9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right

ks98
post Jun 15 2009, 09:30 AM

460 posts

I sent some feedback to Digi (see post #1601) and surprisingly, i got a reply from Digi broadband head... i don't know if they really will do anything, let's wait n see... but, this is really a surprise to me as i've never received a reply from ISP when i sent customer feedback to them... So far, i'm very satisfied with Digi BB in terms of quality, customer service, speed and most importantly the stability... so far, i don't face any disconnection issue with Digi BB...

The reply as follow:
Thanks for your support & valuable feedbacks on DiGi Broadband.

You have some very valid and good points for us to consider. We will work on it immediately and hope to break some good news to you very soon.

Besides the billing issue, I hope you have good experience in other aspects like quality, speed & stability etc etc with our service.

Looking forward more feedbacks and continue support from you and family/friends.

Sincerely,
KJ Loh
Broadband, Head

This post has been edited by ks98: Jun 15 2009, 09:33 AM
ks98
post Jun 15 2009, 09:43 PM

460 posts

i have been Digi customer for many years... so far, never been disappointed by Digi yet smile.gif

Maxis and Celcom are out of my option list... for Maxis, i got the bill more than their service... for celcom, the only place to fix your issue is Celcom service centre (wasted my time only!)

but, that is few years back... probably, they have improved their service and product quality now... that's why it's very important to have an open competition environment...
ks98
post Jun 17 2009, 07:45 AM

460 posts

agree, if can increase Discover package from 3GB to 5GB, then it'll be the best package in the market...
ks98
post Jun 17 2009, 01:48 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(singwei @ Jun 17 2009, 12:45 PM)
The HP Mini Plan promotion is now officially in Digi Website.
http://www.digi.com.my/broadband/packages_promo.html

Just wonder anybody know the HP Mini Spec?
Last time during the road show, the same package was offered... if you're a heavy user then this is a good plan to go and at the same time, you can get a free HP Mini...

I think the Mini model is 2150 (with built-in 3G modem)... but, need to confirm it with HP...
ks98
post Jun 17 2009, 03:21 PM

460 posts

From what i know, there is no upfront payment coz the offer is thru credit card easy payment plan (or monthly installment via credit card)...

Upon approved, the bank will hold RM138 *24 = RM3312 from your credit card limit and bill you in monthly basis...

I was told there is no auto-billing rebate for this package...
ks98
post Jun 18 2009, 08:41 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(kkt @ Jun 17 2009, 11:07 PM)
Hi there.

Does Digi offer Network Modem like Maxis' ZTE MF600? I intend to get the Explorer package which only provides USB modem.
However, if I terminate Maxis BB, I have to return the ZTE and share internet access through router by multiple computers for broadband by DiGi USB modem would be difficult ... rclxub.gif

I don't think I would buy a network modem which costs ~RM600. Any other solutions? Thanks.
Digi only give you a free 3G modem when u subscribe to Explorer package... no network modem...

You can still share the internet via internet sharing or other method but that's not so convenient... probably you can buy a 3.5G wireless router...

Personally, i use CNet CWR635M 3.5G Wireless Router which bought from Mika at RM299... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/316492 (Hi Mika, i'm promoting your router now tongue.gif )...

So far, the router works perfectly well with my 3G modem... the router has other bonus features for you to explore as well, e.g FTP/Printer/Samba servers...
ks98
post Jun 18 2009, 11:29 AM

460 posts

you'll be capped at 128kbps after 20GB... but, you still can use it just that the speed is slow...

hopefully, this explain your question...
ks98
post Jun 18 2009, 01:24 PM

460 posts

agreed... Digi is definitely a smart choice if your area is under the 3G coverage...

me too... no regret to switch to Digi despite of the monthly quota...
ks98
post Jun 18 2009, 08:50 PM

460 posts

as far as i know... you will need to have a 3G wireless router in order to have wifi...

currently, digi postpaid is only with edge... in order to enjoy Digi HSPA, you need to subscribe Digi BB... i think digi will come out a postpaid bb package...
ks98
post Jun 19 2009, 08:22 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 18 2009, 09:57 PM)
Thx allrightall and fruitie =)

Yeah, I gots confusedsss with bits and bytes when I was reading the ad.

Thanks for clarifying again.

