Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right

davidmak
post Apr 23 2009, 07:50 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 23 2009, 07:22 PM)
I believe DiGi has made it clear on its T&C, nobody will blame it. Just that I am curious if there is any way to stop it at RM 58.00. hmm.gif
I think some guy introduced an utility that keep track on your usage and then will disconnect once that limit has been reached. I forgot what is the name of the app.

So far, we can only keep track on our usage by looking at the statistics within the DiGi dashboard manager. However, if we use that DiGi broadband on different PC, then we will have a tough time finding our total usage. I was concern when DiGi's OCS did not have a centralized statistics that keep track of usage from DiGi's side. Wouldn't it be better?
davidmak
post Apr 23 2009, 10:49 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 23 2009, 08:42 PM)
The only thing i dont like is, modem gets too hot, since i am not in air-conditioned room.  Luckily i have a stand fan next to me. 
Yeah, the modem is a little hot to touch when its connected on WCDMA/HSDPA. When connected to EDGE its not as warm though. But I think thats alright since all USB modems are warm after operating awhile. However, the E230 (modem for Extreme plan) doesn't seem to be hot when I tested few weeks ago. I was testing the connection for a full 20 minutes and the modem was just luke warm. I like the E230 a lot due to its compact size but too bad, I don't think paying RM188/month realistic for a regular user like me.
davidmak
post Apr 24 2009, 07:27 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 24 2009, 12:08 AM)
with the fan next to me on.. the modem stays warm.  smile.gif

I am getting back my 4 bar of hsdpa.  It was because of weather condition (thought it was going to rain just now).

I cant afford to pay more than rm130 per month for internet connection.  Explore will do just fine as my weekly internet consumption is roughly around 1.2-1.3gb.  Cancelled my Digi Unlimited Edge. smile.gif

Anyway, thanks ya everybody, otherwise, i might still be waiting for the coverage map to cover my house.  smile.gif

at max of rm138 with 0.05sen per 10mb = thus, rm138 is another extra 6gb?
50sen = 100mb
5.00=1gb
30=6gb..

not bad.. smile.gif
Yeah, its really not bad. A lot of room for us light surfers who are not heavy on downloading. My downloading habits is only once in awhile so 10GB is really a lot for me. Probably those who are always downloading large files (you know who you are tongue.gif ), the 10GB will be quite limited for them.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 24 2009, 07:28 AM
davidmak
post Apr 24 2009, 10:32 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Apr 24 2009, 06:27 PM)
seems gud...hehehehe
Yes it really is! rclxm9.gif

I don't need super high speed, all I need is a consistent transfer rate and not some once in a blue moon performance.
davidmak
post Apr 25 2009, 11:14 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Apr 24 2009, 11:20 PM)
i think u're referring to selcom isn;t... doh.gif
I actually mean my Streamyx because its performance is once in awhile actually. I haven't use Celcom so I am not sure if my comment applies.
davidmak
post Apr 26 2009, 07:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 26 2009, 04:38 PM)
Excuse me. I believe you have forgotten the term of mobility. Do you think we use wireless broadband only when we go out?
I'm a wireless broadband user and I'm always seen travelling around. So, don't you think wireless broadband comes in handy in this case? Can you bring your Streamyx anywhere yo travel to?
Please look before you leap, think before you speak.
I think you're right. Mobility is what these Mobile Broadband players are offering and they are really hitting on TM to areas where they can't compete. Perhaps that is why recently TM had to bundled in the Celcom Broadband 384k to a Streamyx 1Mbps plan. Also if you add in RM15, you get TM Hotspots (WIFI) too! They really acknowledge these shortcomings and come out with such a plan.

In the market, we have many kinds of consumer and usually the internet subscribers are pretty sophisticated and go into the net whenever they have an opportunity. Of course we do have other kind of consumers, the ones who are not addicted to the internet and such and such.
davidmak
post Apr 26 2009, 11:03 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 26 2009, 09:51 PM)
Not only that wireless broadband is also the only choice for people from new residential areas whereby telephone line is not available for them yet. Hence, wired broadband may sound impossible to these people.
Of course, if you have a telephone line, I'll always suggest Streamyx because honestly speaking it is the best among the worst providers. smile.gif
Yeah, Streamyx is still the only choice. In fact, we don't have a choice at all if we want broadband at an affordable price (service quality aside).
davidmak
post Apr 27 2009, 06:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Moses @ Apr 27 2009, 12:00 PM)
Any other DiGi Broadband subscribers been facing random web pages not loading and having to refresh several times to load a page?

Download and upload speeds are at normal full speed.

I've been having this problem for more than a week now and was wondering whether it's just me...
Yes, I reported the problem here few days ago. But as you continue to use it the issue will settle down. I found out that after you downloading something substantial then the surfing experience will smoothen. I know its very weird, perhaps our friend said it right. Could be the number of ports permitted.

As for me, I would disconnect and reconnect again. Then problem will go away. It is only the first few minutes of usage that is problematic.
davidmak
post Apr 28 2009, 01:32 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Wow... your download rates are really an eye opener. This is really something for a wireless air protocol data service. So I guess you have been downloading at a rate of 3+MB/sec? rclxms.gif

Guess I will have to be contented with my 150kB/sec download speed hehehehe! Which I am still happy...
davidmak
post Apr 28 2009, 09:09 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(NicolasLau @ Apr 28 2009, 03:23 PM)
dono really not idea
Is the speed influenced by a proxy or something? Mind sharing with us the numbers? brows.gif
davidmak
post Apr 30 2009, 09:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Reception quality has improved in my area already! Previously in my dining area, the reception quality is a hit and miss (1-2 bars). Recently I noticed the bars has increased to 3-4 bars! The DSSI signal strength has also go up as well. Looks like they have improved the coverage over my area. Download is as consistent as ever.
davidmak
post May 1 2009, 09:02 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 30 2009, 10:39 PM)
Just like to add,

Same thing here.  Hiccups are gone.  Things are back as usual. Even my ping is better having 2 bars playing l4d.

