V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

CWG
post Aug 16 2009, 04:09 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 16 2009, 12:35 PM)
I should have given more info in the first place.
My BH is a stand alone 3 storey building and have 177 4" VH. Only 10% were closed prior to opening all. Now I shall do an experiment to close all VH floor by floor and monitor the reading of hygrometer.

I have this logic in mind but not sure whether it is correct or not. Damper and cooler air is heavier, therefore the ground floor should have more air pressure then the upper floors, thus open up  VH in ground floor will allow damp air to flow out ?
I thought hot air has more energy and therefore more pressure. I agreed what WW said. Try to close all the VH first. After all your BH is new BH, close all VH can help to keep the aroma smell in your BH.
CWG
post Sep 4 2009, 09:50 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 4 2009, 06:57 AM)
Yes I know that is the best way to learn. But what are the things to look out for? I don't even know where to start and like I said, they all look the same to me.
Like what Dun said, just observe how they fly near BH and they don't stop and rest at tree or power transmission line.
CWG
post Sep 14 2009, 10:10 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Bird8888 @ Sep 13 2009, 10:40 PM)
HI Lim ,

the people here wont give any help to you!
just ask you to read from beginning...even you read from V1 until now
you still can't solve your problem,because the people here wish to keep the secret of swiftlet farming until end of the world.
if they really to help,they will ask detail from your BH like BH design and so on.
i know alot of people unhappy with my post,so billion sorry in advance...........and forgive me about my mistake.
Bird8888
Bird8888,

If you want to make any comments, why you need to specially create a NEW user name? Why you so scare about people knowing who are you? I like uncle West Wing, uncle Ben, CK and those people use 1 user name in this forum. No product is 100% good for all the BH. If somebody said something no good about certain product, please treat it as a good feedback for you to produce a better product in future.

For newbie,
I agree that you need to read from V1. You need to put a lot of effort yourself first before other people can help you. There is no Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) that can grantee 100% success in Swiftlet farming. But there are certain general guideline that you can follow to at least meet the average results. To get a very good results, then you need some secret recipe that differentiate your BH than other BHs which not many people will tell you. Otherwise if everybody using the same method, then birds have more choices and it would not be effectives anymore.

I am still learning and my BH still not good enough. There are still quite a number of problem to be resolved. I treat all the problem is an opportunity for me to learn and increase my swiftlet farming knowledge to a higher level. I share my problem in my blog. So that people can learn from my mistake and some people can recommend me some good methods to improve my BH.

http://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/[SIZE=7]
CWG
post Sep 15 2009, 09:27 AM

71 posts

Bad new for Melaka Swiftlet Farming!!!
[COLOR=red]
Majlis Perbadaran Melaka has issued letters to a lot of swiftlet farmers even their BH is not in the Historical Place. Those received the letters include Melaka Bird Nest Association Vice President, Treasurer and those existing BH with licence. The authority want them to revert the Shop lot to their initial condition within 30 days. Failure to do so can face maximum RM50K fine + 3 years jail.
cry.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

http://www.chinapress.com.my/content_new.a...rt=0915lm02.txt[SIZE=7][COLOR=red]

[SIZE=7]非古蹟區禁養燕?
業者接信促還原建築物

曾永安展示多年前部長鼓勵養燕業的剪報,促請政府當局勿朝令夕改。
(馬六甲14日訊)非古蹟區養燕業者近日陸續接獲市政廳發出,需在30天內“還原”辦公室或店屋的通知,接獲通知的業者也包括擁有合法養燕執照者,市政廳突如其來的行動,令業者大感不公平。
據悉,大約三四十名業者接獲市政廳及野新市議會的通知,不能在辦公室或店屋養燕,並限期在收到通知信的30天內執行。

其中一名接獲通知信的業者為馬六甲燕窩商公會財政汪枝民,其位于巴當德目中小型工業區的兩間燕屋,雖然在兩年前已獲得養燕的執照,而且執照迄今仍有效,他不明白為何仍接獲不能養燕的通知。

