20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Grooming Goldfish - Ranchus/Orandas etc, Sharing tips for grooming goldfish

j45on
post Mar 7 2009, 11:36 PM

348 posts

Sigh, my goldfish almost 15% of the body has black patches like rotting only. So 24 hours ago I go and add almost half a packet of salt in to my 4 feet tank. 24 hours later 3 mall fish died and I went to change about 70% of the water immediately with tap water plus dechlorination. I killed one small one while I was rushing to change the water.

So sadddd!!!!!! This is so pathetic! Why people can keep their goldfish for so many years my one at most live to 4 months only! Why so stupid one rare goldfish! Summore some of you here say change water everyday, some uncle didn't even change their water in a month! Plus their tank so dark and green! WTH man!

Too much salt can cause their fins to rot? Is it necessary to add salt to the water when changing water? When you say change water everyday, how much water you change everyday?

Now out of the 5 gold fish, two big ones are slowing dying and only puffing at the bottom of the tank, you think they can make it till next morning and survive the ordeal?

I posted this in another thread after the above.

Today is the second day after I did a dramatic change of water. Now they are all swimming fine except two where one big one that still upside down thus unable to eat but breathing normally now and one small one didn't made it.

I just changed about 20% of the water again today and throw away all the sponge and stones and replace them with new ones. I plan to change 20% of the water again on Monday or Tuesday. I have added 4 more small ones and one more big black one, total now is nine again. After changing water I added a handful of salt for that much amount of water changed.

I check the water pH and its at 6.5pH. The temperature is at 31 degrees. My tank has no carbon stone as my water does not smell as I will change my water often. I plan to put a wood which I put away last time but is afraid it will make my tank yellowish.

1. How to feed and cure the big one which is still upside down?

2. How to I stop the wood from turning my tank yellowish other than not putting the wood in it?

3. Is my tank temperature and pH level favorable?

4. Is a handful of salt too much for 20% change of water?

5. Should I rinse the blood worms with a little salt to kill the parasites before pouring it to feed the fishes?

6. Parasites from blood worm will be freeze or killed when frozen?
hammi3choong
post Mar 8 2009, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(j45on @ Mar 7 2009, 11:36 PM)

Today is the second day after I did a dramatic change of water. Now they are all swimming fine except two where one big one that still upside down thus unable to eat but breathing normally now and one small one didn't made it.

I just changed about 20% of the water again today and throw away all the sponge and stones and replace them with new ones. I plan to change 20% of the water again on Monday or Tuesday. I have added 4 more small ones and one more big black one, total now is nine again. After changing water I added a handful of salt for that much amount of water changed.

I check the water pH and its at 6.5pH. The temperature is at 31 degrees. My tank has no carbon stone as my water does not smell as I will change my water often. I plan to put a wood which I put away last time but is afraid it will make my tank yellowish.

2. How to I stop the wood from turning my tank yellowish other than not putting the wood in it?

5. Should I rinse the blood worms with a little salt to kill the parasites before pouring it to feed the fishes?

wat happend to the big one? did it eat anything?

you should not throw all the filter medium away because there are many good bacterias there that help the fish.

there is no way you can stop the tank turning yellow because of the wood. my tank also turn yellow because of the wood lah. haha.

about the ph level, that one i do not know. because i do not use those so advance things. haha!
so so so sweat.gif

a handful of salt is ok lah. because my 2.5ft tank i put in half kg of salt in every full water change. those fish are ok.( this one i am not that sure because i nid to see the tank and the fish, only i know how much to put)

if you are afraid about parasites, do not feed blood worms. try feeding pallets like Hikari or others.

i hope these info help! hope your big fish recover.

wat type of goldfish are u keeping?

I tell you, my tank is the most basic one. 1 normal filter, the hangin one and the tank only.
i do not use other chemicals exept for the anti-chlorin.
i use salt only.
this one is my dad teach one.
most of the time, my fish recover very fast. 1 change 70% of the water and add salt everyday until it is not sick anymore.

