This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Mar 10 2009, 03:53 AM
aspire2oo6
post Feb 16 2009, 11:19 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

wow navigator with 5megapixel.

That day i went nokia centre i ask them why da different between navigtor and all the other nokia phones?

U know what he said ALL SAME. then what for i buy this navigator for bodoh
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 16 2009, 11:35 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 16 2009, 11:19 PM)

That day i went nokia centre i ask them why da different between navigtor and all the other nokia phones?

this one is an upgrade to the previous navigator 6210. he may be clearing old stock thats why he said that.
akkihiko
post Feb 16 2009, 11:52 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

y need to launch navigator phone while there r other phone with gps function?
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 17 2009, 01:08 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Feb 16 2009, 11:52 PM)
this is to diversify their portfolio. as you see the navigator series has been very popular. 6210 is the predecessor.

just like why we have upgrades of PC models every year, upgrades are a necessity in technology and gadgets.

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Feb 17 2009, 02:00 AM
123joe
post Feb 17 2009, 08:10 AM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Feb 16 2009, 11:52 PM)
bcoz 2 create variety of model and design produce specifically. for gps[nokia navi] or camera[se cybershot].
tunertoobe
post Feb 17 2009, 12:47 PM

9,309 posts

If every Navigator comes with free voice navigation and all up to date maps pre-loaded then it does justify it as being the "Navigator". Else, better buy other phones with GPS and pay for the voice navigation.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 17 2009, 12:47 PM
icechiller555
post Feb 18 2009, 05:52 PM

iLife
715 posts

Does this specific navigator phone come with the maps and voice navigation loaded as stated by one of the forumers above? Anybody know? If not, I don't see the point of paying a premium to buy a phone while other phones with gps receivers can do the same thing.
Seaedge
post Feb 18 2009, 06:17 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i dont see any big difference in this navigator except that it does reassemble G1. new owner will feel nice while current 6210 owner will not even jump onboard; except they need that 5.0mp CZ. oh well...

ulwan25
post Feb 19 2009, 08:24 PM

2,054 posts

design look same, spec look same.
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 21 2009, 03:48 AM

1,711 posts

yes, the camera is upgrade, to 5mp.
Mr. Green
post Feb 21 2009, 05:03 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Feb 18 2009, 06:17 PM)
i dont see any big difference in this navigator except that it does reassemble G1. new owner will feel nice while current 6210 owner will not even jump onboard; except they need that 5.0mp CZ. oh well...
I feel the same way. The curves on the bottom does resemble the G1.
feimeng
post Feb 21 2009, 05:31 AM

637 posts

it has compass
it has dedicated short-cut key for gps
it has 5.0MP camera
it has 2.6" screen
it has usb charging capability and general 2mm dc jack at the same time
it has WLAN
it has HSDPA with HSUPA accompanied
it has 600MHz CPU
and some more lifetime navigation license with useful bundled accessories like the car holder which 6210n lack of

every handset has its predecessor as well as successor
most of the series followers always looking for something new to replace
their current device no matter how less or how much the improved/upgraded feature is
this can be considered a culture now

look back to the 6710navigator now
i can't see there is no major/attractive upgrades as reasons for current 6210n owner to jump over to it
ya maybe for some1 this is nth b'coz u hav no interest on tis series
but 4 those who already owned 6210n and planning for something as replacement, the 6710n definitely will has priority over ur list
b'coz it's not just some minor upgrades which can be neglected abt as other ppl claim
if wat we're talking abt now is the 6720classic, then yes, there is not much difference than 6210n but definely not applicable on 6710n

