122 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

ahchard
post Feb 3 2010, 10:30 AM

Raymondetc: 10 birds? how long were you there doing the testing?

In my opinion, a birdcall test that gets hundreds of birds is only possible in an area where there are already a lot of birdhouses... if you were testing in agricultural land where there were no BH's nearby I doubt you will get few hundred birds coming when you do the birdcall. I recently tested a birdcall at a piece of land which was in the flight path and also had paddy field and oil palm plantation so it was also their feeding ground... there would be small groups of birds flying past every few minutes. I did the birdcall but the birds would not all hover around above in the sky... they might circle a few times then fly off, then another few come and circle then fly off... so at any one time there were no more than 10 birds... but in the 1 hr period I was there it would have been about 50 to 100 birds flying past. I am not sure if I was playing duress or external sound as I got it from my friend... I also noticed that even without playing the sound the birds still flew past the land...
hackwire
post Feb 3 2010, 10:41 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 2 2010, 06:01 PM)
Is it true that Tangkak is the breeding ground for Swiftlet? I intent to go there and take a look there for finding a new Bird house soon. other place i may go down to look around is in sitiawan as i heard many houses were there.

Added on February 2, 2010, 6:02 pmanyone need CCTV camera like IR camera can get it from me as im a dealer in taiwanese brand.
let me know your specs and requirement and i can help u to get .

Added on February 2, 2010, 6:11 pmwhat is this website for when we cannot even login http://burungwalit.com.my/login.php

Added on February 2, 2010, 6:53 pmhttp://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/2009/09/bad-new-for-swiftlet-farmer-in-melaka.html#comment-form

Is this good or bad story?
how was the scenario now in Melaka? when i saw the yen yen blog, i think this is not new news anymore. state govt acts like they belong to Triad society is it?

anyway, had anyone gone into the http://burungwalit.com.my

i am also trying to find out about the Malaysian Swiftlet Association, whether its any benefit to join the group to support each other ?
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Feb 3 2010, 02:33 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 3 2010, 10:41 AM)
how was the scenario now in Melaka? when i saw the yen yen blog, i think this is not new news anymore. state govt acts like they belong to Triad society is it?

anyway, had anyone gone into the http://burungwalit.com.my

i am also trying to find out about the Malaysian Swiftlet Association, whether its any benefit to join the group to support each other ?
State Goverments ARE triads. Thats the way i see it. Squeezing people.

That website is currently for DVS usage only. I called them up regarding that site/tracking system. They have a good initial idea, but are in beta/testing currently. I was informed they will start utilizing the system once the 1GP is out, for registered BH's. At least they consider data collection important now.

About owls, one of the common recommendations would be to remove any trees around the BH since birds of prey, especially owls need a perch to observe prey before launching an assault. Unlike eagles and hawks which most of the time soar high above and circle before attacking, owls more commonly prefer surprise attacks (national geographic knowledge like Cergau, ;p). Maybe trapping and releasing is a good idea.... but how do we trap owls? kena tanya yang biasa buat keje ni.
hackwire
post Feb 3 2010, 03:18 PM

4,256 posts

thanks dunsun, as usual this guy are always here to share and give. appreciated.
In the old day, i remember my uncle use to burn tractor tyres or any rubber to create a stinking glue on the ranch and the bird will stick on the glue trap. wonder if it is safe and work.

hope we have a better idea rather than killing the owl as they are also survivor.

State govt should have a positive guideline which will create a winning game for all. What they forgot is that there are very powerful people around that will also determine their faith in their next election and also their well being.
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 3 2010, 04:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(ahchard @ Feb 3 2010, 11:30 AM)
Raymondetc: 10 birds? how long were you there doing the testing?

In my opinion, a birdcall test that gets hundreds of birds is only possible in an area where there are already a lot of birdhouses... if you were testing in agricultural land where there were no BH's nearby I doubt you will get few hundred birds coming when you do the birdcall. I recently tested a birdcall at a piece of land which was in the flight path and also had paddy field and oil palm plantation so it was also their feeding ground... there would be small groups of birds flying past every few minutes. I did the birdcall but the birds would not all hover around above in the sky... they might circle a few times then fly off, then another few come and circle then fly off... so at any one time there were no more than 10 birds... but in the 1 hr period I was there it would have been about 50 to 100 birds flying past. I am not sure if I was playing duress or external sound as I got it from my friend... I also noticed that even without playing the sound the birds still flew past the land...
It was done in an agriculture land. Guess there isn't any BH around. Tested for about 30mins. Yes those birds came & go, twice, but each time only about 10 birds. Also not much activities around.....well , no luck this time (1st bird test call). No worries, this shall not keep me away or discourage me.

