Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles

iamyuanwu
post Aug 10 2009, 12:32 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Aug 10 2009, 11:25 AM)
That guy is simply an idiot. If u argue with an idiot it makes u look like one, so leave him alone, i bet the ladies knows who got the real stuff. The good news is tat, he actually spots tat u r huge, u had pwned him spiritually. Ah beng only has those 6 pacs (hopefully), ribs and golden hair. Cheers buddy.
It's not a six pack. It's just a flat layer of soft tissue with no strength. LOL
tineagle
post Aug 10 2009, 02:15 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ex660 @ Aug 9 2009, 10:43 PM)
after shopping around..
still thinks that HL milk has the highest protein content and value for money comparing litre to litres..
so how much is the cheapest can get?
bought at cold storage is rm5.89..
i kno kk mart is selling rm5.50..
I never buy stuff from cold storage unless I cannot find them elsewhere, things are way overpriced in there.

The best price you can get for HL Milk is at jusco. Buy their twin pack, 2 x 1L packs for RM8.59~
Gr3yL3gion
post Aug 10 2009, 07:31 PM

468 posts

Oh man, my last workout is on Saturday and today my quads sore like hell.
ex660
post Aug 10 2009, 08:02 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 10 2009, 02:09 AM)
You know, Florian, if both you and the dental floss kid walk on the street, and some poor sod decides that you guys look like walking ATM machines...
Who do you think will get mugged?

Being HYOOOGE and muscular is the #1 prevention of crime (onto oneself). One can be as non-functional as can be, but no one messes with a big guy. At least that's what I believe.
Now tell me (or the dental floss), is being muscular for show is useless?

Or give him a great bear hug and constrict his lungs a bit. A small strength demo might just change his tone. LOL!
too bad nowadays thugs. comes with knifes.. or some damaging weapon...
u kno .. how much effort,time, money is spent on your body... u'll know how to love it and avoid from those..
still fears of parangs though... LOL ..
bagata
post Aug 10 2009, 08:21 PM

804 posts

agree wif ya ex660, but still those thugs will reconsider when it come to targeting a big guy... success rate is still lower than skinny chap

This post has been edited by bagata: Aug 10 2009, 08:22 PM
dy/dx
post Aug 10 2009, 08:54 PM

♥ Tiffany ♥
540 posts

okay guys, what's the most effective exercise to train forearms using dumbbells?

jamis
post Aug 10 2009, 08:56 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(ex660 @ Aug 10 2009, 08:02 PM)
too bad nowadays thugs. comes with knifes.. or some damaging weapon...
u kno .. how much effort,time, money is spent on your body... u'll know how to love it and avoid from those..
still fears of parangs though... LOL ..
U remind me of the MR Selangor who used to train in my gym sad.gif
Florian
post Aug 10 2009, 08:58 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

Hair is made from keratin, a type of protein. So when you guys go for a hair cut, do you guys feel all the protein you've eaten have gone to waste?
-Dan
post Aug 10 2009, 09:10 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(dy/dx @ Aug 10 2009, 08:54 PM)
okay guys, what's the most effective exercise to train forearms using dumbbells?

Is it so hard to look for it yourself? You were given a site listing exercises for nearly every single muscle in your body in your thread.
ex660
post Aug 10 2009, 09:13 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Aug 10 2009, 08:56 PM)
U remind me of the MR Selangor who used to train in my gym sad.gif
y u sad.gif

he mobbed?
braindead_fr3ak
post Aug 10 2009, 09:18 PM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

compared to hl.... how is dutch lady.... giant was having an offer last month... 1 pack of 1 litre milk for RM2.99.... i bought 6 hahahhaha...... and its not expiring soon also... FULL cream milk..
iamyuanwu
post Aug 10 2009, 10:25 PM

2,425 posts

I've just received some 'unconventional' nutrition and exercise advice today:
(pizzaboy, can you ask your coach about these pointers whether they make sense? Because they certainly don't make any sense to me. LOL!)

1) Drinking whey in between set during workout will put the proteins to waste. It's better to take isotonic drinks. Post workout should be something with carbs (milk, bananas, eggs), then a few minutes later---whey protein.

2) Don't take protein stuff immediately after waking up. Take some carb (fruits, honey, bread, rice, porridge, etc) or chinese style soup. Then take protein (eggs, milk, whey, etc) 1/2 to 1 hour later.

3) Chin up works the triceps instead of the biceps.
Well I have lots of respect for the gym owner, but this one I can't accept.

QUOTE(dy/dx @ Aug 10 2009, 08:54 PM)

doh.gif
http://exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

Braindead,
HL is low lactose. Probably that's why it's more expensive. If you're not lactose intolerant, then it doesn't matter much to you.
-Dan
post Aug 10 2009, 11:14 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 10 2009, 10:25 PM)
(pizzaboy, can you ask your coach about these pointers whether they make sense? Because they certainly don't make any sense to me. LOL!)