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 21 2009, 05:57 AM
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 23 2009, 02:47 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Feb 21 2009, 05:31 AM)
it has compass
it has dedicated short-cut key for gps
it has 5.0MP camera
it has 2.6" screen
it has usb charging capability and general 2mm dc jack at the same time
it has WLAN
it has HSDPA with HSUPA accompanied
it has 600MHz CPU
and some more lifetime navigation license with useful bundled accessories like the car holder which 6210n lack of

every handset has its predecessor as well as successor
most of the series followers always looking for something new to replace
their current device no matter how less or how much the improved/upgraded feature is
this can be considered a culture now

look back to the 6710navigator now
i can't see there is no major/attractive upgrades as reasons for current 6210n owner to jump over to it
ya maybe for some1 this is nth b'coz u hav no interest on tis series
but 4 those who already owned 6210n and planning for something as replacement, the 6710n definitely will has priority over ur list
b'coz it's not just some minor upgrades which can be neglected abt as other ppl claim
if wat we're talking abt now is the 6720classic, then yes, there is not much difference than 6210n but definely not applicable on 6710n
the price of a 6210 navigator was quite inexpesnive when it came out, but for those who are looking for a new phone, i think base on your post, its a good one to get. the camera is one thing, there is much difference between 3.2Mp and 5MP.
feimeng
post Feb 23 2009, 04:56 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 23 2009, 02:47 AM)
the price of a 6210 navigator was quite inexpesnive when it came out, but for those who are looking for a new phone, i think base on your post, its a good one to get. the camera is one thing, there is much difference between 3.2Mp and 5MP.
the 6710n is not expensive as well
estimated retail price frm nokia is 300 EURO
which means convert to RM become RM1350+/-
it is same as the 6210n last year initial annoucement
now many things have upgraded but still retain same price
it's more than worth adi

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 23 2009, 05:15 AM
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 23 2009, 04:26 PM

1,711 posts

huhu, once i geddit i will start an owners list. anyone here on board?

lan_86
post Feb 23 2009, 05:18 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 16 2009, 11:19 PM)

doh.gif "they" not deserve to work for nokia..
doremonfansy
post Feb 23 2009, 08:03 PM

38 posts

the yellow line under the "Navigator" is used for zooming
TSbeatlesalbum
post Feb 23 2009, 10:35 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(doremonfansy @ Feb 23 2009, 08:03 PM)
the yellow line under the "Navigator" is used for zooming
r u sure about that? please quote your source. if its true, thats pretty cool i say
climacool
post Feb 24 2009, 12:27 AM

Never End
1,415 posts

Look nice but the button look so "plastic" sad.gif
alpha_company
post Feb 27 2009, 05:15 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

this phone is nice...the bottom is shaped like a G1 phone a lil bit.

a navigator with 5mp phone...i hope that it would be better than 3mp camera on the e71, it's the worst 3mp in nokia..
TSbeatlesalbum
post Mar 10 2009, 12:58 AM

1,711 posts

Updates on asia.cnet

By Joseph Hanlon, CNET.com.au
Mar 09, 2009

Nokia's third Navigator in the series, the 6710, is barely the best of the bunch thus far, with specs and features too similar to last year's release.

Editors' note:
This preview was first published on our sister site CNET.com.au. References made to some other products or telcos in this review may not be available or applicable in Asia.

Upside
The most obvious improvements over last year's 6210 Navigator will be a slightly bigger screen (up from 2.4 to 2.6 inches) and a curved slider design for improved ergonomics, similar to the design of the HTC Dream.

The 6710 Navigator will include the latest version of Nokia Maps pre-installed, version 3.0, giving users access to aerial photography (like Google Maps), built-in weather display and Navteq's new 3D landmarks. To make using the maps easier, the 6710 sports a touch-sensitive zoom area below the screen and appears to have more accurate incremental zooming than was possible using keypad shortcuts.

Most of the phone's hardware will remain the same; HSDPA, Wi-Fi, A-GPS (of course), a digital compass for more accurate pedestrian navigation, plus this year's model will also include HSUPA (the uplink sibling of HSDPA) to help you upload those geotagged photos you take to your Flickr account faster. Speaking about photos, the 6710 will also feature a 5-megapixel Carl Zeiss camera with an LED flash and autofocus.