Cheers
Raymond

1M'sia
post Feb 3 2010, 06:33 PM

QUOTE(Raymondetc @ Feb 3 2010, 12:54 AM)
doh.gif  No luck. Less than 10 birds. Have to start looking for another land.
Test call should be done at different time of a day and over a few days if you want. I came across testing with no birds but on the next day it was close to a hundred birds. My view is that if you carry out at a hot noon time and there are birds around then the place should be all right to build a BH. Even better if you test with pulling sound (not SOS) and the birds come.

If you want to check the distress sound you play, go to an area with lot of BHs and play and you will know the answer.

Just my half cent.
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 3 2010, 08:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(1M'sia @ Feb 3 2010, 07:33 PM)
Test call should be done at different time of a day and over a few days if you want.  I came across testing with no birds but on the next day it was close to a hundred birds.  My view is that if you carry out at a hot noon time and there are birds around then the place should be all right to build a BH.  Even better if you test with pulling sound (not SOS) and the birds come.

If you want to check the distress sound you play, go to an area with lot of BHs and play and you will know the answer.

Just my half cent.
Hi 1Malaysia, so what are the "different times" that we should be testing? Also does the weather Hot/Cloudy/ immediately after rain affects the out come? How many times should we test the same land before we can 'write-off' as 'No-Bird'? On agriland, can we take 50 birds (per time) as a yard stick?

Thank you in advance.
Cheers
Raymond
ahchard
post Feb 4 2010, 10:14 AM

Raymond, testing is best done either late afternoon/evening 5/6pm when the birds are flying home... or early morning anytime before 10am... but it kinda depends on where your land is... u have to know where the BH's are located.

For example the land I tested is East of the main town and birds fly east in the morning to go to the sea and also to feed... i did testing on different days... once from 930am to 1030 am... once from 730am to 830am... and could see birds flying past above in small groups.

Added on February 4, 2010, 1:22 pmalso can anyone give me tips on how to make the best birdcall test kit? I usually have to borrow my friends, but I would like to make my own... my friends is just a cd player plugged inteo cigarette adapter with one tweeter output.

pls share on your birdcall setup/design... one tweeter or more? do you set the tweeters in a box or bazooka like tube or just the naked tweeter?

This post has been edited by ahchard: Feb 4 2010, 01:22 PM
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Feb 4 2010, 01:57 PM

223 posts

I am not sure if the way i tested the site is generally accepted or not. I tested 2 sites (available land, one in Selangor around Dengkil, the other in N9 where there were many plots within a 10km radius).

Observation was done spanning before and after rainy seasons, roughly around 3-4 months. Different times basically morning, afternoon and evening bila ada peluang(so much so about 30 days of data lebih kurang sometimes selang seminggu, sometimes consequent days). I just had to make sure before building, ada kawan gelak, but hey, its not his money right? tongue.gif

For documentary purposes noted the wind direction, weather, direction they came and direction they dispersed, with audio and without audio... all using my pancaindera, no high tech equipment involved (except a digital camera, itupun blur2 gambar, limited zoom n focus as seen below without audio, slightly drizzling), haha!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwPfsT7VWGU

Only after doing this did i ask an experienced old man to do a site visit, then a 'consultant'. Both okayed... so ok la kot. As i mentioned earlier, they were flying at least 100ft and higher, i believe it indicates this was a flight path or feeding ground. After digging some more, in the daerah were around 4 dozen BH's, most in commercial lots (stats from local PBT). The nearest one was about a year old, with birds flying in and out during peak times. Can't compare with the ones in Lukut/PD/Pasir Panjang... those even in the afternoon one can see the birds flying about the BH. I am confident that the area was a feeding ground as the demographics would suggest.

haha... hackwire, yes, we used to jerat burung guna getah masa kecik2 dulu, but never have i cuba jerat an owl. It might work if we can identify where they perch.