The Goldfish House
post Mar 8 2009, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(hammi3choong @ Mar 4 2009, 09:26 PM)
that must be the cute popcorn gold fish! (AKA Pearlscale)
they are very cute.
i have a few like 8 years ago, but all mati liao, that time still small, duno how  to takecare.haha!
kesian those fish! sweat.gif

Added on March 4, 2009, 9:29 pmnow i rear big China Ryukin.
cost around rm 100 per fish.
so expensive.
oranda very hard to rear. mine always 'tebalik'.
they cannot eat floating pellats...
very swt...
Those in the pictures are Thailand Ranchu. Actually overfeeding will also result in goldfish "terbalik" and most common illness of swim bladder problem. If kena, very very difficult to treat. Water management needs to be good to avoid that.

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:43 pm

Hi, please refer to my opinion to your question:-
1) How to feed and cure the big one which is still upside down? (The most common diagnosis when a fish turn upside down, but can still eat and swim upside down of course is due to an illness call swim bladder desease. Try to starve the fish for a few days and after that give it boiled green peas. However, the chances of the goldfish returning back to normal is very slim. For me, once my fish turn upside down, i will quaranteen it in a separate tank to avoid contaminating other fishes)

2) How to I stop the wood from turning my tank yellowish other than not putting the wood in it? (I suppose you want to put drift wood. You need a very aged wood, one that has been used for many many years. If you use new ones, the water will definitely turn yellow. For pure goldfish lover, the tank should be empty, not even pebbles, as they store a lot of bacteria)

3) Is my tank temperature and pH level favorable? (Temperature of - PH should be more akaline than acidic. As more waste is deposited in the tank, acidic level will build up and if water change is not done, then fishes will get sick)

4) Is a handful of salt too much for 20% change of water? (As a general rule, 0.3% is the best)

5) Should I rinse the blood worms with a little salt to kill the parasites before pouring it to feed the fishes? (What type are u using? I use Hikari frozen bloodworm, what you can do is to taw it first and then wash it with water. I have never tried washing with salt and see no reason to. My partner in Thailand will be exporting a brand new blood worm, better than hikari, until i get it the next shipment, i cannot recommend to you)

Since your existing tank already got problem, what i suggest you to do is to clean the whole tank thoroughly again (with clorox), fill up with water, put in S1 chemical or yellow powder with 0.5% salt. Leave your fish in this mix for a few days before you change back to new water. Please also chean any filter thoroughly.

What i usually do when i get new shipment from overseas is to put them in a mixure of yellow powder, 0.5% salt to de-stress the fishes.

Good luck with fishes

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(hammi3choong @ Mar 7 2009, 09:07 PM)
you own a fish shop? i like those fishes! how much is 1 fish?
Hi, yes, please check out www.thegoldfishhouse.wordpress.com. We plan to form a new chub and would like to invite all hobbyist to join.

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(hammi3choong @ Mar 7 2009, 09:29 PM)
hmm... this one i am not so sure.
but i think ranchu is the most expensive. not those from thailand, those japan ones.
try asking fish shops. i think they will know.
Japanese goldfishes are the most expensive, followed by Thailand. The cheapest is China and local. But of course, grades is also a big factor in price, for eg competition grade Thai will be more expensive that Japan Commercial etc....but generally yes, Japanese most expensive. And the type most expensive is Top View Ranchu.

This post has been edited by The Goldfish House: Mar 8 2009, 11:48 PM
j45on
post Mar 9 2009, 12:23 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(hammi3choong @ Mar 8 2009, 03:11 PM)
wat happend to the big one? did it eat anything?

wat type of goldfish are u keeping?

The big one did not eat anything but just floating at the end of the tank upside down. Today its more active and it is at the right side now most of the time. It takes longer to recover I guess. Tomorrow I will be changing the water and I will see how it is doing. I am just keeping normal goldfish.

Those big goldfish from China do you think they are recommended?

