post Jun 18 2009, 10:48 PM

Without A Dream In My Heart.
1,385 posts

well any review bahathir?
Paca
post Jun 18 2009, 11:01 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jun 18 2009, 10:59 PM)
Don't spam lah paca.

Tis isnt /k/
Ok..
but we need a review from a fellow forumer cry.gif cry.gif
Paca
post Jun 18 2009, 11:24 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 18 2009, 11:13 PM)
First thing first.
I do need a decent DAC/AMP, because my Thinkpad T61 soundcard is not quite good to drive my PFEs. I need more power and SQ too. So I decided to by the D10, based on reviews from head-fi gurus. The price is quite reasonable and the main feature which I like is the 'SPDIF optical/coax' Digital input, where I can use it with my cheap DVD player and my desktop PC's optical out.

The sound.
1) Generally, this amp is a WARM amp, where you may find it's  bass and treble are boosted a little.
2) I read somewhere, that iBasso create the amp based on ER4 as a reference. I might be wrong.
3) This warm sound do match very well with PFEs
4) With PFEs, it sound  more fuller and cleaner
5) The detail or resolution is superb, magnificent. No DAP can challenge this yet smile.gif
6) The high, is sparkling and detailed
7) Due to the warm  sound signature, you may find it, much BIGGER soundstage. Or, you may find it you are listening a bit back from the front row. With UM3X, it is definitely an awesome 3D imaging. Very good for classical and jazz.
8) The main thing is the POWER to drive PFEs. I found it, the sound signature changes accordingly with the volume level. Even with the high volume level, it is still very nice and easy to your ears, compared to the 'LOUD' sound from full volume  of the Touch 2G.  But,please  don't do this often

Cons smile.gif.
1) It picks up GSM noise excellently smile.gif.
2) With UM3X, you can hear hissing (when connected with USB)  or hum when I touch the volume knob. Wow, UM3X is very sensitive.

Overall it is a very good performance DAC/AMP.

BTW, I never tried the analog line line (amp mode) yet. So no comment.

Thank you
so im guessing that u use straight from a 3.5" jack?

I expect nothing less than the headphoneaddict student himself wink.gif
+1 point for ypu..
Paca
post Jun 18 2009, 11:34 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 18 2009, 11:30 PM)
Yup, directly from D10's headphone jack. Also I am not rich to get Predator, Pico, P51, SR-71a ... just to amp the other amp smile.gif

Ehem, yup. I think Headphoneaddict  (HPA) listening taste is similar to mine, might be because of age smile.gif
get a optical/toslink glass cable like my older bro..
he said people like you guys are analytical listeners..dont let the interconnect became yours weakest link smile.gif

d10 and yet way too humble.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Paca
post Jun 18 2009, 11:38 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 18 2009, 11:36 PM)
Yes, I know that smile.gif... FYI, I started listening via full digital link since 20 years ago smile.gif... But, I really like to enjoy my listening without being to fussy or too demanding smile.gif
Until You registered in head fi? laugh.gif
nice folks ya this man..
by da way..
hes quite old so respect him more ok people.. rclxms.gif

Added on June 18, 2009, 11:40 pmfor icyfawkes references smile.gif

W3 Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL Frequency response: 20 Hz -18 kHz Impedance: 30 ohms

Um3x Sensitivity: 124dB/mW. Frequency response: 20 Hz -18 kHz. Impedance: 56 ohms

i thought higher impedance lesser hiss?

This post has been edited by Paca: Jun 18 2009, 11:40 PM
Paca
post Jun 18 2009, 11:53 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 18 2009, 11:40 PM)
Ala ... don't be so  formal lah.... Just treat me, as your close friend. I am still learning ... smile.gif
I registered on headwize.com BEFORE  head-fi.org smile.gif

But, even with higher impedance, the sensitivity is still 124 dB/mW@1kHz.  So,refer dB/mW  the sensitivity, not the impedance.

Ye la... W3's sensitvity is 107dB/mW@1kHx.. similar to PFEs... but, PFEs sound 'thin' without amp, but  W3 are much more fuller, because of 3 drivers.
really?
then why people use a 75 ohm resistor to kill the hiss? rclxub.gif
Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 09:25 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 19 2009, 12:40 AM)
Pardon me. i don't mean to intrude but i'm rather curious.

I see there are threads about D2 and D10. But there's seem no serious talks about T4.

