ATI to slash HD4800 prices

blindbox
post Mar 4 2009, 09:10 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

This is crazy. How low can ATI set it? Or are they preparing for a 5xxx launch? Their chips are cheaper to make.. this might be a big impact to nvidia(haiz rig delayed I think. Thinking of buying this week already, PhII 720BE is out).

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Mar 4 2009, 01:32 AM)
Anyone can confirm the performance 4870 is 2x 3870?

If true....definate i'll think of getting a 4870
It is... try guru3d, I think they have the benchies. Plus, 4870 gets full scaling, 3870x2 does not. Even checking the clock speed and shader count is enough to know that it is twice as fast(top that up with twice the memory bandwidth).

This post has been edited by blindbox: Mar 4 2009, 09:12 AM
blindbox
post Mar 8 2009, 11:09 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Mar 8 2009, 02:18 AM)
i can see you are the very late adopters eh laugh.gif doh.gif me as early adopter really cares about the specialty status as i bought it when it first came out last year around 12XX...now i'm thinking of grabbing GTX285 which is 2 times more costly than 4870 today brows.gif and i will not let go my old baby so cheap easily icon_idea.gif

Added on March 8, 2009, 2:22 am

UNLIKELY cool.gif cool2.gif
RM 1200!? Last time I saw when it was released, it was RM 930 something.

0.0160sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:55 AM