Downside
The fact that the phone's hardware, especially its screen size, is mostly the same as the former is a disappointment. Someone needs to make a navigation mobile phone with a 3.5- to 4-inch display and turn-by-turn directions. Nokia has half of this equation taken care of, and with its new touchscreen-capable fifth version of its Series60 platform, now is exactly the time we'd expect the world's largest phone-maker to act.

Also, call it an educated guess, but we aren't expecting Nokia to include a lifetime navigation licence with Nokia Maps like it did with the first Navigator model. Instead, we expect to be offered a try-before-you-buy style package with a few months of turn-by-turn directions. Press releases from Nokia about the 6710 have cautiously avoided the issue, but don't get your hopes up for a phone plus GPS package without being prepared to pay a little extra.

Overall

From a distance, the 6710 seems an underwhelming announcement. We want a more considered approach to a navigation phone, not just another Nokia slider with Maps installed. There's still space in the market for a truly terrific mapping handset, but we're pretty sure this isn't it. Nokia could stitch up the competition with its maps, plus a huge touchscreen and lifetime turn-by-turn directions built into the price, but we're still waiting.

Source: http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/mobilephones/...4555740p,00.htm

xavi5567
post Apr 29 2009, 11:16 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

Wat is a processor upgrade from 364mhz to 600mhz ..and a camera upgrade lor.. But with the processor changed.. I expect tis baby to d a faster navigator lor.. The currently navigator is a bit slow..
Skylinestar
post Apr 30 2009, 06:42 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

when will this phone be released in malaysia? cos i'm waiting for the candybar 6720.
qwe65
post Apr 30 2009, 09:28 PM

my assistant
815 posts

my frenz ask,d pad 4 dz pon is navy wheel ya??

This post has been edited by qwe65: Apr 30 2009, 09:28 PM
toby.c13
post May 17 2009, 04:20 AM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

what will be included in the sales package? hmm.gif
kelvinlym
post May 17 2009, 04:55 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 23 2009, 04:35 PM)
r u sure about that? please quote your source. if its true, thats pretty cool i say
Yes it's true. But it's not the yellow line. It's the area where the word "Navigator" is. There are hidden until lit icons which allow zooming when you slide your finger across the bar. Also can be used to zoom into web pages and camera zoom.

That's all I can reveal for now smile.gif

@toby.c13: According to official website, car holder, car charger and navi license based on region besides the usual stuff.

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: May 17 2009, 04:57 AM
etcyik
post Jun 9 2009, 01:11 PM

318 posts

im 6210n owner now. well, if da price is not so expensive,as well as da functionality of wifi is available in tis model..definitely i wil go n upgrade it..
so it seems it totally like N series phone rite? there r plenty of ppl holding N series in da market now... i wan to hv some different one... tats y im holding 6210n n 6220c!opps i sold 6220c, i miss da phone...
lajukipas
post Jun 11 2009, 11:23 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(etcyik @ Jun 9 2009, 01:11 PM)
im 6210n owner now. well, if da price is not so expensive,as well as da functionality of wifi is available in tis model..definitely i wil go n upgrade it..
so it seems it totally like N series phone rite? there r plenty of ppl holding N series in da market now... i wan to hv some different one... tats y im holding 6210n n 6220c!opps i sold 6220c, i miss da phone...
bro,6210 how long to lock gps signal?
myroom
post Aug 25 2009, 09:17 PM

59 posts

Hi there,this navigator already in market did any one try it hmm.gif ...What are best with this one?? i like to know and need some other who has experience with this hp..Is that GPS free or need to used credit for open the navi?? brows.gif brows.gif
TSbeatlesalbum
post Aug 26 2009, 05:06 PM

1,711 posts

GSMARENA Review is OUT!!!

