7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

rawfish
post Jun 30 2009, 01:29 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Jun 30 2009, 01:20 AM)
...but in the end you were the one that is most consistent when it comes to the move with the biggest damage output.
when you are not missing the ultra, you actually have a very nice trump card.
i think you only missed once with the ultra juggle.
what was it?
this one?:
mp>t.uppercut>FADC>F.HK>Utra?
Oh, that one yeah I missed it - what to do, LOL. And both players MISSED the opportunities during the last 2 matches - I myself totally couldn't THINK of what to do due to pressure biggrin.gif. Leongteng5 missed Gief's Ultra chances too (from the video), I think because he gave me too much credit and expected me to JUMP as what I was doing the previous rounds biggrin.gif

I totally forgot I can't be too greedy to land that f.HK against chars like Gief, after a FADC'd Tiger Uppercut. His hitbox/float-time is different, plus timing to connect the f.HK was different so that's why he landed behind me.

QUOTE(OctaviusK @ Jun 30 2009, 02:40 AM)
I too need more exposure. I keep forgetting to tech throws and usually fail to see them coming anyway. I'm also too used to the bad habit of using the 4th H button for 3xP moves eg. Ex, Ultras. Should get that habit corrected soon, else i keep "feikei" the important combos during outings such as this oneĀ  rclxub.gif
Nice to have met and fought you smile.gif - I recognize the old school style - plus if your FADC combos (SRK -> Ultra) I would have not risked jumping in so frequently biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Phyurix @ Jun 30 2009, 03:16 AM)
rawfish got some nice fake moves for tricks, too bad i can't follow such plays as hands not that flexible blush.gif been a while havn't played with ya and that was not you a few months back thumbup.gif
We can hookup on BB once I get the game (hopefully today) haha.

Added on June 30, 2009, 1:34 pmHi Alan, I'm in.

Who else? Or is it too early to decide?

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jun 30 2009, 05:03 PM
rawfish
post Jun 30 2009, 05:20 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Jun 30 2009, 04:29 PM)
Rawfish, regarding the sagat FADC'd Tiger Uppercut, sometimes when i execute that move, the opponent is spinning like a corkscrew which prevents the f.HK frm connecting properly.
Any chance u know why as a Sagat expert? notworthy.gif
Damn, u guys having fun with all the mini events and stuff... thumbup.gif
Wish i could join... become punching bag oso kam yen ar...
I'm not an expert - just a user...

It's usually missed because:
1) opp is too high (you did the move too fast, and if you're near you'll switch axis and face the other side)
2) opp is too low (need to wait till he lands at your neck level, diff opps have diff float time if hit in the air)

But no matter how close, I believe you can still hit everyone without missing (something I need to confirm against everyone in training mode)

It's just something we all need to train - very character-specific. whatwhatinmybutt knows everyone's setup timing for Viper's EX-Seismo > s.jump > Burning Kick > Ultra - anywhere on screen smile.gif Some chars land behind, some in front.
rawfish
post Jul 6 2009, 08:12 PM

30 posts

1st pic: Sammy
2nd pic: Ryu, Rufus and Orloff (Russian bystander)
3rd pic: White Cloud and Rufus
4th pic: mikeeeee's previous joystick
5th pic: mikeeeee's current joystick
6th pic: Optimus Prime, Dictator player, Alan, Sagat player
7th pic: Optimus Prime, tiny Ryu, cheapo, tiny Gouki, Alan
8th pic: Jedi apprentice, The Organizer, Gief player
9th pic: Jedi apprentice, Claw player, Not sure who he is
10th pic: Optimus Prime, Jedi apprentice, Ryu player, Alan, Alan's backside

Haha.. not funny I know biggrin.gif
rawfish
post Jul 7 2009, 10:15 PM

30 posts

Alan, I am in - unless there's urgent work things on a Sunday which rarely happens. Best to make it ala carte.
rawfish
post Jul 8 2009, 11:32 PM

30 posts

mega_shok.gif moneyflies.gif It's a cruel world... moneyflies.gif mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jul 8 2009, 11:32 PM
rawfish
post Jul 12 2009, 05:46 AM

30 posts

To those going tomorrow, hope you can bring your sticks as mine is still undergoing anti-rust treatment. Don't worry yours won't rust too as I had exposed the metal plate area by mistake when replacing the artwork - nothing should go wrong.
rawfish
post Jul 13 2009, 12:14 PM

30 posts

Discussion on Tourney Culture:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=198964

This is a very good read on a busy Monday morning. Agreeably, applies to mature players only.