“我在兩年前已獲得消拯局、環境局、衛生局及市政廳城市規劃局的批准,取得合法的執照,但必須每3個月更新執照。我的執照是在9月30日到期,我在10日前往更新時被拒,官員所給的理由是,市政廳從9月開始,不再發出執照給養燕業者。”

朝令夕改難適從

隨后,他在12日接獲市政廳建築物管制局送來的通知信,指其燕屋是濫用建築物,抵觸1974年道路、溝渠及建築物法令第70(12)條文,必須在30天內還原,否則一旦被控上法庭,可罰款不超過5萬令吉,或坐牢不超過3年,或兩者兼施。

同時,市政廳還可收取每天1000令吉的罰款。

他說,其當初在獲得執照后,放心投資五六萬令吉,如今要他“還原”,猶如要他的投資付諸東流。

此外,該公會副會長劉倧良位于默迪卡花園的燕屋,也接獲同樣的通知信。

對此,該公會會長曾永安指出,他已將有關事件向總會反映,由總會處理。

“我們希望當局不要朝令夕改,讓業者無法適從,我們歡迎當局發出指南讓業者遵守。”

另一方面,市長尤索夫受詢時,僅表明不知情,叫記者在明天的記者會上才提問。

CWG
post Sep 16 2009, 09:40 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(sosos @ Sep 15 2009, 10:49 PM)
walau a.....
whats  this....
i really scare now
the good consultant is ourself...not other ppl
rclxub.gif
Interesting. Now I start wondering how can the bird cling at the middle of the ceiling? hmm.gif Is the "Original" photo also not very "Original". sweat.gif
CWG
post Sep 16 2009, 10:00 AM

71 posts

Another bad news for Melaka Swiftlet Farming. Maybe it will extend to other states too.

公會:“5修改”要求續養燕‧古蹟區燕屋不播音
馬六甲 2009-09-14 11:10

古蹟區一些燕屋的外貌令人不敢恭維。(圖:星洲日報)

(馬六甲)甲燕窩商公會週日(9月13日)召集會員開會,針對古蹟區燕屋需被還原的限令,達致一項共識,即同意對燕屋進行5項修改,以作為向當局要求在古蹟區繼續養燕業的替代方案。
4業主出席會議
週日共有4名業主出席週日約50人的會議。該會主席曾永安在會後受詢時表示,由於一人擁有數間燕屋,相信以上4人代表了古蹟區內的半數燕屋。該會將繼續聯絡其他未出席週日會議的燕屋主人。
他說,根據市政廳的資料顯示,古蹟區內共有43間燕屋。
他透露,官員說他們不會殺生,官員將採取的手法是讓燕屋打開門窗,拆除播音器材、開亮燈光。
須先保住市區燕屋
曾永安在會上發言時強調,古蹟區的燕屋對整個甲州的養燕業非常重要,是燕子的重要源頭。如果市區的燕屋被消除,他保證其他地區的燕屋也不可能獨存。
所以,他認為一定要先保住市區的燕屋。他希望所有同業同舟共濟,共渡難關,不要再製造更多問題,尤其是聲音的問題。
“政府接獲的所有投訴之中,有99%與聲音有關。其實,聲音可能有助競爭,但沒有聲音也不會太大損失,尤其是如果大家都不開聲音的話,更加不是問題。以前燕子進屋,都不需要這些聲音。”
業主應合作集體行動
他希望燕屋業主不要自欺欺人,以為不出席會議或不加以理睬,政府就不知道燕屋的存在。
“其實政府早就查得很清楚,大家最好快點出來和公會合作,以集體合作的方式,向當局提呈集體行動的保證,才有可能共渡難關。”
他認為,馬六甲古蹟區的燕屋如果淪陷,不只是甲州全體燕屋的災難,也是全國燕屋的一個大缺口,全國燕屋將會逐州出現問題。

