vin_ann
post Jun 15 2009, 09:45 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 15 2009, 09:30 PM)

Added on June 15, 2009, 9:32 pm

Couldn't agree more. Having a cc and the knowledge to own one is not a ticket to acquire cc debt, period. If anyone intends it that way then you are not qualified to own a cc in the first place coz you got the wrong mentality for it.
Agreed!

owning a CC is like playing with fire. must manage well... else will get burnt.
cute_boboi
post Jun 15 2009, 10:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 15 2009, 08:25 PM)
If you ask me about the interest rate charged by cc, I am afraid I am not the suitable person to give you the answer! I may sound a bit offensive to others but this is my sincere advice. smile.gif If you have the intention not to make full payment for the outstanding balance of your cc in the first place, please do not own a cc. Do not develop such a bad habit, especially something related to cc debts. That’s why I NEVER bother about interest rate given by any cc issuers for cash advance, outstanding balance, balance transfer and easy payment scheme. Btw, Alliance Younique provides 0% free interest for the 1st 3 months.

As for the AF, Alliance Younique is giving waiver for the 1st 3 years if you apply for the card before end of July’09. Should you swipe the cc less than 12 times in the 4th year, the AF will be RM148. You can request for AF waiver, but banks always have the final say.
From time to time, we get reminded by priceless quotes thumbup.gif +1
For everything else, there is Mastercard tongue.gif
axlkey
post Jun 16 2009, 10:38 AM

150 posts

I lost my Maybank credit card last week.. It took about half an hour before i can speak to their helpline. First trying the 1-300 number unable to reach them. Then, using the given number for local queries got no one pick-up. Keep trying still no response. Then using the number given for oversea queries only able to talk to them. Then was told that about half an hour ago transaction was made. All amount RM2k..

In my case who should held the liability for the transaction..? I hope I won't have to pay for it...or else it was bulls**t..!!

Added on June 16, 2009, 10:39 amMust add something tho.. the next day going to Maybank Tower KL, I do satisfy with their service.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by axlkey: Jun 16 2009, 10:39 AM
hye
post Jun 16 2009, 11:10 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(axlkey @ Jun 16 2009, 10:38 AM)
I lost my Maybank credit card last week.. It took about half an hour before i can speak to their helpline. First trying the 1-300 number unable to reach them. Then, using the given number for local queries got no one pick-up. Keep trying still no response. Then using the number given for oversea queries only able to talk to them. Then was told that about half an hour ago transaction was made. All amount RM2k..

In my case who should held the liability for the transaction..? I hope I won't have to pay for it...or else it was bulls**t..!!

Added on June 16, 2009, 10:39 amMust add something tho.. the next day going to Maybank Tower KL, I do satisfy with their service.. smile.gif
1. Make sure you make a police report on your card lost. Otherwise you lose your bargaining chips already.\
2. After MBB confirms the illegal transaction, make another police report again on that.
3. Your liability should be capped only to RM250.

P/S Given the long queue to get to their helpline, you still say that you are satisfied with their service ? Let me help you on what are your comparable metrics
HSBC - 2 rings and they will pick up the phone. 10-20 seconds?
SCB and Citibank - Within 30 seconds, your call will be picked up. And you will speak to a person within 5 mins.

Now ... compare that with your 30 mins wait. Speechless rclxub.gif
axlkey
post Jun 16 2009, 11:33 AM

150 posts

What I mean is they are helpful when i went to their office to lodge written complaint.

The 30 minutes is the attempted call after i realise the card stolen, I do not satisfy with it.. Using my fren hp i call the 1-300 number (no tone at all) alternately with the local helpline number (no one pick-up) it takes about 30 minutes.. when i able to speak, at first, the line was 'putus'.. second time try after few verification only able to terminate the card... but unfortunately the thief is faster...I already complaint about the late pick up and 1-300 no tone to them..

