Travel jakarta,indonesia, & abit of Bandung

stimix
post May 24 2011, 02:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Bandung really on shopping (Esp Factory Rejected goods/cloths - not for me too) and the only real attraction in Bandung is Tangkubang Prahu Volcano. Is a must and also abit further South of Bandung - Kawah Putih 9I missed this one)

Nothing much to do in Jakarta actually. The Ancol Theme park (If you like it- well not me), Pulau Seribu islands (pretty far out from ancol - I also skip this)..Windows shopping at numerous malls almost similar to Klang Valley such as Anggrik, Mangga Dua, Plaza Indonesia, Blok M, kelapa Gading & more..

For Historical places, the Kota-Tg Priuk area..lotsa pre & colonial buidings here but all like not well maiantained. (So sad)...The Zoo? mini Indonesia & etc..

On Green Canyon, which I never heard about, I google & later found the location inside Navigai.net gps maps...Well, I think you better forget it~ It's 350km from Jakarta & 280 km from Jogjakarta. It will take ~ 5-6 hrs hourney based on my recent 4hrs journey to Dieng Plateau from Jogja..that's only 180km away from jogja smile.gif

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ May 24 2011, 12:49 AM)
I manage to book AA tix to JKT for 7persons. Total is RM435. 5Days 4nights. 22-26 Feb 2012 (23,24 is CNY). Really cheap i must say. Around RM63/person return (not include airport tax in Indonesia).

My point to JKT is for family vacation, and considering Jakarta-Punchak-Bandung-Jakarta.

I not really in to shopping vacation very much, im into island, sea, nature, culture type of vacation (enjoy Bali very much).

I google-ed "the green canyon", is it near Bandung..? how many hours to take me there from Bandung?

Other than shopping and volcanic places, any suggestion for other attraction?
stimix
post May 24 2011, 03:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Punchak is using the old non highway road, nowadays, most Express buses to Badnung using highway & thus bypassing Bogor & Puncak..Unless you specificcaly make a seperate trip there together wth Bogor Zoo? (Me also skip these).

Pulau Seribu was my previous itionerarie b4 I decided on Bandung instead of Pulau Seribu...So far I'm not sure where to get the ferry there..I think near Ancol. The Sunda Kelapa port is traditional old port and nothing there except those commercial wooden ships.. I dun think any ferry going there from Sunda Kelapa port (You can skip this too..nothing much to see except the wooden ships) -Earlier I posted about Tg Priuk, that's newer port..tersasul abit haha

The Kota-Sunda Kelapa area are the oldest part of Jakarta i.e the existing Batavia..Well, If you like historical buidings & probably DSLR wth you, you can turn this area into picture perfect memories..Well, just close one eye on the locals throwing rubbish everywhere & the condition of some of these buiding..so sad..The mnuseum also displayed boring items..mostly furnitures of tyhe esiting buiding & etc.. super boring..

stimix
post May 25 2011, 06:39 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes you can to avoid all the jam
QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ May 24 2011, 11:24 PM)
how good is the busway system? Can i rely on it to explore jakarta?
stimix
post May 26 2011, 01:44 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I original plan was to take train to/fro Bandung but last min, direct bus to Bandung from airport instead as it is cheaper. rather than taxi to Gambir station & thereafter train to Bandung..furthermore wasting lotsa time.

From Bandung to Jakarta, I actually bought a train ticket to Jakarta but on that day, Lanslide somewhere along the line & hv to return the ticket and those Train station car rental started to offer direct ticket to Jakarta using private MPV..So no chance...Can't really remember how much but it will not cost a bomb for sure haha..Slightly exp than bus for aircon coach & for economy non aircon much cheaper
stimix
post Sep 2 2011, 01:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You can consider Smart Hotel - Something similar to Tune.

Jakarta- visit those malls lor such as Indonesia Mall, Anggrek mall, Blok M, Kelapa Gading mall & etc. - For history take the last BRT stop at Kota & walk around that area.
stimix
post Sep 26 2011, 12:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just book for 2 person but sleep 3. However certain smaller hostel/guesthouses do scan number of occupants..I kena once I asked to pay additional 1 pax haha.

I stayed at Smart Hotel wth 5000kbps super fast broadband...cool..Located beside Indonesian Plaza in the middle of CBD.. cleaner location compare wth Glodok/ Mangga Besar area
stimix
post Sep 26 2011, 02:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No. It's a hotel. So it's OK. That hotel more like a boutique style budget hotel suprisingly the room is spacious
stimix
post Sep 26 2011, 03:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

One thing bad about Smart hotel - no breakfast cafe. Your meal will be delivered in polystrene container just like chapfan/nasi campur style and it's rather late ~ 8:30am. so late..Anyway, if 3 of you you can buy the additional 1 breakfast..pretty cheap I think only 15,000 ruapiah. But if you want xtra pillow, you need to pay darn..1 xtra pillow 10,000rupiah!!
stimix
post Jan 10 2012, 09:35 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just read few pages backwards and u have abit of idea liao..Thereafter you probably can be more specific...

stimix
post Jan 10 2012, 10:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sinner21,

I'm confused abit, It was listed that Taman Anggrik Mall still the largest mall in Jakarta but as I agreed with you, Kelapa Gading is even larger wth two wings just like Garden & Mid Valley combined or Iu New & Old..

