122 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

calvinswiftlet
post Mar 15 2009, 11:28 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Mar 14 2009, 11:58 PM)
Stay near to the hospital definitely is a NO, no matter how good the feng shui is.

Locate it near to a river and behind a mountain, should be a wiser choice.

Chinese feng shui quote : "che shua khua hai"

icon_idea.gif  thumbup.gif  smile.gif
rclxms.gif tat why i ask vegachia fung shui o not rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
vegachia
post Mar 15 2009, 03:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Mar 15 2009, 11:28 AM)
rclxms.gif tat why i ask vegachia fung shui o not rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
but where to find this location ??good fengshui icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
West Wing
post Mar 15 2009, 05:02 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Mar 14 2009, 10:25 PM)
my shoplot bh facing tution school n not far away frm school had been shutdown by F.....G gov.... u think fung shui o nt... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Oh dear Calvinswiftlet,

What is meant by fungsui opening is the best direction for the birds' entrance and not of our human's fungsui. Even man's fungsui, all are base on the correct direction, directive or placement.

Like why if a beam over head is a bad fungsui....because old wooden building beam may just drop over your head.

So, good entrance is good fungsui also like having a river and hill nearby but bad fungsui like having a owl family nearby.

And as to the building of BH in residential, school or near place of prayer are looking for trouble and better stay far away from crowded public area to be on a safer side..

calvinswiftlet
post Mar 15 2009, 11:53 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(vegachia @ Mar 15 2009, 03:28 PM)
but where to find this location ??good fengshui icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
frm my pak hen sifu experience is location...flying path n swiftlet food resource is most important...nothing wit fungshui.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

West Wing
post Mar 16 2009, 10:43 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Mar 15 2009, 11:53 PM)
frm my pak hen sifu experience is location...flying path n swiftlet food resource is most important...nothing wit fungshui.. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Walau, FS entrance is the correct positioning of BH entrance but forget about the FS if you can't catch the joke.

Like this, kepala ku sakit dan lupa semua sahaja..... !!!

Only want to help but never mind lah and forget about my 2 cent experiances and comments.
swift4ever
post Mar 16 2009, 09:42 PM

263 posts

[quote=tongserseng,Mar 9 2009, 01:14 PM]
[quote=siewann,Mar 8 2009, 10:32 PM]
4)Solar system- since my bh is in farmland without any power and water, i am using solar system drsign from local company. this system is coming with audio and all the timer like auto door(close at 8pm, open at 6:30am), light, humifier, cctv. So far the system is working pretty good, because my audio is never down(touch wood). This system can be stand 7 days without sunlight.
This kind of technique are rare in swiftlet farming..........
Solar system....... Where to get the water supply for humidifier ???? Can share ????????
How much is the total cost for the system ?????? Can introduce the supplier ??????????
Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxub.gif

[/quote]

Can I call that high tech equipped birdhouse? Can someone tell I if can use roll away carpet to clear up my bh droppings in no time? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on March 16, 2009, 9:51 pm[quote=aeiou228,Mar 9 2009, 10:56 AM]
As west wing said, you have nothing inside yet so don't bother to close the gate. Since you opted open roof entrance, chances of owl diving in is lessen ( please correct me if I'm wrong).

[attachmentid=836702]

[/quote]

Owls do jump into airwell and nest there if they find fit. This happened not long ago in my area.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Mar 16 2009, 09:51 PM
aeiou228
post Mar 17 2009, 05:15 PM

5,867 posts

One question to ask all sifus here. Do you reckon installing flashing spotlights or motion sensor spotlights around the entrance hole will ward off BATS ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 17 2009, 06:50 PM
tongserseng
post Mar 17 2009, 05:31 PM

112 posts

[quote=siewann,Mar 8 2009, 10:32 PM]

4)auto door(close at 8pm, open at 6:30am),

Used to see owl fly over above my BH entrance hole around 6.30 am when counting number birds flying out in the morning. There is one time my auto gate was set at 10.30 am open...... You know what happened ? after two weeks one bird dead in the BH and one small chick dead on the ground, no bird increment since gate open at 10.30 am, before the gate was set my bird number increment is around 2 bird per day, which until now never happened again. sweat.gif sad.gif
West Wing
post Mar 17 2009, 08:57 PM

1,397 posts

Sometime, I wonder if the birds is important or that the security is more important. To me, getting the birds to stay is my priority in doing a BH and I don't even care for anything else. All posted here are all my opinions and comments to share as others may have their own opinions.

To me, Spending too much at the initial stage is suicidal and really not required at all. Forget what the consultant advice as to them, more work mean more money .... the richer will be the consultant. I have posted past comments on this. Why spend so much and be tied down with paying the installment when if your BH became successful, the BH will pay for the renovation as to the security or other. Having 30kgs or birdnest per harvest, wouldn't that be sufficient to pay for your maintenance or modification. You can basically build another roof over your roof and add on another 2 steel door and still have plenty left to spend.

