122 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

VietSwiftlet
post Jul 24 2009, 05:53 AM

QUOTE(tan2020 @ Jul 23 2009, 11:18 AM)
Thank WW for sharing the positive impact on swiftlet farming through helping and sharing, I think all/old successful swiftlet farmers have their "hard-time" in learning this lucrative business at their time where not many want to tell. Because of the secretive - a serious -ve conservative altitude form, and many newbie like me(year ago) are facing before even NOW.

-ve altitude are everywhere i.e. Why should I tell you? If I tell you more, all my birds/kung-fu will run away...swiftlet farming is just by luck lah, not luck no birds lah! etc. etc...those who don't want to learn by himself i.e. read book, attend seminar etc. ... this will create a good opportunity for the con_sultant to cari makan!  Nowadays getting better, we have real sifu from oversea, willing to share with min. charge, again this sifu facing a serious "copyright" problems,i.e. his books and sounds got pirated, real sifu cannot cari makan - so what next "better don't tell too much lah" .. this will go on and on ....the never ending story.
tan2020 can you pm me the sifu from oversea that you mention above his books, and contacts if this is for real. I like to give him my 3 bows to be come his students, or this is a joke hehehe.
tan2020
post Jul 24 2009, 06:42 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(VietSwiftlet @ Jul 24 2009, 05:53 AM)
tan2020 can you pm me the sifu from oversea that you mention above his books, and contacts if this is for real. I like to give him my 3 bows to be come his students, or this is a joke hehehe.
Hi VietSwiftlet, the stories is real. see PM. I joined this forum since March 2008, and just be a silent listener (newbie mah), never do posting. smile.gif
calvinswiftlet
post Jul 24 2009, 08:10 PM

35 posts

hi cll666..r u swiftjames ?
coolandy
post Jul 24 2009, 08:20 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(autopilot @ Jul 21 2009, 01:46 PM)
Hello guys

I bought this e-book b4,

I think you can email support@swiftletguide.com if you think you have been scammed. This book provides more than Dr Lim's. I also bought Pak Hen mulia and find it a bit repetitive on certain points. Beside have problem with the indo language.
Out of curiosity I bought this book this afternoon.

Sorry to say that it is a very basic book and definitely a big let down for me. All together 103 pages of which the first 20 pages is like introduction. The last 23 pages were mostly photos. In between, almost everything gets a brief mention and if you expect any detailed explanation you will be disappointed. No references were quoted.

If you start from zero, this book will be of help. If you are an avid follower of this forum, this book will not add much to your knowledge base grumble.gif grumble.gif

Since autopilot made a comparison with Dr Lim's book, please allow me to say that Dr Lim's book is a lot more useful to a newbie on a whole. Pak Hen's book is on a slightly higher level leaning more towards problem-solving.

For the author to make claims as per advertised, I think he has to spend more effort in providing more in-depth knowledge.

The final question would be: Is it worth the USD20.00 price?

YES, if you are totally ignorant and would be too lazy to read this forum from thread 1.

If my comments above hurt anybody especially the author, please pardon me.

cll666
post Jul 24 2009, 08:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Jul 24 2009, 08:10 PM)
hi cll666..r u swiftjames ?
No, why should I? shocking.gif

I "look" like him?
ChanK
post Jul 24 2009, 10:14 PM

451 posts

shocking.gif

maybe calvin think u sounds liked him.. shocking.gif

smile.gif Funny world of swiftlet farming...

sometimes, very funny that if u want to promote ur book, just say so lah..no need to change name n pretend to be another person !!...Dr also do it..funny lah...think other ppls cannot differentiate meh...

ai ya...u frankly promote it..no one will complain...

don't worry, if anyone complain due to anyone promote their services here, Lucas1 will shut their mouth for u!!... thumbup.gif

no need Hairy becomes HomeHome2020..

no need ebook author becomes autogate...

no need Dr becomes...i forgot the forum name liao....

btw, i not say u ohh....cl666...
cll666
post Jul 24 2009, 10:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Jul 24 2009, 10:14 PM)
shocking.gif
maybe calvin think u sounds liked him.. shocking.gif
smile.gif  Funny world of swiftlet farming...
sometimes, very funny that if u want to promote ur book, just say so lah..no need to change name n pretend to be another person !!...Dr also do it..funny lah...think other ppls cannot differentiate meh...

ai ya...u frankly promote it..no one will complain...

don't worry, if anyone complain due to anyone promote their services here, Lucas1 will shut their mouth for u!!... thumbup.gif
no need Hairy becomes HomeHome2020..

no need ebook author becomes autogate...

no need Dr becomes...i forgot the forum name liao....
btw, i not say u ohh....cl666...
Don't worry Chank, I am not James. Don't be afraid of me.

