[HELP] Hole to the screw holding strap got bigger, perma damage?

TSBlackened
post Feb 14 2009, 10:56 AM, updated 17y ago

1,068 posts

Hi guys,

I need help/assistance/advice.

As you can see from the pic below, the hole kinda got bigger from it was back then. I'm guessing its due to the weight of the guitar.
So whenever I put on the strap and play, it just won't hold anymore. Sometimes the screw easily slips out because it can't be screwed tight and that sucks.
No problem with the other end though.

user posted image user posted image

So my question is: Can it be fix? Anyone had any experience about this before? sad.gif
Sifus help me pleaseeee...

p/s: Ignore my pants there.. kinda lazy to clean up my room lol
echobrainproject
post Feb 14 2009, 11:10 AM

4,765 posts

apply superglue to the screws and quickly screw it back in before it dries. that should help if the damage isnt too bad
freakfingers12
post Feb 14 2009, 11:16 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Ram as many toothpicks as possible into the hole, dab superglue above the toothpicks, leave it for a day. After a day, screw back and you're done.
TSBlackened
post Feb 14 2009, 11:24 AM

1,068 posts

Hey thanks for the prompt reply.

Hmmmm I don't know about that man. I mean obviously the screw will permanently be stuck there.
If possible I would like the option to keep it as it is sweat.gif thanks anyway, will keep that in mind.

my friend suggested wrapping the end of the screw with some kind of tape.
the one used to tape PVC pipes... that's what he said. I'm not really sure that's a good idea sweat.gif

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 14 2009, 11:16 AM)
Ram as many toothpicks as possible into the hole, dab superglue above the toothpicks, leave it for a day. After a day, screw back and you're done.
Aha.. will try this. I know the toothpicks will fit but not sure whether the screw can still be applied in after that.
Can't test it now no toothpicks in the house laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Blackened: Feb 14 2009, 11:33 AM
mmmaak
post Feb 14 2009, 11:35 AM

67 posts

It's hard to see form the pictures. Can you post clearer ones from different angles? sweat.gif

Superglue might work, but it make make future repairs difficult.

I think the correct method is to use some sort of strong wood epoxy filler to repair the hole, or to enlarge it slightly with a drill, insert a wooden dowel and then redrill and reinsert the screw.
blacktrix
post Feb 14 2009, 11:58 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

I used wood plugs for my Crap Strat. You can get them in any hardware store. They are used to fill in holes when screwing in a screw in the wall.
nkphnx
post Feb 14 2009, 12:16 PM

390 posts

It's obviously an RG with a basswood body... Basswood is very soft and will dent easily.. A permanent fix for this is to use wood filler as mentioned and also a longer strap button screw that goes deeper into the horn..
Choongster
post Feb 14 2009, 02:32 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

what about those hot stick glue..
it's soft .. and when it dries, you will still be able to screw it in
because it's soft, it shouldn't have any problem filling up the gaps ....

freakfingers12
post Feb 14 2009, 05:16 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Don't worry about screw not gonna enter, all you need is just strong hands. Even a girl can do it, so don't worry about it. My guitar's screw come out on a regular basis, and this is what I always do.
mmmaak
post Feb 14 2009, 05:49 PM

67 posts

Whatever you do, if you're going to put large screws into wood, always drill a pilot hole first to avoid splitting.
TSBlackened
post Feb 14 2009, 08:39 PM

1,068 posts

Thanks for the input guys.

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Feb 14 2009, 11:58 AM)
I used wood plugs for my Crap Strat. You can get them in any hardware store. They are used to fill in holes when screwing in a screw in the wall.
Nice.. I will try and look for it after the weekend.
It's not expensive is it?

QUOTE(nkphnx @ Feb 14 2009, 12:16 PM)
It's obviously an RG with a basswood body... Basswood is very soft and will dent easily.. A permanent fix for this is to use wood filler as mentioned and also a longer strap button screw that goes deeper into the horn..
Yea.. mine is the crappy rg170. you're right about that. the screw itself is short. I guess that is the reason why the hole got bigger. I mean if only the screw is long and could get deeper, then it can probably have a stronger grip to the wood.

QUOTE(mmmaak @ Feb 14 2009, 05:49 PM)
Whatever you do, if you're going to put large screws into wood, always drill a pilot hole first to avoid splitting.
By pilot hole you mean drilling a small hole first?
I don't know man.. not good at these D.I.Y stuff. I might break the whole thing lol

0.0152sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:34 AM