CLOSED

kaiserreich
post Mar 4 2009, 12:10 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Mar 3 2009, 02:14 PM)
Can someone recommend me a LCD Monitor for Graphic Design use ?
In 19" to 22".

Nowadays a lot of model came out are targeted for HD Movies, such as 16:9 aspect ratio & reflective screen.
Panel Types also typical. I prefer those with at least PVA Types.

My Priority are;
1) DVI Connections.
2) Color Accuracy.
3) Non-Reflective Screen.
4) Can get in Local Stores.
That new Dell 22" is rather good but it's not really available to be ordered or anything. And honestly, I doubt most retailers wouldn't stock premium panels since most people just want it big and cheap.

There's another one from HP, I forgot the model number but it's a 22" and goes for around 2k, could be found in HP's website, naturally.
kaiserreich
post Mar 4 2009, 04:56 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(chanws8 @ Mar 4 2009, 12:14 AM)
@kaiserreich
22" for 2k? Which model from HP....Im using HP w2228h, it's now seling at RM799...
Maybe that 22" isnt LCD monitor....Is LED monitor i think...
There's a premium to pay to go for non-TN panel type LCD monitors.
The one i'm referring to is here
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/my/en/sm/WF...71-3648453.html

It's a PVA type. but at 2k, might as well go for the Dell 2408WFP which is a premium panel but cheaper than the HP one. 6 months ago, 2k for a PVA 22" would be alright but this price is so old, i doubt anyone would want to buy it anymore.
kaiserreich
post Mar 8 2009, 09:55 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(lambman @ Mar 8 2009, 02:45 AM)
erk i think u going off the topic too hihihi
btw where can i get 24 inch lcd protector
Why would you want one? To protect your LCD?
so, you'd rather make your colors look worse than risk your LCD holding dust? of which you could just rub it off easily?
kaiserreich
post Mar 9 2009, 10:43 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Mar 9 2009, 09:16 AM)
about 700 bucks. dell 2409w, t220 or 2333sw. no idea which one to get. i saw the t220 features and it says that it has DVI with HDCP. does it mean that it is capable of viewing HD movies? say 1080?
All the models can play 1080p, protected content or otherwise.

The s2409w has got the most real estate but colors are a little bit dull
The T220 has got a nice looking bezel and has nice colors but a wobbly stand to boot, without any wall mount holes in case the stand breaks.
The 2333sw is about the size of the T220 but slightly wider but slight shorter

I own a T220, my friend has a 2333sw. Given the almost similar prices now, I'd choose the 2333sw. As to the s2409w, it's not really 700, it's way cheaper in garage sales.

kaiserreich
post Mar 12 2009, 08:59 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Mar 12 2009, 07:11 PM)
any monitor without hdmi port is lower class..

currently using HP w2408h with hdmi port
So then, you are saying perhaps out there, the ones without the HDMI port but has H-IPS/VA panels lower class than your TN panel ultra-glare reflecting, HP monitor that will never ever beat any of the premium panels then?

I don't understand what's wrong with the ones who thinks there is a must for HDMI ports when you can easily get an adapter and change it given that you want a monitor without a HDMI port.
kaiserreich
post Mar 16 2009, 12:54 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Here's some review on how the cable differs.

The cable game - PC World

Summary:

They don't differ. Just go get a normal HDMI cable and a HDMI - DVI converter.
Else, you could just buy a DVI cable and a DVI - HDMI cable instead. DVI cables are dirt cheap anyways.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Mar 16 2009, 12:56 AM
kaiserreich
post Mar 19 2009, 11:19 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Mar 19 2009, 12:40 PM)
oh ok..im running the game at 1680 X 1050 for fifa..i thought its the monitor not being fast enough..because i did hear about CRT monitors being waay faster right?ive tried setting the resolution to the minimum and still i dont get the smoothness that i want..in fact,changing the resolution doesnt change anything..worse quality with no improvement in terms of the smoothness..
Probably you got RTA off or something.
I fiddled with the settings once and got visible ghosting.

Anyways, the settings from this site SHOULD help you out.

http://www.digitalversus.com/article-358-3448-36.html
kaiserreich
post Mar 23 2009, 11:32 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 23 2009, 03:58 PM)
You can try make your own one with old school book wrapper from Popular Bookstore.  biggrin.gif I custom fitted one for my Samsung 2333SW. Damn nice fit and no more constant wiping because there'll be no dust. However, during fabrication you need to be particular careful about static charges as it attracts dust. Solution is to wipe it with a damp cloth and then use feather duster to brush them off. After that you're all set.
And after that you'd have a SupeR Duper glare screen to look at.

Perfectly fine when there is no light source directly on the monitor, but if there's a window or such, you'd get a nice view outside.

Cheers
kaiserreich
post Mar 25 2009, 02:06 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 24 2009, 05:16 PM)
Hehehehehehe... I think you got onto wrong grounds. The dust cover is meant to cover the monitor and seal it off from dust when not in use. When the monitor is not in use, there's nothing pretty to look at.  tongue.gif
Sorry there. Looks like a misunderstanding. Apologies.

