6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

--Gaming Mouse-- [V.2], The Search Continues.

mADmAN
post Jun 1 2009, 02:03 AM

10,530 posts

im still considering whether to open the taito or not hahahha...

wait la...getting strong urges to open it up brows.gif

in the middle of typing out my review/ feedback of the Kone. mebbe tomorrow or day after i post la...busy lately...
mADmAN
post Jun 1 2009, 02:26 PM

10,530 posts

then why not get the roccat sense?

but its abit ore expensive at around 16 or 17 pounds
mADmAN
post Jun 1 2009, 06:43 PM

10,530 posts

user posted image mADmAN's ROCCAT KONE REVIEW user posted image

ok...time for some feedback on the Kone...comparison will be against MX518 (coz thats the only gaming mouse ive ever used)..not much extensive gaming due to the lack of time....but good enough to give an impression me thinks.

i hope people actually read EVERYTHING before asking questions where the answers are already in this post. i hate people like that...this is the internet and a forum where u need to READ, not just look at the pretty pictures

take note that this is my personal view only. keep in mind that one man's fun is another's hell wink.gif

for product pictures, ive already posted detailed pictures of everything HERE @ page 69

Mouse: Roccat Kone (Product Page), Extrenal Reviews: (XSReviews.co.uk), (PCGamesHardware.com)
Mousefeet: Stock Roccat Kone
Mousepad: Everglide Titan DKT Edition
Games:
COD4 (Mainly sniping)
UT3 (1 or 2 rounds only)

Physical (by my own feel)
when holding the Kone, i feel the Kone is slightly wider than the MX518. but doesnt feel as high...its also heavier than the MX518 even with the lightest weight installed (5g). so my hand abit lenguh trying to get used to the extra weight. but once used to it im sure itll be fine..so those using mouses shaped the same as the MX518 like the MX500, G5 etc, will feel at home with the mouse...although some slight getting used to may be required depending on the user.

the entire surface is rubberized (except for the lighting parts)..almost similar to the sides of the MX518 (when its brand new)..i guess over time itll smoothen out like the MX518 oso...but the whole rubberized thing does make me scared of scratching the mouse accidentally....oh well.....

the left and right buttons clicks nicely and are not that loud imho...i cant really remember but i think the MX518 is slightly quieter.

scroll wheel is smooth when scrolling. the MX518 clicks more while scrolling. Kone is definitely smoother and quiter when scrolling. also has left and right click for the scroll wheel. only thing i dont like about the scroll wheel is the button. (like the middle button thing la)...its so hard...although xsreviews says it gets softer over time...i dunno if i have that patience...right now i have the button on the front set as the scroll wheel downpress button...MX518 scroll button is much softer and easier to use. another thing about the scroll wheel, the sides has a slightly wider gap compared to the MX518, im guessing due to the left and right click thingy...but this makes me worried about dust entering the gaps. the MX518 has very small gaps and even then dust goes in. guess a paint brush and some cyberclean would do the trick.

DPI switches are nicely placed and are easier to access compared to the MX518... the MX518 has the (+) button on the front of the scroll (near the cable) making it harder to reach coz u kinda have to stretch for it. Kone has them both together behind the scroll which i think is easier for me . for the Kone, in front of the scroll is an additional button for whatever u want it to be...default is set to windows button if i remember correctly.

the side thumb buttons are only a little more towards the back (nearer to the wrist) compared to the MX518. the buttons are also of the same size unlike the MX518 which has the bigger back button. both buttons on the Kone are smaller than the MX518 back button. tactile feedback on the buttons are good too. its easily accessible, but i do wish the buttons are just slightly more to the front. just slightly only. but thats just me being anal. actually the button placement and feel (except for scroll wheel button) is already quite good. dont really have much complains in terms of the button placement.

mousefeet on the Everglide Titan DKT Edition. my MX518 has the hyperglides on them. and the hyperglides are definitely smoother but not by much. cant remember what the standard mousefeet of the MX518 is like. but the difference between Kone feets vs hyperglides arent that much...its still smooth and quiet when gliding over the mousepad....but i still do hope that hyperglide or some other company comes out with better mousefeet for the kone. the fact that the stock mousefeet arent as smooth as the hyperglides are probably contributing to the lenguhness of my hands laugh.gif

cable is not as stiff as the MX518.

overall the mouse does feel sturdy during usage. nothing feels soft or fragile.

