Xbox games in 4:3 aspect, a way to play full screen on CRT TVs

TSTMTANWHACKY
post Mar 3 2009, 06:01 PM, updated 17y ago

745 posts

It has come to my attention that many Xbox 360 games when played on a normal CRT tv displays a wide screen view, ie much space is lost on the upper n lower part of the screen. Is there a way to play full screen on a 4:3 aspect ratio for games that does not provide such options in-game?

gundamalpha
post Mar 3 2009, 06:04 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Yes, but the image will be stretched, making it unplayable
IccyAsd
post Mar 3 2009, 06:07 PM

845 posts

xbox360 games are created in widescreen view, to solve your problem thats to get a widescreen LCD. with NXE update applied so you could get the correct resolution.
hikaru_x
post Mar 3 2009, 06:49 PM

161 posts

like gundamalpha said: can, set ur display as widescreen in the display menu tongue.gif

ok, jokes aside... whether u get fullscreen on 4:3 screen or not totally depends on developer... but as u hv experienced, most games will give u letterboxed widescreen. if i remember correctly DOA4 can support fullscreen on 4:3 displays.
msn83235502
post Mar 3 2009, 10:17 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

yeah..some games displays full screen on crt tv.
michael9413
post Mar 3 2009, 10:29 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes some of the games like FIFA... they display 4:3 ratio...
just set your xbox to the resolution....
gunblade
post Mar 4 2009, 11:31 AM

78 posts

i don't think the 360 can play on a CRT TV..

i mean, it can view, but i'd doubt it's playable.. even though the picture is superb (not as superb as it is on an HDTV, but u get the point, ya?), the font is unrecognizable...
gundamalpha
post Mar 4 2009, 11:33 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

You can say it's not as enjoyable, but can't play on a CRT is an overstatement.
gunblade
post Mar 4 2009, 11:42 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Mar 4 2009, 12:33 PM)
You can say it's not as enjoyable, but can't play on a CRT is an overstatement.
yeah, but i think that depends on the game, right?

I've tried Devil May Cry 4 on a CRT, no problem in both playing and reading the in-game menus.. but playing Silent Hill or Fable 2, not that's something which gave us quite a headache, ya?

In other words, heavy text-based games (mostly RPG) is a no-go for the CRT. Boleh rabun maaa..
mancy
post Mar 4 2009, 11:46 AM

B A M B A
644 posts

i play with my 29' crt tv & it worked fine. just set xbox 360 to 4:3 & put 'tv' at the component cable.
until now, no game is unplayable.

but the image quality is not good. font is too small & give pain in the eyes.
luckily my tv got component input becoz composite cable is worst than component.
i think i need 2 buy hdtv later 2 enjoy full gaming xperience
gunblade
post Mar 4 2009, 12:07 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Mar 4 2009, 12:46 PM)
i play with my 29' crt tv & it worked fine. just set xbox 360 to 4:3 & put 'tv' at the component cable.
until now, no game is unplayable.

but the image quality is not good. font is too small & give pain in the eyes.
luckily my tv got component input becoz composite cable is worst than component.
i think i need 2 buy hdtv later 2 enjoy full gaming xperience
oh, component cable also not good?

i've tried the console on a composite cable, u know...

and trust me, it gives me such a pain to even know whether the system is saving my game or not.. sweat.gif
mancy
post Mar 4 2009, 01:19 PM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(gunblade @ Mar 4 2009, 12:07 PM)
oh, component cable also not good?

i've tried the console on a composite cable, u know...

and trust me, it gives me such a pain to even know whether the system is saving my game or not..  sweat.gif
i mean component cable using 29' crt tv...
if use hdtv of course good la
Liquid Snake
post Mar 4 2009, 02:23 PM

219 posts

All you rich rich people can la afford those HDTVs....huhu
gunblade
post Mar 4 2009, 02:29 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Mar 4 2009, 02:19 PM)
i mean component cable using 29' crt tv...
if use hdtv of course good la
i know...

i used the good-ol' composite cable on my 21' crt TV...

mancy
post Mar 4 2009, 02:44 PM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(gunblade @ Mar 4 2009, 02:29 PM)
i know...

i used the good-ol' composite cable on my 21' crt TV...
huhu...
conclusion is i need 2 buy hdtv if wanna njoy my gaming xperience
when play GOW, i tend to missed out ammo etc because i can't see it from the crt screen

btw, last weekend i saw at best denki lg full hd 32' only rm1999! superbly cheap!
unluckily i'm in a tight budget now... huhu
gundamalpha
post Mar 4 2009, 02:46 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

If it's purely for gaming you are better off with LCD monitor instead of HDTV
michael9413
post Mar 4 2009, 02:47 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

CRT??? y cannot...
i tought CRT ok...
CRT TV ka??? no wonder...

no need full HD... even 720i/p enough... smile.gif
LG for 1 PCD Full HD and double panel protection only RM2200 of not mistaken..

is only the wordings that hard to see in CRT TV... not Monitor... smile.gif
CRT monitor serve me wel a the begining of my xbox courier... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 4 2009, 02:47 PM
gunblade
post Mar 4 2009, 02:59 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Mar 4 2009, 03:44 PM)
huhu...
conclusion is i need 2 buy hdtv if wanna njoy my gaming xperience
when play GOW, i tend to missed out ammo etc because i can't see it from the crt screen

btw, last weekend i saw at best denki lg full hd 32' only rm1999! superbly cheap!
unluckily i'm in a tight budget now... huhu
say WOT?

you sure it's a full HD? shocking.gif

rasanya Full HDTV starts @ 40" hmm.gif
mancy
post Mar 4 2009, 03:09 PM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(gunblade @ Mar 4 2009, 02:59 PM)
say WOT?

you sure it's a full HD?  shocking.gif

rasanya Full HDTV starts @ 40"   hmm.gif
yup exactly full hd 1080p
LG got 2 model for 32' full hd rm2799 & rm2299
but last weekend they give rm300 price cut for rm2299 model so it became rm1999
different between those 2 models only the sound system & usb port
if i got money, sure angkat satu!

This post has been edited by mancy: Mar 4 2009, 03:12 PM
msn83235502
post Mar 4 2009, 03:40 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

playing on crt tv just the text hard to read.. but games is super as in hdtv.. graphic wise is the same. if u cant afford a hdtv.. just enjoy it on ur crt tv. i've been enjoying on crt tv with no problem until now.. furthermore, i dont really like RPG games.. so texts hard to read is not a problem for me. laugh.gif
it's just text hard to read.. it's not like not unreadable at all...

0.0200sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:40 AM