V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

swift4ever
post Jul 15 2009, 08:42 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jul 14 2009, 04:22 PM)
Based on simple calculation above, whoever sitting at the high chair in aircon room reading this must know or at least care for the rakyat to try to understand the risk that investors are exposed to in this industry.

Property value of merely 300k selling at 680k with nests of course. 400-430k by cash! Bank will only loan 250-280k based on bank evaluation purely on the property value.

Did you see the risk that investors are exposed to in the event anything happened by a stroke of a pen or anything happen to the property due to unforseen circumstances?

People whole family heads are on the chopping board if beloved government making sudden u-turn.

Hope and pray that our beloved new PM awares what happen at ground zero, and not mislead and disillusion by false reporting thinking money can still drop from the sky by simply relocating the bhs.
Money drop from the sky??....this is always true to the Eco park developers but not to us! It's like striking a jackpot to them! If they face difficulties in selling, some resort to dirty tactics trying to blackmail those in power to harass the town BHs.

Birds distributes from where they started off, in our case the Town/Cave and it takes time. It comes in loose and intensive distributions from colonies of birds. They are not birds nor money drop from the sky whereby you can make big harvest in no time! This mindset the Eco park developer and the state exco have is really pathetic! cry.gif cry.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 9:09 am
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 14 2009, 12:44 PM)
I can understand why you posted such reply. It is because you lack of patient /manner and you expect the sifu here oblige to respond to your query within 24 hours. You posted your query on 11th 3.54pm, seeseng responded on the 12th. Not satisfied with it, you accused the old birds keeping the secret on 13th. I wouldn't want to behave this way if I were to ask for info/knowledge from a public forum.
The way tangsn posted the question here is different from the way he posted below, seem to have patient/manner

http://cforum3.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?...age%3D1&page=74

Just to highlight the Chinese Swifltet Farming Forum, I think it is good place to warn newbies there about all the scams like the one on the Star recently.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Jul 15 2009, 09:09 AM
swift4ever
post Jul 20 2009, 10:49 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(tan2020 @ Jul 20 2009, 09:57 AM)
My experience with buying  swiftlet's  e-book by Kxxxxx Hxxx years ago on the net with FREE test CD. Tell you I never receive any FREE CD,  vmad.gif  and the e-books is so simple, not worth buying.

I don't know this www.swiftguild.com. Anyone want to try and review here?  hmm.gif
So money do fall from the sky and better still you can make them fall to you if you do accordingly? I wish the author should quote the price with currency USD on the web site not until I click the BUY NOW button.... cry.gif
swift4ever
post Aug 12 2009, 07:20 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(tangsn @ Aug 10 2009, 02:06 PM)
Anyone here from swiftlet society Johor?
A couple of us are from JOHOR BIRD'S NEST INDUSTRY MERCHANTS ASSOCIATION. cheers.gif

Added on August 12, 2009, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 10 2009, 06:59 PM)
This forum seen to be getting cold and I am out of topic to discuss and hopefully we hear or get good news, bad news or any new idea or technology for the swiftlets industry from our friends around here to share.
After Ultrasonic Humidifier, Ultrasonic Nest Cleaner will be the next, correct me if I am wrong and I think when the product is ready to launch, it will create revolution in a bird nest processing industry. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Aug 12 2009, 07:33 PM
swift4ever
post Aug 14 2009, 07:30 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Aug 13 2009, 12:03 PM)
I copy & paste the following for you all to judge for yourself. Will prolong use cause 'White Dust" to form on the nesting planks and damage it forever? yawn.gif  yawn.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  We need more data. FYI, Air-O-Swiss is a manufacturer of ultrasonic Humidifier. Looks like it needs super clean water & a lot of maintenance.  Use it at your own risk.

"The Air-O-Swiss Room Humidifier System works by Ultrasonic Humidification. Water from the Removable Water Reservoir first travels through a Dimineralization Cartridge. The granules within the cartridge remove minerals from the water that can produce "white dust" in the room and also prevents lime scale build-up within the humidifier, making cleaning a simple task. White dust is caused when minerals are carried into the room air from a humidifier and precipitates out when the water vapor evaporates. After leaving the Dimineralization Cartridge, the water travels to the base of the unit where it contacts the patented Ionic Silver Stick®. The Ionic Silver Stick® releases silver ions to kill bacteria and viruses within the water and maintain constant water purity. If the pre-heating option was selected, the water will be heated to 176°F. The water within the base then travels to the Nebulizer Chamber and contacts the Ultrasonic Vibrator, which creates high frequency oscillations to transform the water in the base into a micro-fine mist. The Ultra-Quiet Fan pushes air into the Nebulizer Chamber where the air and micro-fine mist mix together. The air continues up the Evaporation Chamber and is released into the room where the water vapor fully evaporates immediately to release moisture and increase the relative humidity of the room
Maintenance

Water conditions will dictate the amount of maintenance and cleaning required. Using hard water with a lot of minerals will require more frequent demineralization cartridge changes and unit cleaning. The design and features of the Air-O-Swiss Humidifier provides a system that requires much less maintenance and has lower operating costs when compared to other humidifier systems.