QUOTE(The Goldfish House @ Mar 8 2009, 11:27 PM)
4) Is a handful of salt too much for 20% change of water? (As a general rule, 0.3% is the best)

5) Should I rinse the blood worms with a little salt to kill the parasites before pouring it to feed the fishes? (What type are u using? I use Hikari frozen bloodworm, what you can do is to taw it first and then wash it with water.  I have never tried washing with salt and see no reason to.  My partner in Thailand will be exporting a brand new blood worm, better than hikari, until i get it the next shipment, i cannot recommend to you)

Since your existing tank already got problem, what i suggest you to do is to clean the whole tank thoroughly again (with clorox), fill up with water, put in S1 chemical or yellow powder with 0.5% salt.  Leave your fish in this mix for a few days before you change back to new water. Please also chean any filter thoroughly.

What i usually do when i get new shipment from overseas is to put them in a mixure of yellow powder, 0.5% salt to de-stress the fishes.

Good luck with fishes

0.3% of salt is how much actually? The petshop owner say for about 3-4 inches of water change, you add a handful salt. My tank is 4 feet x 1.5 feet.

What do you mean by tawing? Wash with water is sufficient to remove parasites? Hikari frozen bloodworm no parasites? The bloodworm packaging I feed one is written with chinese word, maybe from China I will check and get back to you.

catch goldfish use net or hand better? Will they die if catch them with hand?

This post has been edited by j45on: Mar 9 2009, 12:26 AM
hammi3choong
post Mar 10 2009, 08:24 PM

QUOTE(The Goldfish House @ Mar 8 2009, 11:27 PM)
Those in the pictures are Thailand Ranchu.  Actually overfeeding will also result in goldfish "terbalik" and most common illness of swim bladder problem.  If kena, very very difficult to treat. Water management needs to be good to avoid that.

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:43 pm

Hi, please refer to my opinion to your question:-
1) How to feed and cure the big one which is still upside down? (The most common diagnosis when a fish turn upside down, but can still eat and swim upside down of course is due to an illness call swim bladder desease. Try to starve the fish for a few days and after that give it boiled green peas.  However, the chances of the goldfish returning back to normal is very slim.  For me, once my fish turn upside down, i will quaranteen it in a separate tank to avoid contaminating other fishes)

2) How to I stop the wood from turning my tank yellowish other than not putting the wood in it? (I suppose you want to put drift wood.  You need a very aged wood, one that has been used for many many years.  If you use new ones, the water will definitely turn yellow.  For pure goldfish lover, the tank should be empty, not even pebbles, as they store a lot of bacteria)
3) Is my tank temperature and pH level favorable? (Temperature of - PH should be more akaline than acidic.  As more waste is deposited in the tank, acidic level will build up and if water change is not done, then fishes will get sick)

5) Should I rinse the blood worms with a little salt to kill the parasites before pouring it to feed the fishes? (What type are u using? I use Hikari frozen bloodworm, what you can do is to taw it first and then wash it with water.  I have never tried washing with salt and see no reason to.  My partner in Thailand will be exporting a brand new blood worm, better than hikari, until i get it the next shipment, i cannot recommend to you)

Since your existing tank already got problem, what i suggest you to do is to clean the whole tank thoroughly again (with clorox), fill up with water, put in S1 chemical or yellow powder with 0.5% salt.  Leave your fish in this mix for a few days before you change back to new water. Please also chean any filter thoroughly.

Good luck with fishes

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:45 pm

Hi, yes, please check out www.thegoldfishhouse.wordpress.com.  We plan to form a new chub and would like to invite all hobbyist to join.

Added on March 8, 2009, 11:48 pm

Japanese goldfishes are the most expensive, followed by Thailand.  The cheapest is China and local.  But of course, grades is also a big factor in price, for eg competition grade Thai will be more expensive that Japan Commercial etc....but generally yes, Japanese most expensive.  And the type most expensive is Top View Ranchu.
my fish terbalik i feed it Hikari Wheat-Germ. then ok already. mine is just because the water dirty+eat too much.

Where is your fish shop?
i want to get new fish there!!!

