126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Downtime The "extreme Screamyx slowdowns" Thread, Internet too slow ? Keep us up to date

andrew9292
post Feb 25 2009, 08:14 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

from VPN provider bolehvpn.net

http://www.bolehvpn.net/blog/

The Star reported the following article:

PETALING JAYA: Streamyx broadband users will have to bear with sluggish surfing speeds until March 5 due to technical problems, according to Telekom Malaysia Bhd ™.

TM said in a statement that there has been a disruption of TM’s Internet services since Feb 18 due to circuit faults on the Asia Pacific Cable Network 2 (APCN2) between Malaysia and the United States.

Due to this, customers using Internet services may now experience slow browsing while accessing content hosted in the United States, said the statement.

Additionally, customers using Internet Protocol services such as Virtual Private Network (VPN) and other critical business applications linked to the United States may also experience some service degradation.

To alleviate the problem and ease the congestion, some links have been rerouted, TM said.

During restoration process, traffic to North America may experience minor degradation while traffic to other countries would not be affected.

Why this is likely to be bullshit:

apcn2_cable_route_mapThat’s the APCN2 network there. I would think any fault on this would affect ALL ISPS in the region, not just TMNet’s. Somehow I have not been hearing any reports of any slowdowns elsewhere and Singapore seems to be unaffected.

Why does http://www.tm.net.my, a local site not load?

Why do pings to TM’s own LOCAL DNS 202.188.0.133 timeout if it’s just the international cable?

Minor degradation????? Only the US? Alleviating and easing the congestion by moving them to already congested routes….

Of course I’m no network expert…but something doesn’t tally here if this was true.

And WHY DID THIS TAKE MORE THAN 1 WEEK TO ANNOUNCE?

------------------------------------------

me currently using 60.54.XX.XXX, speed is quite ok, acceptable but not as fast as before this problem happen. i'm at kota damansara area in PJ selangor... wonder how are other locations and ip address doing?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Feb 25 2009, 08:21 PM
ashin83
post Feb 25 2009, 08:19 PM

35 posts

finally can play my WoW...
tech3910
post Feb 25 2009, 08:20 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

but i hav no problem accessing US site.

even did a speedtest on LA server.
get 800+kbps on my 1mb package. not bad, considering i usually also get 800+ on kl server.

Silpheed
post Feb 25 2009, 08:22 PM

419 posts

seems okay, at least for eve-online...
skan1
post Feb 25 2009, 08:23 PM

45 posts

f*ck streamyx ... i got assignments to do but cannot download the softwares .. first time i actually couldn't domy assignments bcoz internet too slow. =(

got any fast proxies ?
fli_guy84
post Feb 25 2009, 08:25 PM

216 posts

Hmm seems like the connection is back to normal.

Hopefully this time it's permanent.

*Crossing fingers*
andrew9292
post Feb 25 2009, 08:30 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 25 2009, 08:20 PM)
but i hav no problem accessing US site.

even did a speedtest on LA server.
get 800+kbps on my 1mb package. not bad, considering i usually also get 800+ on kl server.
i usually get 1.5M on speedtest.net to local server for my 1mb connection, and around 800-1000 for international connection, now i only get maximum 500 for international, but 1.5M for local
farzan
post Feb 25 2009, 08:31 PM

23 posts

true...non of my friends in singapore n hong kong and india have any problem. what they say is total bullshit. even if what they is true, they can not reroute to any other network in that situation. AND. most of the websites in US load properly in deed. microsoft, yahoo, google, apple.... they load perfectly. yes they might have their servers here in malaysia as well but if the main cable got problem, even they would be affected right?...problem is with europe mostly...

I have been noticing some problems in my IP address assigning as well...I think their own routers and servers got problem, they can not route to certain networks...

I heard in TM they tried to increase the temperature of their air conditioners so save costs...maybe they messed up with the servers as well..who knows!!!
SUSKinitos
post Feb 25 2009, 08:31 PM

572 posts

TMNET is the best managed company in the world, its now planning to pay RM3.8 billions compensation to its shareholders. Thanks you guys for all the support all these years. Laughing all the way to the bank now
andrew9292
post Feb 25 2009, 08:34 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

lol i hope they dont increase their temperature for their datacenter. cos even a few celcius increase at a datacenter can be a huge disaster.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_center

so much techical expertise needed....i dont think TM is capable loh
zilch28
post Feb 25 2009, 08:39 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Feb 25 2009, 08:14 PM)
from VPN provider bolehvpn.net

http://www.bolehvpn.net/blog/

------------------------------------------

me currently using 60.54.XX.XXX, speed is quite ok, acceptable but not as fast as before this problem happen. i'm at kota damansara area in PJ selangor... wonder how are other locations and ip address doing?
IMO, this thing is total bullshit. Which part of US is in Asia Pacific? One of the route to US is through APCN2 > China-US CN or Japan-US CN. There's no way that this 2 CN would be down without anyone except our amazing TM knowing about it. As you can see, APCN2 is such a large cable that links Malaysia, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, and Philippines, yet only TM got affected..... Malaysia apa pun boleh!
eone
post Feb 25 2009, 08:40 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

seems to be okay now after restarting my modem, at least can access us servers now with moderate speed
farzan
post Feb 25 2009, 08:41 PM

23 posts

expertise?! heh..service centre act like they know nothing about the problem...called them maybe 6 times in tha past few weeks to check different people reactions..non of them seem to be aware of the problem..i asked them if they read newspapers at least..biggrin.gif:D

to save cost, they can do everything, even if its to screw their customers, cuz they know customers can not do any thing about it...its a shitty monopoly empire, we either have to use their internet or nothing (well others are worse than TM)...we can not even sue them in the court here...so....

This post has been edited by farzan: Feb 25 2009, 08:46 PM
cyberbebe
post Feb 25 2009, 08:48 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Feb 25 2009, 08:31 PM)
TMNET is the best managed company in the world, its now planning to pay RM3.8 billions compensation to its shareholders. Thanks you guys for all the support all these years. Laughing all the way to the bank now
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large nos...Ha nod.gif
Pascal
post Feb 25 2009, 08:57 PM

today was really fast compared to normal.. what a miracle!
minimize
post Feb 25 2009, 08:58 PM

1,543 posts

Yeahhh, a lot of improvement here. My Rapidshare also seems okay but with different server. rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
solstice818
post Feb 25 2009, 09:08 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

So, are we getting rebate then? *demanding rebate*
Instant_noodle
post Feb 25 2009, 09:11 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

if i have a gun....

IM GONNA UNLOAD IT INTO TMNUT'S CEO'S HEAD!!!
madspeed02
post Feb 25 2009, 09:20 PM

1,170 posts

connection normal today.hehe
DeanKueh
post Feb 25 2009, 09:22 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(geroro @ Feb 25 2009, 05:41 PM)
thats local laa, try test to us or other international server..

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:17 AM