::V3::Scorpion-Thread::V3::, Invert with pen1s pointing backward
Apr 7 2009, 08:38 AM
464 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Smurf Village |
An old picture -
Honduran Yellow-Gold Scorpion (Centruroides margaritatus) - 2nd Instar ![]() Substrate a little too wet..lol! |
Apr 7 2009, 12:27 PM
770 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: mum's tummy |
mine RUNS away when the live beetle or mealie is put inside~
i scared that if i put it over night my afs will too stress then die == |
Apr 7 2009, 01:08 PM
49 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia / USA / Scorpion Land |
QUOTE(geo @ Apr 7 2009, 01:27 PM) mine RUNS away when the live beetle or mealie is put inside~ HMM WAT IS THE SIZE OF THE AFS NOW ?i scared that if i put it over night my afs will too stress then die == Added on April 7, 2009, 4:20 pmihi guys .. i am wondering .... how many of us do have wish list ???? hmm i mean for scoprion wish lis ... Added on April 7, 2009, 5:06 pmHi guys, i came across this write on RJ keeping from venom list by brainS.. tot it would be useful for thoses keeping therefore share it there Rhopalurus Junceus Keeping ![]() Rhopalurus junceus is a medium sized scorpion that is native to Cuba. These 3.5-4.5 inch Bark Scorpions are a beautiful reddish/orange color. It is safe to say these are one of the most desired specimens to add to any collection. Unfortunately, they have been rare in collections with the exception of a few hobbyists in Europe. Late in 2005 and early 2006 I was able to acquire 5 mid sized juveniles thru 3 different transactions. I acquired these specimens with the hopes of breeding and getting a nice captive population started here in the USA. They seem relatively easy to breed and the husbandry is near identicle to other tropical Bark Scorpion species such as Centruroides spp and Tityus spp. Housing adults should be done the very same as with Centruroides gracilis. For this I use plastic Sterlite or Rubbermade shoe boxes that can be purchased at practically any Dollar Store. It is important to drill several small holes around the sides of the box to provide some ventilation. For substrate, about 3 inches of slightly moist peat moss can be used. When the peat moss starts to get a little dry, I pour water directly on the substrate until about half of it is moist again. It is important not to get the substrate too moist. Also important is to add several pieces of wood, cork bark etc for hides and for them to be able to get off the moist substrate. Unlike several Tityus spp which seem to prefer to rest directly on moist substrate, R junceus seems to prefer resting between the stacks of wood. One of the more common mistakes a novice keeper will make is trying to house scorpions such as this in Kritter Keepers. The "open screen top" on a Kritter Keeper will allow the substrate to dry out very fast and not keep the humidity high enough. They seem to do well with temperatures at around 80F. While they may live at temps in the lower 70sF, they will grow and be much healthier when kept in the low 80sF. Only adults should be kept in groups as juveniles will often cannibalize a cage mate during molting. Adults will eat 1-3 medium crickets a week. Like males of many species, Rhopalurus junceus males seldom feed. Breeding is typical and rather straight forward. After I had my first pair to mature in August of 2006, I put them together in their own plastic shoe box. After about 30 minutes the male and female were courting. Oddly enough, I did not find a spermataphore until the next morning. It was obvious that they did not finish mating until I turned out the lights for the night. Determining the sex of the adults is easy to do. Like most scorpions, the males are much thinner and delicate looking than the more robust females. The chela (claws) of the males is more bulbous with the fingers being slightly curved. The male cannot close the fingers completely due to the curve. The females however have much thinner and straighter chela that can completely close their fingers together. I have also noted that the males are a lighter more orangeish color when compared to the darker red females. I know of no other way to determine the sex of this species and unfortunately the hobbyist will have to wait until adulthood in order to accurately sex them. In January of 2007 my wait was over. My female gave birth to 21 babies. Interestingly, it took two days for all the babies to be born. The only other time I have seen this happen was with a Heterometrus laoticus in 2005. While this number is low when compared to the reports of some European breeder's reports this is a start. About a week after giving birth I gently coaxed the female into a deli cup with moist peat. I do this with all my Bark Scorpion species as this makes capturing the babies much easier than if they were in the adult enclosure. After about 10 days the young molted into 2nd instars. Less than a week later the young started to disperse from the Mother's back. I then returned the female back to the adult enclosure. To house the young, I set up 50 Dram vials that can be purchased from Thornton Plastics. I filled roughly 1/3 with moist peat moss. In order for the young to molt properly it is important to provide a climb. In this case I leaned peaces of tree bark inside each vial. The young need to be kept separately until adult. This insures there will be no cannibalism and with the low numbers in the hobby each individual counts. The 2nd instar young are a decent size and feed voraciously on small crickets and small lobster roach nymphs. I feed them 2-3 times a week until they "plump up". The specimens I recieved were mid sized juveniles so I am not sure how many molts it takes for one to mature. Judging by the time it took for mine to mature I can safely assume that it takes over a year and probably closer to a year and a half. Although Rhopalurus junceus is a very rare scorpion in the hobby now, with this birth gives much hope that more and more hobbyists will be able to acquire this beautiful species in the not so distant future. At the time of this writing I have a different mated female that should be giving birth anytime and a fellow scorpion enthusiast has a mated pair as well. It should be noted that anyone getting this species in the future should try to breed them in order to keep a good number in the hobby as it is pretty safe to say that there will be no imports of this species anytime soon from Cuba. This is a really nice species worthy of any collection as they are impressive and beautiful to look at. I would like to give a warm thanks to my friends Alex Tietz, Tom van der Ende and Vincent Wisse. Their advice has been helpful over the past few years and I have benefited greatly This post has been edited by s98432512: Apr 7 2009, 05:06 PM |
Apr 7 2009, 06:54 PM
235 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
took this recently.