Not everyone who against seminar is your enemy. Don't worry. drool.gif

Lucas 1
post Jul 25 2009, 03:29 AM

236 posts

Why want to argue over something so trivial and yet nobody can prove who is wrong or right? As long as we are not doing thing against own conscience to mislead or to cheat, all are welcome to chat and discuss. It doesn’t matter if anyone has something to offer or to sell for a reasonable profit here just as long it is really beneficial and value for the money to the buyers. May be one can offer better than the outside market to members here. After all, we do have some who ‘advertise’ their products here. But so far their products seem worth the money and cheaper than outside. Anyone is welcome to offer at a good discount of their products as compared to the market to fellow forumers here, so, why not? It is win-win. But please be sincere, honest and reasonable and don’t take everybody as sucker here like some known CON-sultants did here before.

Sometimes sharing is not necessary to be absolute free. Importance is the sincerity and fairness.

West Wing
post Jul 25 2009, 06:55 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jul 25 2009, 03:29 AM)
Why want to argue over something so trivial and yet nobody can prove who is wrong or right? As long as we are not doing thing against own conscience to mislead or to cheat, all are welcome to chat and discuss. It doesn’t matter if anyone has something to offer or to sell for a reasonable profit here just as long it is really beneficial and value for the money to the buyers. May be one can offer better than the outside market to members here. After all, we do have some who ‘advertise’ their products here. But so far their products seem worth the money and cheaper than outside. Anyone is welcome to offer at a good discount of their products as compared to the market to fellow forumers here, so, why not?  It is win-win. But please be sincere, honest and reasonable and don’t take everybody as sucker here like some known CON-sultants did here before.

Sometimes sharing is not necessary to be absolute free. Importance is the sincerity and fairness.
Lucas is correct and let your past be buried with the dead and no matter what or how, you are still you and if you are able to Con or cheat another in this trade, then you must know alot of the trade to be able help others truthfully and sincerely and still make your money honestly but then...........

Sometime I really wonder why hide behind another nickname for if you are H, or your J or K, show your true identity cos even if you have cheat on us once, if you repent, God can forgive you why can't we.

Only that, be fair and true to us and we shall still be your friends. If you are a consultant or equipments sellers, so what...cari makan bukan but then cari dengan iklas dan jujur.

We don't want our friends/fellowmen to be cheated but if you keep changing your identity, it only prove that you cannot be cured anymore; you are forever a liar, a Conman and blood sucker..

Added on July 25, 2009, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(coolandy @ Jul 24 2009, 08:20 PM)

Sorry to say that it is a very basic book and definitely a big let down for me. All together 103 pages of which the first 20 pages is like introduction. The last 23 pages were mostly photos. In between, almost everything gets a brief mention and if you expect any detailed explanation you will be disappointed. No references were quoted.

If you start from zero, this book will be of help. If you are an avid follower of this forum, this book will not add much to your knowledge base  grumble.gif  grumble.gif

Since autopilot made a comparison with Dr Lim's book, please allow me to say that Dr Lim's book is a lot more useful to a newbie on a whole. Pak Hen's book is on a slightly higher level leaning more towards problem-solving.

For the author to make claims as per advertised, I think he has to spend more effort in providing more in-depth knowledge.

YES, if you are totally ignorant and would be too lazy to read this forum from thread 1.

Coolandy,

Why keep the book, better try sell off here @ Forum with discount cos some newbizs may want to buy then to keep it for termites to breed lah. I see that you bought alot of goodies from Dr. Lim, Pak Hen and many more I presumed.....My good friend, one of these days, I must go to your place and read them all cos I haven't a clue of any of those books.... must be FOC between friends lah.

Me, outdated and out of touch and you, my friend .....well learned. Mind sharing all the wisdom gather from those wise books(I think so) on swiftlets....

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 25 2009, 09:04 PM
coolandy
post Jul 26 2009, 01:26 PM

314 posts

West Wing,

Most of the books available in the market are geared towards marketing. Dr Lim's book touch on some basic technical aspects. There are some indon books which provide more technical details but unless you understand the indon language, you won't gain much from it. The terms used are very different from our Malay language.

To-date, I have never come across a book that explain swiftlet farming in a thorough scientific way. Maybe not enough scientist doing research. The only scientific literature published are done by the orang putih.

