Samsung Sony Ericsson W995, The Other Half of C905

Zepx
post Jul 12 2009, 10:08 PM

1,232 posts

I'm eyeing on this phone. Been reading lots of reviews. The only downside I noticed about this phone are:

1. Can't support DivX/Xvid codecs. A waste, as 8gb space is sufficient to take good videos. Only supports mpg4 for playback.
2. Not smartphone, can't install 3rd party applications
Zepx
post Jul 16 2009, 06:48 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 16 2009, 11:40 AM)
ha?
so expensive ~~~

at mid valley sony center oly sell 18++ for ori last 2 week .
Sony centre @.@....
Zepx
post Jul 16 2009, 08:09 PM

1,232 posts

I would like to know too smile.gif. Since I'm keen to buy this phone.
Zepx
post Jul 17 2009, 07:00 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 17 2009, 02:14 AM)
eh?? why cannot garmin can already be used since the model 200
I don't think so leh, it's for smart phone only.
Zepx
post Jul 17 2009, 08:16 PM

1,232 posts

mls_gamer, you bought your w995 yet? I'm waiting to hear your review tongue.gif

Added on July 17, 2009, 8:16 pmI read through everything from page 1 to 35...

This post has been edited by Zepx: Jul 17 2009, 08:16 PM
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 07:25 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 17 2009, 10:15 PM)
no money~~~

bank empty already~~~ doh.gif
and~~why me ah?
Because you have an expectation from this phone drool.gif. Meaning to say, you will give a better review.. I believe.
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 11:10 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 18 2009, 09:42 AM)
the most important is the ringtone quality and volume..
if not ok~~~maybe will consider drop this phone. doh.gif
Ringtone eh.... Anyway, how was your test at your relative's shop?
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 02:16 PM

1,232 posts

Oh....

Btw, anyone here knows any reputable Midvalley Phone shop?

This post has been edited by Zepx: Jul 18 2009, 02:17 PM
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 03:42 PM

1,232 posts

My dad bought LCD TV from that Sony Centre before... However.. I want to have a look at both N86 and w995 first... I still can't make up my mind to get which handphone.

The reason why I say N86 is because of the Symbian OS... A smartphone has many possibilities to beyond the phone's limits. However, w995 is already well featured pack. This means that I won't really miss much features from a smartphone.
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 04:45 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jul 18 2009, 04:11 PM)
everthing the w995 has the n86 has im sure. so better go for n86 smile.gif
I guess so.... The N86 is a smartphone after all. The only bad thing about it is the music quality. The camera quality is almost the same as w995
Zepx
post Jul 18 2009, 09:40 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jul 18 2009, 09:23 PM)
Hey guys, my bro just bought a W995 recently and he's facing some problems trying to connect to any WiFi networks.

When he tries to connect it says "Invalid Passphrase" eventhough its an unsecure network like the one at McD. Tried with my N80 and it can connect without any problems.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Tested out with any latest firmware updates yet?

Btw, I think this phone will a problem since as the brand name is said to be fading out by a few users.
Zepx
post Jul 19 2009, 09:01 AM

1,232 posts

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost...3&postcount=275

this users says that the word has fallen off.
Zepx
post Jul 19 2009, 02:01 PM

1,232 posts

so far I've never heard any other w995 owner complaining that they have wifi problem.
Zepx
post Jul 19 2009, 05:09 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 19 2009, 04:33 PM)
today ask at another sony shop at midvalley
total have to pay for installment is rm2000 for the phone
if by cash is 1900.
why the price still so expensive one..... RM 1900.. swt la.
Zepx
post Jul 21 2009, 12:09 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 20 2009, 09:32 PM)
i have to cancel buy this phone liao~~ cry.gif
Why? Have you tested it and it does not meet your expectation?

Added on July 21, 2009, 12:09 am@teddy_hua,

why donwan buy?

This post has been edited by Zepx: Jul 21 2009, 12:09 AM
Zepx
post Jul 21 2009, 06:45 AM

1,232 posts

yala! Car modifications can be done later >.>
Zepx
post Jul 21 2009, 08:21 PM

1,232 posts

Yeah.. exactly, the next thing you will tell us you are going to target is Satio (I prefer Idou! Satio sounds like Satria >.>). LoL.
Zepx
post Jul 21 2009, 09:33 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 21 2009, 08:23 PM)
yaya idou drool.gif
lol... i believe this cycle will repeat again tongue.gif... by that time..... RM 2k++ phone lol, then you have to start saving again.
Zepx
post Jul 23 2009, 08:24 PM

1,232 posts

you can check it by pressing the below keys (works only for slider and clam phones):

>*<<*<*
Zepx
post Jul 23 2009, 11:37 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(FayeChan @ Jul 23 2009, 11:23 PM)
The more I read the more I am feeling safe for not seriously buying the phone as of yet.

That means the sets currently being sold even for AP ones have bug issues, and if its affecting the WiFi then its one big issue for me.

Good good, I can hold on to my money and wait and see what is the progress, who knows the Satio maybe a better option!!
I would say that's not a good reason since only 1 person has faced this problem so far.

0.0359sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:23 AM