80 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

juicyjessy
post Jun 17 2009, 05:09 PM

19 posts

[quote=c.o.o.l,Jun 17 2009, 01:38 PM]
Would you like to consider for Prudential?

- ICU, outpatient cancer, outpatient kidney dialysis is as charge
- No claim bonus. Means if a year you did not make any claim, there will be bonus credit to your account.
- Can choose to waive annual limit
- Can choose to cover up to age 100.

If you are interested, give me a pm.

Added on June 17, 2009, 1:41 pm

but that is co-insurance rite?
how much for age 25-30?
tinkerbel
post Jun 17 2009, 05:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@juicyjessy,
If U go with just the H+S plan under PMM5 RM300, u'll be looking at about RM200 p/month.
chew_ronnie
post Jun 17 2009, 05:57 PM

380 posts

[quote=juicyjessy,Jun 17 2009, 05:09 PM]
[quote=c.o.o.l,Jun 17 2009, 01:38 PM]
Would you like to consider for Prudential?

- ICU, outpatient cancer, outpatient kidney dialysis is as charge
- No claim bonus. Means if a year you did not make any claim, there will be bonus credit to your account.
- Can choose to waive annual limit
- Can choose to cover up to age 100.

If you are interested, give me a pm.

Added on June 17, 2009, 1:41 pm

but that is co-insurance rite?
how much for age 25-30?

[/quote]

HI everyone:

This is my summary
GE - Smart Medic The highest lifetime limit with the most number of days (180 days on normal room and board / yr) - drawback - co-insurance clause and the co-payment if exceed R&B charges up to no cap!
Pru - PMM5 annual limit and lifetime limit not as high as GE's smart medic (120days on normal room and board / yr) - drawback - co-insurance clause
Pru - PruHealth has the option to NCB and option up to age 80 or 100 and option to go for no annual limit cap- drawback - co-insurance clause higher than PMM5 (if i'm not mistaken), also the COI (cost of insurance is way higher than PMM5)
Allianz - Medicover annual limit and lifetime limit same as PMM5 (150 days on normal room and board/ disability), no-co-insurance - drawback - annual limit not so high as compared to GE's Smart Medic and PruHealth
HLA - No co-insurance, drawback - lifetime limit quite low at 3X
ING - same as HLA

These are the best cards running in the market at the moment - c which suits u most as these cards has outpatient cancer and kidney dialysis treatment are as-charged.

These cards are best bought with ILP and the cheapest package ILP with medical card rider, I would say it's Allianz. (Agents from other comp pls correct me if i'm wrong). Allianz can do RM150/mth for a RM300 room and board for ppl below 30 yrs.

Hope this can help u in choosing.

Rgds

This post has been edited by chew_ronnie: Jun 17 2009, 06:11 PM
p3nang
post Jun 17 2009, 08:18 PM

168 posts

Hi, ING adviser here ready for service. smile.gif
juicyjessy
post Jun 18 2009, 09:21 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Jun 17 2009, 05:57 PM)
HI everyone:

This is my summary
GE - Smart Medic The highest lifetime limit with the most number of days (180 days on normal room and board / yr) - drawback - co-insurance clause and the co-payment if exceed R&B charges up to no cap!
Pru - PMM5 annual limit and lifetime limit not as high as GE's smart medic (120days on normal room and board / yr) - drawback - co-insurance clause
Pru - PruHealth has the option to NCB and option up to age 80 or 100 and option to go for no annual limit cap- drawback - co-insurance clause higher than PMM5 (if i'm not mistaken), also the COI (cost of insurance is way higher than PMM5)
Allianz - Medicover annual limit and lifetime limit same as PMM5 (150 days on normal room and board/ disability), no-co-insurance - drawback - annual limit not so high as compared to GE's Smart Medic and PruHealth
HLA - No co-insurance, drawback - lifetime limit quite low at 3X
ING - same as HLA

These are the best cards running in the market at the moment - c which suits u most as these cards has outpatient cancer and kidney dialysis treatment are as-charged.

These cards are best bought with ILP and the cheapest package ILP with medical card rider, I would say it's Allianz. (Agents from other comp pls correct me if i'm wrong). Allianz can do RM150/mth for a RM300 room and board for ppl below 30 yrs.

Hope this can help u in choosing.

