays. I got it myself and there are days that I couldn't be bothered about it anymore coz I know anytime I could get it. For example, I enjoy using my debit card which gives me 7% petrol rebates and no credit card provider can match me - for once so what if it isn't a platinum card .

The RHB travel money agents always kena when they approached me. They think I'm conning them when I told them I could get 7% rebate beating their 'conditional' 5% petrol rebate.
jack2
post Apr 1 2009, 04:42 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 1 2009, 04:33 PM)
Yeah ... plats are so common nowadays. I got it myself and there are days that I couldn't be bothered about it anymore coz I know anytime I could get it. For example, I enjoy using my debit card which gives me 7% petrol rebates and no credit card provider can match me - for once so what if it isn't a platinum card .

The RHB travel money agents always kena when they approached me. They think I'm conning them when I told them I could get 7% rebate beating their 'conditional' 5% petrol rebate.
Which card offers 7% rebate?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2009, 04:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Apr 1 2009, 02:12 PM)
Thanks. So every 200 point you get RM1 & every RM1 spend you get 2 points. So the rebate is 1%. Very good. thumbup.gif
All the banks here should offer more choices of credit card and for the cash back credit card, it should be AT LEAST 1%, like those in USA. And the cash back can either be credited to our savings/checking account held with the bank or cheque or cash. Accumulate rewards point is not really my cup of tea. HSBC got many interesting vouchers but the down side is the points expire once every three years. Citibank rewards point is evergreen but the redemption points needed is kind of expensive.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2009, 02:37 PM)
Plat nowadays is like Gold card 10 years ago.
Very true. In US they have VISA Ultima, a kind of high society card that is not availble in Malaysia yet. If i'm not mistaken, VISA Ultima is not yet offered by any banks in Singapore as we speak. So don't expect this card to arrives at our shore anytime soon.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 1 2009, 04:09 PM)
Then I decide to be the special one and take out my classic card.  shocking.gif  Wow, my classic looks so special among the plats  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif You funny chap !

QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 1 2009, 04:42 PM)
Which card offers 7% rebate?
The SCB Saadiq Savings Mastercard debit.
jack2
post Apr 1 2009, 05:06 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 1 2009, 04:50 PM)
All the banks here should offer more choices of credit card and for the cash back credit card, it should be AT LEAST 1%, like those in USA. And the cash back can either be credited to our savings/checking account held with the bank or cheque or cash. Accumulate rewards point is not really my cup of tea. HSBC got many interesting vouchers but the down side is the points expire once every three years. Citibank rewards point is evergreen but the redemption points needed is kind of expensive.
Very true. In US they have VISA Ultima, a kind of high society card that is not availble in Malaysia yet. If i'm not mistaken, VISA Ultima is not yet offered by any banks in Singapore as we speak. So don't expect this card to arrives at our shore anytime soon.
biggrin.gif  You funny chap !
The SCB Saadiq Savings Mastercard debit.
Only for petrol or anything through online bill payments?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2009, 05:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 1 2009, 05:06 PM)
Only for petrol or anything through online bill payments?
The 7% rebate is applicable for petrol purchase only and you must swipe the card at the kiosk. It's a similar offer they offered last year with their E$aver savings debit Mastercard. It also offers 5% at selected hypermarkets. Please refer to the "debit card" thread for more information.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 1 2009, 05:12 PM
Ash
post Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

I wonder how everyone of you thinks that PLAT is easy to get. I've been a classic holder with a credit limit of 12k (applied using FD) for more than a year now. How can I try to apply for a plat card? Given that I have constant salary credited to my bank account every month.

This post has been edited by Ash: Apr 1 2009, 06:02 PM
conxtion
post Apr 1 2009, 06:00 PM

245 posts

Just go to those CC counters you find in shopping malls and ask them to apply for you. UOB plat should be easy to get, income required is RM18k.
Ash
post Apr 1 2009, 06:03 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Apr 1 2009, 06:00 PM)
Just go to those CC counters you find in shopping malls and ask them to apply for you.  UOB plat should be easy to get, income required is RM18k.
Actually I was thinking bout a maybank/public bank one so I could settle the bill easily online. Don't you guys think it's a fuss to have other bank CCs having to get to the particular bank to settle the bill every month?
andyfriends
post Apr 1 2009, 06:10 PM

2,326 posts

Just go to those CC counters you find in shopping malls and ask them to apply for you.  UOB plat should be easy to get, income required is RM18k.
U joking me! 18k for a Plat!!! mad.gif
tinkerbel
post Apr 1 2009, 07:17 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Ash,
The older you get, the easier it is to get a Plat smile.gif The other, faster way to achieve it is when you are v rich smile.gif

@conxtion,
Is that the UOB One Card Plat that you're referring to?! It's ridiculous for banks to be offering Platinum cards when one is earning RM18k p/annum [as it is, I oredi find it ridiculous for banks to be so lenient on their Plat offering]

SUSKong Sai Hao
post Apr 1 2009, 08:27 PM

17 posts

I actually gave out a photocopy i/c and my credit card photocopy to one merchant 1 year ago in order to purchase something. But now i feared they might me using my documents to apply for credit card and fraud it. Is there anyway i can check how many cards im holding or i want to know my report on cards?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2009, 08:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM)
I wonder how everyone of you thinks that PLAT is easy to get. I've been a classic holder with a credit limit of 12k (applied using FD) for more than a year now. How can I try to apply for a plat card? Given that I have constant salary credited to my bank account every month.
You only need to earn at least RM60k/pa to qualify for SCB Platinum credit card. Compared to a few years ago, yeah, it's really easy to secure a Platinum credit card.

If you are talking about UOB ONE Platinum then very sorry to tell you that is not a real Platinum credit card. The name of the credit card is more of a marketing gimmick.

127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:46 PM