Davidmak, which area are you staying?
My area is Taman Midah. According to the coverage map, it only covers the front half of Taman Midah but I tried driving deeper into the neighborhood and I can still get the HSDPA signal. Just recently, the signal strength has improved inside my house. I used to only get HSDPA in my room as my window is facing the right direction.
davidmak
post May 2 2009, 10:46 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ronzai89 @ May 1 2009, 09:22 PM)
Approx when digi will out with its video call leh....haiz...
Its not like we use it all the time actually. Even though some telcos offer the same voice rates for video call also not many use it. In my opinion lar... looking into the phone and talk to it... sounds a bit 'out of touch'. Hehehehe... BUT I will have to agree its very useful at times. Like trying to have your friend give comments on the things are about to buy. Video call will allow them to look into the stuff you're buying real time and provide real feedbacks. OF course you can do it on MMS, but video is better.

QUOTE(preducer @ May 2 2009, 04:54 AM)
i think digi should put a news column on their website, so that we could know if they have expanded to a new area or something like that.
Yes, we need a proper news section in Digi Broadband to show latest notices, upgrades, maintenance, etc. Somemore, in OCS we don't have a usage indicator. We'll have to rely onto the dialup app statistics which can be inaccurate. Sometimes, we switch computers. So if we have a centralize page for checking usage, even though its not accurate... it'll be better.
davidmak
post May 2 2009, 03:04 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ May 2 2009, 11:45 AM)
Had a problem with DG on friday morning at 3am with sudden lost of WCDMA bandwith ( i force my modem to accept only WDCMA).  Reverted back to edge.  Called CS, and told me that DG was having maintenance (wasnt sure maintenance or upgrades) at Taman Maluri n few other places. Should be okay  at noon around 1pm he said.  Luckily by 11 am, all went back as usual.  Now, woudnt this be nice if all these are mentioned on OCS? smile.gif
Yup, I experienced that too yesterday morning for an hour (9-10am), no WCDMA reception and only EDGE. After that, service resume normally.
davidmak
post May 4 2009, 04:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I have all the issues highlighted here. It doesn't always load a page successfully sometimes. Its a bit of hit and miss thing, sometimes everything is done beautifully while at times it'll miss a picture and stuff like that. However, download has been super stable. I only get problems during the 'warm up' period when I first connect. This is where the download would spike and then silent for a few seconds. This is where my msn would disconnect and the FB would loose connection. Then all of a sudden, things resume normally. After 'warm up' period, things would be smooth like nothing ever happened.
davidmak
post May 8 2009, 08:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Lucinda_cy @ May 7 2009, 06:17 PM)
for 3G phone speed up to around 384Kbps
HSPA phone got 2 types 3.6Mbps or 7.2Mbps (depends on phone model)
personal advice: get modem, coz modem you can checked WCDMA signal only, phone normally GSM signal only or GSM and 3G while you using you will facing like sometimes falls to EDGE sometimes 3G, quite annoying for that. rclxub.gif
On some phone models, you can also locked it to only accept 3G signals. It'll reduce its likely hood of falling back to slower speeds. But only some phone models allow you to do that. Anyway a few have testified that a mobile phone probably has a stronger/higher gain antenna so signal quality is better than USB modems, especially USB-stick type as the antenna is really too small to be effective in low-mid signal strength areas.
davidmak
post Jun 9 2009, 02:47 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

So you're on Extreme or Explore? I guess you're on Extreme since you're enjoying higher rates?
davidmak
post Jun 9 2009, 03:25 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 9 2009, 03:17 PM)
I am on pre-launched package
Even better than Extreme
Oh ya of course... I forgot about you. Hehehe!

Anyway performance from my side is the same. Great. Nothing much to say. Haha!
davidmak
post Jun 17 2009, 11:14 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Yes... I saw this promotion in Digi Center. They're putting up a new package especially for those who are attracted to netbooks. However, it is a contract. Not with Digi Broadband but with the bank. Its something Izzi, you pay up front and then pay back the bank in the form of monthly installment.
davidmak
post Jun 23 2009, 09:22 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Rithrade @ Jun 22 2009, 01:31 PM)
I didn't know this was inside Digi's Fair Usage policy =(

5.2.3  The system that is used to provide the Broadband by DiGi service service can identify very high bandwidth users and DiGi seeks to manage the customer's usage by throttling their bandwidth to a much lower broadband speed to ensure fairness to all customers.

I wonder if VPN bypasses this throttling. Or even if Digi does practice this?
Yes, there has been times where my direct download connection is throttled to around 512kbps. But sometimes it would jump back to 1Mbps. Anyway recently I noticed that my modem keep cycling states. I can see from the LED status that it is disconnected when idling and when one of my services accesses the internet, it would connect back in a flash. No disconnection on any sensitive applications though.

QUOTE(allrightall @ Jun 23 2009, 07:04 PM)
mine can receive signal even with closed window- E219-
Yup, I'm sitting right in the middle of the house and it still works fine. No need to find a nice spot. Things has been such a breeze with Digi Broadband.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:10 PM