V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

chiongguo
post Feb 23 2010, 08:36 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ellylinda @ Feb 23 2010, 08:14 PM)
i would like to know more about starting a bh.
what is the 1st thing i should look out for? location? near forested areas?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
swiftlets biggrin.gif

chiongguo
post Feb 26 2010, 07:45 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Feb 23 2010, 11:19 PM)
cool.gif
Thanks to the those who use EM and share it here! Anyone who wants to buy it can PM me, it comes in 20-litre drum. Wish I got the time to fill in 1-litre container.    rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
You can't just use it - you have to activate it first. Very few em seller tell you how to do it.
Another easier alternative is to use bokashi - just sprinkle it liberally on top of the shit.

Bokashi is made from rice/wheat husk. EM is added to rice/wheat husk and stored in an air-tight container for a few weeks and then the content is slow dried and then stored. Doesn't need activation.

chiongguo
post Feb 26 2010, 08:35 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(tangsn @ Feb 26 2010, 12:47 AM)
Let say whole malaysia swiftlet farmer don't folow the new guide line,what will happen?
no one go on application of lesen or permit,what will happen?
and whole malaysia swiftler farmer come out make noise on the street,what will happen?
the new guide line KIV or .......?
In order to do this there must be a mass consciousness. Very much like that of a laser light. A 1 watt laser light can cut steel and yet a 1000w lamp can at best barbeque a steak.

There are just far too many napoleons and self-serving individuals in the industry. Anyone who disagrees would literally be hounded and pounded into submission.

The industry itself gets what it deserve - that's the law of nature.

It is in the nature of a bloated civil service to impose more and more rules to sustain the bloat. The BN industry is not exactly a very new one but only in recent years it got a lot of unwanted and unneccesary publicity.

Milton friedman's "free to choose" is a compelling account of how a bloated civil service and a highly structured governmental control mechanism will kill off any industry in its sight. HongKong is an interesting case study when contrasted with india after the second world war.

The government should understand that their role is not so much to regulate but to facilitate. This doesn't mean there shouldn't be any regulation but the regulations must be to serve the greater good of society. Countries such as indonesia, thailand and vietnam had demonstrated greater degree of ingenuity and development mainly because there is basically no regulation. Taken to extreme this is no good. Whatever regulation that is being passed must balance out the contradicting demands of the industry and that of the society.

The 1GP is a lot of hogwash where guidelines do not support the objectives but work contrary to it. Those who came out with it must be able to defend it at a public forum - either online or in real life.

This guideline come under the purview of muhiyuddin. There is a strong current whisper that he may be going for the number one post. Will he use this issue or can this issue use him ?

At the end of the day the national guideline is only a guideline and states are not compelled to follow it. As I had said umpteem times before the real work is at the state level. Does anyone know what is the PR stand on this industry in the PR managed states ? I believe tok guru is supportive of this.

chiongguo
post Feb 26 2010, 03:52 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 26 2010, 01:48 PM)
I think i will totally agree with DL ( Dato lee, or Datok Lim ...whatever).... i already offered to be in the spark of this cry but seems like nobody wants to lead after all . I close this topic and move on with my dream bird house of my own regardless of the law or bullshitting or gossips....

In the first place, where is Goliath?

this forum is just the right place to " CRY".
there's nothing u can do about it...
There is no Goliath only little davids. But the problem is that everytime any little david tried to speak their mind or offer something to nudge the industry in a particular direction they are intimidated - criminally - by some thuggish forumers.

What could you do ? What is one thing you could do that will make a substantial difference to the industry ? Look at the "forces" that are now driving the industry - it is definitely not the farmers/sanctuary providers but developers with mega finances and governmental links. It is not the government that you have to fight with but these quiet and hidden insidious influences. Such cartel-like strangulation of competition in any industry had been used time and time again throughout history and all these often was possible due to artificially imposed regulations.

How do you counter them ? Don't !!!

Education is the best tool you have. Educate enough people on what is really going on in the industry and you will have enough little davids to bring down any goliath. It takes time and you may argue that time is what you do not have. I submit that time is the only thing that we have.

Developer's sole reason for being is development. One thing many could do at this point in time is to bring the industry into a grinding halt. Educate as many people as possible of the uncertainties and advise them not to invest in the industry for now.

Will swiftlet cities work ? Time will tell.

chiongguo
post Mar 6 2010, 02:18 PM

114 posts

All these poor demented soul with all manner of frightful imaginings. In our fear we often find reason or reasons to hate. In our hate we cause hurt and harm and think we are doing good.

Poor chanK had to return to his vomit time and time again. The biblical metaphor of the dog returning to his vomit is so appropriate. Initially I doubted the metaphor until I reared 3 b i t c h e s. Dogs do return to their vomit and eat it with great relish and gusto.

This post has been edited by chiongguo: Mar 6 2010, 02:27 PM
chiongguo
post Mar 9 2010, 08:15 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 6 2010, 02:44 PM)
Wah Chiongguo,
Took me 10 mins of googling to even start to understand your comments in yr 2nd para.
Heavy stuff man.  biggrin.gif
Your comments may be misread or I may have misread.
You mean to say we are creatures of habit by nature.  righto?
Now, that's a cute reply.