甲市與野新限月內拆設施‧古蹟區燕屋年底消失
馬六甲 頭條新聞 2009-09-14 11:05

馬六甲成為世界文化遺產一年之後,古蹟區燕屋的問題再次浮上台面。(圖:星洲日報)
1 of 2
(馬六甲)甲州政府雷厲發信,市政廳建築物控制小組以濫用建築物為由,限甲市區與野新縣業主9月內拆除燕屋設施。與此同時也發信給古蹟區內的燕屋屋主,限於今年12月31日之前取消燕屋。
甲州政府也已經停止更新養燕執照。
甲燕窩商公會週日(9月13日)早上召集會員開會,約50人出席會議。主席曾永安在會後受詢時透露,市政廳於半年前曾致函古蹟區業主,需於今年底之前把燕屋還原。
會員無法更新養燕執照
兩週前,他們再次收到市政廳的來信,除了提醒上述限令之外,也通知將於9月30日之後開始檢查行動。
他透露,很多會員也在9月開始,無法更新每3個月一次的養燕執照。
他指出,甲州目前共有大約120張養燕執照,其中約90張在市區。
古蹟區共43間燕屋
根據市政廳的資料顯示,古蹟區內共有43間燕屋,其中只有18間呈上建築圖測。
曾永安表示,這18間燕屋所呈上的圖測,於2006年呈上至今沒有獲得批准。出現燕屋的古蹟區街道包括荷蘭街、雞場街、板底街、吉靈街及河邊街一帶。
曾永安說,該會其實期望政府來管理養燕行業,該會只能提供服務,帶領會員儘量配合做到政府的要求,共同解決問題。
養燕業每年帶來10億外匯
他強調,養燕業給大馬帶來每年10億的收入,對國家經濟極有幫助,他希望政府認真看待該行業的貢獻,並制定恰當的政策。
週日出席會議者包括該會3名副主席宋耀強、李偉光和劉倧良,財政汪枝民和秘書姚智輝。
星洲日報/古城‧2009.09.13

CWG
post Sep 17 2009, 09:31 AM

71 posts

Another bad new about Malacca Swiftlet Farming. They want to get rid of all the BH in center Melaka but allow some area near the sea. Hmmm...look like BIG Green Ang Bow is needed.

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/76862?tid=8

市長:不再延長保留‧古蹟區燕屋年底需清空
[SIZE=7]馬六甲 頭條新聞 2009-09-16 10:20

古蹟區燕屋這次難逃法網?(圖:星洲日報)

(馬六甲)燕子紛飛!甲市長尤索夫占丹週二(9月15日)說,古蹟區內的燕屋肯定要在今年12月31日之前被清空。9月30日之前,古蹟區內和其他地區的燕屋都會陸續受到檢查,其他地區的燕屋如果符合要求,將可允許繼續經營。
10和11月檢查各地燕屋
市長週二召開新聞發佈會澄清,市政廳之前發給燕屋主的信,是要求燕屋主於9月30日之後允許市政廳、野生動物保護局、獸醫局等組成的執法隊伍進屋裡檢查。
“9月30日之後的10月和11月,我們會採取行動,進入甲州各地方的燕屋進行檢查。”
不過,他強調,古蹟區的燕屋是肯定不會再被延遲保留。
明年對古蹟區燕屋發傳票
“其實甲州行政議會已經在去年底作出這項決定。明年1月開始,市政廳將會對古蹟區內的燕屋發出傳票,每次罰款是250令吉。”
如果燕屋主仍然不予理會,市政廳將採取行動將事主提控上法庭。
建議集中養燕地點
他指出,古蹟區內共有24間燕屋,其中2間已經被還原,其他22間有待解決。
這24間燕屋出現在荷蘭街、雞場街、東圭納路、甘榜烏汝、河邊街和祈安律。
“如果在檢查時,有關燕屋被發現有喇叭但沒有燕子,沒有問題。
如果發現沒有喇叭但有燕子,就有問題。”
政府建議集中養燕的地點,是在填海區、烏絨巴西、野新的萬里茂海邊。
另一個受到考慮的地點是瓜拉雙溪峇汝。
燕窩商公會數十會員
指接信限期還原燕屋
甲燕窩商公會週一(9月14日)召開新聞發佈會,聲稱該會數十名會員接獲市政廳建築管制小組誌期9月7日的通知信,指他們濫用建築,限令他們在30天內將燕屋還原為店屋。
與此同時,這些會員也面對養燕執照不獲市政廳更新的問題。
面對上述問題的,除了甲市區的會員之外,野新縣的會員也接獲同樣的信件,及不獲更新執照。
星洲日報/古城‧2009.09.15