Does anyone have a bad experience so far with Digi BB? How's customer service? Since it's relatively new, I assume it's STILL good.
From my experience on Digi BB, except for unfixed monthly bill (coz digi will automatically charge u after the monthly quota)... everything is perfect to me...

ks98
post Jun 21 2009, 02:29 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 21 2009, 10:59 AM)
Woot! I'm going to get Digi soon! Wheee! * jumps around *

Does anyone have any tips since I'm a new user? It can be technical or just any friendly advice at all.

I see the light! Now I can WoW in peace.
If you're going to say very long with digi bb, then can consider the package with free modem... otherwise, pls get your own modem (w rebate for 12 months for this and how much of the rebate is depended on what package u're going to subscribe...)... with your own modem, you're basically contract-free...

I do admit that digi bb provide a good dl and up with a stable connection... but the downside as what others had said, you're easily exceeded the monthly quota which end-up you have to pay more than what u re expected... if you're not a budget minded person, then no worry for this... for discover & explore package, the max monthly charge is RM138 (which mean digi still allow u to enjoy the so called LAS (likely average speed) even you have finished your monthly quota, just that you need to pay for it) Once, over RM138, u will be capped at 128kbps... (as other wireless ISP)

To me, except for unknown bill amount every month, everything is good... unless you track your usage diligently (as current digi OCS also can't even tell u the balance of your quota)... from this forum, looks like quite many ppl don't care about this... ppl are more towards speed and service quality nowadays...
ks98
post Jun 21 2009, 03:07 PM

460 posts

then, unfixed billing is not an issue to you anymore...

yes... extreme package comes with a free modem... but, if you decided not to take the modem, then u will entitle RM20 x 12 months of modem rebate... hopefully, this is clear enough otherwise, here is the detail http://www.digi.com.my/broadband/packages_byo.html

you can just take your linksys WAG200G to test the connection speed when u're subscribing to it...
ks98
post Jun 22 2009, 08:11 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(yi11 @ Jun 22 2009, 12:27 AM)
if i using digi bb for 2week,i would like to terminate can i get back advance payment from digi?
The answer is no... if it's < 7days, then probably can but since it's over 2 weeks...
ks98
post Jun 25 2009, 09:05 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Jun 24 2009, 04:18 PM)
hi guys, I'm looking at the extreme package.

Overall it seems that most people are giving good feedback on it.

Our streamyx just totally blows.

Okay, some questions.

1) I'll be using this in our office, and should have better budget. I read that some are reporting the provided 3g modem can support 20 concurrent connections, and will have problems after that.

2) I'll need to hook it up to our LAN. I've read about the DIR 451 where we'll dock the USB modem into the router. Other alternatives? A 3g Modem + router?

1+2) Which modem should I be getting, preferable to have LAN as well, so that I can network it.

3) Stability of the line? We'll be using this in addition with our streamyx, so that we can have a redundant line.

TQ. I'm more concerned on 1, and 2. As I believe, it should be better that the HORROR we're facing with streamyx.

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:20 pmI'm looking at this

http://www.comfortsurf.com/Products.aspx?part_no=t-mobile
CWR-635M
DIR-451
Aztech got 2 models.

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:50 pmAny digi promoters/resellers in this thread can let me know what other modems are available? TQ
Per my understanding, answer for:

Q1: I believe this is depend on your modem (My Sierra 885, so far so good!)
Q2: If i remember correctly, DIR451 only supports up to 3.6Mbps which is too slow for extreme package... I think Linksys also got 3G router. So far, i've only tried T-mobile web n walk and CNet CWR635M (using it now)... according to specifications, the former supports up 7.2Mbps (dl) but only 384kbps for ul... the latter is only 3.6Mbps (dl) and 384kbps (ul)... but, i never tried web n walk up to 7.2Mbps coz no money for extreme package
Q3: So far (1 month only), i don't face any disconnection with my digi bb...

On the router side, only T-mobile web n walk is modem+router... the rest in your list are only a 3.5G wireless router, which mean u need to buy your own modem and you'll need to ensure your modem is compatible with the router, otherwise it wouldn't work... Comparing Dlink DIR451 and CNet 635M, 635M supports a wider range of modem than DIR451.