Has anybody explained why the birds prefer to fly in a certain way? Do AFs really drink water from lakes/rivers? Sure it is not another species?

WW, you are most welcome to borrow my books :-).
West Wing
post Jul 26 2009, 05:10 PM

1,397 posts

As for AF really drink from the river and I don't think so. What seem to be drinking is that they glide on the river surface feeding on small insects like mosquitoes which normally fly low above the water. To us, they seem to be drinking but swiftlet can take water from the cloud and they just need very little water and even their food bring enough moiture for them. I have saw the AFs flying low above the river water @ Pekan which water is dirty and polluted and because of that, there are plenty of insects.

If they are drinking from water direct from our dirty river, they bound to get sick lah......and no more strength to make EBN, although EBN is good for the lung but not good for the stomach.

That's my personal belief on the swiftlets on water requirement ..........any other suggestions, please let us know.

Added on July 26, 2009, 5:44 pmComing back to BHs in town, with the present government uncertainty directives and support for the industry, I find really very difficult to encourage fellow Malaysian to put their pension money into it.

Unless the Fed and State Government support the industry starting with the town BHs, Although I Love the swiftlets but it is to the best of the birds that I recommend a hold in investing cos maybe all their life saving will go into the drain and I don;t want to be part of it.

Swiftlet Home provider Buz is very good as it provide you an oportunity to make good money in a very safe way providing that the government is supporting our investment. With news here and there that the Fed may be going back to the 3 years demolition of BH in town, it bring sleepless nights for those who are in the trade and if really happened, many recent investors will go Bankrupt or need to work till 85 to pay off loan.

Properties value like buildings and land will drop by 50% and there will be so many idle buildings left to rot like before the boom due to the demand of Buildings by the Industry. Just think of the scenario then will make me scare and afraid as many have pay good money for the BHs, some buildings formally that nobody want. Hope that our government study and understand all the true facts (false facts have been provided by some people with hidden agenda) in to consideration before deciding to shut down the BHs in town.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 26 2009, 05:44 PM
coolandy
post Jul 26 2009, 06:12 PM

314 posts

Even mating in the air has been reported in many blogs. However, the pics are that of a different species.

I have spent hours watching AFs & their similar -looking friends flying above water but not once did I see AF touched the water. The ones that I saw touched the water were of a different species.

Are there any more wrong facts being spread about AFs?

You bet!
TSseeseng
post Jul 26 2009, 11:38 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

From my months of observation at Kg. Cina back river AF do touch water occationally. Some said they wet the chest feather then drink from their chest while flying. Or the touch of water is for feeding. A video taken by a friend at Nibong Tebal - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68cZ4p_g8Mw

The video was then given to "uncle" to post at Youtube.

This post has been edited by seeseng: Jul 26 2009, 11:48 PM
VietSwiftlet
post Jul 27 2009, 12:11 AM

I have a newbie question, please feel free to share your thought.
Are the chirping sounds of AF and AM swiftlet any different?
Lucas 1
post Jul 27 2009, 02:10 AM

236 posts

AF do make love in the air as well as in the nest. And they are very fast f***ers. Last only a couple of seconds. Therefore, taking too much EBN is no good for love makers, I suppose, hahahah........

AF and all other specics of swiftlet do glide and drink from river. But most of the time, they seem to be drinking but actually they are catching the water bugs, water spiders or water mosquitos that laymen used to name them, the one with long legs that can walk or glide through the surface of the pond or river. The newly hatched mosquitos from the pond are their favorite food too.

It all depends on what sort of insects are available at the time. If AF are catching the one that walks on the surface, then they have to touch the water. But if it is the newly hatched mosquitos which have started flying a few inches to a few feet high above the surface, then the AF need not to touch the water.

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Jul 27 2009, 02:18 AM
tan2020
post Jul 27 2009, 07:09 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(VietSwiftlet @ Jul 27 2009, 12:11 AM)
I have a newbie question, please feel free to share your thought.
Are the chirping sounds of AF and AM swiftlet any different?
Good Question ...Ok.. I am using my common sense here related with Cross Fostering. We know Cross fostering is actually defined as you remove those eggs or young chicks from 1 species of the same family nests and replace them with AF eggs or babies. The chirping sounds of the young and AF swiftlet must be similar. Take human, for example. When a baby is born, the crying sound are the same for all human. Mother cannot differentiate whether her baby is black,white or yellow, if she is in total darkness. It is like AF cannot "see" clearly that their young is AF(white) or AM(black). he he

Swiftlet feeding or drinking - from my pond near my BH(have insect like what Lucas mentioned), the swiftlet actually touch on water and fly off, I also took video on this. On the river nearby(no insects), I can see the same act. Feeding or Drinking, we guess. One thing for sure, Swiftlet like to play with water !

