Judith McNaught, the modern Regency Historical romance

TSshah_ho_nam2
post Feb 20 2009, 05:29 PM, updated 16y ago

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

There're some of us here red Judith writings. i never red one in fact i will read it very soon. since i saw 2 of them at my bookshelf, maybe i'll give it a try

Anyway here's a little something about this wonderful author

she also won several awards for his marvelous creations

Selected awards

* 1985 - Romantic Times Award for Best New Historical, Whitney, My Love
* 1986 - Romantic Times Critic's Choice Award for Best SuperRomance
* 1987 - Affaire de Coeur Golden Pen Certificate, Once and Always
* 1987 - Affaire de Coeur Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Historical Romance, Once and Always

Historicals

* Whitney, My Love (Whitney Stone, Clayton Westmoreland) (1985)
* Once and Always (Victoria Seaton, Jason Fielding) (1987)
* Something Wonderful (Alexandra Lawrence, Jordan Townsende) (1988)
* A Kingdom of Dreams (Jenny Merrick, Royce Westmoreland) (1989)
* Almost Heaven (Elizabeth Cameron, Ian Thorntan (1990)
* Until You (Sherry Bromleigh, Stephan Westmoreland) (1994)
* "Miracles" in A HOLIDAY OF LOVE (October 1995) & in SIMPLE GIFTS: Four Heartwarming Christmas Stories (1997)

Contemporaries

* Tender Triumph (1983)
* Double Standards (1984)
* Paradise (1991)
* Perfect (1993)
* "Double exposure" in A GIFT OF LOVE (1995)
* Remember When (1996)
* Night Whispers (1998)
* Someone to Watch Over Me (2003)
* Every Breath You Take (2005)
* Can't Take My Eyes Off of You (2010)

lunalovegood
post Feb 20 2009, 05:53 PM

111 posts

oh.. a thread for mcnaught by someone who havent even read a single book by her. nice. thumbup.gif
TSshah_ho_nam2
post Feb 20 2009, 06:04 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(lunalovegood @ Feb 20 2009, 06:53 PM)
oh.. a thread for mcnaught by someone who havent even read a single book by her. nice.  thumbup.gif
let other people tell me more about mc naught...
budakjahat
post Feb 26 2009, 03:11 PM

617 posts

Err.. I dunno la. Judith McNaught's stuff would probably appeal more to the ladies for me. I just can't imagine my husband reading her. Heheh.

Her work are more to the romance novels. Not chic-lit stuff, but like, 1800ish England time (sorry, can't seem to think of the appropriate 'era' name). All about courting, romance etc. Heheh.

I have all of her "historical" works, though I've lost my copy of Whitney, My Love. Of all her "historical" works, I love Something Wonderful the most. I love Alexandra cos she's spunky and tomboyish. Her historical books are sometimes inter-related, with characters in one book appearing in another, which makes it rather fun to read.

I've a few of her "contemporary" work as well, "Night Whisper" and another title, but I can't remember which one it is, maybe it's "Double Standards", if not mistaken.

I like McNaught's work. Another feel good, literary comfort food, but this one is more on the fun, I-don't-really-have-to-think side. (Dan Brown is another feel-good read, but his work at least require some brainwork compared to McNaught.
lunalovegood
post Feb 27 2009, 10:14 AM

111 posts

i read most of the historical too except for whitney, my love. even though i have to admit the plot is almost the same for every book, but i still cant help from picking it up. tongue.gif
budakjahat
post Feb 27 2009, 03:11 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(lunalovegood @ Feb 27 2009, 10:14 AM)
i read most of the historical too except for whitney, my love. even though i have to admit the plot is almost the same for every book, but i still cant help from picking it up. tongue.gif
Whitney is actually quite good as well. Have you read Until You? If you've read it, then there's a Whitney character in it, right? That's the same Whitney for Whitney, My Love and in that book, the hero is Stephen's brother, Clayton Westmoreland. biggrin.gif
lunalovegood
post Feb 27 2009, 03:25 PM

111 posts

yeah,i know, i've read Until You. i cant find "whitney, my love" anywhere though. i've searched kino, mph, borders still cant find it. maybe later check mph in midvalley. i just check the one in alamanda.
budakjahat
post Feb 28 2009, 11:20 AM

617 posts

ooo.. like that.. i'm in, like, central KL, so I hop around for books -- kino, borders, mph, popular.. even minerva and pustaka mukmin in Jalan TAR are not spared! biggrin.gif
shah_ho_nam
post Mar 9 2009, 02:36 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

she's just bought it at mph midvalley..

budakjahat
post Mar 23 2009, 10:22 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Mar 9 2009, 02:36 AM)
she's just bought it at mph midvalley..
Luna, it's been ages -- so what's the verdict for Whitney, My Love??

lunalovegood
post Mar 25 2009, 11:54 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 23 2009, 10:22 AM)
Luna, it's been ages -- so what's the verdict for Whitney, My Love??
its great!!!
the story is like roller coaster, up and down and up again.. its like when you were like, ahh... happy ending.. than another conflict interrupt. laugh.gif
ariel83
post Mar 27 2009, 10:31 AM

75 posts

I bought her whitney, my love at Kinokuniya ...but not yet read ..haha...heard there is good comment about the book, so bought it...happy.gif
budakjahat
post Mar 30 2009, 03:13 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(lunalovegood @ Mar 25 2009, 11:54 AM)
its great!!!
the story is like roller coaster, up and down and up again.. its like when you were like, ahh... happy ending.. than another conflict interrupt. laugh.gif
dat's why!