Building so sophisticate a BH even your own house can't afford and what's for? Isn't your life more valuable than that of the swifltets' and you are already spending like expecting father even before you are married.

How are you to know that you will be successful with this BH because the fortune teller (consultant) promised you a hundred nest within a year. What if this doesn't happened and will the Con pay you all the money spend on renovation or building the BH.

If that the case, allow me to build you your BH and I assure you that within one year, you will have a hundred nest and if not, you wouldn't need to pay me my consultation fee and that's chicken fee compare to what he earned from the construction of BH. If the Contractor is to mark up 10% for me, how much do you think that I make for a Rm400K BH.....simple mathematics will tell you a cool 40K. For that, I can give you free consultation.... but if you hit 100, that's a bonus for me.

That's when I told you to open your eyes before you sign at least, you died knowing what you are . Above, are my personal comment and have no ill intention toward anyone in particular.

Also, I will not always reply on personal PM request as I believe in sharing @ forum. Apologies, as all here are friends and I am neither a consultant nor a sifu....just someone with over 10 years in the Buz to share my little experiance. Sorry and pls. post @ forum so all will comments and all will learn as well.
kuching_farmer
post Mar 18 2009, 05:32 PM

66 posts

i knowm why u ppl all so scare of owl liao.all the ppl in west are making large lmb that why lor.3 ft long 2 feet wide... liao liao lar like this.
blink.gif SO KIASU

This post has been edited by kuching_farmer: Mar 18 2009, 05:56 PM
tongserseng
post Mar 18 2009, 09:17 PM

112 posts

Dear all fellow member, I am learning writing a blog about swiftlet farming............
Hope all fellow member can advise, comments and enlighten through the blog making......
Thanks in advance to all fellow member.......... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Anyone of the fellow member are welcome visiting my blog........

http://tongserseng.blogspot.com/

thank you very much.........

Engineer Lee
post Mar 19 2009, 09:02 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(tongserseng @ Mar 18 2009, 09:17 PM)
Dear all fellow member, I am learning writing a blog about swiftlet farming............
Hope all fellow member can advise, comments and enlighten through the blog making......
Thanks in advance to all fellow member.......... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Anyone of the fellow member are welcome visiting my blog........

http://tongserseng.blogspot.com/

thank you very much.........
Brother Tong:

Congratulation!

Welcome to the blog world. Let's share the info together for the benefit of all.

aeiou228
post Mar 19 2009, 11:25 AM

5,867 posts

This thread never discussed about CORNER BOARD. Let's discuss...
Is it necessary to install corner board ?
The purpose of corner board is to eliminate one 90 degree corner nest but after installing the corner board, it will double your corner nests production...you got two 135 degree corner nests or curvy nests. So the question is will 135 degree corner nests or curvy nest fetch better value than 90 degree corner nests or it can be priced the same as the full cup ?user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 19 2009, 11:38 AM
tongserseng
post Mar 19 2009, 11:44 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Mar 19 2009, 09:02 AM)
Brother Tong:

Congratulation!

Welcome to the blog world. Let's share the info together for the benefit of all.
Thanks Engineer Lee notworthy.gif
vegachia
post Mar 19 2009, 12:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 19 2009, 11:25 AM)
This thread never discussed about CORNER BOARD. Let's discuss...
Is it necessary to install corner board ?
The purpose of corner board is to eliminate one 90 degree corner nest but after installing the corner board, it will double your corner nests production...you got two 135 degree corner nests or curvy nests. So the question is will 135 degree corner nests or curvy nest fetch better value than 90 degree corner nests or it can be priced the same as the full cup ?user posted imageuser posted image
i heard ppl said ,no corner board is better ,because the bird will stay inside faster for new BH ...if i wrong ,just correct me
West Wing
post Mar 19 2009, 12:51 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(vegachia @ Mar 19 2009, 12:12 PM)
i heard ppl said ,no corner board is better ,because the bird will stay inside faster for new BH ...if i wrong ,just correct me
As no one bought the matter up so there were not discussion on corner board.

Below are thru experience and other may disagree,

1. All present consultants will advice corner board as you pay for the boards and that they will tell you that rounded nest get better price than corner nest....as I say that very stupid as what we are interested are birds making nest no matter what nest and even tiny small nest are a bonus to us.

2. Fact no.2, the birds esp. the young ones like the corner in new surrounding as they feel safer there unless they are building in their parent's home.
So, if you allow corners, you will get more nests faster than any other modified corners and you can quote me for that. This, I have been telling all my friends and so far, all are successful........fast and more and only those so called consultants created rounded woods to make more money and telling you that rounded nests is half cups initially until the buyers know about that and gave a lower price for rounded nests.