CWG
post Sep 17 2009, 12:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 17 2009, 10:23 AM)
Dear CWG,

I'm your blog reader. you said in your blog that don't play external sound inside the BH. May I know the reason ?
I placed external sound in my 3 storey swiftlet bungalow at LAL and both end of the building for bird pulling effect. No ?
Normally, people play the external tweeter in the BH using the same Amp as the external tweeters. Cheaper and easier. According to the sifu, some external sounds if play together with internal sound in the BH will make the bird confuses. Remember, most likely we will change external sound every 3 to 4 months. If some external sound has "Stress Sound" inside, your BH will be in trouble.

The best is to play the Pulling sound in your BH with separate Amp. So, when you change your external sound, you would not affect the pulling sound in the BH.
CWG
post Sep 17 2009, 02:11 PM

71 posts

[quote=tangsn,Sep 17 2009, 11:41 AM]
[SIZE=14]
“如果在檢查時,有關燕屋被發現有喇叭但沒有燕子,沒有問題。

如果發現沒有喇叭但有燕子,就有問題。”

政府建議集中養燕的地點,是在填海區、烏絨巴西、野新的萬里茂海邊。

另一個受到考慮的地點是瓜拉雙溪峇汝。
[/SIZE]

I find this part interesting too. If we removed the tweeters and birds still like to come, that is our fault doh.gif sweat.gif But no problem if there are tweeters but no birds. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Not sure whether is coincident of pre-plan. Last 2 weeks there is a developer from ECO Park Malacca (NUSA DUSUN HU ZAN Huang) approach me and asked my help to advertise the project in my blog. Apparently, they already have 2 units 3-storey standalone BH (show flat). According to the developer, the project is approved by State Gov. But very Expensive. ~ RM680K

I am not sure whether is there any relation between this Eco park and the closure of Town BH in Malacca.

CWG
post Sep 23 2009, 12:57 PM

71 posts

After close to a year involve in swiftlet farming, I realize that there is a little information about the reviews of good products like Tweeter, Amplifier, aroma, plank, humidifier and etc. There is also no much information about how good is the consultant.

So I decided to create another web-site to let people write or read the review or certain products or services. Hopefully, when more and more people participate, we will have enough data base to make comparison before purchase or engage certain consultant.

Please visit this web-site and email to me if you want certain product to be included for review.

http://cw_gee.webs.com/http://cw_gee.webs.com/
[COLOR=red]
You can also visit my blog below and click the link at the right sidebar.

My Webpagehttp://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/[COLOR=red]
CWG
post Sep 25 2009, 03:35 PM

71 posts

The complain from neighbour can affect other swiftlet farming in that area too who follow the proper guideline. NO....

CWG
post Sep 30 2009, 02:17 PM

71 posts

Quite disappointed after reading a blog about how to increase the number of baby birds during 2nd phase. sad.gif

The idea is really crazy and not ethic. Add 3 eggs in a nest? Did he ever think that can birds feed 3 baby birds at the same times? Or is the nest big enough for 3 birds? Most of the birds will eventually get kill either by starving to dead or accidentally fall down. Even they can survive, I think due to not enough food, their size and health also not as good as normal growing birds. Can they survive in wild environment? shakehead.gif

How about the idea to choose only female egg only? What about the male egg? throw or sell away? Again you are teaching how to kill young birds.