1) Drinking whey in between set during workout will put the proteins to waste. It's better to take isotonic drinks. Post workout should be something with carbs (milk, bananas, eggs), then a few minutes later---whey protein.

2) Don't take protein stuff immediately after waking up. Take some carb (fruits, honey, bread, rice, porridge, etc) or chinese style soup. Then take protein (eggs, milk, whey, etc) 1/2 to 1 hour later.

doh.gif

Braindead,
HL is low lactose. Probably that's why it's more expensive. If you're not lactose intolerant, then it doesn't matter much to you.
Did the statements come with reasons as well? Especially the third one. shakehead.gif
shanecross
post Aug 10 2009, 11:41 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 11 2009, 12:14 AM)
Did the statements come with reasons as well?  Especially the third one. shakehead.gif
I think the gym owner meant that the triceps are part of the worked muscle but they are there to act as a synergist nothing more. Well I hope thats what he meant.

Another possibility would be the gym owner might recognize the chinups as a pullup vice versa. I think this is a common issue, therefore as long as he knows what he's doing I don't see a problem with that as well.

Heck he is a gym owner, i'm assuming he at least knows a fraction about training , give that soul the benefit of doubt brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
-Dan
post Aug 11 2009, 12:08 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Aug 10 2009, 11:41 PM)
I think the gym owner meant that the triceps are part of the worked muscle but they are there to act as a synergist nothing more. Well I hope thats what he meant.

Another possibility would be the gym owner might recognize the chinups as a pullup vice versa. I think this is a common issue, therefore as long as he knows what he's doing I don't see a problem with that as well.

Heck he is a gym owner, i'm assuming he at least knows a fraction about training , give that soul the benefit of doubt  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Oh, fair enough in that case. ._.
iamyuanwu
post Aug 11 2009, 12:16 AM

2,425 posts

Errr... no reasons given.
I like the gym lady, and have lots of respect for her. And she treats me very well with discounts and freebies, so I don't feel nice arguing with her.

Like I said, it didn't make sense to me. Maybe I go do an experiment with her next time.
I'll thrash my triceps with kickbacks and what nots, and do Chin ups. Then I'll thrash the biceps with curls. And try the chin ups again. LOL! Maybe then she'll believe me. If not, perhaps I can add an inch to my arms?
-----
Anyway, that's not the main point.

How about #1 and #2?
Does it make sense to you guys?

I believe she MIGHT have a point about "no protein immediate after bed". Eating high protein can cause some mucus build-up along the esophagus (and perhaps all the way to the small intestine). [well this is purely anecdotal, because it happens when I drink milk or whey, I can feel it in my throat]

Could this be a cause for concern?

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 11 2009, 12:31 AM
gtoforce
post Aug 11 2009, 12:32 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 10 2009, 10:25 PM)

doh.gif

Braindead,
where did u get the stuff on the statements from 1-3?
they sound weird although not absolutely wrong...just weird
tineagle
post Aug 11 2009, 12:53 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Aug 10 2009, 09:18 PM)
compared to hl.... how is dutch lady.... giant was having an offer last month... 1 pack of 1 litre milk for RM2.99.... i bought 6 hahahhaha...... and its not expiring soon also... FULL cream milk..
Dutch lady especially at that offer price is an awesome deal.

However you should get the Low Fat packs next time, they have more protein per serving and well, Less Fat(and carbs).
N0eL
post Aug 11 2009, 01:03 AM

1,479 posts

My take on this

1). AS we r working out, blood will generally flows to the muscle where they are needed most. Thus, this will drastically slow down ur digestive system. If u take whey doing workout, ur body might not digest it on time to put it to use. Therefore it's better to go for something that hydrates the body or something simple that require little digestion (eg BCAA). Taking carb is valid for postworkout. This one u may google urself. Plenty of info out there. About the arrangement of consumption. Read below. I suspect it's for the same reason.

2)As we wake, our body is deprive of all sorts of nutrients. Carb is easier to digest in comparison to protein. Therefore it will provide a quick boost. Moreover, it's better to consume carbs in the morning which will provide energy throughout the entire day.Plus ur insulin will not spike as easily compare to other meals coz ur system is already lack of sugar to start with. Taking it later in the day might promote fat storing.
kotmj
post Aug 11 2009, 01:04 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Aug 11 2009, 12:53 AM)
Dutch lady especially at that offer price is an awesome deal.

However you should get the Low Fat packs next time, they have more protein per serving and well, Less Fat(and carbs).
That's right. For some unfathomable reason, the DL low fat reconstituted UHT milk has a few grams more protein.

Added on August 11, 2009, 1:13 amAnd right now, I'm eating a bowl of yoghurt I made from DL Fresh Milk. It tastes better than commercial ones because the milk is full cream.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Aug 11 2009, 01:13 AM

130 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:08 PM