Driver
below are screeshots of the driver....mine is pretty much stock...mostly played with the light settings only...havent fooled around with the rest yet. might not even want to oso...

this is the main driver screen. u can see everything there la...all the options etc...all the button assignments are customizable...

one thing i dont like (or havent been able to figure out how) is the fact that the DPIs are set... i cant set to 1000 dpi or 3000dpi or 2800dpi. unlike the MX518 where u can customize the dpi, the dpi switches are all fixed. still exploring the driver etc to see if its possible to change it around. mebbe need to create profile then only...havent even started to create any profiles..

here u see the options for the button assignment...yes u can even set macros... one downside for me is that it lacks the "minimize window" assignment. i was using that on my MX518 and i absolutely loved it...think im gonna write to roccat and ask them to include the minimize window as well as the dpi thing. or perhaps its somewhere in the driver just that i have found it yet..

just a screen shot on create profile thing...

the coolest part about the mouse. its able to display alot of colors and different styles, blinking, etc etc. u can see on the mouse there are 5 dots. each dot is the light which u can individualy customize to any color u like. u can also choose to turn each light on or off depending on ur preference.

also look at the bottom left of the mouse picture. it detects the weight slotted into the mouse as i mentioned in my previous post with the pix...when i put in the 10g itll detect and display as 10g.

next is advanced settings. u have everything else u need here....

the TCU thing is supposed to be particularly handy to get better tracking. ive already calibrated mine and didnt notice much improvement. maybe coz my mousepad is full black. mebbe gonna try calibrate it again...especially if i end up opening my Roccat Taito mousepad

the update page....the one i have (which came with the CD) is the latest driver and firmware..

and the online support thingy

Usage
like i said earlier...my hand abit lenguh due to not being used to the extra weight...but in terms of holding and moving it around...its very comfortable especially since im coming from the MX518. im a palm gripper so i rest my palm on the back of the mouse...every now and then i do switch to claw grip for a short while and that short while still feels comfortable as well.

also take note that im using the MX518 in the office...and i use it in the office ALOT. alot more than the mouse i use at home. but everytime after work, i go home and start using the Kone, the mouse feels comfortable and not alien at all....

UT3...im kinda not used to the 1200dpi setting. i usually use 800 or 1000dpi. so abit headache when the screen moves alot laugh.gif but otherwise its accurate...i get to aim where i wanna aim (once i get used to the dpi la).

COD4 is AWESOME!!! its SO accurate when sniping whether im using 800dpi or 1200dpi. on my MX518 i used to have it set to 1000dpi and although it was damn good...its not as accurate. the crosshairs go exactly where i want it to go up to the slightest bit and moves exactly how much i want it to move. this mouse has made me fall in love with COD4 even more biggrin.gif

when not sniping and running around, it moves nicely. even though its heavier than the MX518 and the mousefeet arent as smooth as hyperglides, i still get to point my crosshairs (or red dot) where i want it to...moving the mouse is nice and smooth.

overall...i LOVE wub.gif this mouse...its such an awesome mouse imho...accurate, responsive, comfortable, and of course its uber cool! thumbup.gif

seriously...its not those typical "u buy it and u sure love it" thing...im actually very anal especially when it comes to my peripherals. there really isnt much i can complain about it. and if im the type that "u buy it and u sure love it", i would have loved the microsoft reclusa but i dont wink.gif

pls dont bother asking me to compare to other mouse...ive never tried other mouse except the MX518.

ill add more of my findings later if theres anything else new to find...hope this review was good enough for everyone to get an idea of the good and the bad of the mouse..
mADmAN
post Jun 2 2009, 11:31 AM

10,530 posts

yeah im waiting for the bulk to start oso....if price is good i wanna pickup one more Kone...
mADmAN
post Jun 3 2009, 05:41 AM

10,530 posts

i think this mouse was posted here before...forgot by who.... he said not very comfortable....

but it does look sick though
mADmAN
post Jun 3 2009, 04:36 PM

10,530 posts

that reminds me.....wanted to show some of my emails with the roccat tech support...asked them a couple of questions and they answered...mebbe can help give some answers...

1/ How long exactly is the warranty period for the mouse from Roccat? 1 year? 3 years?

2/ Specialtech.co.uk states that the Kone version theyre selling is the new version with the new and improved scroll wheel. How do I differentiate between the first "problematic" version and the 2nd "new and improved" version?