More PROs than CONs!!!
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_6710_navigator-review-386.php
Humorboy
post Aug 26 2009, 11:42 PM

187 posts

how much is this phone? anyone knows?
Deani_77
post Sep 11 2009, 06:24 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Yesterday I ask in Giant Senawang, it cost RM1500 (Zitron)...
myroom
post Sep 11 2009, 12:20 PM

59 posts

At lowyat only rm1400 zitron/avvax/sapura brows.gif ....No body has try this hp?? whistling.gif
Deani_77
post Sep 13 2009, 09:09 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

I'm planning to buy this h/p but not much shop sell this phone in Seremban even though this is a new phone. Make me wondering what is the 2nd value if I'm going to sell this phone one day...
ravenlost
post Sep 15 2009, 06:38 AM

298 posts

How is the camera quality comparing to the N97 flagship? Since both are 5.0 Mpx does both have same photo quality?
pasarmalam
post Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM

276 posts

RM1500 from nokia store gardens midvalley.Just went there to ask.

In stock but none for display.

They gave me a nokia brochure and in the brochure it stated it had 3 colors brown,titanium and black.But Ive seen so many websites and I dont see any black color for this phone.

Wierd.

Deani_77
post Sep 15 2009, 05:54 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(pasarmalam @ Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM)
RM1500 from nokia store gardens midvalley.Just went there to ask.

In stock but none for display.

They gave me a nokia brochure and in the brochure it stated it had 3 colors brown,titanium and black.But Ive seen so many websites and I dont see any black color for this phone.

Wierd.
May be they spared it for special edition of 6710 tongue.gif

Anyway, this 6710 look like in black...

gecodine
post Sep 16 2009, 01:31 AM

194 posts

This phone dont have rotate screen function when browsing the web...

Anyone, have a same problem?
TSbeatlesalbum
post Sep 23 2009, 06:40 PM

1,711 posts

There is no accelormeter if you mean that the page will auto rotate when browsing. so no, it wont work.
xpresside
post Sep 24 2009, 12:55 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Sep 23 2009, 06:40 PM)
There is no accelormeter if you mean that the page will auto rotate when browsing. so no, it wont work.
# Symbian OS 9.3, Series 60 3rd with FP2
# 600MHz ARM 11 processor
# Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE
# Dual-band HSDPA 10.2 Mbps; HSUPA 2 Mbps
# 2.6" 16M-color QVGA display (bigger and better than the Nokia 6210 Navigator)
Accelerometer for screen auto rotation, call silencing and alarm snoozing
gestapo
post Sep 28 2009, 01:21 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

im using it. quite happy with it.. anyway my 1st device is faulty when 1st use. send to nokia centre in one utama hoping to get replacement but they send it to HQ anyways.. in the end got a new unit after 2 weeks.

NOKIA CENTRE ONE UTAMA CUSTOMER SERVICE SUX BIG TIME!
xpresside
post Oct 2 2009, 06:14 PM

1,982 posts

best ap and original set for this phone?
TSbeatlesalbum
post Oct 6 2009, 02:55 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Sep 24 2009, 12:55 AM)
# Symbian OS 9.3, Series 60 3rd with FP2
# 600MHz ARM 11 processor
# Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE
# Dual-band HSDPA 10.2 Mbps; HSUPA 2 Mbps
# 2.6" 16M-color QVGA display (bigger and better than the Nokia 6210 Navigator)
Accelerometer for screen auto rotation, call silencing and alarm snoozing
Whats the idea you are trying to get at by enlarging the fonts? trying to show that you are some smart guy by pointing out peoples mistake?
we are all MATURE people here and there is no need for all that BS of capping and making your fonts all GIANT.
All you had to is just say that "no, the specs show it does have it etc etc" which is the norm of most forummers here. Your rude reply is not necessary.

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Oct 6 2009, 02:59 AM
hotwebs
post Oct 16 2009, 11:37 PM

659 posts

i read a review mention that 6710 GPS can detect the satelite with in 20 seconds without A-GPS turn on. Is that true? and the camera lens is it easy to scratch? Johor is selling at RM1030 only. price drop so fast?