QUOTE(ariel83 @ Mar 27 2009, 10:31 AM)
I bought her whitney, my love at Kinokuniya ...but not yet read ..haha...heard there is good comment about the book, so bought it...happy.gif
it's a fun read actually -- no brainer, feel-good kind of romance novel.
ariel83
post Apr 3 2009, 01:23 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 30 2009, 03:13 PM)
dat's why!

it's a fun read actually -- no brainer, feel-good kind of romance novel.
Really...well let me finish my readings of Cecelia's collection 1st then i'll read it...haha....
annariana
post Apr 15 2009, 10:16 PM

197 posts

i love judith's works~!

only read one of her novels tho.. the kingdom of dreams.. i love the novel, the setting was soooo medieval.

and the heroes are really idealistic. i even get royce westmoreland (the guy in kingdom of dreams) appearing in my dreams! but i got his face substituted by orlando bloom hehehe~ tongue.gif

any wtses for other works of judith mcnaught?
yng
post Apr 18 2009, 12:18 PM

I have almost all her book collection except a few. Prefer her historicals and some of her contemporaries as I find her recent contemporaries having a too similar plot for her last few books.

Oh yeah, MPH online is giving 15% discount to her novels (after discount RM27.92) but not on the ones I don't have. sad.gif
This is the list of books on discount in mph online

A kingdom of Heaven
Almost Heaven
Every Breath You Take
Night Whispers
Once and Always
Perfect
Remember When
Something Wonderful
Tender Triumph
Until You
Whitney, My Love
wattamello
post Apr 27 2009, 02:26 PM

icon_question.gif
hey does anyone of you know where to download free ebook title something wonderful by judith mcnaught??
I've been reading judith mcnaught books through microsoft reader and i oftenly download free ebooks from esnip.com and 4shared.com
and as i continue searching for the book title something wonderful in 'lit' format, i cannot find it!!! any help please?? tq for your concern,anyway! blush.gif

and oohh~~
i like all the heroes in judith novels..typically tall, dark and handsome..good in managing bussiness~ sporty~ flex.gif ..etc..haha
and i prefer the historical novels more..maybe because of the title..duke, earl,countess..and the balls..it seems like a tale..which reminds me of cinderella..belle..huhu..quite dreamy..its good to relax your mind from the boring and disastrous real life..
and i really hope judith will write more about westmoreland..hee~~ rolleyes.gif
TSshah_ho_nam2
post Apr 30 2009, 03:58 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

lol you sure read a lot of books.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
what's the current one u read?

QUOTE(wattamello @ Apr 27 2009, 03:26 PM)
icon_question.gif
hey does anyone of you know where to download free ebook title something wonderful by judith mcnaught??
I've been reading judith mcnaught books through microsoft reader and i oftenly download free ebooks from esnip.com and 4shared.com
and as i continue searching for the book title something wonderful in 'lit' format, i cannot find it!!! any help please?? tq for your concern,anyway! blush.gif

and oohh~~
i like all the heroes in judith novels..typically tall, dark and handsome..good in managing bussiness~ sporty~ flex.gif ..etc..haha
and i prefer the historical novels more..maybe because of the title..duke, earl,countess..and the balls..it seems like a tale..which reminds me of cinderella..belle..huhu..quite dreamy..its good to relax your mind from the boring and disastrous real life..
and i really hope judith will write more about westmoreland..hee~~ rolleyes.gif
better go buy the actual copy lor
yng
post May 3 2009, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam2 @ Apr 30 2009, 03:58 PM)

lol you sure read a lot of books..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
what's the current one u read?
I assumed you're referring to me? last time read more books... now sort of lazy unless it's to avoid reading work-related stuff.. wink.gif My to-read-list is slowly getting longer....

Judith Mcnaught books.. read all that I have.. just looking out for the 2/3 books I missed out. Any other authors to recommend?

TSshah_ho_nam2
post May 4 2009, 09:37 AM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

QUOTE(yng @ May 3 2009, 09:53 PM)
I assumed you're referring to me? last time read more books... now sort of lazy unless it's to avoid reading work-related stuff.. wink.gif  My to-read-list is slowly getting longer....

Judith Mcnaught books.. read all that I have.. just looking out for the 2/3 books I missed out. Any other authors to recommend?
depend on what genre u like lah.. things like dan brown..

0.0218sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:58 AM