can any agent PM me for standalone medical card, please only pm me if there's standalone MC as i already have other insurance, thanks.
medical / critical illness insurance enquiry
Feb 23 2012, 09:01 AM
488 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
can any agent PM me for standalone medical card, please only pm me if there's standalone MC as i already have other insurance, thanks.
Feb 23 2012, 09:27 AM
1,788 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: PJ lamansara... :D |
QUOTE(vandoren @ Feb 23 2012, 09:01 AM) can any agent PM me for standalone medical card, please only pm me if there's standalone MC as i already have other insurance, thanks. There are quite a few good standalone MC plans in the market. Of my mind you may check with AXA-Affin, Tokio Marine, or Pacific Insurance...they offer quite a competitive standalone plan. And if you don't mind dealing with purchasing yourself, without agent, why not considered a walk-in customer, you may entitle to some discounts. |
Feb 23 2012, 09:51 AM
76 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Once or twice I have seen people with crutches or some type of injury, at the counter of my insurance company, filling up claim forms. It means one of 3 things:-
- the insured's agent is a bloody jerk who has shamed my industry, by not providing services expected to the client - the agent was a friend or relative who is no longer in the industry - the insured tried to save some money and bought direct from the company but has to do the footwork to process the claim For the first 2 cases, I will normally try to help where possible to redeem the credibility of the industry. Yes, this is not a perfect world. But my question to everyone is..... how important and valuable are you to yourself? |
Feb 23 2012, 10:19 AM
There is always a scenario whereby ppl are good to practise 'pay first claim later' scenario.. there are times that agent is 'good to have', but there are also times that I think I would save a few pennies without an agent is OK too.
Feb 23 2012, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 23 2012, 10:19 AM) There is always a scenario whereby ppl are good to practise 'pay first claim later' scenario.. there are times that agent is 'good to have', but there are also times that I think I would save a few pennies without an agent is OK too. True, true. Everybody has a choice and the moment of truth |
Feb 23 2012, 11:23 AM
Feb 23 2012, 11:56 AM
41 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Definitely you can save some pennies if go directly without agents.But you need to really go through and understand the plan yourself...
Some peoples prefer agents is because to save the time (Provided you get a really good agents ;-)). It is just a matter of choices, not right or wrong.As a consumer you always have a right to choose. |
Feb 23 2012, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 23 2012, 11:23 AM) 'moment of truth' - sounds sarcastics? Join discussion here as a open-minded forummer will gain you more reputation than being stand solely as an agent point of view. 2cents worth. The moment of truth is for example1) trying to enjoy Term Life, PA & 36 Critical Illness at the cheapest possible premium OR 2) If I had a critical illness like cancer, and I wish to take up life insurance, the insurer will either decline or load my application. How do I get this insurance coverage FREE OF CHARGE ( full term coverage after 2 years of inception up to age 65)? |
Feb 28 2012, 11:46 AM
66 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
guys,
this might be a dumb question. Im doing my e filling now and want to fully utilize the 'pelepasan'.Can someone enlighten me about the difference of life insurance and medical/education insurance? Thanks. |
Feb 28 2012, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(abgbes @ Feb 28 2012, 11:46 AM) guys, Life insurance relief is RM6000/- and covers insurance that pay for your death only. You can try claiming all other insurance premiums here if you still have balance relief here. This is shared with EPF contributions. Most employees never get a chance to fit their insurance relief here, because EPF max out the reliefthis might be a dumb question. Im doing my e filling now and want to fully utilize the 'pelepasan'.Can someone enlighten me about the difference of life insurance and medical/education insurance? Thanks. Education insurance and medical is RM3000/- relief. Medical insurance is stand alone policy or rider premium that do not give you any money back. Applied to critical illness premium where they give you about 30% of premium relief ( pls check) Education policy is premium which is paid for polices that have the word EDUCATION on them However I must say this. If you buy insurance to enjoy maximum tax relief, then I think you got all your priorities wrong ps better ask dumb question and become intelligent, rather than try to appear intelligent and remain dumb |
Feb 28 2012, 02:08 PM
1,039 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Penang Island Status: No Solidarity No Corruption |
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 23 2012, 10:19 AM) There is always a scenario whereby ppl are good to practise 'pay first claim later' scenario.. there are times that agent is 'good to have', but there are also times that I think I would save a few pennies without an agent is OK too. Yes you speech the true with or without agent okay too.. |
Feb 28 2012, 04:06 PM
66 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
bro rekamaju.thanks for the explanation.i completely agree if buying insurance just to enjoy tax relief if a total no no. it just that i want to fully utilize the reliefs given by our gov.i do not want to simply give my hard earned money to gov.