In a way you are right. It was a personal comment on ChanK's strange habit of shooting off and then returning to what he had shot off ;-) . Thus all the deletion, re-editing, rephrasing. No need to lose here trying to figure it out.

It was an appropriate metaphor - nothing personal - you understand ;-) .

Added on March 9, 2010, 8:29 amYesterday I met with a ketua kampung and it seemed that now JKKK's are also up in arms against bird house in the kampung. I asked him for the by-laws and he shot back with threats of writing to the town councillors to revoke licenses and close down bird houses. He cited polluting - shit and noise as the chief complaint. But in the kampung that is a rather strange argument to make.

I had been to kandang kambing to buy kambing shit for my cacing-lah and these kandang is just a stone throw away from 2 beautiful single storey bungalows. On a hot afternoon when a the gentle breeze blows ..... use your imagination from this point on.

Yet these had never been an issue.

In the same kandang I asked the caretaker why he burned some of the dried grass he cut. He said had to do this every evening so that flies and insects won't bother the kambing.

Why does bird houses evoke so much hatred and contempt ? Those in the industry are fighting amongst themselves for power, influence and control. Those outside the industry are viewing it with disdain out of jealousy and the arrogant manner in which such montrosity intrude upon the landscape. There is no escaping the sight of such structures. And the noise it made draw upon itself a lot of unwelcome attention.

I once met a kampung folk - a lawyer who was building a bird house in his house that he no longer lived in. It was a typical kampung house, quiet - very low volume sound, unobstrusive and it is just right next to 4 other kampung houses.

Why can't bird houses be made in more creative ways that are cheaper, less imposing, doesn't make so much noise etc ?

No other industry that is as fcuked up as this one. Everyone seem to want to fcuk it at some point. Countries such as thailand and vietnam will overtake us in no time. We had a good start and like in so many other areas with so much corruption and bureaucrazy we will again lose out.

This post has been edited by chiongguo: Mar 9 2010, 08:29 AM
chiongguo
post Mar 21 2010, 09:47 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 18 2010, 03:31 PM)
in my area, there is this one pork noodle shop, average they sold about 1000 bowls a day.

so, telling them that u should convert it into a farm they will bring out their pork chopper to chase u out of their shop.

1000 x 5 = RM5k a day, 150K a month.
Expenses, cost & labour

then there is this one shop that sell pork noodle, i always go there n eat, then one day it just closed shop. i asked the owner why u want to closed it? got ppls eating what!.

He told me, i average one day can only sell 20 bowls, for Rm3.5 a bowl.

20 x 3.5 = RM70 a day, RM2.1k a month.

and this income support my family and my adult son who also have a family depends on it. so tell me, how to survive?
no one knows better than the owners themselves. THey know what they are earning.
If they can survive make a living by doing biz in their shop, they will do
Expenses, cost & labour !!

This is really tall tale ;-)

He should have tried other means to attract customer.

(BY THE WAY, WHO THE F U ARE TO TELL THEM WHAT THEY NEED TO DO!).
Living in a community requires basic respect for the well-being of others. Because there are those
who behave like bull in a mamakstore & leaving behind less than fragrant droppings all over the place, rules and regulations are required. At least some sanity can be preserved.

Some rules are commonsensical and it doesn't need anyone to tell us. Others are more debatable.

As for annoying farms,

I myself hated many mamak stalls around my shop as they are bloody dirty and clogged most of the drains in the area. They also breed rats as they dump all the rubbish n leftover everywhere. The motor shop behind too is annoying as they keep checking the motorbike by pressing the old pedal so hard that ur ear will numb for few minutes after that. The retail shops nearby also annoying as they blast their musics from 10am till 10pm to attract customers to come...indian songs, malay songs and chinese songs.

but then again i thought well....at least they stop all the nuisance after 8pm...and i can get a good peaceful night. they are just trying to make a living just liked me. so, peace.
Certain sound can make you go crazy and I mean it in more ways than one. Swiftlet sound is in the high frequency region. There was a study on newsreader/anchor women and their tonal quality. They found that women with high frequency sound annoyed all the listeners.

Music being played out are pleasing and not annoying.

Btw. when was it that motorbike had "old pedal"(oil pedal ?)

But you are right though ; pollution of any kind should be minimised to have an impact on the environment. Would you not agree that swiftlet industry do have an impact on the environment and has to be mitigated ? I had argued once that the standard for this industry should be no different from other industry with polluting discharges.

If the players in the industry wanted to fight it should be to fight for a fair deal and not one that only benefit the industry at the expense of others. Some commonsensical consideration would help foster more goodwill. Keep pulling out your d*** and threatening to fight with blood and sweat only helped to fossilise the position of those in authority.

There seem to be a lot of noise in here but in truth it is just a tiny beep in the whole scheme of things.

ChanK, put your d*** back where it belonged. You don't have to continually fcuk the world to get some attention ;-) .

0.0635sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:00 AM