I guess it is really not that popular huh?
T4 i think is way overpriced sweat.gif
but the d10 however comes with optical..

is optical is the same as spdif?
Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 10:34 AM

1,385 posts

ok heres the probs come in..
when at my uni..
im using acer 5920g laptop..
it said that it support spdif..
do i need a spdif converter or what??
or i should buy one and try to connect it.
if cant then i go buy the usb adapter?
Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 06:36 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(scorpiongurl @ Jun 19 2009, 06:24 PM)
No problem with it.. It support SPDIF data format... but which type of medium? cable or optical? If the optical use the standard TOSLINK, than no converter needed. If it use the standard RCA, than normal audio RCA cable is enough. D10 has both type of SPDIF interface type.

TQ.
you?
you in usm also?+a female drool.gif drool.gif
in audio flex.gif drool.gif drool.gif
i not lonely anymore biggrin.gif
lol..
i jus received email that my headphone is SPDIF supported..so buy a toslink cable then changed it to 3.5mm.. notworthy.gif
Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 06:54 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 19 2009, 06:50 PM)
Why? you think female cannot be an audiophile kah ? he heh he he...

Care to tell us, what headphone is that?
senn hd600..
i need a cable+amp..
the headput jack not enuff juice cry.gif

can ngorat also wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by Paca: Jun 19 2009, 06:54 PM
Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 08:03 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 19 2009, 07:03 PM)
Wow, your taste is very high smile.gif. Congratulation.... I only tried my friend's Senn 595, and if you likes the Senn sound signature, than you may like PFE too

Errr... actually I knew her smile.gif. AND... I mistakenly/accidentally  posted the message with her ID smile.gif hhe heh he he .. sorry for the confusion... he heh he he...  But, you may still have chance to 'ngorat' her, ... but .....

ok ok ok .. Back to topic smile.gif... Wait.. what amp are you using ?
The cable is just simple 3.5 mm mini jack to standard RCA. You can DIY it for less than RM10.
http://www.ramelectronics.net/audio-video/.../prodSPDIF.html
what a small world whistling.gif
lawa x?wakakak~
i alreadi had a gf and i love her with all my heart wub.gif

me DIY?
me damn low skill.very low..
bahathir..
you work in this type of field rite..
can do a cable for me?

im looking for glass toslink but 1 end must be made 3.5mm jack..can?
do this 1 for me n 1 for u also thumbup.gif

Paca
post Jun 19 2009, 11:06 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jun 19 2009, 11:02 PM)
paca...
to use the spdif port on ur laptop...
u need a mini-toslink adapter...
it looks like a 3.5 jack but for optical signal...
and that little piece of crap is damn hard to find!

good luck finding for mini-toslink to toslink cable man... biggrin.gif
you know about this??????
help me pls cry.gif cry.gif
Paca
post Jun 20 2009, 08:59 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:06 AM)
mini to jack toslink adaptor...those i think u need to search around maybe in Giant, Tesco or audio electric shop may have.....
i think u better ask pcwork to diy u a cable for hd600 since he got some cardas connectors which is very good for senheisser...rhodium plated plugs...
makes senheiiser more faster, detail and less veilly....
cardas connector?
but it is still a mini-toslink rite?
or not? sad.gif
Paca
post Jun 20 2009, 09:35 AM

1,385 posts

at the moment using zero..
but if go back i cant bring the amp cuz its not mine..
how?
buy d10? sad.gif
Paca
post Jun 20 2009, 11:24 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Jun 20 2009, 11:16 AM)
nope ler cardas connector is for senheisser cable ler if u r planning to recable yur hd600... doh.gif
the pic up there is wat u need to get ... the mini jack to toslink...
recabling? drool.gif drool.gif
how much it going to ketok me? drool.gif
Paca
post Jun 20 2009, 09:49 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Jun 20 2009, 03:08 PM)
ask pcwork to quote u the price hehe
sep,,can give the the green light on this product?
or i should go for philips/monster?

http://bluetin.com/interconnect-cables.htm...fd988446a448a3f

Paca
post Jun 21 2009, 05:11 PM

1,385 posts

1.DAC stands for digital analog converter..
2.it coverts digital data to analog biggrin.gif
3.no because h/out is from internal SQ not directly from source biggrin.gif
Paca
post Jun 21 2009, 05:47 PM

1,385 posts

bahathir..
ur daughter what school?
in usm

This post has been edited by Paca: Jun 21 2009, 05:47 PM
Paca
post Jun 21 2009, 06:05 PM