Where to buy iBasso D10 in Malaysia?
If I order it online, is there import duty impossed?
Ibasso D10 Cobra, need updates on it!!!
Feb 27 2009, 06:24 AM
1,200 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Where to buy iBasso D10 in Malaysia?
If I order it online, is there import duty impossed? |
Jun 18 2009, 11:13 PM
First thing first.
I do need a decent DAC/AMP, because my Thinkpad T61 soundcard is not quite good to drive my PFEs. I need more power and SQ too. So I decided to by the D10, based on reviews from head-fi gurus. The price is quite reasonable and the main feature which I like is the 'SPDIF optical/coax' Digital input, where I can use it with my cheap DVD player and my desktop PC's optical out. The sound. 1) Generally, this amp is a WARM amp, where you may find it's bass and treble are boosted a little. 2) I read somewhere, that iBasso create the amp based on ER4 as a reference. I might be wrong. 3) This warm sound do match very well with PFEs 4) With PFEs, it sound more fuller and cleaner 5) The detail or resolution is superb, magnificent. No DAP can challenge this yet 6) The high, is sparkling and detailed 7) Due to the warm sound signature, you may find it, much BIGGER soundstage. Or, you may find it you are listening a bit back from the front row. With UM3X, it is definitely an awesome 3D imaging. Very good for classical and jazz. 8) The main thing is the POWER to drive PFEs. I found it, the sound signature changes accordingly with the volume level. Even with the high volume level, it is still very nice and easy to your ears, compared to the 'LOUD' sound from full volume of the Touch 2G. But,please don't do this often Cons 1) It picks up GSM noise excellently 2) With UM3X, you can hear hissing (when connected with USB) or hum when I touch the volume knob. Wow, UM3X is very sensitive. Overall it is a very good performance DAC/AMP. BTW, I never tried the analog line line (amp mode) yet. So no comment. Thank you This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 18 2009, 11:16 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 11:30 PM
Yup, directly from D10's headphone jack. Also I am not rich to get Predator, Pico, P51, SR-71a ... just to amp the other amp
Ehem, yup. I think Headphoneaddict (HPA) listening taste is similar to mine, might be because of age Yup, the UM3X is very sensitive, but once the music flows.... no noise can stop it This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 18 2009, 11:34 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 11:36 PM
Yes, I know that
This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 18 2009, 11:41 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 11:40 PM
Ala ... don't be so formal lah.... Just treat me, as your close friend. I am still learning ...
I registered on headwize.com BEFORE head-fi.org But, even with higher impedance, the sensitivity is still 124 dB/mW@1kHz. So,refer dB/mW the sensitivity, not the impedance. Ye la... W3's sensitvity is 107dB/mW@1kHx.. similar to PFEs... but, PFEs sound 'thin' without amp, but W3 are much more fuller, because of 3 drivers. This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 18 2009, 11:50 PM |
Jun 19 2009, 10:12 AM
SPDIF = Sony Phillips Digital Interface, is a digital Protocol. Optical / coax is a MEDIUM. Both are diferent things, because with optical medium, you can carry different type of protocol such as, Ethernet, Fiber channel,...
Reference http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TOSLINK |
Jun 19 2009, 06:50 PM
Why? you think female cannot be an audiophile kah ? he heh he he...
Care to tell us, what headphone is that? |
Jun 19 2009, 07:03 PM
Wow, your taste is very high
Errr... actually I knew her ok ok ok .. Back to topic The cable is just simple 3.5 mm mini jack to standard RCA. You can DIY it for less than RM10. http://www.ramelectronics.net/audio-video/.../prodSPDIF.html This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 19 2009, 07:07 PM |
Jun 20 2009, 09:24 AM
Make it simple.
Your laptop has SPDIF in mini jack format. Your amp has spdif RCA or TOSLINK (optical) ? If your amp only has TOSLINK interface so ... use the minijack -> TOSLINK interface la,, |
Jun 21 2009, 05:38 PM
Here is a simple explanation about DAC.
Source -> (Digital Data) -> DAC -> (Analog Signal)-> AMP -> Headphones 1) All digital players MUST have DAC. 2) DAC performance varies due to cost saving and size. So, a separate DAC/AMP do sound better due to better power supply, better electronic design (less noise, high dynamic range) and better components quality. Sometime you can hear hiss noise, distorted or underpowered sound with standard mp3 player or laptop. But with external DAC and AMP, you may get a better sound detail (resolution), more bass umph!!, and deeper bass and more extended treble. You will notice all these with a good ear/headphones. TQ |
Jun 21 2009, 05:52 PM
Nope! my daughter is 3 years old
Jun 21 2009, 10:51 PM
I think you got the wrong person, because, she just received the offer letter from USM
Back to topic. Currently "In Nirvana", listening Diana Krall's album "From This Moment On" with UM3X and D10.. Wow... after 2 weeks, my brain already burn-in with it's sound signature. Now I can appreciate how good are this combinations. Bass: Wonderful. Secukup rasa. Just nice Mids/Vocal : No need to say more... Lush... also 'Secukup Rasa'. No exaggeration. Treble: Eventhough much less sparkle than PFEs, but, it's sound natural. No problem, my brain can adjust it Overall : Beautiful and well balanced sound. This post has been edited by bahathir: Jun 21 2009, 11:08 PM |
Sep 15 2009, 03:47 PM
9-11 oclock @ DAC mode is normal. Eventhough D10 is the headphones amp, but, it is not as powerful as desktop amp, or the silver amp (as jkleekc mentoned). Yes, everything is about voltage and current. You can try few opamps/buffer combinatons to get more output power.
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:38 AM |