I got off assuming that since I have seen many people using screen protectors on their laptop while using it outdoors. I wonder if they are enjoying the view outside or can they use their laptops at all.
kaiserreich
post Mar 26 2009, 05:22 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ Mar 26 2009, 04:22 PM)
just found out that T220 had no HDMI port....... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
too bad already bought it........
should have buy a DELL 2408
btw......can anyone share any links about HDMI, DVI......
Well, you could always use a HDMI-DVI adapter.

I do, and it works just fine on my T220
kaiserreich
post Apr 8 2009, 10:36 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Apr 7 2009, 11:59 PM)
Dear all,
I have a quick question here. As I am currently doing alot of programming work, I find my Viewsonic 19 inch to be really fatiguing to my eyes. I am not sure if it's setting problems or whatsoever, but could anyone recommend me on my next LCD purchase perhaps? (targetting for those around 22" size, budget can give and take lah, provided the monitor is good)
Usage: Heavy programming work, anime, abit of gaming.

Oh and if anyone can recommend me settings to decrease my eye fatigue and headache it'd be very much recommended. Thanks in advanced.
Things to check on your Viewsonic.

The connector: VGA or DVI. IF VGA, is there a lot of flicker going on, which would explain your eyes tiring. Check whether there is a DVI input and switch to that, see whether it helps.

For the 22", I'm not sure how big you want those letters on the screen, but 1920x1080 on those 16:9 monitors are rather small. Look for 16:10 22". Else look for 24" 16:9. The height is more bearable.
kaiserreich
post May 10 2009, 11:37 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ May 10 2009, 04:20 AM)
my budget is rm 850 max desperately looking for 24 inchers
but problem is MSIA got no good 24inchers at rm 850
dell s2409 has no dcr, vx2433wm review was bad. 2433bw also bad.

really like 2494hs spec but not glossy thats  downer. i really like t240 and asus vh 242h  but they are rm 1100

I am wating for some new models to come in MSIA at Sub RM 900
Asus Vh242h is USD 189 but here its RM 1099

I also Like HP w2448hc but has no dcr and RM 1250!!! Can get Asus 26 inch at RM 1450 now in czone.

also Is Asus Vw246 and Vk246h out of market??

Does glossy monitors look good while gaming and watching 1080p movies or blu rays?? Does it matter??
I don't know why you have to consider DCR as being a huge factor in deciding factor for a monitor.

For me, I consider DCR as a plus/extra. Heck, I couldn't even care less if the DCR ratio is 1 billion : 1, if the standard contrast ratio is 1000:1. I don't even use the DCR setting. It's annoying when there is a dark scene and the whole screen goes dark, and all the sudden a daylight scene comes out and the whole screen goes bright. Heck, my eye hurts watching shows with DCR.

if you really want DCR so much, why not consider the 23" alternatives. The samsung and the acer 23" monitors seem to look rather nice IMHO.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: May 11 2009, 12:08 AM
kaiserreich
post May 12 2009, 04:24 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 12 2009, 02:05 PM)
As long as the LCD is FULL HD status, then it can displays 1920x1080 in native resolution. For example, Dell's 21.5" can also display FULL HD resolutions. smile.gif
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs
It's more like the other way around.

As long as the monitor can display >= 1080 horizontal lines, progressive scan, it is considered FullHD.

kaiserreich
post May 12 2009, 11:20 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 12 2009, 05:22 PM)
But a lot of people buy Full HD LCD TV for watching Astro which is not fullHD source.  sweat.gif

So does most computer users, most computer are mainly for ordinary window environment, why need a full HD then?

For blueray and HD video, ok, I fully understand,
But I have seen a lot of people fall into the FullHD marketing gimmick, everytime go to PCfair, promoters always said this monitor is full HD, must have, but I wonder, I only use for oridnary window environment, why I need one, ask those promoter, they always said, FullHD monitor is clearer (I taught it is more contrast issue), or sharper (has it anything to do with FullHD on window environment?), which always puzzled me on this issue.
FullHD sells more panels. Thats that. When lay people think about FullHD, they imagine screen to be ultra sharp/crisp nice color, from what they see from the Blu-Ray demo. That's why they get em FullHD. Of course, all these branding and stuff is just a gimmick.

The 2209WA is what I would get if I want a 22" monitor.

And all these FullHD thing, I don't really buy it. But some people can stand reading the small fonts. If you want small fonts, you can always do ctrl + scroll wheel on your browser.

As to movies, it depends on what content you normally watch. Again, some people watch Blu-Ray on their FullHD monitor. Some people can download 1080p blu-ray rips at the rate of 1 show per day.
And then, there are people who just love to watch RMVB shows on their FullHD monitor (what's the point?) Thats my take on FullHD.
kaiserreich
post May 23 2009, 12:05 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ May 23 2009, 11:03 AM)
when lcd price will going drop? im looking for 24" perharp asus vh242h, 2494hs (not glossy doh.gif )..not worth spend rm900 to buy 24"..since 22" only around rm500.  can someone explain more about the CR? and the response time? any different with 2ms and 5ms? coz my current lcd is more than 10ms and i dont find any problem with it..
Used for marketing. To cheat people. That's what the advertised CR and response time do tongue.gif

CR, I don't care. 20000:1 200 000:1. useless Typical contrast ratio is where you should be looking at.