And to players who sincerely have the true passion to SF and the competiveness of fighting games, another good read:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=195678

My take, age does not matter. You may not be able to SRK to your heart's content in a fraction of a second anymore but this doesn't severely handicap your game. You tend to explore other anti-air options, and change the way you control the space. And most importantly, you use your experience and knowledge to get ahead further of your opponent's game.

Oh, hi Yao Han - nice meeting you too! smile.gif
rawfish
post Jul 16 2009, 01:32 AM

30 posts

Here you go smile.gif

rawfish
post Jul 16 2009, 10:37 AM

30 posts

Haha, the world needs to know the truth. You make a good uncle and are really good with children. Thank you again, Alvin.. for looking after it - I really do not know who put it up on the table for the swarm of kids in the first place while I was away!

SWATwolf: in truth the thing can really take a beating but why put it to the test?
rawfish
post Jul 16 2009, 04:52 PM

30 posts

I hope this helps to shed some light into the ssup with the camera issue.

The sub-par quality video stream was captured with a mediocre 3.0MP PDA-phone hybrid device. It has no auto-focus function, let alone any German-certified optics. Ergo, let's classify this as a "candid shot".

Buy hey hey ssup? What was going on in my mind then, when I decided to record that? Darn, I left my trusty camcorder at home so we'll just have to make do with what equiptment I have on hand. I regret that whatever precious visuals we lost, it's gone for good - together with the value of knowing what happened on-screen that fateful day. Audio and blur visuals focusing on young kids simply would not do justice to the viewer experience - we can barely see the TV screen to know what's happening.

Perhaps in future I will be more obliged to ensure further investment to secure resources, to procure higher quality captures.

I truly apologize for any inconveniences caused.
rawfish
post Jul 17 2009, 02:43 PM

30 posts

No speculation needed smile.gif

QUOTE(brastel @ Jul 17 2009, 10:18 AM)
So are you saying that rawfish was angry?? sad.gif
No, man - just being VERY sarcastic with a hint of spite. Wrong place to be here during business hours as I am still in my aggressive mode (nature of job).

So many harsh realities - job attrition, making decisions, meeting expectations, reading about Teo Beng Huat's 'suicide', rotten cops, Marriott & Ritz-Carlton bombing.. eesh.

Gaming, friends, family - I am a happy person with happy feelings smile.gif

Added on July 18, 2009, 3:25 amHi Alan,

EVO's happening this weekend - checkout the pictures here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/40220757@N07/

Set in RIO Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, with good sponsorship and a greater fighting game community. Just look at the food!

The guy in the jacket is YOUR counterpart... Seth Killian from Capcom (doing media PR for Capcom, and former SRK/EVO tourney organizer) biggrin.gif

Singapore also recently had a (to me) big event. Check out the community site at:
http://www.round1.sg/

Nice setups too, with sponsorship from tkaworld (company bringing in the arcade machines) smile.gif

Just giving you some ideas for the next big tourney you are planning - or perhaps make it worthwhile to rope in the Singaporeans. We can re-unite with Singapore as a combined force - something our government is not able to do for 44 years!

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jul 18 2009, 03:25 AM
rawfish
post Jul 23 2009, 10:53 AM

30 posts

Alan,

9th August is a good blank Sunday on my calendar. Let's see the others'.
rawfish
post Jul 26 2009, 03:11 PM

30 posts

My previous post from:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27494633

I understand your company's position and affiliation with Sony and I'm not sure if your/our voice can be heard - I do foresee more SF tournaments and gatherings happening soon. Street Fighter is the new Winning Eleven, to the general Malaysian populace. It has fans as long as over 20 years and to them it is not only a game, but a lifestyle. I believe I speak for others as well - generations of youths have one time or the other frequent the local arcades. Friendship and even careers had been forged (I used to work for the local Capcom arcade distributor in my earlier days). Even with its demise, these gamers have moved on to other platforms. This fact is supported with the remarkable re-emergence of the Street Fighter scene, locally evident in the PS3/XBOX/PC threads in this very forum when SF4 launched. Sales alone do tell numbers and I believe Sony knows the figures very well. They should also check with The Software Boutique for the PC sales figures alone this month.

I am not certain if Sony has every right regarding licensing issues over the use of Capcom games here - they seem to be clearly riding on its success, appeal and publicity. I have nothing against them doing so, but I wish - I simply wish, that more can be done.

THE MONEY FACTOR (or, "How can Sony organize a successful/profitable tournament/event?")

1) Simply continue what they are doing. SF4 is a winning formula itself. The brawl-factor to attract the crowd. Flashy Ultras. It's thumpin' loud. Gorgeous graphics on Bravias. Exciting match-ups. Beautiful finishes. Nail-biting tight fights. This is just the appeal factor.