Rgds
Hi, thanks for the above infor. It's usefull to all here.
I'm act considering of either HLA or Allianz only. The thing that i found out why HLA more expensive than others is some clause they have and others no. Some more their premium higher is maybe co-in alr added in since co-ins is bank negara rules. Finally, i'm still considering of HLA though it's expensive but i think its worth. However, the problem is i heard lots bad comments bout the claim procedure. Frens and agent's client also comments that HLA claim is very difficult and etc. So.....it's make me stuck.

This post has been edited by juicyjessy: Jun 18 2009, 09:21 AM
numbertwo
post Jun 18 2009, 09:44 AM

1,788 posts

You mentioned HLA is more expensive, you mentioned HLA has more clauses than others, and more so If claims is deemed to be that difficult, and you hear it from so many parties, you should just ignore them , period. You don't want to scream and yell and curse when it comes to claim, isn't it? It's clear cut to me. Why such a dilemma?
c.o.o.l
post Jun 18 2009, 10:30 AM

241 posts

Since you think that HLA have so many problem. Why you still consider it as an option? Is there any superior benefits that HLA offering?
Comparing to HLA, will Allianz have the problem too? If not, then you already have the answer.
chew_ronnie
post Jun 18 2009, 01:48 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(juicyjessy @ Jun 18 2009, 09:21 AM)
I'm act considering of either HLA or Allianz only. The thing that i found out why HLA more expensive than others is some clause they have and others no. Some more their premium higher is maybe co-in alr added in since co-ins is bank negara rules. Finally, i'm still considering of HLA though it's expensive but i think its worth. However, the problem is i heard lots bad comments bout the claim procedure. Frens and agent's client also comments that HLA claim is very difficult and etc. So.....it's make me stuck.
Its kind of weird u are mentioning the few drawbacks from HLA and you are still insist on HLA. SUPRISED! blink.gif Then just go ahead with Allianz la. I dun encounter any claims problem during these few years attached to Allianz, so if the premium is cheaper and no co-ins, i dun c y u cant just get Allianz. And btw, can you share what HLA clause is superior than other companies? We want to know. Thanks.
juicyjessy
post Jun 19 2009, 09:53 AM

19 posts

Act HLA and Allianz premium is not much diff. But HLA did have additional benefit as below:

i) Daily cash as a result of hospitality due to Road Accident at Highway (150) days.
ii) In Hospitality Physiotherapy Treatment
iii) Organt transplant which Allianz didnt mentioned on their schedule.
iv) Day surgery benefit
v) Emergency Accidental Outpatient Treatment (no limit) which Allianz did.
vi) Emergency Accidental Dental Treatment
vii) O/patient Physiotherapy treatment
viii) Emergency Evacuation Repatriation
x) Daily cash allowance. (Allianz did have but additional charges)

As for claim problem, just fren and agent told me that diff. So, i have no idea whether it's or not. So, just hope can get some comments here from the policy holder.

Added on June 19, 2009, 9:56 am
QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Jun 18 2009, 01:48 PM)
Its kind of weird u are mentioning the few drawbacks from HLA and you are still insist on HLA. SUPRISED! blink.gif Then just go ahead with Allianz la. I dun encounter any claims problem during these few years attached to Allianz, so if the premium is cheaper and no co-ins, i dun c y u cant just get Allianz. And btw, can you share what HLA clause is superior than other companies? We want to know. Thanks.
Hi, thanks for the comment on Allianz.

This post has been edited by juicyjessy: Jun 19 2009, 10:09 AM
4lenAngel
post Jun 19 2009, 10:33 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(atake @ May 30 2009, 08:03 PM)
I think there is no limit for medical coverage provided by my company only there is a limited coverage as follows:

1)Room rate at RM120 per night.However, i can increase it every year up to RM300 per night if i want.This will deductible from my salary.
2)Can't claim for complicated dental treatment such as bridge, and dental surgery.

Otherwise,is ok.we have our one panel clinic and hospital to choose such as Ampang Puteri,Tawakal,Gleaneagles and etc.