This post has been edited by axlkey: Jun 16 2009, 11:34 AM
tinkerbel
post Jun 16 2009, 11:41 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@axlkey,
Did the bank indicate if they will make U pay what the thief robbed U off?
axlkey
post Jun 16 2009, 11:49 AM

150 posts

I do encounter some worse customer service experience regarding my stolen wallet.. BNM and Maxis (Hotlink) was really s**ks in customer service.. I decide to swith to other network provider already.. For BNM case, i will charge them back if later on anybody use my i.c to have loan..

Added on June 16, 2009, 11:50 am@tinkerbel : not sure.. they said they will investigate first

Added on June 16, 2009, 12:34 pmanybody know any website to check if our name is blacklisted to apply credit card or any loan.. As far as i know BNM through CCRISS only give credit rating of individuals to any banking institution.. but is there a way we can check our status with CCRISS or CTOS or from any website..?

thanks..

Added on June 16, 2009, 2:55 pmActually beside their helpline late response, MBB should already block the transaction after it reach the 2k credit limit.. bfore the card stolen i alredi used about RM200. Then the thief use it for another RM2.1k.. Why should they not block the card when it reach the limit is their fault right?

I'm thinking of not paying them any cents since they are the one who didn't provide proper helpline channel. Second, the also fail to block immediately when it reach the 2k limit.. Third, in my opinion the merchant who sold the goods should be held responsible since they failed to check that the signature on the print receipt with my signature on the back of card is really different..

Any opinion..?

This post has been edited by axlkey: Jun 16 2009, 02:55 PM
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2009, 04:07 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(axlkey @ Jun 16 2009, 11:49 AM)

Added on June 16, 2009, 2:55 pmActually beside their helpline late response, MBB should already block the transaction after it reach the 2k credit limit.. bfore the card stolen i alredi used about RM200. Then the thief use it for another RM2.1k.. Why should they not block the card when it reach the limit is their fault right?

I'm thinking of not paying them any cents since they are the one who didn't provide proper helpline channel. Second, the also fail to block immediately when it reach the 2k limit.. Third, in my opinion the merchant who sold the goods should be held responsible since they failed to check that the signature on the print receipt with my signature on the back of card is really different..

Any opinion..?
Last time a thief stole my wife's Amex and used it in Hard Rock Cafe. The thief was Malay, using a card with Chinese name, and he bought liquor. The management only reported it after that... and the police said they will see if the thief comes back for his kept liquor and catch him... but of course he never did.

I have used an unsigned credit card in Jusco before. They never looked at the back of the card. What's the signature on the credit card slip for anyway? Can I just draw a turtle there?
tinkerbel
post Jun 16 2009, 04:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dannyl,
Fewer and fewer people double check the signature behind the card. I guess if you really want a turtle U could biggrin.gif What's stopping U?
MilesAndMore
post Jun 16 2009, 04:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 16 2009, 04:28 PM)
Fewer and fewer people double check the signature behind the card.
True. Most cashiers do not bother to check nowadays.
axlkey
post Jun 16 2009, 05:06 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 16 2009, 04:07 PM)
Last time a thief stole my wife's Amex and used it in Hard Rock Cafe.  The thief was Malay, using a card with Chinese name, and he bought liquor.  The management only reported it after that... and the police said they will see if the thief comes back for his kept liquor and catch him... but of course he never did.

I have used an unsigned credit card in Jusco before.  They never looked at the back of the card.  What's the signature on the credit card slip for anyway?  Can I just draw a turtle there?

In my opinion, all merchants should be particular when dealing with c.c transaction. If they failed to detect the unauthorised transaction, they should bear the price.. In my opinion, banks should investigate whether merchants do the appropriate check on the card or not.. If no checking was done it was same as accepting fake cash..in this case,this are the risk of doing business and should teach them a lesson for others too.. So I praise the management of the Hard Rock cafe for taking the initiatives to report the case..

Again,the merchants should be educate to help preventing the crime..The should check the signature as it was the only means to verify the purchase.. In case of not signing the back of ur c.c, i think it's ur fault if thief found ur card and the used it.. not the cashier/merchant anymore..

Added on June 16, 2009, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 16 2009, 04:31 PM)
True. Most cashiers do not bother to check nowadays.
last time i worked at jusco.. when on cashier duty we are required to look at the signature..if something suspicious we are required to call the chief cashier and also security..i think it still applicable nowadays..

