Travel jakarta,indonesia, & abit of Bandung

hiiragizawa
post May 23 2012, 04:17 AM

364 posts

Can anybody recommend a voice & data plan sim card on the cheap that is comparable to our u mobile prepaid plan in Jakarta? Prepaid/postpaid from telkomsel, indosat and smart still looks super expensive to me.

also, i've been told that 3g is pretty bad over there and that is teh reason why blackberry is more prevalent. is this true?

This post has been edited by hiiragizawa: May 23 2012, 04:27 AM
hiiragizawa
post May 23 2012, 04:59 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 23 2012, 08:53 AM)
Dunno about pubs but Jakarta..just shoppings and if you like history, can goto the last BRT stop at Kota near Glodok and walk around the Dutch colonial district...Well..it such a pity they dun really upkeep this area properly  sad.gif ...If you hv the strenght, walk further to SUnda Kelapa Batvia port and watch the wooden cargo ship activities

Added on May 23, 2012, 8:55 am

If you're not staying long-term there, might as well prepaid min skype credit that last you for years.. (I bought US$10 since ~ 2007 and till  now still ~ US$5 in a/c). Thereafter.. just call back from your hotel..and look for the hotel wth free WIFI - very usefull
Hey Stimix,
Thanks for the Skype tip. Unfortunately, it's gonna be a long term thing - 6 months to 1 year. Even the best postpaid plans still have bad rates - rp 5 /kb. Need something less restrictive.

Just to add on, I could find a reasonable broadband dongle plan from Smartfren Connex - 6GB monthly for Rp. 1 million.

This post has been edited by hiiragizawa: May 23 2012, 05:06 PM
hiiragizawa
post May 23 2012, 09:55 PM

364 posts

Just want to add that the nearest analogous Umobile rm28 prepaid plan in Indonesia is Telkomsel's prepaid* Kartu Facebook plan which gives 500MB per month for RM34.

*edited Kartu facebook from post to pre.

This post has been edited by hiiragizawa: May 23 2012, 11:22 PM
hiiragizawa
post May 23 2012, 10:47 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 23 2012, 10:03 PM)
Old Monument for sure there got-lah as I mentioned earlier near the last BRT stop in North Jakarta (Kota). Within that area is the Dutch colonial buidings.. Lotsa of old & not so well maintained buidings there inc the Fathalilar Square..Also the oldest Sunda Kelapa Port also there

Added on May 23, 2012, 10:04 pm

Easier just get free wifi from the hotel  biggrin.gif
I guess... For travelers... Unfortunately, I will be in an apartment.

I think I will compile a list of telco plans for others to reference.

0.0192sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:20 AM