Swiftlet make love in the sky fast? 1 sec. I can see on my CCTV by counting, It take appox. 2 sec for then to make love. Double the time. laugh.gif

coolandy
post Jul 27 2009, 10:57 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Jul 26 2009, 11:38 PM)
From my months of observation at Kg. Cina back river AF do touch water occationally. Some said they wet the chest feather then drink from their chest while flying. Or the touch of water is for feeding. A video taken by a friend at Nibong Tebal - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68cZ4p_g8Mw

The video was then given to "uncle" to post at Youtube.
Sifu seeseng,

Thanks for the link.

The video shows birds touching the water all right. However, my question is are they AFs? The way they fly don't seem to be AFs to me. I could be wrong. unsure.gif unsure.gif

Sometimes there are also a lot of grass nest flying together with AFs on top of my BH. Can tell from their flying patterns and the different sound calls they make. In Sarawak, it is even more difficult because there are species with very similar patterns and calls similar to AFs. Very difficult for us to distinguish.

Taxonomy of the aerodramus and collocallia family is one hell of a tough subject. Many a time, I have been surprised by some behaviour observed and attributed to AFs but later found out on closer observation that the birds are of a different species.

Any well-to-do farmers willing to sponsor some research?

West Wing
post Jul 27 2009, 12:25 PM

1,397 posts

Thanks for the video Utube and I do have it in my HD as I have download it a long time ago. I have forgotten all about it until you brought up the video clip.

My opinion is still the same dispite the utube video that they do touch water ( applogies for the wrong infomation that I posted that they don't touch the water). The questions are.

1. Are they drinking or are they after insects on/off the surface of the water. If they are drinking, they don't need to splashed into the water just like the action of the kingfisher and not like bird talking a drink. More like taking a bath.
2. If they need to drink water from river or pond, do you see them at the drinking spot everyday and I beleive they don't because they are after the insects that happened to be in large quantity then ( just look at their flying pattern, they look and sound like feeding frenzy like the same when they are after a school of flying ants or termite. Hope that someone can really magnified the images to see if they are after insects or drinking. Thye need not be so exited during drinking, I presume.

3. I think that not because swiftlet like water but because alot of the diets comes from water surface or very close to water. We all know that we can find alot of insects near river or pond.

Anyway, thanks alot Seesang, for the info and we have a good day on the matter and maybe the JPV can enlighten us here on their facts and findings.....I believe that JPV do read our postings, do they??????

Again, above are only my own humble believe and just for discussion sake only.
Lucas 1
post Jul 27 2009, 01:12 PM

236 posts

Swiftlet make love in the sky fast? 1 sec. I can see on my CCTV by counting, It take appox. 2 sec for then to make love. Double the time.

A couple of seconds means 2 seconds in English......... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on July 27, 2009, 3:11 pmSwiftlet mating
Brother Lucas, If you don't mind, could you please send me a short clip of swiftlet mating in air if you happene...

(Quoted from a PM to me)

I have seen this many times while AF watching in the wild. Suddenly 2 AF while chasing each other rammed together in the air and they just dropped straight down till a few feet from the ground then quickly they separated and few off together again. At first, I thought they were fighting. Only later after many times of this happened then realised that they are a couple......... You can see this phenomenon during mating season....only that many don't realise........

They did it too fast.............how to video????? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Will try to video them next time if they inform me in advance...... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Jul 27 2009, 03:11 PM
autopilot
post Jul 27 2009, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(coolandy @ Jul 24 2009, 08:20 PM)

If you start from zero, this book will be of help. If you are an avid follower of this forum, this book will not add much to your knowledge base  grumble.gif  grumble.gif

Yea, the book at www.swiftletguide.com is not for ppl with good knowledge of swiftlet farming. I point the book for ppl who want to ramp up quickly on knowledge and get confident to move forward. Agree, there are many books like this out there.

This forum is good place to pick up industry happenings, gossip and discrete knowledge/info. It is tiring to filter out the good stuff from the chatters in blogs/forum.

As i said, the secret is to just get a book like this and get started. The more u dig and analyse the more blur u get and u might end up not building your dream bh.

122 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:54 PM