This post has been edited by axlkey: Jun 16 2009, 05:13 PM
Michael_G
post Jun 16 2009, 05:21 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 15 2009, 08:25 PM)
If you ask me about the interest rate charged by cc, I am afraid I am not the suitable person to give you the answer! I may sound a bit offensive to others but this is my sincere advice. smile.gif If you have the intention not to make full payment for the outstanding balance of your cc in the first place, please do not own a cc. Do not develop such a bad habit, especially something related to cc debts. That’s why I NEVER bother about interest rate given by any cc issuers for cash advance, outstanding balance, balance transfer and easy payment scheme. Btw, Alliance Younique provides 0% free interest for the 1st 3 months.

As for the AF, Alliance Younique is giving waiver for the 1st 3 years if you apply for the card before end of July’09. Should you swipe the cc less than 12 times in the 4th year, the AF will be RM148. You can request for AF waiver, but banks always have the final say.
urm so if i made a full payment den i wont be getting other charges like late payment and interest?? of course i will make a full payment.. sorry sifu im noob. i just want to know the interest rate and late payment rate and other charges.. wah AF RM148.. @.@ .... CC making me rclxub.gif LOL
hye
post Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(axlkey @ Jun 16 2009, 05:06 PM)
In my opinion, all merchants should be particular when dealing with c.c transaction. If they failed to detect the unauthorised transaction, they should bear the price.. In my opinion, banks should investigate whether merchants do the appropriate check on the card or not.. If no checking was done it was same as accepting fake cash..in this case,this are the risk of doing business and should teach them a lesson for others too.. So I praise the management of the Hard Rock cafe for taking the initiatives to report the case..

Again,the merchants should be educate to help preventing the crime..The should check the signature as it was the only means to verify the purchase.. In case of not signing the back of ur c.c, i think it's ur fault if thief found ur card and the used it.. not the cashier/merchant anymore..
I partially agree on this but again remember the power of the consumer is @ play here. I have been using cc for quite a while and able to tell which bank have good cs and which one does not. Many of the folks who visit this forum would often ask this ...

1. Which bank easy to apply ?
2. Which bank easy to pay ?
3. I apply cc from bank which has my bank account
and the list goes on and on.

Hello! Everyone forgets what is one of the most important factor in a cc feature - Security. Sure it is simple to say that the merchant should be blamed for not noticing but what if the person looks Chinese then but in actuality a Malay. (Not being racist or anything ... just an example) Would the same checking have happened ?

How many people out there who sign exactly like the signature @ the back of their card ? In real world variation exist my friend.

In a pub or entertainment place, it is normally dark and you really have to try hard to see the number on the card. In a supermarket on a weekend, everybody is in a hurry and the possibilty of an oversight is high. Try again my friend, your suggestions need a practicallity check coz they are very hard to execute in the real world. Probably the person was acting funny in Hard Rock and the cashier checked the card.

What I am trying to say is that (repeatedly) the senior folks here in this forum have emphasize and feedback on the various cs encountered they had. But yet many ignores it for one reason or another. For example - Jusco card scammed me out of my money and till date never took responsibility or offered any apologies but yet many people apply and use it because they offer a multiplier to their Jusco points. Bank Rakyat's card is unproven and suspect CS quality ... try walking into the branch and see how "fast" can they service you. But people apply and use this card coz they can accumulate debt on this card.

Many times also, the forummer complains coz the senior guys suggestions are not "practical" to them coz difficult to pay cc. Hello ... there is something called IBG (interbank transfer) where you can pay from anywhere and anytime in the world. I have done my Malaysian banking while I was thousand of KMs away from KL, everything is convenient and gave me a peace of mind. Some say the RM2 is too expensive ... ever considered the cost of fuel had you drove there in the first place ? Sorry to be sarcastic but "Penny wise, pound foolish". There's no such thing as a free lunch.

