Grooming Goldfish - Ranchus/Orandas etc, Sharing tips for grooming goldfish

mp3
post Oct 11 2008, 03:13 AM

BOINCer
613 posts

QUOTE(wsl @ Oct 10 2008, 10:46 PM)
I'm having 5 goldfish inside a 2ft tank. currently, having problem with the waste produce by these fish... i have to clean the filters inside the wall hanging type pump.

need advise: will add a external canister will help in cleaning the water? this is because i read that it is not good to wash the filters everyday, as it will kill good germs inside it.
External Canister does help a lot, provided you clean it often as well. When you are cleaning the filters, take some water from the tank to clean the filter. This way you wont kill all the bacteria, not germ btw.

Remember to top up the tank water once you are done.
wsl
post Oct 11 2008, 09:05 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(mp3 @ Oct 11 2008, 03:13 AM)
External Canister does help a lot, provided you clean it often as well. When you are cleaning the filters, take some water from the tank to clean the filter. This way you wont kill all the bacteria, not germ btw.

Remember to top up the tank water once you are done.
sorry, it is bacteria, not germs. haha.

planning to get a canister soon~ today, my 3 fish suddenly get clamped fin (or known as ironed tail in chinese). looks like my water contains too much of ammonia...
goldfries
post Oct 11 2008, 09:07 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wsl @ Oct 10 2008, 10:46 PM)
I'm having 5 goldfish inside a 2ft tank. currently, having problem with the waste produce by these fish... i have to clean the filters inside the wall hanging type pump.

need advise: will add a external canister will help in cleaning the water? this is because i read that it is not good to wash the filters everyday, as it will kill good germs inside it.
fren, firstly you must know that 5 goldfish in 2ft tank is overstocking!

i hope your 5 are still not full-grown.

ideally, 2ft tank (2x1x1) is suitable for only ONE goldfish, 2 at most IMO.
wsl
post Oct 12 2008, 02:53 PM

487 posts

the size of my fish body is around 6cm long... my dad rear them start from 2cm since 1year ago, buyng those cheap RM1 one.

I have added one external canister, and it really makes the water cleaner... but after adding it, 2 of the fish become not active, always rest on the sand, without moving. is it due to shock, or the so called swimbladder problem??? help me....
xbotzz
post Jan 12 2009, 10:54 AM

313 posts

trying to look for a gold-fish corner... this is the best i manage to get...

i was at subang carrefour last weekend... and i saw the most beautiful ranchu in my life... a black ranchu healthily swimmin about... looks like a puppy and had this "take me home" look... super adorable...

good for him i used to rare fishes and i knew i had to get a setup at home started... so yesterday went and got myself an aquarium.... got it up and running... will let it run for a week and then go get 2 4inch ranchus... or 3 3inch ranchus...

inside carrefour.. they selling the ranchus from RM50-RM150... expensive but very vibrant and happy and colorful, i can tell they are well fed with good quality food...

i went to a LFS, also got between RM28-RM100 but over crowded and dull...

anyone knows any shops with quality and reasonable price... or u guys think the one in Subang Carrefour is ok... I read ppl complain about that pet shop... but i saw the fishes are ok... in fact very OK.... my wife also fell in love with the fishies....

hope there are some gold-fishes peepel here... !!
The Goldfish House
post Mar 2 2009, 09:45 PM

Hi, calling all goldfish lovers to share knowledge on goldfish. Some of the fishes taken from our premise. Thanks
Attached ImageAttached ImageAttached ImageAttached Image
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 2 2009, 09:49 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

Wow goldfishies! They sure are cute, but not easy to take care rite? Share2 knowledge! rclxms.gif
The Goldfish House
post Mar 2 2009, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Mar 2 2009, 09:49 PM)
Wow goldfishies! They sure are cute, but not easy to take care rite? Share2 knowledge! rclxms.gif
On the contrary, no...all it takes is dedication and lots of passion. Gene plays a very important part as well as very good water management. I change water almost everyday (no usage of filters) only provide oxygen. Diet I provide a combination of frozen blood worm as well as pallet.
darma
post Mar 3 2009, 02:09 PM

37 posts

Hey.. I'm into Gold fish as well I wa looking and waiting for someone to make this Gold fish group/forum.. hahah... thanks..
azian9100
post Mar 3 2009, 03:09 PM