Added on March 10, 2009, 8:26 pm
QUOTE(j45on @ Mar 9 2009, 12:23 AM)
The big one did not eat anything but just floating at the end of the tank upside down. Today its more active and it is at the right side now most of the time. It takes longer to recover I guess. Tomorrow I will be changing the water and I will see how it is doing. I am just keeping normal goldfish.

Those big goldfish from China do you think they are recommended?

0.3% of salt is how much actually? The petshop owner say for about 3-4 inches of water change, you add a handful salt. My tank is 4 feet x 1.5 feet.

What do you mean by tawing? Wash with water is sufficient to remove parasites? Hikari frozen bloodworm no parasites? The bloodworm packaging I feed one is written with chinese word, maybe from China I will check and get back to you.

catch goldfish use net or hand better? Will they die if catch them with hand?
use net better lah of coz!

ryukin is very easy to keep. laugh.gif my fav goldfish!

Added on March 10, 2009, 8:29 pmDear the goldfish house, how to 'membezakan' japanese ranchu and thailand ranchu?
I remember these top-view ranchu and side-view ranchu. how to 'membezakan' these two kind or ranchu?

do you have calico ranchu?
Can pm me the price for 1 small about 5-10cm one?
Thanks!

Added on March 10, 2009, 8:31 pmhaha!!!
we all using manglish here.
rojak!
yeah!

This post has been edited by hammi3choong: Mar 10 2009, 08:31 PM
what3v3r
post Mar 23 2009, 11:54 AM

18 posts

wahhhh.....soooo big la that fish.mine still kecik lg.mine dunno from wer.xtanya masa beli tp me beli rm10 each.but small abit la,suku dr my hand.for me i just feed them morning n evening.i change thr water once a week n only use anticlorine n got water filter la.now already 3 month n still no problem la.love watchin them everyday.

Added on March 23, 2009, 11:56 amstill wondering,how to know which is male n female?

This post has been edited by what3v3r: Mar 23 2009, 11:56 AM
darkcurves
post Apr 7 2009, 01:41 AM

779 posts

The comfortable pH for GF is 7.5pH. I am Pearlscale enthusiast but as a beginner made alot of mistakes. My fish semua mati but i am not going to give up yet.
darkcurves
post Apr 15 2009, 03:16 PM

779 posts

Do you have a map to your place?
faizmost
post Apr 24 2009, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(xbotzz @ Jan 12 2009, 10:54 AM)
trying to look for a gold-fish corner... this is the best i manage to get...

i was at subang carrefour last weekend... and i saw the most beautiful ranchu in my life... a black ranchu healthily swimmin about... looks like a puppy and had this "take me home" look... super adorable...

good for him i used to rare fishes and i knew i had to get a setup at home started... so yesterday went and got myself an aquarium.... got it up and running... will let it run for a week and then go get 2 4inch ranchus... or 3 3inch ranchus...

inside carrefour.. they selling the ranchus from RM50-RM150... expensive but very vibrant and happy and colorful, i can tell they are well fed with good quality food...

i went to a LFS, also got between RM28-RM100 but over crowded and dull...

anyone knows any shops with quality and reasonable price... or u guys think the one in Subang Carrefour is ok... I read ppl complain about that pet shop... but i saw the fishes are ok... in fact very OK.... my wife also fell in love with the fishies....

hope there are some gold-fishes peepel here... !!
try xian leng...

i also want to get one oranda maybe one is enough this wekend at xian leng bp...hehe

i want to use waterfall filter..is it ok? i heard its superb? anyone?

funkychips
post Apr 24 2009, 01:50 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

I got overhanging filter (dunno if it's the same as waterfall filter oso) the bad thing is when power outtage, the motor stop, so when the power come back the water very hard to pump back up and need to be refilled from the top otherwise magnet will split if keep spinning witout water. Not good choice if you are not at home for most of the day. My 2 sen ...