If you ask me, one of the stronger emphasis that a consumer must decide is whether the CS is good or not. if CS is bad then it is a matter of time before some one else will get hit like our unfortunate friend. Make a check and test how fast would your card CS will pick up the call and you will be surprised. I have done this before and that's why I could share my experiences in this forum. I use my card for travelling and I need a peace of mind, if anything happens I expect a CS will be on the other side of the phone to respond and act to my trouble.

I'm sorry if I offended anyone but really this incident should be a lesson for anyone choosing a cc. You should not choose a cc just because it offers you easy to pay (etc) but how well would they respond to you in case of an emergency and support you. Imagine if you are holding a cc with a 100K limit, can you imagine what can the thief do within 1 hour of shopping spree in KLCC? There was an incident several years back with a thief swiping over RM30K within 1-2 hours using a stolen cc. (Signature was even forged) Your damage could have been bigger my friend.

Best .... don't lose your cc in the first place. Treat it as important as your IC or your passport. Nothing beats a cc provider with excellent CS.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 16 2009, 07:27 PM
roarus
post Jun 16 2009, 07:18 PM

1,042 posts

anybody know any website to check if our name is blacklisted to apply credit card or any loan..  As far as i know BNM through CCRISS only give credit rating of individuals to any banking institution.. but is there a way we can check our status with CCRISS or CTOS or from any website..?
BNM will reveal it to you as well, just head to BNM with your mykad. They will print out the report and hand it to you in a nice envelope for free. Did it in Mar this year.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 16 2009, 08:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM)
Many times also, the forummer complains coz the senior guys suggestions are not "practical" to them coz difficult to pay cc. Hello ... there is something called IBG (interbank transfer) where you can pay from anywhere and anytime in the world.
Can't blame them as many Malaysian still do not have an online banking account as they are skeptical with the security of it. The numbers of fraud involving money vanishing from people's online banking account are on the rising trend and this has kept many people from using online banking facility.

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM)
Hello ... there is something called IBG (interbank transfer) where you can pay from anywhere and anytime in the world. I have done my Malaysian banking while I was thousand of KMs away from KL, everything is convenient and gave me a peace of mind. Some say the RM2 is too expensive ... ever considered the cost of fuel had you drove there in the first place ? Sorry to be sarcastic but "Penny wise, pound foolish". There's no such thing as a free lunch.
Most banks are charging RM2 for each IBG transfer but Citibank and Standard Chartered are only charging RM0.50. RHB Bank is charging RM1.50 per IBG while Alliance Bank RM1/IBG.

Both the Singaporean banks, UOB and OCBC are charging RM0.50/IBG for the first two IBG done in a month, RM2/IBG will be charged from the third IBG onward.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 16 2009, 08:50 PM
alexwsk
post Jun 16 2009, 09:30 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 16 2009, 08:48 PM)
Most banks are charging RM2 for each IBG transfer but Citibank and Standard Chartered are only charging RM0.50. RHB Bank is charging RM1.50 per IBG while Alliance Bank RM1/IBG.

Both the Singaporean banks, UOB and OCBC are charging RM0.50/IBG for the first two IBG done in a month, RM2/IBG will be charged from the third IBG onward.
HLB is charging RM1 for Pay + (instant transfer) and RM1 for IBG (normal account) or RM0.50 (basic savings or CA)
DarReNz
post Jun 16 2009, 10:56 PM

7,496 posts

i have a few frens who applied for the Maybank CC but all of them got rejected. Could it be since they owned quite a few CC in the first place ? Btw, they don't not have any bad credits.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 16 2009, 11:01 PM

52,874 posts

I got 3 cards from MBB. Thinking of dumping one or two. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by David83: Jun 16 2009, 11:01 PM
DarReNz
post Jun 16 2009, 11:11 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 16 2009, 08:48 PM)

UOB eAccount - Monthly 2 FREE Interbank GIRO (IBG) and subsequent transactions at RM0.80 each.
cute_boboi
post Jun 16 2009, 11:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:01 PM)
I got 3 cards from MBB. Thinking of dumping one or two. sweat.gif
Dump ? Wait till you see this:
American Express® Gold Credit Card

Annual fee: Lifetime free waiver
Minimum annual income: RM36,000

Read the T&C. No more begging for AF waiver

127 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top