Just wanna to verify all these before i buy this phone! tongue.gif
LS Lim
post Oct 17 2009, 01:20 PM

79 posts

hotwebs, thanks for the price info thumbup.gif

May I know if we can use the A-GPS in Malaysia?

If yes, is there any extra charges for the A-GPS service? I am currently a DIGI user.

Thanks in advance and have a nice day.

hotwebs
post Oct 17 2009, 05:32 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Oct 17 2009, 01:20 PM)
hotwebs, thanks for the price info  thumbup.gif
May I know if we can use the A-GPS in Malaysia?

If yes, is there any extra charges for the A-GPS service? I am currently a DIGI user.
Thanks in advance and have a nice day.
There is no 6710n user here flex.gif , but you can turn on A-GPS, the charges will based on the service provider plan, i am not very sure the exact rate, but my 6220c when turned on the A-GPS it did charges me RM10-20 for few minutes GPS test. That was my first time use GPS phone! sweat.gif
ravenlost
post Oct 17 2009, 06:34 PM

298 posts

Using A-GPS consume not more than 1Kb. So you only got charged RM0.10 . The one you pay RM20-40 is for data usage i.e map update. I'm using 6110 Navi it locks under 20sec if i'm at a clear area(no obstruction from tall building or clouds). So no need to use A-GPS except you need to lock to satelite fast or in the condition where its hard to get signal i.e rainy days. Just let the A-GPS on, It only charge you 10sen per connection. BTW I'm a DiGi user too.

Really eager to own a 6710 navi. Still funding for it cry.gif .
LS Lim
post Oct 17 2009, 09:50 PM

79 posts

Thank you very much for the replies. biggrin.gif

It is really informative. thumbup.gif

Hmm... RM0.10 per connection sounds reasonable. laugh.gif

I do not have any experience in using GPS device... I wonder if the Nokia GPS is reliable/ accurate or not.
hotwebs
post Oct 18 2009, 02:20 AM

659 posts

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

i got some information from other review website, but is chinese one! sweat.gif

here is the phone spec details, is it better than N82?

This post has been edited by hotwebs: Oct 18 2009, 02:21 AM
Skylinestar
post Oct 20 2009, 06:51 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

i wonder how's the performance of nokia navigator's gps as compared to other nokias such as n78, n79, n82...?

besides the lifetime licence for the nokia maps (very little POIs but fast image rendering), is the signal stronger? better accuracy? faster sat-lock?
xpresside
post Nov 18 2009, 09:19 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Oct 6 2009, 02:55 AM)
Whats the idea you are trying to get at by enlarging the fonts? trying to show that you are some smart guy by pointing out peoples mistake?
we are all MATURE people here and there is no need for all that BS of capping and making your fonts all GIANT.
All you had to is just say that "no, the specs show it does have it etc etc" which is the norm of most forummers here. Your rude reply is not necessary.
getting ticked off so easy uh,now u're being rude saying that i am capping? so capping only the first letter is rude now...wow shocking.gif
making it bold and big so its easier to notice. whats the problem? not really that giant on a 20+ screen anyways.

This post has been edited by xpresside: Nov 18 2009, 09:20 AM
C-Note
post Nov 19 2009, 04:50 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hmmm people seem to hop on the N-series bandwagon...what happened to this
lhooipg
post Dec 2 2009, 09:09 AM

New Android User
1,403 posts

Wondering is the Nokia 6710 better than E72? I have read some reviews & the 6710 is not that good compare to E72.

Any comments? I thinking getting one of this but actually I want to get E55 but too bad, M'sia don't have.....
ravenlost
post Feb 15 2010, 11:30 AM

298 posts

Anyone using this phone can tell me if this a good phone? Because i've been reading comments from gsmarena this phone got problem with the zooming. Is this true? Does it happen to anyone of u?
LS Lim
post Mar 2 2010, 09:49 PM

79 posts

Is there any Nokia 6710 user here? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LS Lim: Mar 2 2010, 09:50 PM

0.0352sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:16 AM