20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Grooming Goldfish - Ranchus/Orandas etc, Sharing tips for grooming goldfish

Maxram
post Oct 15 2014, 01:58 PM

140 posts

Anyone know where to get quality Goldfish in Penang or Ipoh? Especially Lionchu, Ranchu or TBR.

blackisjack
post Oct 15 2014, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 11 2014, 03:18 PM)
tks for your goldfish. it seem the fish has been long without food and its color is slowly faded. will take good care of them. its a lionhead oranda.
Big thanks to you Chua. I am glad the fish are with you. Yeah, been feeding them with fish food but they did not attract to the food. ><
ccschua
post Oct 15 2014, 07:56 PM

1,630 posts

after days of cycling the water, I finally achieve 0ppm ammonia.

i am looking to grow water plants. but i need a sump tank to do so.

the purpose is to control nitrate with plants. not sure if no CO2, will the plants die ?
Alex_T
post Oct 16 2014, 02:16 PM

72 posts

It depends on which plants you want to add.

Without good lighting, balanced fert and CO2, you can only grow 'slow growing plants'.
However, slow growing plants will not uptake alot of nitrate, which defeats your purpose of having them in the first place.

IMO, best method of controlling nitrate in a goldfish tank is don't overfeed, don't overcrowd and do water changes frequently.
ccschua
post Nov 9 2014, 12:37 PM

1,630 posts

this is rather queit. to get the premium grade goldfish, look for goldfish maniac malaysia. or NK Farm singapore or Melaka AG farm.
scooby iph
post Dec 26 2014, 12:59 PM

should be goldfish mania malaysia..cheers..gfmm will be organising a goldfish comp in march..stay tune for update
numbertwo
post Dec 30 2014, 11:37 AM

1,788 posts

Hi , does anyone know which shop in Ipoh sells crystal clear fish tank (2ft or 2.5ft) ?

I am trying to get the tank from Ipoh which is way cheaper than those selling in PJ, but I couldn't find the crystal clear type. The normal 2ft tank is selling around RM38-RM48 in Ipoh, as oppose to over hundred here in PJ..
numbertwo
post Dec 31 2014, 04:34 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 15 2014, 07:56 PM)
after days of cycling the water, I finally achieve 0ppm  ammonia.

i am looking to grow water plants. but i need a sump tank to do so.

the purpose is to control nitrate with plants. not sure if no CO2, will the plants die ?
hi, what sort of filter are u using for your 2+ feet tank? external or those hanging type ie eheim liberty?
ccschua
post Jan 8 2015, 08:52 PM

1,630 posts

very simpls filter. just a piece of filter cloth.
numbertwo
post Jan 8 2015, 10:55 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 8 2015, 08:52 PM)
very simpls filter. just a piece of filter cloth.
Ok.. My new 2ft tank is cloudy, milky as of now after approximately 1 week. Not sure if it is the results of cycling ?
ccschua
post Jan 10 2015, 08:12 PM

1,630 posts

cloudy ?

show a photo and what u did
SupermanLick
post Jan 11 2015, 08:38 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,460 posts

HELOO HELLOO how re u all guys

I wanna to identify these baby fish ,what kind of the fish
I caught from Bukit Jalil fish pound ,left 2 ,20+ dead

IS KOI fish or Gold fish ?

This post has been edited by SupermanLick: Jan 11 2015, 08:50 AM

numbertwo
post Jan 11 2015, 12:03 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 11 2015, 08:38 AM)
HELOO HELLOO how re u all guys

I wanna to identify these baby fish ,what kind of the fish
I caught from Bukit Jalil fish pound ,left 2 ,20+ dead

IS KOI fish or Gold fish ?
maybe a wild gold fish?
numbertwo
post Jan 12 2015, 02:54 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 10 2015, 08:12 PM)
cloudy ?

show a photo and what u did
these are the photos taken after about 10 days..

setup: 2feet Crystal Tank 60 x 31 x 36cm

From top view :

Hang on filter Eheim Liberty 2042 which supposed to cater for up to 200l tank. I removed the standard cartridges included the carbon and stuff in eheim substract pro and normal filter sponge..

plus a DIY filter with zeolites + ehiem substracts pro , using an old pump..

As u can see the water is no where near 'clear' yet .. i wonder what can be done to improve this before i turn to a canister!
ccschua
post Jan 12 2015, 07:46 PM

1,630 posts

first of all, they are too many fish.

for this tank size, probably 2 or 3 small GF.

the cloudiness need to wait for time to settle. what is it in the plastic square bottle ?
numbertwo
post Jan 13 2015, 03:47 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 12 2015, 07:46 PM)
first of all, they are too many fish.

for this tank size, probably 2 or 3 small GF.

the cloudiness need to wait for time to settle. what is it in the plastic square bottle ?
the 10 gallons per fish is a bit that much i think.. In fact i have that 4 (out of the five now) fishes in my 35cm tank for over a year, with sufficient O2 and filtration I always thought they will be ok. The plastic square bottle has the ehiem substrat and zeolite.
kww
post Jan 15 2015, 10:49 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 12 2015, 02:54 PM)
these are the photos taken after about 10 days..

setup: 2feet Crystal Tank 60 x 31 x 36cm

From top view :

Hang on filter Eheim Liberty 2042 which supposed to cater for up to 200l tank.  I removed the standard cartridges included the carbon and stuff in eheim substract pro and normal filter sponge..

plus a DIY filter with zeolites + ehiem substracts pro , using an old pump..

As u can see the water is no where near 'clear' yet .. i wonder what can be done to improve this before i turn to a canister!
The water looks a bit green, I think it could be algea.
How long you turn on the light? Maybe you can try cut down the light.

A quick fix will be a UV light filter, that will kill all the algea, but you have to monitor other thing like ammonia and nitrate level.
numbertwo
post Jan 15 2015, 11:21 AM

1,788 posts

Yes, i did something wrong initially, turning on 2x T5 for a total of 6-7 hours a day. I swithed off one now and it is ok, don't see much algae growth in the tank but it is just not getting crystal clear water.
Care-Man
post Jan 15 2015, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 15 2015, 11:21 AM)
Yes, i did something wrong initially, turning on 2x T5 for a total of 6-7 hours a day.  I swithed off one now and it is ok, don't see much algae growth in the tank but it is just not getting crystal clear water.
Sometime it is a try and error thing. Try to remove the ehiem substrat, zeolite & those white stones in your next water change. This time just use sponge filter and wait for a few hour. If water become clear then you'll know the problem started from your media filter. I hope it help.
numbertwo
post Jan 15 2015, 01:42 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Care-Man @ Jan 15 2015, 12:45 PM)
Sometime it is a try and error thing. Try to remove the ehiem substrat,  zeolite & those white stones in your next water change. This time just use sponge filter and wait for a few hour.  If water become clear then you'll know the problem started from your media filter.  I hope it help.
ya...those days when there wasn't that many filter options, those sponges with varies density really did great. Tks for the input.

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:33 PM