2) Do more. If you want to do something, do it right or look bad otherwise. Draw in the fans - aren't they not part of the crowd as well? Do them a favour for their support. As an SF-fan, I supported Sony because I wanted to play the game on a PS3. I bought a Bravia because I wanted to experience gameplay in HD. I became a MySony member because I wanted to tune in to more news and even be in the loop for any warehouse sales where I can purchase good deals on more of your items. I bought games from Sony Style because I thought they were cheaper than the grey-importers (before the price hike happened). My main intention is to highlight on brand loyalty. Coming back to the choice of controller in tournaments/events, I have no issues with having to play on pads. I do have issues though, with having NO OTHER CHOICE.

3) Arcade sticks - This is how Street Fighter is meant to be played. At an advanced level (read: not mashing) plenty of techniques are only achievable via input over the arcade layout. To a random passer-by, this is not applicable. To a player with a pre-determined mindset to participate in the event and provide his/her full support, this means a lot. It is a known fact that Sony has no arcade stick line in their catalogues - nor any profit/demand-driven business need to do so. Hence, I do not expect for sticks to be provisioned, as this may be result in a marketing incongruence (non-Sony accessories). I do expect to be able to bring my own sticks in future Sony-sponsored or Sony-organized events and be given permission to plug them into the consoles to play. After all, the companies manufacturing these accessories have already procured licenses with Sony so I do not see any reason other than endorsement issues which Sony thinks are getting in the way (this brings to question, on why Logitech Wingman steering wheels were used, for previous Gran Turismo events, since the game is playable no pads as well).

To develop the level of interest to a higher plane (to Sony, it's to drive more people to their booths and products lineup, strengthening of their brand), respect the fans and respect their choice. Respect their preferences. Organize it well, or others will one day step up an do it instead and make you look bad in the process.

I will treat this as an open letter to Sony Malaysia and will look at carrying this message across as and when needed.

rawfish
post Jul 30 2009, 09:28 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Jul 30 2009, 01:52 AM)
STREET FIGHTER 4 GATHERING AT OUTPOST

DATE: 1 AUGUST 2009
TIME : 1PM TILL NIGHT
WHERE: OUTPOST CAFE CINELEISURE DAMANSARA 2nd FLOOR ( NEXT TO CATHAY )
TERMS: PURCHASE FOOD RM 15.00 AND PLAY WHOLE DAY

MINI TOURNAMENT AND WIN PRIZES...GET TO KNOW YOUR NEW FRIENDS AND LEARN NEW STUFF. KEEP THE PS3 COMMUNITY TOGETHER

PLEASE BRING PADS OR STICKS

ALL WELCOME -- PC PLAYERS who is planning for purchasing PS3 soon also welcome.

Also register as PS FRIENDS in order to get to know more events and tournaments...

Alan
Woo, another one! Alan, what happened to Sunday? So is it really 1st or 2nd August?
rawfish
post Jul 30 2009, 03:33 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(boogalogist @ Jul 30 2009, 09:51 AM)
Damn...another gathering I'll miss!
What lar you... you have Laugh, Itabashi Zangief, Poongko, actual Vewlix machines... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

rawfish
post Jul 31 2009, 12:00 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Jul 30 2009, 11:26 PM)
rawfish big bully!
anyway, zangief, i added you on GFWL
Where got. I always kena bully la by him. Fight fight so hard.... then kena his max super (usually very good Yomi)... then KO.

Hey I felt like writing again:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1102397&view=findpost&p=27628334
QUOTE(Lyzeravern @ Jul 30 2009, 06:15 PM)
Hi rawfish,

First of all, I would like to express my gratitude for your constructive criticism on our recent Street Fighter IV - Playstation 3 Challenge 2009 event. We are always open and welcome to such comments as these could further improve our organizing plan should there any similar event arise in the future.

At the same time, we will also forward your point of views to Sony Malaysia directly in regards to issues like "The Money Factor" for their feedback.

By the way, would you mind be joining in our Photostylers' Facebook page? We would appreciate if you could give us the same support too by joining in as a fan of this page.  rclxms.gif
I'd like to thank you as well for viewing this in a positive manner. My friends and I agreed that this was a well-organized event, but as an SF-event perhaps more can be done. You have all the elements except full knowledge on the subject matter i.e. how the game really is, or should be played.

To be fair, I think its objectives (The Mines tournament) were met, where the results matched its scale. People did turn up, and for a tournament this size (50 people odd) it did generated a decent-sized crowd.