3. Get your priority correct, the first and foremost is to get birds to set up a family at your BH and why counting the chickens before they are hatch. Be realistic that many present new BHs fail due to no corner and the BH's conditions and area but the main ones are because of the selfish BH neibhbours who refuse to allow their bird to breed. No new chicks, where to find birds unless GOD really create Men and birds.

4. New fledged birds do like to stay near their place of birth althought some do move to new area like we human do........found a pretty chick in CHina and migrate to China or Thailand or vise verse.
Normally, it either my place or your's but then if parent disagree to our union, we move to new places....hahaha.....the last sentence is a joke lah.

5.Before,, I have nests build in one long row like french breads, some nearly 18 inches long. Some built their nest so closed together like a giant long nest which Mr. HM called them Royal nest. I had so many of those doing my days and even nest like feather nest and red nests which initial look pinkish and turn to red when expose to the sun ( not brown as normal white nest will become).

Above are original and of my own experiance and are for friends to share.

sosos
post Mar 19 2009, 02:35 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 19 2009, 12:51 PM)
As no one bought the matter up so there were not discussion on corner board.

Below are thru experience and  other may disagree,

1. All present consultants will advice corner board as you pay for the boards and that they will tell you that rounded nest get better price than corner nest....as I say that very stupid as what we are interested are birds making nest no matter what nest and even tiny small nest are a bonus to us.

2. Fact no.2, the birds esp. the young ones like the corner in new surrounding as they feel safer there unless they are building in their parent's home.
So, if you allow corners, you will get more nests faster than any other modified corners and you can quote me for that. This, I have been telling all my friends and so far, all are successful........fast and more and only those so called consultants created rounded woods to make more money and telling you that rounded nests is half cups initially until the buyers know about that and gave a lower price for rounded nests.

3. Get your priority correct, the first and foremost is to get birds to set up a family at your BH and why counting the chickens before they are hatch. Be realistic that many present new BHs fail due to no corner and the BH's conditions and area but the main ones are because of the selfish BH neibhbours who refuse to allow their bird to breed. No new chicks, where to find birds unless GOD really create Men and birds.

4. New fledged birds do like to stay near their place of birth althought some do move to new area like we human do........found a pretty chick in CHina and migrate to China or Thailand or vise verse.           
Normally, it either my place or your's but then if parent disagree to our union, we move to new places....hahaha.....the last sentence is a joke lah.

5.Before,, I have nests build in one long row like french breads, some nearly 18 inches long. Some built their nest so closed together like a giant long nest which Mr. HM called them Royal nest. I had so many of those doing my days and even nest like feather nest and red nests which initial look pinkish and turn to red when expose to the sun ( not brown as normal white nest will become).

Above are original and of my own experiance and are for friends to share.
thanks west wing , i totally agreed with your advice and experience..
have no corner board is a important key to new bird house...... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
my friend's successful new BH also have no corner board..3 month got 20 nest.. thumbup.gif

Bobby C
post Mar 19 2009, 04:12 PM

663 posts

So what my sifu said is correct, correct, correct.

No corner = 1 corner nest

Corner = 2 corner nest

So what do you want?

benchai
post Mar 19 2009, 05:31 PM

167 posts

Here is a solution and a compromise. At the end of each NP saw about 5 inch so the NP is still attached by a 1 inch on the top side. Let the young birds build corner nest and eat some yourself and give some to your friends if you have any. You can process them and sell wet nest. Corner nest are 20% heavier then balcony nest (arguable but I don’t want to get into this subject) When you have lots of birds, break off the 1 inch strip so that there is a 1 inch gap between the NP and the wall. NOW YOU ONLY GET BELCONY NEST. First get the birds in the BH and you will be very happy just to see lots of SHIT the nest will follow.

Wonderful 4 days Swift lets Safari with two friends from KT who bought me 4 tweeters at RM560 each and K.F. from Kuching. Thanks to so many swift lets friends for hospitality and wonderful dinners (mud crabs the size of dinner plates) and exchange of ideas and pick up lots of tips.

J.Tan swift lets palace in Daro is nearly ready. Birds are already in the BH even before completion. Remember what I say about having friends where swift lets flies and a BH in the horizon? In Bintulu just looking at a sky full of swift lets strangers came and greeted us and starts talking birds. It’s a privilege life!

Good luck. My two oh Sorry! 3 cents worth.

kuching_farmer
post Mar 19 2009, 06:59 PM

66 posts

4 days swiftlet safari with Ben is a nitemare until now i still shock about those swiftlet that make nest near the air-con condenser and stay neighbour with the sriti.if 1 of u is jobless and u cannot find a living,move to Bintulu and bring along ur scraper and aluminium painter stick then u can harvest every monthly 1kg of nests.wanna see those photo message me !

122 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.3667sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:29 PM