V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

hackwire
post Feb 23 2010, 02:03 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 22 2010, 08:00 PM)
MALAYSIA BIRD’S NEST MERCHANTS ASSOCIATION (MBNMA)

Is this association exist? Where's the Public Website for joining .
Where is the address? Do they represent Bird Nest Farmers of all states as i notice there are other association alike at state level?

Association that use the country name must represent Federal .

Where are their list of names?

Its a failure not to publish it out in the website if they have started this association so long ago.
Is this a stupid question? its really absurd to me that 1GP drafted this way. Association is not revealing the truth or even get feedback. I mean if they are millionaires , how much does a website cost to educate and update the current status and committee members?

Theres seem none of these millionaires bother to setup an association website. Right now i also dont know who and where to seek info.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 23 2010, 02:18 PM
hackwire
post Feb 23 2010, 03:14 PM

4,256 posts

So who drafted the 1GP lah??? WARNING!! WARNING!!
SCAM DETECTED!!!

hackwire
post Feb 23 2010, 07:11 PM

4,256 posts

May I know or should we first find out the person background who are going to table this 1gp to the cabinet. Have they set the meeting?
hackwire
post Feb 24 2010, 07:04 PM

4,256 posts

count me in . i also like to meet up for this matter. i would like to know why all these associations registered does not have proper website and helps to organized functions to the public. are they building these association among friends or group of people only who drove the same big cars?

Added on February 24, 2010, 7:19 pmWe have a very confusing law on the swiftlet import and export fees which falls into this catergory call CITES. I also confuse.... did they make it for the purpose of earning extra money?

CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA (CITES)
As party to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) since 1978, Malaysia is responsible to control international trade of wild flora and fauna species as listed under CITES Appendix I , II and III .
The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment (NRE) is the CITES Scientific Authority and the CITES Management Authorities are: Department of Wildlife and National Parks (DWNP/PERHILITAN), Fisheries Department, Agriculture Department and Malaysian Timber Industry Board.
DWNP is responsible in controlling all wildlife species but does not include any marine species, fishes and domesticated species, by issuing CITES permit for the purpose of import, export or re-export.

LICENSE

The Department provides services in issuance of 3 types of documents:
i. License
License is required for all activities involving protected wildlife species listed under Schedule Two, Schedule Four and Schedule Five, Act 76. License can be obtained from the respective States DWNPs. Please refer to the List Office that issue license for address and location of each State DWNP office.
For license details, please refer to Requirement for Application and Fee and Types of Licenses.
ii. Special Permit
Special Permits are required for all activities involving totally protected wildlife species listed under Schedule One and Schedule Three, Act 76. Application must be made using Form PK 1.
iii. CITES Permit
CITES Permits are required for all activities involving import and export of wildlife listed under the CITES Convention. Application of permits can be made on-line and details can be acquired from Guidelines of Wildlife Import/Export. There are only three DWNP offices that are responsible in the issuance of CITES permits:
• DWNP Headquarters Office in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur
• DWNP Pulau Pinang Office
• DWNP Johor Office
iv. License To Export/ Import Swiftlet Bird’s Nest

This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 24 2010, 07:22 PM
hackwire
post Feb 26 2010, 01:48 PM

4,256 posts

I think i will totally agree with DL ( Dato lee, or Datok Lim ...whatever).... i already offered to be in the spark of this cry but seems like nobody wants to lead after all . I close this topic and move on with my dream bird house of my own regardless of the law or bullshitting or gossips....

In the first place, where is Goliath?

this forum is just the right place to " CRY".
there's nothing u can do about it...

hackwire
post Feb 26 2010, 06:44 PM

4,256 posts

very good feedback , cergau. i guess when old sifu gone into hiding, new blood arise but lack the aspiration due to other hectic schedule.

but old forumers did mentioned a few names to lead but i think the best thing to do now is to start consulting your lawyers, consolidating your business history and weaponry to defend your exisitng BH.