I has been hospitalized before for accident and all the treatment has been covered by my company.So,should i buy medical insurance now or buy it after retirement.Even the premium is higher, long term i think i will still save compare start paying now .
Bro Atake it would be wise of u if u get a insurance + medical policy..if u take prudential it comes with saving.. so when ur retiring u'll have some savings there as well..
Well now u have room for rm120 / night.. u can choose the rm300 room that moment.. and u pay for it and claim it back from prudential..and also u'll be entitled for admittance allowance and surgeries done. U should seek for for a prudential rep for further info.. Cheers!!
ChinHong86
post Jun 19 2009, 10:49 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(Crazyallen @ Jun 17 2009, 01:31 PM)
Hi, as i know now GE medical card which combination with investment link 1 called Smart Medic offer the best medical card in town.
Here are some other important elements in medical coverage that you should concerned about when u buy medical card:
1) Pre-hospitalization and post-hospitalization claims.
2) Limit payable for outpatient treatment; for accident, cancer and kidney dialysis respectively.
3) Room & board and ICU maximum days of coverage.
4) Annual limit & lifetime limit.

GE smart medic Room150;
i)Hospital room & board ( maximum, up to 180days )
ii)ICU (Per day up to 180 days)
iii)Emergency Accident outpatient treatment ( maximum 30days from date of accident ) - RM3000/ annual.
iv)Overall annual limit - RM90000 ( Increase to the initial overall annual limit -RM9000 )
v)Lifetime limit - RM720000

So, can i know out there still got any medical card which offer better than GE?
Thx for sharing  rclxms.gif
AIA provide a new medical card.. MCP + ECP 150
i) NO lifetime limit (1st and the only one in market)
ii) Guaranteed renewal till 100 years old

If TS is interested, we can set up an appointment...
you can contact me at 017-2917130
i am Darren Lim Chin Hong
Justin1000
post Jun 20 2009, 02:26 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(juicyjessy @ Jun 18 2009, 10:21 AM)
Always remember, premium for medical card(Hospital & Surgical Insurance) is not guaranteed. Insurer can increase the premium with approval from the Regulator. As such you may buy low and premium can increase as and when the insurer is losing money. Look at it this way, you should not just look at low premium, also look at the insurer's track record how often and at what quantum they have been increasing the premium. If an insurer starts to simply pay claim liberally, chances are they will lose money and they have to increase the premium. No insurer will want to do a losing business.......
mtsen
post Jun 21 2009, 01:28 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(Justin1000 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:26 AM)
Always remember, premium for medical card(Hospital & Surgical Insurance) is not guaranteed. Insurer can increase the premium with approval from the Regulator. As such you may buy low and premium can increase as and when the insurer is losing money. Look at it this way, you should not just look at low premium, also look at the insurer's track record how often and at what quantum they have been increasing the premium. If an insurer starts to simply pay claim liberally, chances are they will lose money and they have to increase the premium. No insurer will want to do a losing business.......
No insurer wants to do a losing business but as far as medical statistic goes, different insurer has different perception on medical risk and it is POSSIBLE that one insurer under-estimate the risk and provide good deal on medical plan which later they stop the plan, in such case, it IS A GOOD DEAL if the consumer is able to sign up to such plan before they stop it.
Justin1000
post Jun 21 2009, 09:39 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mtsen @ Jun 21 2009, 02:28 AM)
No insurer wants to do a losing business but as far as medical statistic goes, different insurer has different perception on medical risk and it is POSSIBLE that one insurer under-estimate the risk and provide good deal on medical plan which later they stop the plan, in such case, it IS A GOOD DEAL if the consumer is able to sign up to such plan before they stop it.
Many people assume the same way you assume, not knowing that as far as Hospitalisation and Surgical Insurance is concerned, even if you lock in early, no guarantee that your premium will not go up to a level that you cannot afford anymore. In which case, even the insurer continue to transact this portfolio, you may not be able to keep paying the high premium, unless of course you are in bad shape and continue to claim, otherwise for a healthy person, there would be no reason to continue by then. Again once that happens, more healthy people leave the portfolio leaving only the sick people who will continue to claim....insurers will continue to increase premium.....premium keep rising...finally even the sick people cannot sustain to continue paying premium..... so without having the insurer to withdraw, you may withdraw by yourself.... of course the insurers will try their very best to avoid this.....

p3nang
post Jun 21 2009, 11:56 PM

168 posts

But, have you guys ever think why the premium keep increasing?
It is because the inflation of medical cost. So if you cannot sustain the premium, how are you going to sustain the medical cost by yourself? smile.gif
Justin1000
post Jun 22 2009, 08:26 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(p3nang @ Jun 22 2009, 12:56 AM)
But, have you guys ever think why the premium keep increasing?
It is because the inflation of medical cost. So if you cannot sustain the premium, how are you going to sustain the medical cost by yourself? smile.gif
Medical inflation is just one of the factors contributing to premium hike. The others include abuse and misuse of medical cards while the insurers are competing with each other on whose card is the best by ease of claim (pay as many things as possible) with low premium. Simply because insurers know that they can increase the premium by hiding behind the buzz word of medical inflation. They do not have to explain how they manage their risk management. And their last resort would be just withdraw the product from the shelf. Though they cannot take away the policy from the existing policyholders, there is nothing to stop them fro increasing the premium...