3/ Out of curiosity, any idea as to when will Roccat officially be coming to Asia market?
the answers (from the community manager)

1/it depends on the country where you bought the Kone. I am not sure but I think the legal warranty period in the UK is 1 year.

But let me know if there are any hardware defects, sometimes it is possible to help in terms of fair trading even outside this period.

2/ We do not give out information on this, sorry. In general it is very likely that you have a version with enhanced parts, since we began distributing it months ago already.

3/No idea, no. The Asian market, and for that matter the market in America as well, is huge. And we have to calculate carefully to take wise steps in this matter.

So we will approach the asian market, yes. But I cannot tell you when this will be.
mADmAN
post Jun 3 2009, 04:39 PM

10,530 posts

its already posted on page 69
mADmAN
post Jun 8 2009, 02:30 PM

10,530 posts

managed to get the whole day of saturday to game with the Kone...

played COD4 and Crysis Warhead.... really the mouse dman good... comfortable and surprisingly my hand didnt hurt as much as it used to...guess i got used to it...

oh and check out the new avatar brows.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 8 2009, 08:24 PM

10,530 posts

actually i regret not buying 2 units and keep the other one for spare...

but good oso la i didnt buy 2....coz coming back that time my bag like wanna burst already laugh.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 9 2009, 01:46 AM

10,530 posts

dunno how to make it brighter coz i suck at photoshop tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 9 2009, 07:26 PM

10,530 posts

the chair is around RM1899

yes.... 4 digits.
mADmAN
post Jun 9 2009, 08:09 PM

10,530 posts

NEED is a strong word...

u dont NEED a gaming mouse for FPS.

heck i used to play UT2004 (which is one of the fastest FPS around imho) using only a cheapo RM10 optical mouse...

so u dont NEED a gaming mouse for FPS....but a gaming mouse is good to have for FPS
mADmAN
post Jun 9 2009, 09:18 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Jun 9 2009, 08:20 PM)
LOL...it's a must to get roccat???It's good to get roccat(no offense)
???

where in my post did i say its a must to get a roccat? got read properly or not?

like Vincent_Lam said...all "gaming" equipment isnt a necessity....

theyre a luxury...
mADmAN
post Jun 9 2009, 09:58 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(j.sun @ Jun 9 2009, 09:33 PM)
Wonder who else owns a Roccat Kone other then Madman.. hmm..
RMaliff should be getting his end of this month i think....

QUOTE(Vincent_Lam @ Jun 9 2009, 09:46 PM)
women have their jewelry ( rings , earrings and necklaces )

while us men have our gaming equipments  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
and not forgetting cars....

oh how i miss playing cars......
mADmAN
post Jun 13 2009, 01:26 PM

10,530 posts

since all u play are MMOs...ur budget is way overkill.....

i suggest the MAX u go to be the MX518 and no higher.

save the money and use it for other things like mousepad and keyboard and speakers etc etc.
mADmAN
post Jun 13 2009, 01:43 PM

10,530 posts

in terms of comfort....to each his own...

but for me the MX518 is VERY comfortable....its the type of shape that i immediately adapted to...no need to get used to it and all....
mADmAN
post Jun 15 2009, 12:37 PM

10,530 posts

people who shout in cybercafes should have their testicles and tongues cut out and then force fed to them while having a broom stick shoved up their asses and a sharp pencil shoved into each ear.

its a public place...ur not the only people in there...be a bit more considerate of others...dont act like neanderthals...ur supposed to be "civilized"

dont act like inconsiderate morons....just because some other dumbshit asswipe is doing it, why do u wanna be a dumbshit asswipe like that feller??

u wanna scream....make the effort and have ur own private lan party where ur dumbass screaming wont be a disturbance to anyone else.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jun 15 2009, 12:38 PM
mADmAN
post Jun 17 2009, 11:01 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Jun 17 2009, 04:48 AM)
so many ppl dun realize mx-518 have same respons time like normal mouse??
u n ur polling rate thing.... have u even used the mouse before???

@800dpi my MX518 has no difference with my Kone @ 800DPI @ max polling rate (think its 1000 or 1500 or something like that)

seriously....the difference in polling rate is negligible. actually polling rate isnt really important. why u think nobody mentions polling rate but always mention DPI?
mADmAN
post Jun 17 2009, 02:47 PM

10,530 posts

and which human can tell the difference between 1ms and 10ms? wink.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 17 2009, 03:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 17 2009, 02:59 PM)
(hope sarcasm is not lost on the internet)

it would have been if u didnt add in the last line tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:41 PM