About location... camna nak kata... some may disagree, this is a personal view... i believe the birds are everywhere in Malaysia (don't include Genting highlands or highlands please ;p). Banyak tak banyak... cepat tak cepat... betul tak betul cara manage. The birds are there.

cergau, thanks for the link! nice one, very2 nice. i'll share it here;

http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal...ETRY=1&SRETRY=0

http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/search/...20816977&page=1

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: Feb 4 2010, 02:07 PM
hackwire
post Feb 4 2010, 03:47 PM

4,256 posts

now starting in this from freshman year, i can only try to study the location and also the bird .
how can one know this is the right bird if the bird is flying so high? do u see the flight path or pattern?
aeiou228
post Feb 4 2010, 06:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 4 2010, 03:47 PM)
now starting in this from freshman year, i can only try to study the location and also the bird .
how can one know this is the right bird if the bird is flying so high? do u see the flight path or pattern?
Haha... same like me when I was in the freshman year. But after asking some old timers, they all told me just agak agak la.... the fact is, they too can't tell precisely which is AF which is not. ( maybe a handful of real expert can distinguished the diff). So.... just agak agak la.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Feb 4 2010, 06:48 PM

223 posts

hmm... i suggested before, observe the birds flying home/going out at known populated BH's (naturally you can identify their shape from afar and flying habits). You can observe how they circle around before entering as well and by time, you can even differentiate new/potential tenants with old ones by the way they fly in. another point, seriti or other swiftlets sp i dare say rarely fly in groups (AF does so especially masa balik & pergi cari makan... but at least in a pair... myth says they mate for life, macam ayam hutan) i can't precisely prove this since i do not have any seriti audio... to prove otherwise (teringin jugak nak tau). If within hearing range, boleh dengar. I have this sadistic hobby of observing these birds... up to the point some people thought i was a nut case staring up at the sky and staring at BH's... but its worth it.
hackwire
post Feb 4 2010, 07:56 PM

4,256 posts

dunsun, i suggest a better idea for u so that you don't get neck pain. Put a big mirror on the ground and look into it. i think it helps.
Cergau
post Feb 6 2010, 11:19 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 4 2010, 07:56 PM)
dunsun, i suggest a better idea for u so that you don't get neck pain. Put a big mirror on the ground and look into it. i think it helps.
Dunsun
Alternatively you can keep a collapsible reclining chair in yr car & use it whenever you feel 'sadistic'.
Plus you can also have yr favourite drink in one hand while reclining in yr chair.
No worries, you will still continue to look crazy...
You can occasional look down at the mirror on the ground to remind yourself how good you look.
If any keh-poh folks ask... say a few words or laugh or growl to yrself in the mirror & then continue watching the birds.
This will ensure they do not disturb you again,...or ever wonder again. biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Feb 6 2010, 12:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 6 2010, 11:19 AM)
Dunsun
Alternatively you can keep a collapsible reclining chair in yr car & use it whenever you feel 'sadistic'.
Plus you can also have yr favourite drink in one hand while reclining in yr chair.
Perhaps a rare cabriolet classic would provide a better viewing experience in this situation. biggrin.gif

Sorry. off topic tongue.gif
ahchard
post Feb 6 2010, 05:43 PM

Anyone can recommend me a good seminar on swiftlet farming to attend??
coolandy
post Feb 7 2010, 11:12 AM

314 posts

How about Low Yat forum V1 to V2
hackwire
post Feb 7 2010, 07:36 PM

4,256 posts

yeah, been looking for the right seminar to go to. Saw the GEM website and the information is very scattered and not much information provided except for their title.

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 8 2010, 10:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 7 2010, 08:36 PM)
yeah, been looking for the right seminar to go to. Saw the GEM website and the information is very scattered and not much information provided except for their title.
Hey we can go together and get a bulk/group discount. I'm planning to go for one too. We can also meet up during the seminar/course.

In the mean time, Happy Chinese New Year. May all of us live in peaceful harmony, be healthy & wealthy. Happy Chinese New Year.

hackwire
post Feb 8 2010, 01:40 PM

4,256 posts

Seminar hunters:
1) Ahchard
2)Raymondetc
3)hackwire...

who else?

Added on February 8, 2010, 1:47 pmdid anyone watch anything on NTV7 or TV8 last weekend supposedly a talk on swiftlet. what is it about?

This post has been edited by hackwire: Feb 8 2010, 01:47 PM

122 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:12 AM