the liocheles sentinel ![]() |
Apr 7 2009, 07:08 PM
lester~
it dint molt.. so i jz its still around 4cm~ |
Apr 7 2009, 08:04 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
QUOTE(s98432512 @ Apr 7 2009, 01:08 PM) HMM WAT IS THE SIZE OF THE AFS NOW ? Added on April 7, 2009, 4:20 pmihi guys .. i am wondering .... how many of us do have wish list ???? hmm i mean for scoprion wish lis ... i have a wish list.. and its on me siggy.. y u ask? u have someone who has diff sp?? |
Apr 7 2009, 08:07 PM
235 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Apr 7 2009, 08:23 PM
263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
boleh I join RJ breeding?
Apr 7 2009, 08:41 PM
464 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Smurf Village |
On my wishlist - Lychas scutilus.
Apr 7 2009, 09:04 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
ahax.. we have the same wish list here rafiq
Apr 7 2009, 09:47 PM
87 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
wow .. i wanna to get one!
Apr 7 2009, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(rideon @ Apr 7 2009, 09:04 PM) hmmm hehe juz asking Added on April 7, 2009, 10:28 pm QUOTE(rafiqos @ Apr 7 2009, 09:41 PM) hmm also in my wish list ...but i wan female one lol Added on April 7, 2009, 10:35 pm QUOTE(junshern222 @ Apr 7 2009, 07:54 PM) lol .. u line them up or they line themselves up ??? Added on April 7, 2009, 10:47 pm QUOTE(kaylejohnny @ Apr 7 2009, 10:47 PM) u mean keeping rj ???This post has been edited by s98432512: Apr 7 2009, 10:47 PM |
Apr 8 2009, 01:11 AM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(geo @ Apr 7 2009, 12:27 PM) mine RUNS away when the live beetle or mealie is put inside~ This happened to mine alsoi scared that if i put it over night my afs will too stress then die == But if they really hungry u will see their sting in action QUOTE(s98432512 @ Apr 7 2009, 01:08 PM) HMM WAT IS THE SIZE OF THE AFS NOW ? Lol i think u shld credit the original sourceAdded on April 7, 2009, 4:20 pmihi guys .. i am wondering .... how many of us do have wish list ???? hmm i mean for scoprion wish lis ... Added on April 7, 2009, 5:06 pmHi guys, i came across this write on RJ keeping from venom list by brainS.. tot it would be useful for thoses keeping therefore share it there » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wishlist, i have a long 1 QUOTE(junshern222 @ Apr 7 2009, 06:54 PM) Lol! Nice one... They looks so different from the usual Liocheles coloration though QUOTE(rafiqos @ Apr 7 2009, 08:41 PM) L.SCUTILUS FTW!!!!!Added on April 8, 2009, 1:12 am QUOTE(danny94 @ Apr 7 2009, 08:23 PM) Oh pls spare the poor thing life, seriouslyThis post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Apr 8 2009, 01:12 AM |
Apr 8 2009, 01:51 AM
Apr 8 2009, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Apr 8 2009, 02:11 AM) This happened to mine also hihi ... But if they really hungry u will see their sting in action Lol i think u shld credit the original source Wishlist, i have a long 1 Lol! Nice one... They looks so different from the usual Liocheles coloration though L.SCUTILUS FTW!!!!! Added on April 8, 2009, 1:12 am Oh pls spare the poor thing life, seriously got ah, it from vemon list .. by brainS .. LOL btw why today u so early wake up ???? saw u in msn so early ... LOL btw.. my RJ stop eating ... is urs still feeding ??? was thinkng maybe it going to molt. wat do you think /?? lol hope it moltts ........ |
Apr 8 2009, 07:10 AM
ok .. another writeup from, vermon list by walton on the Lychas Scutilus scorpion.. pics taken from vermon list - walton too
tot it maybe interesting for some . therefore post it here to share ![]() SPecies Name : Lychas Scutilus ( Formally named Lychas Scutatus?) Family : Buthidae LOcality : Southast Asia - Singapore, Malaysia. Habitat: Between fallen logs, inbetween cracks or gaps in barks, stays near termite nest. venom: unknown No. of speciment studied: 5 adult speciments, 1 juv , and 20++ CB youngs till 4th instar so far. (In Kovirak F's Lychas papers collection data do have other location other then the two ive mentioned.hence my data r base on my own data or other hobbist who had collected the speciment) Simple Discriptions by Kovirak F's Lychas papers - Kovarik, F. 1997. Revision of the genera Lychas and Hemilychas, with descriptions of six new species (Scorpiones: Buthidae). Acta Soc. Zool. Bohem. 