Feb 28 2012, 06:44 PM
946 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Any Great Eastern Agent here?
I would like to ask something. I have bought the plan called SmartProtect Essential Insurance 2 which includes savings..but when i saw the statement it turns out to be an investment.. izzit the same? 2nd question at the investment part there is a 'total insurance charge' every month, what is there charge for? I felt kena cheated here.. haha.. can anyone clarify? |
Feb 28 2012, 07:33 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Feb 28 2012, 06:44 PM) Any Great Eastern Agent here? Its protection + investment aka savingI would like to ask something. I have bought the plan called SmartProtect Essential Insurance 2 which includes savings..but when i saw the statement it turns out to be an investment.. izzit the same? 2nd question at the investment part there is a 'total insurance charge' every month, what is there charge for? I felt kena cheated here.. haha.. can anyone clarify? |
Feb 28 2012, 07:39 PM
I thought Saving plan <> Investment aka ILP. Saving Plan does not do investment (ie. into unit trust). I've not seen a Saving plan's statement, but ILP plan certainly has what hitsugaya2010 described, "investment part there is a 'total insurance charge' every month. So i'm pretty sure he has bought into a ILP plan with my limited knowledge!
Feb 29 2012, 10:32 AM
The total of insurance charge is quite high..its around rm90 per month.. what is this for? the agent did not mention to me this charging method..
Feb 29 2012, 11:51 AM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Feb 29 2012, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 29 2012, 11:51 AM) There isn't anything wrong with the statement I'm sure.. ILP always deduct insurance charges from the units purchased. The number of units purchased each year is done according to a scale, from first year 30%-40% up until 90% or more (differs in each insurance co.). So, in summary, 2 things happen every year in ILP product:Let's say your premium is 3000: 1. let say 30% allocated to buy unit trusts, u will then have let say $900 in your unit trust in this very first year. (Don't ask me where the rest of 70% of your premium has gone.. it goes to commission, and to cover insurance co.'s other expenditure I guess!!) 2. insurance cost will then be deducted from the units. Balance of the units is what you get to see in your yearly statement. It is as 'simple' as this. |
Feb 29 2012, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 29 2012, 12:18 PM) There isn't anything wrong with the statement I'm sure.. ILP always deduct insurance charges from the units purchased. The number of units purchased each year is done according to a scale, from first year 30%-40% up until 90% or more (differs in each insurance co.). So, in summary, 2 things happen every year in ILP product: From the statement, i can see they took almost 40% for investment.. but they minus policy fee and total insurance charge..total is around rm91.. then my investment becomes very little ady.. i thought if 40% for savings aka investment, they won't touch the money except their premium have increase its prices no? really blur now.. maybe must ask explanation from her.. huhu..Let's say your premium is 3000: 1. let say 30% allocated to buy unit trusts, u will then have let say $900 in your unit trust in this very first year. (Don't ask me where the rest of 70% of your premium has gone.. it goes to commission, and to cover insurance co.'s other expenditure I guess!!) 2. insurance cost will then be deducted from the units. Balance of the units is what you get to see in your yearly statement. It is as 'simple' as this. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Feb 29 2012, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Feb 29 2012, 06:31 PM) From the statement, i can see they took almost 40% for investment.. but they minus policy fee and total insurance charge..total is around rm91.. then my investment becomes very little ady.. i thought if 40% for savings aka investment, they won't touch the money except their premium have increase its prices no? really blur now.. maybe must ask explanation from her.. huhu.. unfortunately, that's how ILP works... Like I said, there is nothing wrong from the statement, it's the agent who owes you explanation.. |
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:36 PM |