New BH owner will probably wait and see till the end of first quarter.
Anybody interested to hire me to setup a bird farm magazine?

hackwire
post Feb 27 2010, 12:15 PM

4,256 posts

Im the victim of a new Entrepeneur.

I want to start this new business but according to the law not jungle law created to cause my saving and hardwork wasted like that.
So i started to research and take seminar. I found Low yat and it gave me a good insight and transparent stories , knowledge, news , red tapes and passionate farmers .

Usually, if i need an info on something i will surf for the company website, govt website , society, forum etc.

But when comes to the Association of Bird Nest.... I don't even know where they are located, theres no Map of their office etc . in the first place Google only search their name when some News published their association name.

Now , when 1GP is about to be formulate, i kinda think this is gonna be a laughing stock of Malaysia Guiness Book of Record. Mana hantu - hantu ini ?

I think this Goliath forget that newcomers will alway like to look for mentors and seek info . U go to other sport association, all committees were there to help or create events...

Now , my question is whether the authority should revoke fake associations? how did the authorities qualify these association in the first place? I also like to find out how many like you had found the same problem like me..?
hackwire
post Feb 28 2010, 07:34 PM

4,256 posts

Priority for all Bird Nest Farmers is now

1) 1GP ? i think a few forumers like ww,dunsunbuntut etc have highlighted this. who?when? what?

2) United Association under one umbrella represents Malaysia bird nest farmers. A union created with funds and loan provided by the govt and privates. there will no longer individual or a few fighters who fought blindly and seeking returns and thank you. This world nobody owes anybody. All committee members will be paid and get rewards. There just too many individuals who fought without genuine supports even their closest friend. (Malaysian or put it this way, we Asian don't " Tips" )

Added on February 28, 2010, 7:55 pmi like to add a few more things after i read the previous post.

How is th functional of the Federal Association that represents all ?
Some members were told to pay a "Privilege Membership Fees" before they could join this Privilege Group.

Guys, please bear in mind that these associations were endorsed associations by the Govt and they need to be transparent of the account and audited by auditors.

Secondly, Bird nest association runs by millionaires and 50 something people just don't have time to even look at the website !!! Than what's their purpose to install an association ? And these associations also asking members to fork out membership fees but not willing to invest RM 1K for a simple website and online application?

Mana Otak??????

By the way, association members must be smart people to run to generate other revenue from donation drive, advertisement, publication, govt funding etc .... not just collection of membership fees. They could even get revenue from holding talks, seminars, events etc to increase the revenue of the association to grow. How about TV talk show or radio talk show ?? how about tourism?? so many things can really generate revenue to grow.

Whether is dato B or any politician concern in the association is a failure in my eye if you don't have a Website and Office address.

How much is your fees for Selangor or the one representing Malaysian Bird nest...? mana u?

This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 28 2010, 07:55 PM
hackwire
post Mar 1 2010, 10:03 AM

4,256 posts

chan k,
that's prove my point that most of the association are pretty crap to me. i been involve in some Residential Association in housing as well. Its the similar thing when people initially started it of with high interest in Security issues but neglected other issues. Might as well name a Security Association but y using the name of the Residential to camo their real intention. Then they neglected other main problems after Security Issues were implemented.

As for the website thing, association must be informative and even creating interesting bird nest news or newsletter but did they do it. It does not have to be a website but how do we reach them if i don't have their address. I guess i must use the oldest method , Yellow page. I get into that later.

Of course any members would like to read a clarification or benefits for joining as members. There were associations that were so lay back and keep giving excuses of "No fund" "No Manpower" etc... All these are the opposite of Napoleon Hill's Grow Rich and Think Rich. Why would anybody want to join such association.