Maintenance Procedures

Every two weeks check the unit base for any deposits. Clean any deposits around the titanium disc with the provided brush. Use a mixture of white vinegar and warm water in a 1:2 ratio to help remove deposits.

Replace the demineralization cartridge every 2-3 months, depending on water conditions. More frequent changes may be needed for hard water (high mineral content) conditions.

Replace the Ionic Silver Stick® once a year."
When I googled the web for more DATA, I found this, Ultrasonic Humidifiers May Be a Health Hazard

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m087...n50/ai_7650971/

and I hope it's not the same for the birds beside removing bacteria in the BH. The water used to generate the mist should not be directly from the tap water. On hearing frequency, I gather some ultrasonic sound does not interest these birds at certain level.

Added on August 14, 2009, 7:55 am
QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 12 2009, 09:03 PM)
I love to try on Ultrasonic Humidifier because it really don't wet the floor that much like our faithful Taiwan Chicken Humidifiers ....  but then does the ultra sound create Ultra sound/vibration disturbance to the swiftlets and also UH has its problem like replacement of the ceramic  oscillation disc which may be broken  after so long usage. If so, where to get the replacement .  Never dare to try them and if anyone around here did tried, I believe many would like to know more about it and whether if it create any disturbances to the birds.

For Ultrasonic cleaning, I have tried it once a few years ago and you can't produce a finished half round nest with it. You can only break down the nest but then, by wetting the nest, and then cleaning with a good tweeter will be a better option. I did even tried using a suction pen to remove feathers but fail on that, too.

Maybe, I did the wrong way,maybe some readers may have got it right. Hope that you will or can share your experiences with us  for the benefits of  the industry. Share your experience and you gain more, that what I believe.
The replacement of the oscillation disc can DIY according to the expert and I've never tried it myself though.

Ultrasonic cleaner will be the in thing if labor can be cut to the minimal. They claim that the number of cup-shaped nest can be done in the minimal time. I haven't seen the cleaning done so far so I can't share with you here the statistics of it. Instead of suction pen used for removal of feathers, smallest drill bit is used to that end.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Aug 14 2009, 07:55 AM
swift4ever
post Aug 21 2009, 08:17 AM

263 posts

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/74652?tid=9

Segamat Local Council is doing the legal way with court order! Good job, isn't it? Others should follow suit. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Aug 21 2009, 08:21 AM
swift4ever
post Aug 27 2009, 10:33 AM

263 posts

Long time no see Seeseng! Eggs bounce like ping-pong? Are you refering to the real eggs? I guess many including me don't know dead bird egg can be played like ping-pong. mega_shok.gif
swift4ever
post Sep 1 2009, 11:00 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Sep 1 2009, 05:05 PM)
For those farmers in selangor,

a meeting bet selangor bird's nest association n govt officers in cybercaya will be held on 2/9/09, 10am. the meeting is regarding swiftlet farms in sepang n surrouding area that purportedly affecting the klia flights !!!..

Pls do attend the meeting to gives support to the association, association members can contact Mr Mah (secretary of association) for more info.

The news related to this incident is http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...317&sec=central.

If the guidelines from Perhilitan does not allow activity(swiftlet farming) in shoplots or abandoned buildings, why haven't they stopped it much earlier? rclxub.gif
swift4ever
post Sep 24 2009, 11:37 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
I maybe in Specialist Centre  for the last 21 days and will be there and I don't know how long but at least 30 K EBN.

The pain cause by the wound is bad but nothing compare to the news posted.
As someone mentioned here, now they banned town, the industry, later the agriculture by giving absurd reasoning......why didn't prevent swallow and pigeons and other birds from the towns.

Let put it this way, if it is oil that you find under the town, you will move the population but then, EBN is white gold and unlike oil, it never end but get better and better. Please allow the old ones to stay.

Hopefully, our beloved PM keep his words that BHs are allowed in towns.
I find that our PM is the only one who is consistent in the matter and others seem to follow the wind of the days and that's politics. I tend to respect him more and more by the PM present words follow by his actions.
Concerning the PM's words on the matter...... That's what I heard from his man @ Seremban and an Pahang Exco man.