Also, if you have no budget issue, then probably you can get other a modem + router in the market as this product will easily cost you >RM500

ks98
post Jun 26 2009, 01:55 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Jun 26 2009, 01:45 PM)
free modem (t&c unknown)
free modem is not considered a promotion... unless, it's free for Discover package, then it's something different. Otherwise, you can get a free modem from any Digi specialized store upon subscribing to Explore and Extreme package...
ks98
post Jun 29 2009, 09:27 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 29 2009, 07:33 AM)
1) Yes. It depends, if your area has no EDGE, then it will fall back to GPRS.
2) Yes.
3) Yes, RM 73/month. For down payment, regardless any package is RM 100 which will be rebated in the first bill.
To add on answer #3, if you subscribe to Buy-Your-Own-Modem package, it's only one month advance payments of your package... e.g RM58 for discover package...
ks98
post Jun 29 2009, 09:35 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 29 2009, 01:07 AM)
adslgourou >> Yes, I realise the limitations and FYI I'm staying on the 2nd floor.

As for updates it's being epic fails so far. I'll write down the details of my testing when I'm more energetic.

-Shinjiz- >> You are suppose to restart after installation anyways. Desribe your problem. Does it always restart when you plug it in? Or just once?
Yes, 2nd floor should be ok... at least it's lower than me... smile.gif I have no problem to get HSDPA signal at all...

I was asked by digi to bring my modem to their centre to confirm if my modem really good for digi bb due to speed issue... finally, it's due to my modem problem... after changed the modem, everything just fly... smile.gif

But, i do agree that it's kind of wasting our time... but once they confirmed it's the modem issue at their centre, then it's much much easier to get a replacement of new modem.

another thing, if possible, try to do this within 7 days...

This post has been edited by ks98: Jun 29 2009, 09:36 AM
ks98
post Jul 4 2009, 02:32 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jul 3 2009, 04:55 PM)
i've some questions to ask ... hope some sifu can help me.

i plan to sign up for DIGI wireless broadband..
purpose:-
1) normal surfing, downloading
2) youtube
3) minimal BT (occasional)
based on that, i plan to sign up for the Discover RM58 pckage. is this package sufficeint for me?

Regarding the bill, I've my own modem...and plan to use auto debit payment using credit card.
so, i just need to pay RM58-RM5 (own modem)-RM5=RM48...correct?

another questions would be.. i'm travelling a lot and most of the time the 3G signal is not available...
if this is the case, does that mean that i will be automatically switched to EDGE (max 384 Kb/sec) connection or even GPRS?

thank you thank you...
i think the plan recommender in Digi website would be able to help you to decide which plan meets your needs. The RM48 is only for the first 12 months coz the modem rebate is only applicable for first 12 months only...

Added on July 4, 2009, 9:54 pmfor the first time, i got this speed with my digi bb... sad.gif notice the high latency... my modem can't get a HSDPA signal... only edge...

This post has been edited by ks98: Jul 4 2009, 09:55 PM
ks98
post Jul 6 2009, 09:07 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 6 2009, 05:05 PM)
Where are you coming from?
I went to Tropicana Mall to test the Digi 3G broadband today. Youtube streaming was fast, and download from Microsoft touch 300kB/s. Sales personnel told me that the package was on RM108 - Explore.  rclxms.gif
The speed is back to normal now... i guess there're network congestion on last Sat at my place but called Digi BB customer service and he said his system didn't show any issue at my area...

the speed back to normal on 1am last Sat... coz i trouble-shot until 1am... (from about 9pm)

Added on July 6, 2009, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(edmundk @ Jul 6 2009, 05:52 PM)
Hi all,

Just want to ask has anyone tried the T-Mobile Web 'n' Walk Box II Router? Any comments? looking for a wireless 3g router and this looks good. Searched previous posts but not much info. I am using Digi Extreme. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.
I tried T-Mobile Web 'n' Walk Box II before and it's quite a good product... If i remember correctly, it supports up to 7.2Mbps (dl) but not sure the ul speed... configuration is quite easy but quite hard to get a new firmware if you found any issue.

I didn't use it at this moment as i need mobility... that's why prefer to get a separate modem.

This post has been edited by ks98: Jul 6 2009, 09:18 PM
ks98
post Jul 7 2009, 08:41 AM

460 posts

in summary, whatever you have used are counted in the monthly quota...

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:47 AM