Anyway, past is past like u said. im sure someday, some one read in this forum might see this an opportunity such as creating a more informative website, forums etc for swiftlet interest. This is a good joint venture to start things fresh and create an online magazine for updating news.
hackwire
post Mar 1 2010, 02:17 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 1 2010, 01:19 PM)
Fret not, Hackwire,
There;s plenty of potential to change things right here and as it is.
This forum is VERY active, just navigate backwards and check the stats.
There were 150,000 hits on this specific subforum alone.
It is 2nd only to the stock market subforum.
If Seeseng is agreeable we can talk with Admin for top level listing and other potentials.

An association is as good as the members.
Dun worry abt the brick and mortar type associations, some will die a natural death from neglect.
Folks online here are the cream of the active members already. Some may be members of these brick and mortar assoc too.
Like soneone already mentioned, nothing to stop someone from becoming members of multiple assoc.
See for yrself how in times of trouble folks gravitate towards this forum for info?

Use/recycle any registered (in the interest of time) dormant assoc (was offered earlier on here).
Here I am not so sure (mayb the sifus can offer advice).. change the AA to accept online polls or whatever to make this forum the communication channel of this association. Meeting can be held online and an occasional face to face sitdown ones.
1)Polls can be rigged up right here (not very sure).
2)Make registration compulsory for a small fee (aka memebrship fee) and contribute back to LowYat for the support or whatever ...can discuss
3)If successful we can also cater to the non-online fellas too, use twitter, surely even the oldest guy has a hp now.
4)No need to attract people with nice informative articles...we have a ready audience already...safely thousands (out of the 150,000 hits)
start a micro wiki for swiftlet farming from past posting. (I know it takes 2 weeks full time to get thru V1).
5)If done properly it merely an online assocition/community and since it's formed properly, it has legitimacy of representation,
So we impose on the govt to nego with us or at least inlude us in their discussion.
6)We offer both personal and assoc membership. so we naturally becomes the Fed or umbrella by sheer nos. Not just by name.
7)Make the registration a no brainer in terms of cost..maybe rm5, so other assoc will join an associates.
Details can be worked out, 1 obvious problem is when so cheap, politicians can create false assoc by putting down Rm1,000,000 can create a 200,000 member assco if rm5. So more to think -la,

Seeseng what u think, or I am just talking ayam jantan.

Comments pls,

My 2 bit to generate discussions.
I think I do seriously agree with you that this forum is one of the best resources so far for all bird nest enthusiast. If V1 and V2 combined , we can extract quite a number or criterias relevant for the industry and also a tool book for beginners to expert already.
And the numbers of blog and company url address continue to grow in this forum .

A book could be easily published in PDF already . An author can be hired to extract all relevant issues and use it as a case study of this industry.
the research materials here is now going to be regurgitated and later turn into saliva for making good books and than profits for this new association with low yat loyalty fees included...

anyway, i don't knof of any people to contact about the information on 1GP and the Cabinet meetings to be held somewhere in this month.
There's no Public Forum to check on the pro and cons is it?

hackwire
post Mar 3 2010, 12:57 PM

4,256 posts

Back to 1GP draft question?

1)What's the guideline or protocol to create a draft like that?
- Who and what qualification of the profession is suitable for drafting these guidelines ?
- What kind of Public Seminars and Conference is held to prepare this guideline?
- Have the draft of 1GP ever been discussed publicly before in the Agriculture or Veterinary Convention in the past year?

2)How effective are these 1GP guidelines to increase the volume and bird ranching business ?
- how long will it takes to improve the bird nest industry once 1GP is implemented
- what kind of report or how the authorities able to chart and determine the scale of growing in the export of bird nest domestically and international consumption.

3) What are the cause and cost if this 1GP is doom.
Who is responsible for it? Who endorsed it?

4) Where are the Case Studies materials, the Case Study Group of 1GP, the Main Consultant involve in the implementation of this 1GP?

5) Who is representing the calls of the Bird Nest Farmers to address this issue in the cabinet. If it's the Vet dept or wild life dept? We like to know if he owns any successful farm before or just hearsay. Is he representing the voice of the 100 associations or just 1?