Anyway, Plaza Indonesia probably the most luxury one indeed..I was like in culture shock when I step in to Plaza Indonesia 1st time..can be as good as Pavilion of KL...& maybe better...The food court in Plaza Indonesia one of the most modern in the region

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:34 amdarfnd:

Check also my photo itineraries on pg 5 here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=37613414

Also check out seperate Bandung thread.. I hv also posted photo itineraries there

Added on January 10, 2012, 10:38 amOK found abit of my Bandung 2D 1N short trip:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=37612541

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 10 2012, 10:38 AM
stimix
post May 23 2012, 08:53 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 22 2012, 09:40 PM)
want to ask, what is there to visit in jakarta. from previous page i read alot of shopping mall like block M, mangga dua etc etc. can suggest some to me pls... and also got what nice club in jakarta? wanna test test the water there  brows.gif  brows.gif
Dunno about pubs but Jakarta..just shoppings and if you like history, can goto the last BRT stop at Kota near Glodok and walk around the Dutch colonial district...Well..it such a pity they dun really upkeep this area properly sad.gif ...If you hv the strenght, walk further to SUnda Kelapa Batvia port and watch the wooden cargo ship activities

Added on May 23, 2012, 8:55 am
QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ May 23 2012, 04:17 AM)
Can anybody recommend a voice & data plan sim card on the cheap that is comparable to our u mobile prepaid plan in Jakarta? Prepaid/postpaid from telkomsel, indosat and smart still looks super expensive to me.

also, i've been told that 3g is pretty bad over there and that is teh reason why blackberry is more prevalent. is this true?
If you're not staying long-term there, might as well prepaid min skype credit that last you for years.. (I bought US$10 since ~ 2007 and till now still ~ US$5 in a/c). Thereafter.. just call back from your hotel..and look for the hotel wth free WIFI - very usefull

This post has been edited by stimix: May 23 2012, 08:55 AM
stimix
post May 23 2012, 12:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(MiaFatinn @ May 23 2012, 11:21 AM)
Anyone can recommend a good 'supir'? We need one to get around and how much does he charges?

thank you so much.
If Jakarta - No need - gpt BRT and very convenient bypassing all the jam. Bandung - try google " Mobil sewa Bandung"
stimix
post May 23 2012, 02:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(MiaFatinn @ May 23 2012, 01:19 PM)
Looking for Bandung -just now got quotation from Mulia Car Rental -very expensive RP474K per day. Hmm.. doh.gif . Will try to look but if anyone knows or have personally use anyone good, do let me know please, coz we are all girls going. Thanks.
I just walked in to the railway stn.. Dun hv any plan and was approache by the only car rental cum transport/taxi operator there.. Offered me 400K rupiah and I reduced to 350K...you can try them..
stimix
post May 23 2012, 05:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No- more like Bangkok.. The modern part surrounding Jln Tamrim where the most modern Indonesian mall - Plaza Indonesia (as luxury as Pavillion) - just like KL. The older part Glodok/Mangga Dua/Kota area.. like Bangkok dark dark buidings or like our Chow Kit area haha...

The shopping malls are far apart from each others.. not like Bkt Bintang - KLCC corridors that you can walk within those malls.. you need to take diff BRT to diff malls in Diff cities surrounding Jakarta
stimix
post May 23 2012, 08:02 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

All big cities are like that what.. What you expect more? That's why should go further i,e to Bandung, Pulau Seribu, Bogor, Puncak & etc
stimix
post May 23 2012, 10:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 23 2012, 09:50 PM)
yeah im going to jakarta from bandung. thought got some old monument to see
Old Monument for sure there got-lah as I mentioned earlier near the last BRT stop in North Jakarta (Kota). Within that area is the Dutch colonial buidings.. Lotsa of old & not so well maintained buidings there inc the Fathalilar Square..Also the oldest Sunda Kelapa Port also there

Added on May 23, 2012, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ May 23 2012, 09:55 PM)
Just want to add that the nearest analogous Umobile rm28 prepaid plan in Indonesia is Telkomsel's postpaid Kartu Facebook plan which gives 500MB per month for RM34.
Easier just get free wifi from the hotel biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: May 23 2012, 10:04 PM
stimix
post Jun 18 2012, 03:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

All airports you have to pay airport taxes. However lotsa airports already having or tied up wth airliners and thus the airliners are the one collecting those airport taxes on behalf of the airports.

For Indonesia, they collect themselves instead of airliners and thus, every exiting visitors have to pay tax 1st before they are allowed entry to the departure hall.

For bigger airports like Jakarta & Bali should be Rp150,000 and for smaller airports like Medan /Jogja ~ rp75,000 if I still can recall.
stimix
post Jun 19 2012, 07:00 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(PetPM @ Jun 18 2012, 10:25 PM)
If i take cab within jakarta, isit expansive?
Better take BRT. less jam. you reach your destination faster on BRT rather than taxi. furthermore cheaper. As earlier forumer said.. taxi rate almost similar yo KL and as u stuck in the jam the meter still moving as usual.. I took cab from the railway stn to my Hotel too.. damn the congestion rclxub.gif
stimix
post Jun 20 2012, 08:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Kelapa Gading Mall already good choice already. Huge mall wth 2 sections just like Mid Valley & Garden or 1U old & new wing
stimix
post Jun 21 2012, 02:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If you read my last year trip, I did mentioned about Smart Hotel. Do google about this superb hotel wth 5mbps wifi broadband & super clean & boutique style interior. just few block away from Plaza Indonesia facing Jln Tamrin

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0261sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:57 AM