61: 311-371. "Total length 60-86.5 mm males; 40-65 mm females. Male differs from female by much longer, very thin metasoma and long telson. Sixth cutting edges on moveable and fixed fingers of pedipalps each with 3-5 external granules and one or no internal granule. PTC: males = 16-20; females = 15-19." Distribution Range: Andaman Islands, China (Shanghai, introduced?), Indonesia (Java, Sumatra), Keeling (Cocos) Islands, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Thailand. COloration with base color is yellow,to reddish brown.Tibia,in part of patella of the palps,telson and fifth and ocassionally 4th metasomal segment are dark brown.Mesosoma is spotted.Pectime count 15-20. Temprement/Behaviour - Not very pron to sting but rather chose to evacute. this species is VERY fast.in my experience faster the L.mucronatus... Female speciments tends to be more skittish while male tends to put up a small lil fight if needed. AS a barkscorpion this spcies does not seems to use the verticle bark for moulting but rather they chose to moult on the ground. this has been proven by the first female juv speciment moulting to adult to the youngs that have since passed a few instar and 100 percent of them moulted on the floor and non on the bark.Ive also observed that they do some time dig a lil at the small corners of the tank, still tryig to find out why. Cannabalisation among adults has not been observe but i did lost 2 speciments when i tried to have 5 2nd instar in communel setup only to have two being eaten by their siblings after they moulted to 3rd. they seem to be more verocious in the first two instar, once they hit 4th they don seem to be that aggresive hence the 3 remaining still together in communel. Housing - (communelly and individually) Food: they take mealworms, crix , roaches, hoppers. (these r those i have tried) frequence of feeding: Once every 2 days for adults/juv and every other day for slings. Temp: 26-30 degress day, 22-26 degrees night humidity: 80-90% adult, +/-75% for slings below 3rd instar Room: mutiple verticle hides.5 by 8 inches and 7 inches tall enclosures. with 1-1 1/2 inch of peat moss or soil. very moist for adult but only that with high ventilation for slings in lil 3 inch tall by 1 inch diameter viles r bottles does well for them. some pics t view LLOLL ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by s98432512: Apr 8 2009, 07:13 AM |
Apr 8 2009, 10:20 AM
19 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
lol s98432512,
no need to post all ler, just post the link and qoute a few important words, we should respect where the article were publish and get people to reach there, read and search for themself for further info, it trains the eyees better besides if ten people start posting things like this long2 one than this wouldn't b a forum to discuss, its more to a forum to copy paste, cut and drag thread ~ just my none-cents, |
Apr 8 2009, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(aros @ Apr 8 2009, 11:20 AM) lol s98432512, lol , noted .. no need to post all ler, just post the link and qoute a few important words, we should respect where the article were publish and get people to reach there, read and search for themself for further info, it trains the eyees better besides if ten people start posting things like this long2 one than this wouldn't b a forum to discuss, its more to a forum to copy paste, cut and drag thread ~ just my none-cents, i tot it would be eassier if i paste in the forum .for others to read lol. cheers This post has been edited by s98432512: Apr 8 2009, 10:47 AM |
Apr 8 2009, 11:48 AM
19 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
no offense,
just voicing out my thought, if life is that easy and simple, then where do we learn from? i just think that we learn the best through hardship, though not all that can be learn must be in that way, just like scorpion's venom, if there are no scorpion then why want to create anti-venom, let there be problem, then we crack the solution, don spoon feed leh, some more caresheet spoon feed, paiseh btw walton and brains have good articles and great pictures too, why don u ask them to join in instead of pasting the stuff, i'm sure it will be more interactive lol my another none-cents~ This post has been edited by aros: Apr 8 2009, 11:49 AM |
Apr 8 2009, 09:47 PM
hi guys ...
some pics of my 3rd instar afs scorpling now all fat fat lol ![]() ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0309sec