So, Mr. PM, if your men are reading our forum, pls. save us and our precious golden birds from harm and danger. Only you alone can save this industry from dome day.....otherwise with all the rich ECO men and their connections, we stand no changes from been destroyed.
Whatever causes it, hopefully it's not by swiftlet farming. I for one was infected by diseases from the BH in the past and if any kind-hearted farmer(hard to find in those days) has disclosed the remedy earlier, I would have been healthier and stronger. Thanks a lot that we have EM come to the rescue! Do hope you have a speedy recovery.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Sep 24 2009, 11:39 PM
swift4ever
post Nov 28 2009, 02:07 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Nov 27 2009, 02:24 PM)
Anyone heard this?
A friend who listens to the radio channel told me about it.
That the govt is inviting mainland Chinese to come invest in the BN business in Iskandar?
I scanned the papers but didnt find any report on this in the papers the next day.
Read this, http://search.sinchew-i.com/node/447688?k=養燕 and this http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=457810

This is how the news come about after the "China-Iskandar Malaysia & Bird Nest Business Opportunity 2009" event held on Nov 24, 2009 in Johor recently.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Nov 28 2009, 02:15 PM
swift4ever
post Feb 23 2010, 11:19 PM

263 posts

cool.gif
QUOTE(chiongguo @ Feb 23 2010, 08:26 PM)
Using EM and O3 together is basically an oxy-moronic approach.  EM uses microbes to decompose so that toxic & nauseous gases would not be produced. O3 kills microbes to prevent decomposition. Human's attempt at creating sterile environment had always created more harm than good. 

Between the two EM is better - Work with nature !!
Thanks to the those who use EM and share it here! Anyone who wants to buy it can PM me, it comes in 20-litre drum. Wish I got the time to fill in 1-litre container. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
swift4ever
post Feb 28 2010, 10:43 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 25 2010, 05:12 PM)
TO me, getting swiftlet to stay in my sanctuary is never a problem but having these daily bad news and not knowing what the future will be; that's killing me before the swiftlets.

After so many GPs and so many years, I still don't know what the Authorities really want. They want success in this industries but they are killing it. To me is that the authorities should allow us to brief them on the art and science of breeding swiftlets and setting up swiftlets santuaries. We are pioneers and we know what we are doing and we do not need UNI decree in Animal Husbandry or Biology  to prove us right cos we have past records to prove us right. Put us as advisors to the brains(the Degree Holders) so that we can input to their bright brains to able to put Malaysia as the Top Producer of EBN and the no.1 revenue for Malaysia. Also, to allow us to prove that we are also Anak Malaysia and to fight for our country by helping to generate income for the nation. Patriotism is not only about becoming a soldier to fight a war, in peace, we fight for the nation in making sure that Malaysia is prosperous and economically strong.

Tun Tan once told his new recruit graduates," I choose you all not because I think you know alot on how to manage the buz  but that with your excellence result in your  degree, I know you have the brain. So, now, throw away all you learned in UNI and start learning today from me" Or so I heard or did I make it up!!!!

So, end the story from me and no offence pls.....and if you see DL, pls. convey my warmest regards to him.
I share the same sentiment with you in another way, that is getting swiftlet to live in our home is never a problem as we love these creatures. But having those ill-minded leaders continue with their hidden agenda is killing me, let alone we are only the minority in this industry! Despite all the odds against us, even if 1GP is confirmed old version, I'm still glad to see the figthing spirit is getting even stronger as compared to the last.
swift4ever
post Apr 8 2010, 09:27 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 8 2010, 02:55 PM)
can somebody invite me to go. thanks. how much need to pay for membership.
useless association to me. doesn't have online information . are they still using snail mail or telegraph to communicate?
It is pretty much the same to the Johor AGM convenened recently. Thousands of members but with only 100+ attended. Either they used snail mail or they are only interested in Assoc SDN BHD...

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Apr 8 2010, 09:29 PM
swift4ever
post May 6 2010, 07:49 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 5 2010, 10:38 PM)
Enter my 10 months old BH today at 11am and noticed that less birds inside the BH and only occasional baby/young birds sounds can be heard. Compare to last month, there were many birds inside the BH at this hour and baby/young birds sound were very loud and many.
I also noticed that 80% of the nests were empty and the remaining 20% with birds perching on it. 
May I ask the sifu here the following questions:
1) Is this situation indicating the end of mating season ?
2) Is it ok to harvest the empty nests now ?
3) Should I leave it as it is and wait for the colony to grow bigger ?
From my experience,
1) yes
2) harvest them all
3) colony to grow if nests harvested

0.0687sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:10 AM