Bola-11's been the media workhorse for the PS2 era. But no kid's gonna drag Mr and Mrs Rich Parent to any screen with regular humans on a padang. So is there a redirection to get more people interested in Rock Band and fighting games, due to a broader appeal (to kids, teens, and those still young at heart)? If Sony really wish to make SF, and the upcoming KOF12 and Tekken 6 games a unique marketing and publicity tool, they really need to get accustomed with the fighting game scene and local gaming culture. Nothing else shows off the Bravia like a 55" X-series smack in the middle of the stage, in a mall's atrium area - with lower-ranged models for people to habitually make direct comparisons. In the current economic climate, money no pohbrem wan! As long got nice LCD TV is ok. Sony terkenal 'ngan quality. And nothing draws the crowd in like people bringing in their own weapons of choice (read: arcade sticks). You want proof, just ask your staff during the Mid Valley Marathon (I feel like a broken record repeating this) on how the crowds gathered.

I hope Sony is able to continue with their commitment to organize more of these fighting game tournaments. But you already know the sales figures for SF4 here in Malaysia - hence having tournaments to also gauge the response too, right? If you want additional numbers, dip your toes into the local forum pools to get a better view of the business. Sony can never penetrate into the WCG gaming domain, dominated by Intel, ATi, nVIDIA and other big names in the PC business. And people love anything competitive. SF is a perfect competitive tool and all you need to do is reduce the opponent's life bar. Respect the fans, and in return the fans will give appreciation and a good show - something money cannot buy. This is how brand loyalty is built. Do a good job, and leave the rest to media coverage to really get the ball rolling.

P.S. On the Facebook page, I got the message "The page you requested was not found".
rawfish
post Jul 31 2009, 07:08 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(inesen @ Jul 31 2009, 02:37 AM)
yeay my new weapon!

too bad i cant join the tourney  sad.gif
Wow, that's so hawt! Change to Seimitsu buttons! biggrin.gif

Congrats!
rawfish
post Jul 31 2009, 03:59 PM

30 posts

Alan, the nice stages do not even have the bunnies on the wall. 'nuff said LOL.
rawfish
post Aug 3 2009, 03:02 AM

30 posts

Alvin - me and Nick personally think that you have the mind of a champ. You don't give up nor show any indication you do so. And no, you did not lose all of your games - you did win your last one (erm, yes it's scary I kept track of your progress too though we didn't manage to speak much today). I'm happy to share advice to anyone interested to give better performance to their arcade sticks.

Hi Quist, a very warm welcome to KL - I believe you miss many things in Penang and we're flattered to have you around when there's just so many things to do and places to explore on a free Sunday. You can lookup Ben @ Vanishing83 (his LYN nick) too for more info for get-togethers, as myself, mikeeeee, Big Mac and Nick go there too.

If you, Sam or Don Don wishes to get an arcade stick I can hook you up one for RM320 (the same one everyone was using). Or if you do happen to have the ex-Shadaloo members come over many of them have their own gear already.

Alan, big thank you again for getting things done so well. You know you have a good turnout when players are starting to have walkovers smile.gif

Guys, thank you for the pleasure of being sparring partners with you all again. I learned plenty of new stuffs today.

Rawfish, train harder!!!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Aug 4 2009, 12:29 AM
rawfish
post Aug 3 2009, 10:47 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(jaylike7 @ Aug 3 2009, 09:32 AM)
Bro, do u mind let me join the ex. Shadolo gang gathering if there is one? I don't mind being punching bag as long as I can learn a thing. Or two drool.gif

I really wish to spar ur fierce sagat but got no chance sad.gif

Anyway, do u guys held this kind of gathering often? Did love to join if there's one if u don't mind me noob
The schedule's always been ad hoc, depending on the other members' schedule. Where do you stay? If you invite, I'm sure we can arrange a play session too. In return we can bring sticks and go for food or something.

QUOTE(boogalogist @ Aug 3 2009, 09:52 AM)
Kudos to the organizers for bringing the tourney to the people!

It's pretty tough to get good competition with the lack of SF4 machines in the arcades. Hopefully these events will bring more people to the game and increase the level of SF4 competition in Malaysia!

Great pics! Hopefully videos will be a norm in the future events!
Boogalogist, Alan and I discussed about something yesterday - about Sony's support to the local scene. We predict (it's obvious) when T6:BR is released, full attention and support will go towards this game and SF4 will be neglected, with only true-fans (ie. us, and the Outpost Cafe team) will still stick to SF, besides embracing T6 too. So, no more SF competitions thereafter due to the better mass appeal of T6.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:57 PM