This post has been edited by funkychips: Apr 24 2009, 01:51 PM
chuakz
post Apr 24 2009, 03:19 PM

1,192 posts

I used to have a pond full of high grade goldfish then one day sumthin happen the pipe was jammed and the pond was goin to be dry n my sis foolishly released pipe water into the pond which caused all of them to die except a big big ranchu....thn my dad foolishly put a giant gourami in the pond n killed it...T.T
faizmost
post Apr 29 2009, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(funkychips @ Apr 24 2009, 01:50 PM)
I got overhanging filter (dunno if it's the same as waterfall filter oso) the bad thing is when power outtage, the motor stop, so when the power come back the water very hard to pump back up and need to be refilled from the top otherwise magnet will split if keep spinning witout water. Not good choice if you are not at home for most of the day. My 2 sen ...
haha already bought ranchu from china...ok la for starting...aso bought the waterfall/overhanging filter...hope that the power only off when im at home sweat.gif coz based on my friend who racun me this kind of filter is good for someone who malas like me biggrin.gif
coz only need to wc when the water smell is stink which is takes 1 1/2 month hehehe

the ranchu is so cute.... drool.gif

i have a question...currently i've breedng betta...n can i put my 2 ranchu with female betta? i think it is same as put the guppy with ranchu... hmm.gif can someone give the suggestion? icon_rolleyes.gif
darkcurves
post Apr 29 2009, 08:33 PM

779 posts

Not advised, Betta will peck on the Ranchus fins.
faizmost
post Apr 30 2009, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Apr 29 2009, 08:33 PM)
Not advised, Betta will peck on the Ranchus fins.
haha already put the female betta together tongue.gif ...u know what...ranchu is more brutal then female

betta..alwys bite the betta...but when feeding times...ranchu lost sad.gif due to her slow swimming ability ...so

have to put a devider cool2.gif
darkcurves
post Apr 30 2009, 03:30 PM

779 posts

Hahahha, other way round pulak. I had some guppies and mollies with my Pearlscale. Kena buli teruk2 la. They took turns to peck on the fella's scale.

Your Betta doesnt mind eating Goldfish pellets? My male Betta very fussy eater, eats only live or frozen bloodworm.
faizmost
post Apr 30 2009, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Apr 30 2009, 03:30 PM)
Hahahha, other way round pulak. I had some guppies and mollies with my Pearlscale. Kena buli teruk2 la. They took turns to peck on the fella's scale.

Your Betta doesnt mind eating Goldfish pellets? My male Betta very fussy eater, eats only live or frozen bloodworm.
ceh that female betta love the hikari pallet very much..funny to see that they bite the pallet although the pallet is

to big for them...and then run away with the pallet scared of my ranchu...my male betta only live on hikari pallet...

never use frozen food bcoz my "umah bujang" doesnt have fridge cry.gif
darkcurves
post May 1 2009, 12:17 AM

779 posts

Ya ka, didnt know they like pellets too. Maybe Hikari tastes better, haha. I use those RM1.50 wan.
usermode
post May 6 2009, 01:36 AM

25 posts

whoa...after reading all the posts from page 1, seeing most of u guys having those expensive ranchus or whatever the type is. I'm not really good with goldfish type as for me they all looks the same to me. hahahah~!!

btw, my goldfish are just those cheap ones... actually it;s my wife's. LFS wrote the name at tank as "goldfish". bleh~!!! nvm, just bought her a cheap ones and see if she;s capable to take care of it or not before upgrading her to the more expensive type. so far so good after few months.... except I'm the one doing WC for her along when Im doing WC for my other tanks. psht~!!

keep this thread up goldfish lovers. it;s quite oldskool but kinda cool to know that there's still goldfish lovers in LYN. i hope one day I can join you guys with more "good genes" goldfish....

keep it up happy.gifv
Angel86
post May 8 2009, 04:13 PM

222 posts

Goldfishes are very difficult to keep but once its in an established aquarium,it becomes easier and thus less problems will occur.
darkcurves
post May 8 2009, 04:16 PM

779 posts

Yeah, that is absolutely true!

20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:15 AM