242 posts

hahaha.. goldfish.... remind me the school time... hmm.gif

but I dont know lah.. this one type Gold fish.. so round round like a Golf Ball.. very cute and the price... boleh tahan
nezumitaro
post Mar 3 2009, 03:29 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

i don't know gold fish much too tongue.gif

why call grooming goldfish?
hammi3choong
post Mar 4 2009, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(azian9100 @ Mar 3 2009, 03:09 PM)
hahaha.. goldfish.... remind me the  school time... hmm.gif

but I dont know lah.. this one type Gold fish.. so round round like a Golf Ball.. very cute and the price... boleh tahan
that must be the cute popcorn gold fish! (AKA Pearlscale)
they are very cute.
i have a few like 8 years ago, but all mati liao, that time still small, duno how to takecare.haha!
kesian those fish! sweat.gif

Added on March 4, 2009, 9:29 pmnow i rear big China Ryukin.
cost around rm 100 per fish.
so expensive.
oranda very hard to rear. mine always 'tebalik'.
they cannot eat floating pellats...
very swt...

This post has been edited by hammi3choong: Mar 4 2009, 09:31 PM
empty_reg
post Mar 4 2009, 10:30 PM

249 posts

Pearlscales are the hardest of all to care for. Hehe. I used to have some a variety of pearlscale. Seeing them swim very funny.

Keeping goldfish, water is the most troublesome, gotta store aged water and change regularly.

If you give floating pellats, can try to soak them in the water first. And don't over feed. They are greedy.
j45on
post Mar 4 2009, 11:13 PM

348 posts

There is 2 big goldfish in my tank (4ft by 1.5ft). They have a lot of black patches on heir body but I just changed the water few days ago. I always change my water one a week (about 1/3 of the tank's water).

I suppose the parasite comes from the frozen blood worm I fed them (once a day). I just added another half packet of salt into the tank to control the parasites and hopefully cure the disease.

In the future I will add some salt into and mix the frozen blood worm with water before pouring it in to the tank to kill any remaining parasites first so they do not thrive in my tank.

Any comment regarding my goldfish? I really need advice.

This post has been edited by j45on: Mar 4 2009, 11:15 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Mar 4 2009, 11:13 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(The Goldfish House @ Mar 2 2009, 10:02 PM)
On the contrary, no...all it takes is dedication and lots of passion.  Gene plays a very important part as well as very good water management. I change water almost everyday (no usage of filters) only provide oxygen.  Diet I provide a combination of frozen blood worm as well as pallet.
WOW change water everyday? sweat.gif definetly need someone dedicated. How many do you have now? ^^ how big is your tank also laugh.gif My hubby got 3ft tank.. when changing water that time also look at him very tired XD
j45on
post Mar 6 2009, 12:34 AM

348 posts

!!!

This post has been edited by j45on: Mar 6 2009, 12:35 AM
hammi3choong
post Mar 7 2009, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(j45on @ Mar 4 2009, 11:13 PM)
There is 2 big goldfish in my tank (4ft by 1.5ft). They have a lot of black patches on heir body but I just changed the water few days ago. I always change my water one a week (about 1/3 of the tank's water).

I suppose the parasite comes from the frozen blood worm I fed them (once a day). I just added another half packet of salt into the tank to control the parasites and hopefully cure the disease.

In the future I will add some salt into and mix the frozen blood worm with water before pouring it in to the tank to kill any remaining parasites first so they do not thrive in my tank.

Any comment regarding my goldfish? I really need advice.
add salt should be fine already.
wat brand is those bloodworms? it is almost impossible for parasits to live in freezing conditions!
maybe it is because of the water. because u changed the water. try washing some of the filter medium too. do not wash all. half is enough. smile.gif
hope your goldfish get well!

Added on March 7, 2009, 9:05 pmShare some pictures guys!
we can make this topic alive!

This post has been edited by hammi3choong: Mar 7 2009, 09:05 PM
hammi3choong
post Mar 7 2009, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(The Goldfish House @ Mar 2 2009, 09:45 PM)
Hi, calling all goldfish lovers to share knowledge on goldfish. Some of the fishes taken from our premise. Thanks
Attached ImageAttached ImageAttached ImageAttached Image
you own a fish shop? i like those fishes! how much is 1 fish?
SUSedmunz
post Mar 7 2009, 09:12 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

can u share wit us wat kind of goldfish tat iz most exclusive/expensive in malaysia
hammi3choong
post Mar 7 2009, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(edmunz @ Mar 7 2009, 09:12 PM)
can u share wit us wat kind of goldfish tat iz most exclusive/expensive in malaysia
hmm... this one i am not so sure.
but i think ranchu is the most expensive. not those from thailand, those japan ones.
try asking fish shops. i think they will know.

20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:20 AM