Btw I thought the swiftlet once choose its partner, they will forever together until either one of them die before they look for new one?

I hope those who practice the method of increasing young birds can sleep well at night.... doh.gif

Another crazy idea after "shift birds" episode. rclxub.gif
CWG
post Oct 2 2009, 10:18 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Oct 1 2009, 12:10 PM)

CWG, can you direct me to which blog your talking about? I wanna read it as well. Thanks.

My dearest coolandy, thats why we need proper research in this field. Fact or fiction can easily be proven. We are in dire need of studies like this;

The blogger has removed the article. sweat.gif

I think it is good. A lot of people are reading his blog. Hope he is not misled people especially newbie.
CWG
post Oct 4 2009, 03:38 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(xinzhang @ Oct 4 2009, 06:13 AM)
helo....brother here...
i wanna to ask about the Poultry humidifier 半天露?how much per nos?
and where can it buy ?thx
Please check this out.

http://cw_gee.webs.com/taiwanhumidifier.htmhttp://cw_gee.webs.com/taiwanhumidifier.htm
CWG
post Oct 5 2009, 10:41 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Oct 5 2009, 10:21 AM)
The poultry humidifier:

I have used 21 units so far, some since 2.5 yrs ago and none giving me any problems.

Don't think they give any warranty but you can try.

How do you plan to manage the humidity level?
I am checking with my supplier any warranty. But mine so far so good. The only problem that I have is the humidifier cause the floor very wet, so much so that it cause leaking to the ceiling. You need to watch out for this.

Read my blog below for more pictures.
http://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/[COLOR=red]

anyone have similar issue? How you solve the problem. Thanks

Added on October 5, 2009, 10:45 amBtw, there are 2 BH at Bera, Pahang for sales. Both BH have valid license to operate. Please check website below for details

License BH for SALES[COLOR=red]

This post has been edited by CWG: Oct 5 2009, 10:45 AM
CWG
post Oct 13 2009, 11:29 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(YeeHup @ Oct 12 2009, 04:47 PM)
Hi everyone,

We are here to actually introduce our company product (Expanded Polystyrene Foam/EPS) which is one of the cost saving material for insulation. We are one of the leading EPS manufacturer in Klang Valley and we been in this industry for about 12 years.

We have supplied EPS for quite a number of projects at Sabak Bernam/Sg. Besar and even Sitiawan for this material. We are only supplying this material but if required installation, we are only able to provide information on know how.

You are always welcome to visit our website http://www.yeehup.com for further information.

If you have any further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me via email or hp.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Andy Low @ 012-2097934
Email: andylow@yeehup.com
Hi YeeHup,

Can you please send me the detail of the insulator that you would like to promote in the Website below. I can help you posted in my web.

http://cw_gee.webs.com/

Added on October 13, 2009, 11:39 am
QUOTE(CWG @ Oct 13 2009, 11:29 AM)
Hi YeeHup,

Can you please send me the detail of the insulator that you would like to promote in the Website below. I can help you posted in my web.

http://cw_gee.webs.com/
Btw I also add in a new Forum page in the web.

This post has been edited by CWG: Oct 13 2009, 11:39 AM
CWG
post Nov 1 2009, 11:20 AM

71 posts

All,

Fyi, I have created a FORUM in my Swiftlet Products and Reviews web below for people to share their view on swiftlet related topics. You need to register as member first. Everybody can be a member.

Btw, you need to use Google Chrome or Firefox to log in. Cannot use IE.

http://cw_gee.webs.comhttp://cw_gee.webs.com

CWG
post Nov 13 2009, 10:07 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 11 2009, 10:46 AM)

2. Partition should be full and not half/ partial.

Hi WW,

I would like to know why you suggest full partition not half/partial partition?

I am using top down partition now (2 feet from the ceiling). In my opinion, it will help to block some light, create colony (I hope) and do not block the birds flying path.

0.0654sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:14 PM