6) Can the draft be amend after the cabinet approve it? Im more interested to know who lead this and be part of the success story of Malaysia Book of Record . We like to know if this person or dept interested to improve the livelihood of the bird more or to cause people trouble as they never own a bird nest house before.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 3 2010, 01:02 PM
hackwire
post Mar 3 2010, 05:41 PM

4,256 posts

tommorow meeting tentatively confirmed already. I let dunsunbuntut announce it tonight after he has gather more sifus.

just want to get to the bottom of things before the cabinet starts. i think im going into the parliament website now to check if any news yet

Latest finding.

Parliament website indicated Cabinet Meeting .

on the 15th March.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 3 2010, 05:57 PM
hackwire
post Mar 5 2010, 11:29 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 4 2010, 09:00 PM)
Just tell how to prevent the sound from coming out of a window type of entrance cos even the inside sound will be disturbing and annoying to others.

If you are @ Seremban, you will understand that the Local Authorities groups is 100% against the BH @ towns and no way that the open window can solve the problem of sound even if you are not playing birds music for if your BH has thousands of birds, habis lah for those who are staying behind your BH.

1.If you have been into successful BH having thousands of birds, you will understand how noisy it is.........
2. We well know for the facts that the birds do shit at entrance and open window will cause shit to fall on the floor below and some poor guy's heads.
3. Wind will cause the smell and the dirt to scatter around the area and no way you can prevent it from happening.
4. If you have been running a local swiftlets Association, you will understand how difficult to solve complaints with sound pollution from open window type..........

Once, I told the Local Authorities to let us to self manage BHs in the town and in less than a year, I gave up trying......and quit!!!! Majlis receive hundreds of complaints and one even told me that the YTP assured him that the whole town wil be rid of BHs if he has the say and that's very soon..........
I try to be in the shoe of the victim of the one who don't own a bird house. Of course noise pollution is a nuisance especially if its an artificial bird sound from the speaker. People bought properties for peace of mind. If there are any newborn than the problem to keep the peace and silent is even important than anything as a parent. But there's a possible solution and regulation to control it , like cergau said its the Enforcement that is the problem . You don't blame the Train if it knock down the tresspasser, right? I know some still blame the Train Driver for not Braking enough... !!

On the No 2. let's not presume it will hit on somebody head and became an issue .

I think solution of the bird problems really depends on how you want to solve it with the ocean of creativity one has. If that person cannot solve the problem than in the first place don't go into this business as these business requires brain and creative ideas . Who knows someone will patent new products or new house design .

the only set back is to allow stupidity runs the association and let the whole seremban bird house crumbles when opportunity to

1) Create New Jobs
2) Tourism
3) Investors
4) Tax returns
5) Film Location and potential research centers.
6) Put Malaysia interesting industry in Discovery and National Geography Channel .

hackwire
post Mar 6 2010, 09:38 AM

4,256 posts

Ha ha. I know. Banana ice cream served with condiments of bird nest topping on the other end covered with white egg .
hackwire
post Mar 6 2010, 11:11 AM

4,256 posts

Don't know. Pm me the answer. When our next meeting? Consider there is no 1gp draft and it's all hearsay, y state authority so Kay poh? I mean did they received any stop order from federal? So if some just say they are going to table something, all current licensing can't be given?
hackwire
post Mar 12 2010, 03:39 PM

4,256 posts

how about this ?

assuming the worst kind of scenario that you probably think the birds will reduce like in indonesia.

Will pollution like chemical smells and smoke will inrease by the years to come, so do not always picture the good thing like the double growth of the birds.
Will the hot weather affect the birds to find some place else?
hackwire
post Mar 19 2010, 10:20 AM

4,256 posts

I just like to add a few things nothing concerning about the swiftlet industry but the effects and impact which might be similar to what happen to Mukah or any industry .

Two Scenes different industry.

