121 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

::V3::Scorpion-Thread::V3::, Invert with pen1s pointing backward

rideon
post May 23 2009, 07:14 PM

239 posts

s interesting. quite odd. didnt know that there is a sp that do not glow. interesting find there ryo.. will read more into this..

Added on May 23, 2009, 7:28 pm"Scorpion's body is covered with a waxy cuticle that helps prevent dessication. The scorpion cuticle flouresces under ultraviolet light, which helps when collecting or observing them at night. (Drees & Jackman 1998)" (resource - http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site..._vittatus.html)

so mayb it has no waxy cuticle then. thats y they dont glow under UV light....

This post has been edited by rideon: May 23 2009, 07:28 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 23 2009, 07:35 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Lol if dun have then its prone to dehydration aka dessication lo...
I din read the whole thread yet but i think they do glow under UV light but only a lil bit faint glow
rideon
post May 23 2009, 07:39 PM

239 posts

yeah i read it. They do have a very faint glow. Mayb not as thick as normal scorps do.
danny94
post May 23 2009, 09:01 PM

263 posts

Added on May 23, 2009, 9:01 pmmy afs fav food now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danny94: May 23 2009, 09:02 PM
rafiqos
post May 23 2009, 09:17 PM

464 posts

I am very happy to see where this thread is heading. smile.gif
aros
post May 23 2009, 09:44 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ May 23 2009, 09:17 PM)
I am very happy to see where this thread is heading. smile.gif
7 years from now, or maybe less,

this hobby is going to bloom like an exponential graph if the effort of exhibition, and good mechanism to correct the false concept of venomous animal throughout Malaysia.

We are warriors of today flex.gif

HyourinMaru
post May 23 2009, 09:51 PM

THORChad
502 posts

QUOTE(aros @ May 23 2009, 09:44 PM)
7 years from now, or maybe less,

this hobby is going to bloom like an exponential graph if the effort of exhibition, and good mechanism to correct the false concept of venomous animal throughout Malaysia.

We are warriors of today  flex.gif
Cheers 4 all of us rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
sweat.gif
aros
post May 23 2009, 10:15 PM

19 posts

new toy cool2.gif

good luck charm for v4,

The Misconceptor, Agrandar.
Sexy as Spinifer, sleek as Longimanus.
Hence the new sp name Longimaros. wahahah whistling.gif

Confirm male, right? Not so geng at sexing scorps lol.

akagidemon
post May 23 2009, 11:15 PM

453 posts

is v4 open already or are we still in v3.

by the way nice new info and look for v4. good job ryo.
HyourinMaru
post May 23 2009, 11:21 PM

THORChad
502 posts

Hav to wait till 120 pages or 125 pages depends on Ryo.
rideon
post May 23 2009, 11:36 PM

239 posts

if u want to go there quickly, then spam here... hhahaa lol...
akagidemon
post May 23 2009, 11:48 PM

453 posts

one of the places where i go to find scorps. just behind my room. alot of creppy crawlies.

well on to the main reason for this post. i caught a new scorp. it was found about 10 feet away from a long hous ethat i was visiting this morning.

my first time in sexing. i think it is a male.

i think it is a longimanus.
another pic.

still young i guess from the color of the telson.cream color.the rocks you see it sitting on is actually a base for a flase bottom tank i'm building for the scorps.

if you guys cant see the pics then plz follow link

Added on May 23, 2009, 11:49 pmyes sir spamming sir.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 23 2009, 11:49 PM
rideon
post May 23 2009, 11:52 PM

239 posts

oh.. another longimanus you caught there... i wonder if thats for me.. drool.gif drool.gif wub.gif wub.gif
and i think its a female...

This post has been edited by rideon: May 23 2009, 11:53 PM
aros
post May 23 2009, 11:53 PM

19 posts

akagidemon is so lucky to live in a scorpion playground whistling.gif
rideon
post May 23 2009, 11:54 PM

239 posts

yeap... i wish i can live in an area like that.. i dont need tank. can see them in their wild...
akagidemon
post May 24 2009, 12:00 AM

453 posts

hahahaha.

well if you see all of my scorps are wild caught and are caught when they pose a threat to themselves or human.

i don't simply raid the jungle for scorpions.

except for the liocheles. that 1 i really went out hunting.

now i'm finding wild crickets to breed as food for the scorps. i also have made a simple drip device to make sure that the drink dish and substrate don;t dry out when i'm on raya leave this september.

Added on May 24, 2009, 12:03 amsure it is female. ok then the male got 2 wifes already.

i'm keeping them in a cool dark area so that they are more comfortable.

with the drip system i just check on them like 2 days once.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 24 2009, 12:03 AM
aros
post May 24 2009, 12:05 AM

19 posts

what drip system exactly?

Added on May 24, 2009, 12:07 amuser posted image

sweat.gif

akagidemon, try finding this in the longest yard yawn.gif

This post has been edited by aros: May 24 2009, 12:07 AM
akagidemon
post May 24 2009, 12:08 AM

453 posts

i was going thru the v1 and v2 thread and notice that alot of those people from the v1&2 are not anymore in v3. have they stopped keeping scorps?

and about educating. my frinds are all saying that 1 bite from the longimanus can kill me.

haih difficult to explain to them.

that is not including the superstition that the brother/mother/uncle scorpion will come and find me because taking one of the family away.
aros
post May 24 2009, 12:13 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ May 24 2009, 12:08 AM)
i was going thru the v1 and v2 thread and notice that alot of those people from the v1&2 are not anymore in v3. have they stopped keeping scorps?

and about educating. my frinds are all saying that 1 bite from the longimanus can kill me.

haih difficult to explain to them.

that is not including the superstition that the brother/mother/uncle scorpion will come and find me because taking one of the family away.
all of that if you realized is the traditional ways of preserving them,

at that time it maybe reliable to let them b at the nature than taking them to preserve the ecosystem,

but like today, if the habitat are threaten and they fairly had enough place to live,

then the old way might as well change from preservation to conservation indeed,

rideon
post May 24 2009, 12:14 AM

239 posts

these people have to hold one and see for them self how nice these creatures are. Like my friends and family members. They all say 1 sting can die. Then i picked one up on my hand and dare them to hold at least 1 min. At least that works. They know know but still dont want to keep one.. But dont hold YFT though.. you b flying with angels...

121 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:41 PM