Hospitalisation and surgical insurance is unlike Life policy, which once you lock in at a low premium it stays until the policy matures or expires. As such it is always good to buy when young for life policy as the premium is low and guaranteed(not changed except for term plan).

Having said that it is not that we cannot buy H&S insurance, it is just that we should not just go for the low premium, we should look at track records of the insurers in managing the premium hike, if they have been freely increasing their premium in the past frequently with high quantum, then one should think carefully. The other area would be the services etc....

numbertwo
post Jun 22 2009, 09:34 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Justin1000 @ Jun 22 2009, 08:26 AM)

Having said that it is not that we cannot buy H&S insurance, it is just that we should not just go for the low premium, we should look at track records of the insurers in managing the premium hike, if they have been freely increasing their premium in the past frequently with high quantum, then one should think carefully. The other area would be the services etc....
Thanks for sharing, but how often can a general public like us get these kind of information, especially the details of their past history on the premium increment? As this is not made available to public, not even the agent knows (or would they tell the truth?) i guess, we can only look out for a few other criterias when it comes to comparing the medical card products, and premium is one of it. Another key criteria would be whether the product will have the guaranteed renewal term in it or not, something like they cannot reject, or will not increase the premium, or introduce new exclusions on renewals..And plan withdrawal or premium increase must be done on portfolio basis.. That's as far as I can go when it comes to choosing a MC..
mtsen
post Jun 22 2009, 09:54 AM

1,473 posts

Just want to make it CLEAR that

should NOT go for LOW premium

DOES NOT EQUAL TO

should go for HIGH premium.

it is plain dump to pay more just because you dont want to pay less. If the features and the same, one should still go for lower premium - more value for money.

Which insurer are you referring to that charges high premium NOW and will NOT increase premium in future like the way you described ?

Added on June 22, 2009, 9:56 am
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jun 22 2009, 09:34 AM)
Thanks for sharing, but how often can a general public like us get these kind of information, especially the details of their past history on the premium increment?  As this is not made available to public, not even the agent knows (or would they tell the truth?) i guess, we can only look out for a few other criterias when it comes to comparing the medical card products, and premium is one of it.  Another key criteria would be whether the product will have  the guaranteed renewal term in it or not, something like they cannot reject, or will not increase the premium, or introduce new exclusions on renewals..And plan withdrawal or premium increase must be done on portfolio basis..  That's as far as I can go when it comes to choosing a MC..
these info are NOT hidden on purpose neither, just request these info, whoever can provide you the most transparent info may be the one you should adhere to ... thats if you care about transparency that much. if not, then it is you yourself who give out on finding this data, not because other ppl do not feed you.

This post has been edited by mtsen: Jun 22 2009, 09:56 AM
c.o.o.l
post Jun 22 2009, 11:53 AM

241 posts

Some of the hospitals will be charging more expensive than normal price if you are paying with insurance. Thats one of the reason why medical expenses goes up. This happens especially when the medical card have no co-insurance.

So if you are paying medical bill with insurance, be sure to take up responsibility to question the hospital when the bill is unreasonable. Don't just think that as long as you no need to pay out then will be ok.
chew_ronnie
post Jun 22 2009, 12:35 PM

380 posts

It is not hard to get a medical card! Every company's med cards has their pros and cons, there is no one card is the best in the market. So actually it comes back to the benefits you are looking for, features such as guarantee renewable and co-insurance issues. These are the things that one shud look at rather than getting the cheapest or the most expensive. Most expensive may not equal the best!

All med cards in the market has this clause that says the premium is not guaranteed and subject to the companies claim profile and insurance companies will increase prior 90 days notice to policyholders. So if everyone is so worried about this clause, it means that M'sians SHOULD NOT buy medical cards? No way right, so get the cards that favours you the best, not the price.

80 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:22 AM