1) The Closing Down of Condom Shops.
I guess many of you had know or even went into this shops in the past like 10 years ago in malaysia. I remember i went into one in Penang since 10 years ago. In my eye, it looks legal and have been operational for the past few years back and consider about 2-3 general election had taken place already. And not to mention that this establishment even consider renting shoplots in high premium retail outlet like Sunway pyramid and even Cineleisure . A few days back, we saw these enforcement including Police claimed that all these business are illegals now. What the f*** !!! Bastards like that make it seems legal for the past 10 years and now claimed it's illegal .... f***ing Dogs!! Are our govt and every single dept in the past are corrupts for not shutting them down. There's a big gap here that police authority must investigate including the business registrar. Why Now?

2) Kilang ayam "Tak Halal"
I don't know who's right or wrong in this but when i saw the enforcement Jakim in the TV tube screaming and mocking the Factory owner for locking them inside till 4am , i thought it's a good decision as they came at the time when nobody is at work. Can you imagine if your worker call you at night and said the authority wants to meet you? This jakun feels that this factory is illegal and must be coming from the informant inside but i wonder why can't they tour the place when it's on operational. If some informant have evidence or prove with video recording or bugs recorder that records their illegal conversation than why can't they put it into action and shut it down immediately in the morning . The reason this ******* came at the odd hour must be to do with investigation.... and again investigation can be only be made when the administration staffs are around isn't it.... bodoh!

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 19 2010, 10:24 AM
hackwire
post Mar 19 2010, 11:55 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 19 2010, 11:05 AM)
Pt 1)
Hypocrites..they are probably sharing out some of the confiscated items amongst themselves.
Only a token nos are required for court exhibits. Some of them will find their way to the market again.

Pt 2)
I do not recall electing any of them for them to impose their belief on me in one way or the other!!!
If my MP turned out to be a clown in Parliament I correct my mistake at the next GE.
I certainly did not elect these bunch of clowns. They are being paid off tax payers money.
May be when I got lot's of money I will take them to court exerting my constitutional right. (below) I wanna pay only the part that doesnt go to them.
Article number: 11
(2) No person shall be compelled to pay any tax the proceeds of which are specially allocated in
whole or in part for the purposes of a religion other than his own.

Hackwire,
Are you registered to vote?
If not go get yrself registered.
I have voted twice . first election, lost. second election, win.

but in the end, i personally think election is just one of the thing that will move the earth coordinates a little but the bulk of the problems rest in the surface of earth. Whether it's as primitive as in Dino world or as civilized we once had ... probably the time of Adam and Eve (civilisation) ..not the time where roman empire claim civilisation or current millineum civilisation, it needs another asteroid to strike the earth.

hackwire
post Mar 19 2010, 04:20 PM

4,256 posts

Just for your info, not all company selling sex products were shut down. Got to talk to one of the shopkeeper today that they were prohibited to sell certain items like dildos or vibrators better known as rabbits to women in need. So condom ,lube, toys, lingeries were not consider as haram.
hackwire
post Mar 24 2010, 10:41 AM

4,256 posts

http://noswiftlethousesingeorgetown.blogspot.com/

I read the blog above and it is indeed a anti swiftlet farm in the Penang Townhouse.

the propaganda made by the writer is to instill fear in the public who lacks the knowledge in this industry. I guess this blog writer doesnt care about the macro economic aspect of the livinghood of others. Many investors had been able to support their children education and also pour out to charity due to the farming of bird house.

when i read how negatives and fact twisting about swiftlet shit and how contageous of bird flu disease , i wonder where he got his information from ? WHO?

This guy will probably be shoot on the head in Mainland China if he don't know what he is talking about.

and the writer intention to group all swiftlet farmers in a rotten apple basket is a crime to me. he should also give pro active and proper solutions to the public of how the good one manage. In fact, there are more good farmers now as compare to last time i believe.

Added on March 24, 2010, 10:49 amby the way, the blogger has no identity and afraid to come out publicly. only gives a wild email address name.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 24 2010, 10:49 AM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0770sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:32 PM