Same with response time. I don't know about you, but 5ms vs 2ms, I can't see no difference.
kaiserreich
post May 23 2009, 11:20 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I beg to differ.

That place is no service center. It's kinda like HQ for IT support or something.

As to Dell monitor warranty, it's 1-1 NBD exchange, nobody is going to go your house and fix it.

Dell's support is good, in fact, I think it's the best in Malaysia, but in terms of monitor, I don't think you should make it a top priority. Monitors don't break easily (lemon excluded), so it's better to get good and cheap rather than just a support that, a high possibility that you wont need at all.
kaiserreich
post May 24 2009, 12:41 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(jackorock @ May 23 2009, 11:42 PM)
yes, u r very rite about how monitor wont break down that easily unless accident happens.

but for dell lcd screen, they wont all the time exchange a new screen for u, it's just not practical financially.

top priority shud b made whether ur own requirements at present or in near future, which around 2-3 years time if u r not an avid trader on LYN

for example, u dun need HDMI fx if u r just a normal computer user who plays games that aren't require very high-end technologies. HDMI is great but i regard it as a small bonus when choosing a lcd monitor to replace my spoilt laptop screen.

I bought Acer H233H because I think it's cheap & the specs reli suits me, the most, functionality & economically.

Reli have to c ur financial status as well, dun simply opt for too high end one which will one day replace by other tech & hence the price will drop like mad, i.e. the up-coming trend , LED monitor.

Think wisely! smile.gif
I have experience with Dell LCD's befoe. The particular problem was (Dell 196FP or something like that, old model) red lines appearing on the screen. Seems to be standard problem with the particular model. 3 times, NBD exchange, no issues. The 3rd time, I got upgraded to an ultrasharp version, nothing happened after that. That model was a lemon, not a representation of LCDs as a whole.

All due respect, from your posts, I could easily tell you never encounter dell support, in terms of monitors before.
Advice: stick with what you know, instead of generalizing, or, for a lack of a better term, make false claims, in this case, your comment on Dell Monitor warranty support.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: May 24 2009, 12:47 AM
kaiserreich
post May 24 2009, 10:06 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(jackorock @ May 24 2009, 02:06 AM)
yes, i've never bought any dell monitor b4.  Sorry, U sound offended. Dell, I'm sorry, u've always been a great brand.

I hearby clarify all my views are not false claims to ruin Dell Monitor warranty support.  I'm just a normal consumer who made a line or 2 abt common sense of business, which obviously wrong in this context.

But I got Dell laptop b4. Their service b4 warranty void is superb but when it voids, troubles came. I've made several calls & yet they seems to forgot my calls, I begged them to help me fix my com because at my study place there none computer shops willing to fix "complicated" Dell laptop. Until I sternly complain the customer service ppl only I received my reply from the technician. I was reli helpless tat time because I reli need my computer to do lots of assignments & reports.

I'm just voicing out my opinion , based on a bad experience with expired warranty Dell laptop service, some posts on LYN which the Dell guy came to fix for their lcd monitors & close friends of mine which got rather noobies to come "fix" the problems with Dell laptop.  I duno ur lcd spoilt tat many times though.

I tot dell service is same for all their products, isnt it? I duno, have been using ordinary consumer common sense as well.

p/s: I'm lousy at english, sorry for anyone offended.
No I'm not offended. I just felt/thought that you should know what you are talking about. And since monitor warranty and laptop warranty are two different things, I helped clarify it.
kaiserreich
post May 25 2009, 04:12 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ May 25 2009, 02:03 PM)
I just get the information from the supplier..that Acer H233H got two edition..Plasma editon(glossy)  and lcd edition(non glossy)..which one is suggested and recommend?
Your supplier seriously called it that? Seriously?

Fyi Plasma != glossy. Lcd != matte screen

Plasma and Lcd can have matte and glossy editions. Though i don't see the point of having a power hungry plasma monitor, nor have I heard of any.

As to glossy vs matte, totally up to you. If you have window on the side, or some direct light source glowing on the screen, matte it is. If you like your room to be darker than black, get a glossy.
kaiserreich
post May 25 2009, 10:12 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ May 25 2009, 09:07 AM)
hey ppls...how ya all doing...smile.gif
wanted 2 drop by n ask a ques...
im using a samsung 226BW 22" at da moment
planning 2 upgrade to Dell S2409W 24" Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor... which is priced at rm760
1st ques...wats da difference with daa Dell G2410 24-inch monitor..which is 340 more than da other wan...
2nd...can suggestions on which 24" monitor do i get?
thx for da help...smile.gif
Just a fyi, both models are 24" 16:9. Going from a 16:10 22" to a 16:9 24" means your 22" would be stretched with about the same height.

0.0200sec    1.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:36 AM